Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tower Rock Lodge, AK

Affordable Alaskan luxury just got better! Value and variety for 50% less than the rest. Name it and claim it. You'll do it all! Kick back and enjoy fly-fishing for big rainbows. Join forces with the bears for ocean-fresh salmon in a float-plane. Fish Kenai Kings or perhaps coax a 350-lb. halibut to your barbecue! We'll hook you up with Five Star exclusive riverfront lodging. Imagine sleeping peacefully in a tricked out private rustic log cabin. Thai fuses with French provincial in our classic Orvis Dining Hall. Strong internet and cell service available. Discover where Alaskan fishing variety and value meet. Family and corporate friendly. Call for your free DVD and vacation packet. Paddle, Pole, and Pedal. "Fish so big you don't gotta lie about them."
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
August 19, 2014
By: Stleut
from Omaha, NE, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished with Tower Rock on 8 occasions and they are simply the best operation any where I have fished. The accommodations are beautiful, the food is on par with any restaurant I have ever been to, eg eggs benedict for breakfastbefore fishing! Their guides have an uncanny knack to put you on fish no matter what specie you are seeking. They will custom make a trip to your liking, complete with fly outs to remote areas. I have fished TRL with my wife, with my son, and have used the facility as an incentive to our management, and they still rave about the experience. No matter what you are looking for the Tuhy brothers will make it happen. They keep upgrading the facilities and continue to offer more to their clients. they are simply the best in Alaska or anywhere I have been."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best of the best,
August 24, 2013
By: vetfly187
from Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It would be difficult to find a better outfit than the folks at Tower Rock. Great guides, great accommodations, great hospitality and most of all great fishing. Halibut, coho, rainbows in abundance."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Every Expectation,
June 11, 2013
By: Whitewolfe
from CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I just left Tower Rock Lodge after a spectacular 4 day fishing trip. TRL exceeded all of our expectations. Specifically:
The Fishing - TRL delivers a variety of fishing experiences - based on our interests and also - where the fish were! We had a variety including river fishing for salmon, lake fishing for trout and landlocked salmon and a fly-out trip to fish and experience a flyover tour of wildlife and glaciers. There was more we could have done (halibut on the open water - we passed on that one). These guys know what they are doing and stay on top of current conditions everywhere to make the fishing the most successful.
The Food - TRL feeds you a delicious, varied, creative menu. Breakfasts are hearty yet very special (eggs Benedict with bacon and smoked salmon), lunches range from utilitarian (sandwiches, chips and snacks) to unexpectedly cool (foil wrapped salmon, rice and veggies with Thai sweet and sour sauce grilled on the banks of a lake). And the dinners were nothing short of five star! Interesting, creative, plentiful - beautifully presented. Most important to me - include a home made dessert. There were any kind of beverages (alcohol and otherwise). Anything you wanted - you just had to ask.
The Staff - Mike and Mark have assembled a team of folks that are exceptionally good at what they do and extremely service oriented - not because they are 'trained to be that way' but because they are naturally that way. Tom cooks fantastically and Alexis took care of us. Our fishing guides (Burner, Bubba and D-money) were just right - knew the fishing, attentive and friendly but could 'chill' too. And along with Mike and Mark are so clearly doing what they love - it is infectious.
The Weather - since the weather was so perfect during our entire stay - I somehow think TRL had something to do with it!!
I could go on and on - but won't!! Bottom line - we will be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A True Alaskan Angling Experience,
November 19, 2012
By: Fiebs
from Missoula, Mt, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Last year my Dad decided that he wanted to take me along on his “fishing trip of a life-time” and of course that trip was going to be to AK. I immediately went to work trying to find a lodge that could cater to our (widely varying) angling needs.
One of biggest dilemmas was that I am pretty much a diehard fly fisherman, and have been fortunate enough to travel to many amazing angling destinations. My Dad, on the other hand, although a seasoned angler in his own right, is still a budding fly fisherman who, in many situations would still prefer to use conventional tackle. After diligent research and some long phone conversations we decided on Tower Rock Lodge. Well, our trip to Tower Rock did not disappoint. From an angling perspective the boys at Tower Rock could both challenge me a s a fly fisherman, as well as help to teach my dad new techniques in both fly fishing and traditional angling methods (Oh yeah, and we caught a ton of fish!).
The lodge (as well as the cozy individual cabins) is neatly tucked into obscurity on the banks of the famous Kenai River; don’t be surprised when you see a moose walk by as your sipping a beverage by the community campfire in transition from a rewarding day on the water to yet another amazing Tower Rock Gourmet meal.
That all being said, The one thing that will bring us both back to Tower Rock is the staff, who by the end of our stay were more like close friends and family than mere acquaintances. The kitchen and wait staff are professional yet warm and friendly and The Tuhy Brothers and their guide staff are as experienced as anyone in the angling business, yet have a refreshing “nothing to prove” way about them. I would recommend Tower Rock Lodge to anyone looking for a true Alaskan fishing adventure!
Cheers - Jed Fiebelkorn
Owner – Endless Drift Outfitters, Missoula Montana
Host – Trout Unlimited’s; On the Rise
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Fishing Lodge!,
October 22, 2012
By: SockeyeSlayer
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you want the ultimate Alaskan Salmon fishing experience, stay at Tower Rock Lodge! You're going to love this place. The accommodations, personal service, delicious meals, guided fishing trips and overall inviting atmosphere makes for a memorable trip. We've been 3 times since 2007 and can't imagine going anywhere else. This past July, we caught 500 lbs. of salmon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely the best!,
October 16, 2012
By: steaboatskigal
from Steamboat Springs, CO 80487, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:they were all great and went out of their way to make sure we were having fun and catching fish!
"We had such an amazing time!! When I go on fishing trips with my husband, I am very picky about where we stay. Since we own a property management business, I am even more critical. We could not have been more please with Tower Rock Lodge! Our cabin was spotless - and stayed that way during our entire visit. The food was absolutely amazing (do NOT expect to lose weight on this trip!!) The fishing and the guides were all great! The entire staff made sure we were having a good time. We spent our days on the Kenai, Kasilof, Russian and one day we did a fly out trip (absolutely beautiful and a "must do"!!) I could go on and on about all the fun we had and how wonderful the Tuhy's and their staff are - we're already planning our trip for next summer & cannot wait to get there!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
October 1, 2012
By: ChrisEP
from California, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I must say, I didn't really know what to expect as this was the first time I have gone fishing in Alaska. It was Fathers Day and I just googled lodges and this one came up and I just went for it. The people, guides, could not have been nicer and the food was fantastic...I am definitely going back next year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Folks,
September 29, 2012
By: FlyGuy42
from Centennial, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my fourth year visiting Tower Rock and I go back each year for good reason. The accomodations are high end at a very reasonable price. The meals are exceptional! They give you a fantastic taste of the local fare, from moose to halibut and much in between. And I would go back every year just to have Tom's Thai Chicken Curry!
The fishing was great despite the high water conditions we experienced this year. They have numerous fishing options within driving distance so there is almost always some water nearby that is producing good action.
But what really makes Tower Rock so much fun is the awesome people who run it. The owner/managers Mike and Mark are always entertaining with their wild stories about Alaska, and they go out of their way to make sure we always have a good, easy-going trip. Our guides Dustin (D-Money) and Bill (Bubba) were knowledgable about their fisheries and great coaches for my less experienced companions.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad's bucket list trip...,
September 23, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Portsmouth, Va
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All the guys were great!
"This past spring (last week of May) my father/brother/two family friends and myself got our first try at Alaskan fishing and Tower Rock Lodge really helped make it a good experience. Their choice of locations/setting was exactly what we were hoping for: in the woods, along the river, ‘cabin’ feel accommodations while still having all the conveniences you could ask for (hot water, warm beds, good food, internet, easy access to town/civilization, etc).
All of the staff did a great job of making us feel at home and part of the family. The fishing guides were knowledgeable, helpful, laid back and attentive to making sure we got the experience we were looking for. On the fishing front one of the things I really appreciated was there was no ‘fixed schedule’ each night we would get asked how things went, what we liked, what we wanted to do, and told all the details on how things had been going in the various spots and fishing styles to make an informed decision about what would be the best plan for the next day.
Another great thing about this lodge was the food! Every night was a unique, well prepared and satisfying meal. Each morning was a logically laid out (going on the rough sea? Probably not a great idea to eat bacon and eggs so here’s is pancakes and cereal…..cold morning on the river ahead of you? Here’s some hot biscuits and gravy to get you warmed up) choice of items to either sit down with or take with you. Picnic lunches were also packed with plenty of snacks to munch on throughout the day and brought along by the guides for our convenience. One day we even had a hot fish lunch cooked on the rocky bank of the river during our float down stream, couldn’t be more ‘iconic.’
Few ‘pro’ tips I picked up along the way if you’re heading up to Tower Rock: 1) bring twice as many warm socks as you think you need, the boats are metal (for reasons you will figure out) and therefore the deck is generally the same icy temperature as the water and rubber waders, while water proof, don’t provide much warmth. 2) Spend your nights around the camp fire, nothing says camping/fishing more then drinking and stories around a fire in the ‘dark’ 3) Spend the money for a peak season trip (we went on the early side of the season and while enjoyable the colder than normal temperatures meant many of the salmon hadn’t started swimming up river, nothing that is the lodges fault, just something to be aware of)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TRL...awesome guys, food, fishing, and laughs!,
September 11, 2012
By: cpaulson612
from Minneapolis, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Top notch guides and guys.
"I spent A LOT of time checking out Kenai lodges and outfitters...thank goodness I picked the guys at TRL.
The fishing, accomodations, and food were incredible. All the guys were a blast and very educated about the Kenai. They got us on the fish and we had a great time. Top notch.
Best value out there, no-brainer! Can't wait to get back to TRL!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Alaskan Experience,
September 6, 2012
By: Andy11
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Tower Rock Lodge team was amazing! The trips they put together to customize our experience were nothing short of incredible. The food, the rooms, the other guests, the flexibility all combined to make this a trip of a lifetime that we will duplicate again. The fishing was fantastic, the scenery was Alaskan."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Misleading reviews,
July 15, 2012
By: rainbowtrout
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The reviews for Tower Rock are all great. We found the fishing to be average and unlike other places we have been in Alaska. In some places boats (and people) were stacked back to back. Its not remote and feels heavily overfished. This is mostly a statement on Kenai but the lodge was only moderately helpful in optimizing our experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 13 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lodging/fishing experience,
June 3, 2012
By: LWFlyGal
from Novelty, OH
"A great lodge with nice accommodations, awesome food, great wildlife viewing in camp and on the day fishing trips! Have been to Alaska twice, once with Tower Rock and once with another lodge that isn't worth mentioning. Glad we found Tower Rock and we are heading back there in a week! Look forward to trying early Kings and reds. Last 2 trips were during August and silvers so we are looking forward to the Early Bird package and water rivers to try. We just need to get halibut...bad weather and a horrible experience with aforementioned lodge not worth mentioning kept us from halibut 2 trips in a row so hopefully 3rd time is the charm! Great lodge, great hosts, great time. You can't go wrong with Tower Rock!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge Around!,
October 19, 2011
By: CaliTraveler
from San Francisco, CA
"This is a great lodge and I don't think you can do better in AK. From the exceptional gourmet dining to the outstanding service and comfortable, quiet lodging, TRL covered it all. And the fishing was outstanding. We were on the the lower Kenai for silvers and the upper Kenai for bows and dollys. We also did a fly-out for more silvers and the scenery was off the charts. I love the variety of fishing they offer, all with top notch guides with all the details covered.
Tower Rock is a great trip for groups of friends or families (I have done the trip with both) and Mike and Mark have an amazing ability to customize your trip and experience perfectly to your needs. And did I mention the food?
We will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Tower Rock Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great People/Great Place,
September 28, 2011
By: Soninlaw
from Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The Tuhy brothers have assembled a skilled and friendly staff at their fine fishing lodge on the Kenai River. My father-in-law and I enjoyed a week of fishing for silver salmon on the Kasilof, Kenai, and Katuskan Rivers, and capped it with an offshore run for halibut on our last day. Tower Rock took care of all the arrangements, provided the fishing gear, boats, float plane charters, and skilled guides. They did their best every day to make sure we had a good time in safe fishing conditions, and we brought home our limit.
They were very flexible in changing each day's schedule to fit our needs, the weather, and changing fishing conditions.
The food and service at Tower Rock were also top notch and we were reminded every day of our stay that the Tuhys and their staff were genuinely interested in providing us with a great fishing experience in Alaska.
We would definitely return to Tower Rock and hope to do so next time when the Kings are running. This trip was a good value for the money and left us with memories of Alaska to last a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes