Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lone Mountain Ranch, MT

Lone Mountain Ranch is an historic winter and summer guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, which is one of the last remaining large, nearly intact ecosystems in the northern temperate zone of the Earth. Just 18 miles from the Yellowstone Park border, the ranch offers not only some of the finest year-round blue ribbon fly fishing anywhere in North America, but also guided horseback riding, hiking, Yellowstone tours and an Outdoor Youth Adventures program for kids 4-18 years with whitewater rafting and ziplining just down the road. Our highly experienced guide staff will help you discover the diverse fishing experiences this area has to offer. Float the legendary Madison and Yellowstone rivers in a drift boat, walk/wade the Gallatin River and streams in Yellowstone Park, or horseback ride to pristine high alpine lakes. Fine dining, comfortable log cabins and jaw-dropping classic alpine scenery compliment the array of activities we offer for the whole family. June, July, and August are great months for families and September offers an adults-only experience. While many guests spend their winter days skiing from December through March, the Gallatin is an amazing winter fishery for those days off from skiing.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 57(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
September 21, 2014
By: JeffMVMD
from Granville, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just got back from Lone Mountain Ranch. Fished twice with John McKinnie on the Gallatin and had an excellent time. John was extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and was very patient with my wife who is a novice at Fly Fishing. The fishing was superb, we both caught many nice Rainbows. Also had a drift boat trip with Kurt Dehmer on the Madison river. Although the weather conditions were less than ideal, I ahd a great time and caught several very nice trout. Again, Kurt was patient,knowledgeable, and a great guy to spend a day on the river with. I would highly recommend Lone Mountain Ranch to anyone who wants a truly great fishing experience. The dining and the horseback riding were also excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Fishing Experience,
September 18, 2014
By: Erniewtrzc
from McLean, Virginia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Left wife and daughter behind for this my 8th visit to LMR to focus this time on fly fishing. Walked/waded down the Gallatin two days and drifted one full day down the Yellowstone with John Hall as my guide. John was terrific! His knowledge of the rivers and insights on technique were incredible and made the time memorable. This trip accomplished everything I had in mind thanks to John, and I will be returning next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These guides are outstanding!!,
September 18, 2014
By: Rschwartzberg
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had a spectacular time fishing with the Lone Mountain Ranch guides in August 2014. I did a half-day wade with Jake Messinger and we did float trips with John McKinnie on the Yellowstone and John Hall on the Madison. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and put us onto a lot of fish. They worked really hard to make sure we caught a ton of fish and also learned a few new tricks along the way. We had a lot of fun and would highly recommend them (as well as the ranch). Thanks for a great time! Rob Schwartzberg and Sandy Yampell"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience!,
September 10, 2014
By: gpenning
from Akron, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guy!
"Fished with John Hall on Gallatin, Madison and Yellowstone. Great time with a knowledgable guide. Lots of fish including 22 in brown, and several 16in+ rainbows and even large cutthroats. Yellowstone slam as soon as the water cleared on Wednesday, brown, cutthroat, rainbow, cut bow and whitefish. Plenty for my wife to do including hiking, horseback riding and kayaking."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing program,
September 4, 2014
By: Edfish
from Pinehurst, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was recently at LMR with my nine year old granddaughter who had never fly fished before. Under the guidance of John they had an introductory program and my granddaughter was soon casting quite well. The next day their guide Matt took us to the Gallatin River. Matt was very patient and soon she hooked a few fish and even landed one. A great time was had by all. LMR has a very nice fly fishing program for the beginner as well as the expert."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first experience!,
September 2, 2014
By: SteJaym
from Italy&NJ
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We never fly fished before and went to LMR based on all of the great reviews that we read. We definitely weren't disappointed...it was an amazing experience! Our first time out was with Jake Messinger and the second was with Matt Ruuhela. Both guides were very knowledgeable and made the experience really fun and adventurous. Great fishing, great memories....thank you very much! We hope we will go back to catch many more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Guides,
August 30, 2014
By: RKLB
from LMR, Montana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This 2014 summer vacation at LMR was fantastic! We went on two guided fishing trips, one half day and one full day, and were extremely successful at catching fish. Our family of 4 were newbies, but Jake and John were so patient with us. They knew the rivers well and were so excited when we caught our fish. My favorite part was fishing on the Madison River and catching 15-inch Rainbow Trout that would jump out of the water when hooked. We would like to thank Jake and John and Orvis for making our vacation at LMR unforgettable!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing 101 and 201,
August 25, 2014
By: w1094
from Big Sky, MT 59720, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I are relatively new to the area and to fly fishing so we decided to take the the 101 and 201 courses. 101 was a great starting point to learn more about the basics and the 201 course gave us a chance to use get out on the water. Our guides, Jake and Bryn, were great. Very knowledgeable, patient, and fun the fish with. We learned a lot in a short 2 hours. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more about fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic All Around!!,
August 18, 2014
By: KevinD
from Roanoke, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Keep it up, guys!! We had a great time!!
"I had two trips when visiting and both were great!! The all-day float trip was awesome and the scenery was perfect. Lots of fish!! The half-day wading trip was also great for the four of us and so close to the Ranch!! Thanks to everyone at LMR and especially the fishing Team!! I can’t wait to return!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone Mountain Ranch,
August 15, 2014
By: bryangodber
from San Clemente, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had an amazing experience fishing the Gallatin river at Lone Mountain Ranch in Montana last week. Fished with 3 awesome guides who were good with all skill levels. Had my wife learning the basics and I was able to work on some more advanced techniques. Landed some beautiful rainbow and browns all on dry flys providing plenty of action! The guides were awesome (Wes Hoecker, Rick Reed and Maggie Kuhlman) and John McKinnie - Fly Fishing manager took care of us. I would highly recommend this outfitter to others."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic First Fly Fishing!!,
August 7, 2014
By: AllisonJane
from United Kingdom
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides very patient and fun!!
"This was our first experience of fly fishing and we were lucky enough to do it at Lone Mountain Ranch, MT, on the Gallatin River. The guides were fantastic, very patient and informative. On one trip out we caught 10 fish in a couple of hours. Not bad for beginners!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guided Fishing Trip,
August 4, 2014
By: johnnysirvan
from Lansdale, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We did not signed up for meal or trip service to rate
"My girfriend and I are new to the fly-fishing world and signed up with Jake at Lone Mtn Ranch for a guided trip/tour with Lesson along the Galatin River. With the knowledge and techniques that Jake showed us, we were fly fishing within an hour and had some successful catches. It was an amazing experience to be out there on the Galatin River fly fishing using either the Nymphin or the Dry Fly techinique."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% Satisfied,
July 24, 2014
By: MendSet
from New York, NY, USA
"My wife and I are just back from our annual, and fourth consecutive, week-long fly fishing trip to Lone Mountain Ranch (LMR) and it keeps getting better. We keep returning to LMR because of the outstanding fishing guides, top grade Orvis equipment provided, and great accommodations and dining available at the Ranch. When you lose count of the number of 15+ inch trout you bring to net each day it must mean your guide knows what he/she is doing, your equipment is holding up, and you are having a memorable day, and so it was each day for us fly fishing southwestern Montana out of LMR. Looking forward to our 5th week in 2015."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
July 24, 2014
By: Cmarks
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"as total beginners, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect, but we were amazed at how well Wes was able to teach us the basics and help us have a really fun and relaxing trip. Maggie also worked with our children and was very encouraging and patient with them. I highly recommend them both."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Terrific - LMR,
July 23, 2014
By: tomeast
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Guides were great with grandkids and the experienced fly fishermen. Had a wonderful day on Madison and very good lessons on Gallatin for a beginner. Kids learned on the pond below the Ranch. All A+."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guides,
July 22, 2014
By: RobA2014
from SE Pennsylvania
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I visited Lone Mountain Ranch for the 6th time. Everything is 1st class and the river selection is fantastic. I fished the Gallatin and the Yellowstone with Rick Reed. I would highly recommend him. It would be tough to find a guide who works as hard as he does."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only Wish We Had Fished More!,
July 21, 2014
By: RJGJr
from Big Sky, MT
"Went to LMR to ride horses in the mountains and fish the blue ribbon streams near the ranch. Took my 8 year old son to get his first real taste of mountain trout fishing, having taken his older brothers there many years ago. as it did before, the fishing at LMR exceeded expectations. John and Maggie were as accommodating and pleasant as they were patient and encouraging. clearly, they know these waters [The Gallatin and Yellowstone Rivers this trip] blindfolded. first class equipment, first class guides and first class trout water makes this an easy choice for the next trip, especially when you consider all of the other great offerings available at LMR. Recommended with high confidence and without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone mountain Guest ranch,
July 19, 2014
By: Grfis
from Big Sky, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent overall Experience
Fly fishing lessons exceptional
Fly fishing trip was excellent
and the guide was beyond expectations.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone Mountain Ranch,
July 16, 2014
By: KevinBender
from La Canada, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My famiy and I recently spent a week at Lone Mountain Ranch and I was able to spend a few days fishing with the guides. They were great! They were very helpful on the ranch and when we went looking for fishing locations, they were very knowledgable about where the fish were.I really enjoyed my eperience and would highly recomend them to anyone else."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing the Gallatin,
July 16, 2014
By: jamese
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic experience. I've wanted to try Fly Fishing for a while and heard good reviews of Lone Mountain and their guides so the family and I decided to go and check it out. I went three times, with Maggie and Jake both of who where fantastic and helped me learn the basics of casting, drifting and fly selection. Catching my first fish was an phenominal experience. I loved it so much we have booked to go again next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes