Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK

Built in 1997, this full-service world-class fly-fishing lodge, on the Kvichak (kwee-jack) River just 4 miles downstream from Lake Iliamna, sets the standards for a quality Alaska fishing experience. It's located in the heart of Alaska's designated trophy rainbow trout area, where guests fish for all five species of Pacific salmon, giant rainbow trout, northern pike, Dolly Varden, and arctic grayling. Trophy fishing is right out our front door. Guests will have the option of fly-outs in our float-equipped aircraft or fishing our home river. All-inclusive packages include air transportation between Anchorage and the lodge, fly-outs, unlimited guided fishing time (two guests per guide), fishing license, meals, beverages, all necessary fishing equipment, and flies. Contact Brian for additional information. Cabin accommodations, each with private bath.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
89 of 89(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Experience Ever,
July 24, 2014
By: Rigney
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The sportsman lodge and staff surpasses anywhere I have been for hunting or fishing. The staff was amazing along with the food too. The Orvis fishing gear that was provided to use was some of the best quality that I have ever used. The fishing guides put us on fish everywhere we went and some of the best gentlemen I have come across. A must visit place for a great fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent!!!!,
July 22, 2014
By: TheThom515
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All great guides who know how to treat clients.
"wonderful stay,accomodations, staff, food, guide services and flights. truly a 5 star lodge that treats all guest "top cabin"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing from start to finish,
July 22, 2014
By: GoProE66r0ll
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The staff and guides were professional, friendly, and over all outstanding! The experiences, friendship, and memories will forever be a part of how I will remember my tour here in Alaska. I’ve never really fished before and I had a blast, catching Kings to Rainbows these people know what they are doing and they do it right."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premier services, fantastic adventure!,
July 14, 2014
By: AEH12
from Seattle, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have experienced many fishing lodges over the years, and can say with conviction that ASL tops them all. Brian with his great staff and experienced guides provided incredible fishing excursions in some of the most beautiful areas of AK. The service, logistics, amenities and cuisine of ASL are absolutely top notch. Highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
July 11, 2014
By: OldTimer76
from Yorktown, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently spent a week at the Lodge. This was my fifth trip and each year has been great. Brain continues to operate the best Lodge in Alaska. The staff is outstanding and work very hard to make your trip "one to remember".
Looking forward to 2015.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket List Trip,
July 10, 2014
By: CNelson
from Ottawa, ON
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've always wanted to experience an Alaska fishing trip.
I finally made the decision to take my son and son-in-law with me to the Alaska Sportsman's Lodge. I love to fly fish, my son had some experience and my son-in-law had never picked up a fly rod. We all had an incredible time. Each of us caught King salmon, rainbows, Dolly Varden, and grayling.
The lodge was an outstanding facility. VERY COMFORTABLE. The food was "top drawer".
The staff and guides were very personable and went out of their way to be helpful.
Oh yes, one day we had a VERY CLOSE encounter with an Alaskan brown bear. The guides knew exactly what to do and all we got was an amazing memory.
Can't wait to return!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Perfect,
July 7, 2014
By: SoCalBob
from Southern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently spent a week at the lodge and in the interests of full disclosure, it was my 10th trip. As it was on the very first trip, I could not have had a better experience. Besides great fishing and hitting both Kings and Sockeye, the experience was beyond any other lodge I have visited or likely will visit. The staff and guides were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The guides were very knowledgeable and worked very hard to make the fishing experience perfect. They were always willing to try new flies, new locations, etc to enhance the fishing. Their suggestions and tips were on point and always resulted in my fishing improving.
The food was absolutely excellent as well. All in all, I will be going back for another trip next year. The ASL and Brian Kraft really know how to do it right!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely fantastic trip!,
July 7, 2014
By: DWH62
from Seattle WA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"ASL is a first class operation, the guides and staff, accommodations, amenities, location and of course, the FISHING! Brian and his crew ensure you have one of the most enjoyable and memorable experiences you possibly can in one of the most beautiful places there is."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi Generational Alaska Fishing Trip,
July 6, 2014
By: QOrmeHealeyII
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We were a party of 6 ages 10-74. The experience couldn't have been more fabulous. The 10 year old caught a 30 inch rainbow (with a little help from his dad), the group harvested the limit of king salmon and caught many more, the dining was as good as anywhere in the world with a very straight forward menu, there is one guide for every two fisherman, and you can fish a different area with a completely different experience every day. An etched memory for every one of us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great adventure,
July 5, 2014
By: GEtow
from Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I have never been to Alaska or had fly fished and both were on our bucket list. ASL's guides were great showing us how to fly fish and presenting a variety of settings and different fish to catch. Fishing was fabulous, caught Kings, sockeyes, rainbows, lake trout, chum salmon and Dolly vardens. The quality of the meals exceeded our expectations as well as the customer service from the staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
July 5, 2014
By: chrisetow
from Southern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding guides!
"ASL exceeded our expectations beginning with the efficacy of the booking process with immediate follow up by Brian Kraft (Owner/GM)- communicative throughout - transportation from ANC to ASL - the solicitous and hardworking staff - shared knowledge by ASL fishing guides - beautiful lodge - plentiful and delicious cuisine - expert massage therapist - and most importantly, 5 days of outstanding fishing...a truly AMAZING experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 days of fishing at the lodge,
July 3, 2014
By: TimCusick
from Dutch Harbor, AK
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Work trip so I didn't do the Billing or Reservation
"I had the chance to spend two full days fishing at the lodge and the fishing, guides, pilots, and staff were all excellent. The first day we fished for Kings on the Nushagak, I had 4 before lunch and the other on the boat had 5...no one in the total group got skunked that day. After lunch I tried my hand at flyfishing for them from shore, the guide didn't hesitate he rigged us up and we tried for an hour and a half or so but couldn't get one to take. We then spent the rest of the day throwing baitcasters for them. The second day was my favorite, we fished the Copper river for trout (it's a small stream, not the large Copper River most people have heard of). It was a ten mile float full of Rainbows and Dollies. That was the healthiest trout stream I've ever fished, no one could keep count on how many they caught even though money was on the line. Anyone looking to fish with a lodge in this area couldn't go wrong with the Alaska Sportsman Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience!,
July 2, 2014
By: JTMoore89
from San Angelo, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The idea of taking my two boys (aged 15 and 10) all the way to Alaska to go fishing was both exciting and terrifying. But the staff of Alaska Sportsman's Lodge turned this daunting task into an epic adventure! The professionalism of the staff, the attention to comfort details, the profound elegance of the food, and the quality of the fishing all combined into a trip that is almost impossible to put into words. My youngest son even caught the trophy rainbow of the week! He was treated as a celebrity and he didn't even know it! Undoubtedly, this vacation experience goes down in our family history as one of the best ever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Lodge in Alaska,
November 6, 2013
By: alaskalee
from New Kensington, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fishing in the Iliamna area for over 50 years and have stayed at many lodges. I can assure you that ASL offers the best fishing, the best accommodations,the best equipmant and the best staff. My son and I fished the last week of this year and fishing was excellent, especially the Char fishing at Ugashik. The staff showed no evidence of "burn out" even though this was the end of the season. This is a real tribute to Brian. You can't find a better experience in Alaska."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Trip of my Life,
October 2, 2013
By: Ed2ski
from Jericho, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Outstanding fly out trips with excellent guide service provide a scenic and safe trip to a variety of rivers to fish and observe wildlife.
The staff, food and lodging exceeded my expectations!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket Trip,
September 30, 2013
By: AllanF
from Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic experience A to Z. Amazing scenery, outstanding guides, gourmet food, every day was something different and always amazing, chasing bows to 30" and silvers over 15 lbs. Thanks to all for the dream trip of a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big, fat Rainbows,
September 30, 2013
By: Larry1703
from Oklahoma, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Visited Sportsman's in mid-Sept, 2013. Missed the rain, temps pretty cold in am., but mostly sunny. Food was awfully good, especially the soups and salads, some of the entrees a little overcooked. Cabins space a little tight with all the gear, but adequate, and the bedding was outstanding. Guides, lodge staff, and pilots excellent. Aircraft appeared well-maintained (gotta love Beavers. Rainbows on Kvichak were still taking egg patterns and are they hot. Last day our boat netted around 10 in the 20-25" range; last was 27+" Brian has a jewel and runs it well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot get any better,
September 30, 2013
By: Fishingfool2
from Tracy, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All guides where great thought Jeff and Ryan where fantastic
"Just wanted to thank Brian and his staff for a great fishing experience have been fishing all over the world and Alaska sportsman lodge is the best place i have ever experience Lodge itself is spectacular, the staff was very accomadating, the guide are great and the chefs are world class not mention the location and quality of fish. I would highly recommend Alaska Sportsman Lodge to anyone interested in truly great fishing experence. Steve Spence"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's my third time back,
September 29, 2013
By: FMMMD
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Returning three times should say it all. What's most impressive is the staff's TOTAL commitment towards making absolutely everything under their control operate for the pleasure and comfort of their guests. Add in their focus on aircraft safety, Alaska Sportsman's Lodge is as good as it gets."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Alaska Sportsman's Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
September 20, 2013
By: iflyhdg
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went back to the Sportsman's Lodge for the 8th year and it just gets better every year. From the fishing to the guides to the food it is the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes