Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK

Built in 1997, this full-service world-class fly-fishing lodge, on the Kvichak (kwee-jack) River just 4 miles downstream from Lake Iliamna, sets the standards for a quality Alaska fishing experience. It's located in the heart of Alaska's designated trophy rainbow trout area, where guests fish for all five species of Pacific salmon, giant rainbow trout, northern pike, Dolly Varden, and arctic grayling. Trophy fishing is right out our front door. Guests will have the option of fly-outs in our float-equipped aircraft or fishing our home river. All-inclusive packages include air transportation between Anchorage and the lodge, fly-outs, unlimited guided fishing time (two guests per guide), fishing license, meals, beverages, all necessary fishing equipment, and flies. Contact Brian for additional information. Cabin accommodations, each with private bath.
Average Customer Rating:
4.99 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
105 of 105(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaska Sportsman's Lodge,
September 22, 2014
By: divermsk
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I cannot say enough nice things about them all. They lived for you to catch fish. They were all terrific.
"Best fishing trip of my life!
The resort was fantastic. The cabins were clean and comfortable. The staff tidied up every day and even did your laundry if needed.
The facility was first class with access to boats, planes, rods and any equipment you could want.
The food was delicious. The Chef’s prepared meals beyond any expectations I had before I arrived.
The staff and guides were exceptional and took service to a new level. I still can't believe how hard they work from early morning until well into the night, every single day.
The owner (Brian) was always around making sure everything was being done to make your trip exceptional. You cannot ask for more service than what his lodge delivered."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Experience,
September 17, 2014
By: iflyhdg
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went back to the Alaska Sportsman Lodge for my 9th year and it just keeps getting better. The overall experience is like no other fishing trips."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence in Rainbow Fishing,
September 17, 2014
By: JuneBug200
from Houston, Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides are really into catching large rainbows and very helpful with tips for catching and landing.
"Just returned from our 10th year at the lodge. Brian and the staff did an outstanding job taking care of us and putting us in some fantastic rainbow fishing. We ecperienced extremely storg winds a couple of days but were able to fish on the Kvichak and caught alot of nice fish when a fly out was not possible."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Lodge,
September 16, 2014
By: BerkEdwards
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides were amazing
"I recently spent 4.5 days at ASL's lodge on the Kvichak River. I can honestly say this was one of the best and most memorable experiences (not just fishing) of my life. the entire organization is a well-oiled machine. The lodge is impeccable. The staff is the most professional I've ever seen. The food 5 star. Service outstanding. Just amazing. And all that's before I even mention the fishing which was for sure world-class. The owner and staff know how to make for a trip of a lifetime. For anyone thinking about an Alaskan fishing trip, this is clearly the place to go."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge Ever,
September 10, 2014
By: OceanReef
from Miami, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"ASL is far superior to any other lodge that I have ever been to. From the personnel, lodging, guides, food and program itself - all is as good as any 5 star destination anywhere! And the Fishing even surpasses that! I have been 4x and am already scheduling my next visit! I give this place a full recommendation without any reservations whatsoever!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bristol Bays Best,
September 4, 2014
By: MJLAlaska
from Eagle River, Anchorage, AK 99577, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:First class
"Absolutely the best lodge, guides, Orvis gear, and experience in Alaska. Make no mistakes when booking Remote Alaska fishing lodge. Krafty's Krew does is like no other. Best of the Best"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adventure,
September 2, 2014
By: magnum1
from Missouri, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Would not change anything.
"very nice folks, had a great trip, lots of adventure, lots of fish, great guides, great food, nice lodging, overall could not ask for anything more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best spot,
August 28, 2014
By: matterhorn
from Switzerland
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I had the pleasure to stay three days with my son at the lodge. We are from Switzerland and I must say that a fishing spot like this does not exist in another place on this planet. The service was perfect and the fishing even better. Thanks to everyone who is working at the lodge.
We will be back!!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How do you improve on "Best"?,
August 25, 2014
By: HowardsFishing
from Los Angeles, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just finished my 10th year at ASL, and it was again a wonderful week.
The lodge continues to add more amenities, roominess, and creature-comforts.
Their "retention rate" says it all... Both guests and staff keep coming back in exceptional numbers season after season.
Simply, just a great experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let Me Save You Some Time,
August 24, 2014
By: DonMichael
from Niceville, FL
"There are 94 reviews below this one. Every one is a 5-Star Review and there is not one single negative comment registered. EVERY SINGLE REVIEW IS SPOT ON!!!
Up front, I have no doubt you can find a lodge that is cheaper, but I'm pretty certain you will NOT find one that offers as much for the money. Brian told me when I asked what was included in the cost, "The question you should ask is what is NOT included." So, I did. In our case, everything we could have wanted was provided.
My son and I did the five-night and 4 1/2 day trip from 17-22 Aug. From the time we arrived and until the time we departed, we were incredibly pleased and constantly amazed at both the quality and level of service provided to every single guest--not just us! Each member of the staff graciously went out of their way to satisfy every whim of each guest.
I haven't looked up the definition of customer service lately, but I wouldn't be surprised to find a picture of Alaska Sportsman's Lodge underneath.
The day starts with coffee delivered to the cabin and only gets better from there.
We fished the Kamishak, Kvichak, Brooks and Copper Rivers. Three of the rivers were fly outs and all four exemplified some of the best scenery and varied salmon and trout fishing available in Alaska. Fishing was outstanding. Equipment was first-rate (Orvis). Guides were personable, professional, experienced, very knowledgeable about the river we were on/ We genuinely enjoyed fishing with each one of them.
Each evening we sat around the dinner table and feasted--NY strip, prime rib, lamb, duck, halibut, desserts to die for--after superb appetizers and beverages, and discussed the day's fishing with other guests. Neither of us ever heard a single complaint. There were nothing but raves about the day's experience.
Finally, I lived in Alaska for seven years and spent many hours both sightseeing throughout the state and "combat fishing" on the Kenai and Russian Rivers. After this trip, I am spoiled.
Thank you Brian and your ASL staff for such a marvelous week. Lord willing, we shall return!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great experience,
August 22, 2014
By: ASL1
from Chester, NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The team at ASL provides a unique experience from the time of arrival to departure. The professionalism, courtesy, skill, personalities of the entire staff is unique. From the kitchen staff to the pilots to the guides, all cooperate to provide a truly exceptional and greatly enjoyable fishing experience. The venue provides a unique opportunity to witness and be a part of a remarkable ecosystem. Hard to imagine a better experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Each day was better than the day before,
August 14, 2014
By: Winstonpiz
from New Jersey, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I learnt a huge amount from each of them
"Positively the best fishing trip of my life. Every successive day was the best day fishing I have ever had. The lodge was top notch, the staff wonderful, the guides knowledgeable and friendly. Each location we fished was different from the other and the fishing was sensational. Can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the Heap,
August 5, 2014
By: GCGF
from Seattle, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A first class experience all around. Fish, food, service, accommodations and scenery"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST IN CLASS!!!!!!,
August 5, 2014
By: MATTE
from Anchorage AK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome Guides
"I just spent a phenomenal four days at the lodge 7-31 thru 8-4. Mr. Kraft hasn't let us down one time with his top notch staff all the way around from pilots, guides, cooks, and accommodations. Really one of my favorite trips every year. The 5th year in a row Ive been fortunate to experience it. Haven't been let down once. Recommend this place over the rest."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repeatable,
July 29, 2014
By: snook1
from Houston Texas
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The sportsman lodge is incredible from the lodge staff, to guides, cook( chef), to the owner. They immediately know your name, likes and dislikes and do everything to make the stay outstanding. I have fished with their main competitor and they win hands down. The facilities, guides,food, etc.are all first class. They allow you to do what you want like useing lighter weight rods than they recommend,but most of all for their total integrity in all they do. This year, 2014, was the third year in a row that I have fished with them and am planning to take my daughter and wife next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class Alaskan Fishing!,
July 28, 2014
By: Stevowatny
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I simply wanted to say thank you to Brian and his entire team for a great trip this July. The fishing, hospitality, food and facilities are world class and second to none!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Experience Ever,
July 24, 2014
By: Rigney
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The sportsman lodge and staff surpasses anywhere I have been for hunting or fishing. The staff was amazing along with the food too. The Orvis fishing gear that was provided to use was some of the best quality that I have ever used. The fishing guides put us on fish everywhere we went and some of the best gentlemen I have come across. A must visit place for a great fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent!!!!,
July 22, 2014
By: TheThom515
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All great guides who know how to treat clients.
"wonderful stay,accomodations, staff, food, guide services and flights. truly a 5 star lodge that treats all guest "top cabin"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing from start to finish,
July 22, 2014
By: GoProE66r0ll
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The staff and guides were professional, friendly, and over all outstanding! The experiences, friendship, and memories will forever be a part of how I will remember my tour here in Alaska. I’ve never really fished before and I had a blast, catching Kings to Rainbows these people know what they are doing and they do it right."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premier services, fantastic adventure!,
July 14, 2014
By: AEH12
from Seattle, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have experienced many fishing lodges over the years, and can say with conviction that ASL tops them all. Brian with his great staff and experienced guides provided incredible fishing excursions in some of the most beautiful areas of AK. The service, logistics, amenities and cuisine of ASL are absolutely top notch. Highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes