Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lone Mountain Ranch, MT

Lone Mountain Ranch is an historic winter and summer guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, which is one of the last remaining large, nearly intact ecosystems in the northern temperate zone of the Earth. Just 18 miles from the Yellowstone Park border, the ranch offers not only some of the finest year-round blue ribbon fly fishing anywhere in North America, but also guided horseback riding, hiking, Yellowstone tours and an Outdoor Youth Adventures program for kids 4-18 years with whitewater rafting and ziplining just down the road. Our highly experienced guide staff will help you discover the diverse fishing experiences this area has to offer. Float the legendary Madison and Yellowstone rivers in a drift boat, walk/wade the Gallatin River and streams in Yellowstone Park, or horseback ride to pristine high alpine lakes. Fine dining, comfortable log cabins and jaw-dropping classic alpine scenery compliment the array of activities we offer for the whole family. June, July, and August are great months for families and September offers an adults-only experience. While many guests spend their winter days skiing from December through March, the Gallatin is an amazing winter fishery for those days off from skiing.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 of 50(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing 101 and 201,
August 25, 2014
By: w1094
from Big Sky, MT 59720, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I are relatively new to the area and to fly fishing so we decided to take the the 101 and 201 courses. 101 was a great starting point to learn more about the basics and the 201 course gave us a chance to use get out on the water. Our guides, Jake and Bryn, were great. Very knowledgeable, patient, and fun the fish with. We learned a lot in a short 2 hours. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more about fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic All Around!!,
August 18, 2014
By: KevinD
from Roanoke, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Keep it up, guys!! We had a great time!!
"I had two trips when visiting and both were great!! The all-day float trip was awesome and the scenery was perfect. Lots of fish!! The half-day wading trip was also great for the four of us and so close to the Ranch!! Thanks to everyone at LMR and especially the fishing Team!! I can’t wait to return!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone Mountain Ranch,
August 15, 2014
By: bryangodber
from San Clemente, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had an amazing experience fishing the Gallatin river at Lone Mountain Ranch in Montana last week. Fished with 3 awesome guides who were good with all skill levels. Had my wife learning the basics and I was able to work on some more advanced techniques. Landed some beautiful rainbow and browns all on dry flys providing plenty of action! The guides were awesome (Wes Hoecker, Rick Reed and Maggie Kuhlman) and John McKinnie - Fly Fishing manager took care of us. I would highly recommend this outfitter to others."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic First Fly Fishing!!,
August 7, 2014
By: AllisonJane
from United Kingdom
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides very patient and fun!!
"This was our first experience of fly fishing and we were lucky enough to do it at Lone Mountain Ranch, MT, on the Gallatin River. The guides were fantastic, very patient and informative. On one trip out we caught 10 fish in a couple of hours. Not bad for beginners!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guided Fishing Trip,
August 4, 2014
By: johnnysirvan
from Lansdale, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We did not signed up for meal or trip service to rate
"My girfriend and I are new to the fly-fishing world and signed up with Jake at Lone Mtn Ranch for a guided trip/tour with Lesson along the Galatin River. With the knowledge and techniques that Jake showed us, we were fly fishing within an hour and had some successful catches. It was an amazing experience to be out there on the Galatin River fly fishing using either the Nymphin or the Dry Fly techinique."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% Satisfied,
July 24, 2014
By: MendSet
from New York, NY, USA
"My wife and I are just back from our annual, and fourth consecutive, week-long fly fishing trip to Lone Mountain Ranch (LMR) and it keeps getting better. We keep returning to LMR because of the outstanding fishing guides, top grade Orvis equipment provided, and great accommodations and dining available at the Ranch. When you lose count of the number of 15+ inch trout you bring to net each day it must mean your guide knows what he/she is doing, your equipment is holding up, and you are having a memorable day, and so it was each day for us fly fishing southwestern Montana out of LMR. Looking forward to our 5th week in 2015."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
July 24, 2014
By: Cmarks
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"as total beginners, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect, but we were amazed at how well Wes was able to teach us the basics and help us have a really fun and relaxing trip. Maggie also worked with our children and was very encouraging and patient with them. I highly recommend them both."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Terrific - LMR,
July 23, 2014
By: tomeast
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Guides were great with grandkids and the experienced fly fishermen. Had a wonderful day on Madison and very good lessons on Gallatin for a beginner. Kids learned on the pond below the Ranch. All A+."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guides,
July 22, 2014
By: RobA2014
from SE Pennsylvania
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I visited Lone Mountain Ranch for the 6th time. Everything is 1st class and the river selection is fantastic. I fished the Gallatin and the Yellowstone with Rick Reed. I would highly recommend him. It would be tough to find a guide who works as hard as he does."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only Wish We Had Fished More!,
July 21, 2014
By: RJGJr
from Big Sky, MT
"Went to LMR to ride horses in the mountains and fish the blue ribbon streams near the ranch. Took my 8 year old son to get his first real taste of mountain trout fishing, having taken his older brothers there many years ago. as it did before, the fishing at LMR exceeded expectations. John and Maggie were as accommodating and pleasant as they were patient and encouraging. clearly, they know these waters [The Gallatin and Yellowstone Rivers this trip] blindfolded. first class equipment, first class guides and first class trout water makes this an easy choice for the next trip, especially when you consider all of the other great offerings available at LMR. Recommended with high confidence and without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone mountain Guest ranch,
July 19, 2014
By: Grfis
from Big Sky, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent overall Experience
Fly fishing lessons exceptional
Fly fishing trip was excellent
and the guide was beyond expectations.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone Mountain Ranch,
July 16, 2014
By: KevinBender
from La Canada, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My famiy and I recently spent a week at Lone Mountain Ranch and I was able to spend a few days fishing with the guides. They were great! They were very helpful on the ranch and when we went looking for fishing locations, they were very knowledgable about where the fish were.I really enjoyed my eperience and would highly recomend them to anyone else."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing the Gallatin,
July 16, 2014
By: jamese
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic experience. I've wanted to try Fly Fishing for a while and heard good reviews of Lone Mountain and their guides so the family and I decided to go and check it out. I went three times, with Maggie and Jake both of who where fantastic and helped me learn the basics of casting, drifting and fly selection. Catching my first fish was an phenominal experience. I loved it so much we have booked to go again next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing,
July 9, 2014
By: LogramBocaRaton
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great with kids and first timers
"We took a 2 hour fly fishing lesson with the staff at Lone Mountain and we loved it. We loved it so much we booked a 1/2 day trip on the river for the next day. The staff is great! Our guides, Kurt and Wes are excellent and we had a ton of fun. Our two kids (ages 8 & 11) really caught the fly fishing bug and can't wait to go again. A must do in Big Sky!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Gallatin River,
July 7, 2014
By: Anton
from Manila, Philippines
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:They were both excellent guides and great teachers
"Our experience at the Lone Mountain Ranch last week exceeded our expectations. The fly fishing trip with John and Wes was no exception. My wife and 2 daughters had a fabulous time learning from both "masters". We plan on returning next summer and will definitely plan to spend more time fly fishing in the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first time experience,
June 30, 2014
By: Nancyjerryoh
from Xenia, OH 45385, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very sweet
"Great staff of instructors, first class equipment, both classes were very informative (101 & 201) and we had a wonderful time. John, Brin and Jake were were great for 101 and Wes and Maggie were awesome and very kind.
We loved it!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Trip of a Lifetime,
June 20, 2014
By: CWStewart
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Awesome
"This was our first time to fish in Montana, so we wanted to make it a special trip. The staff at Lone Mountain Ranch is what made our trip a truly memorable one. We came to the ranch on the 6 day fishing package, so we got to experience a variety of water during our stay. I want to start by praising the staff for the incredible job that they did. John McKinnie did a great job preparing us for our trip by answering all of questions and getting us set up with all of our gear for the week. He set us up with Rick Reed and John Hall as guides, and these were the best guides, hunting or fishing, that we've ever taken a trip with. Their knowledge of the land and the fish was incredible. We were a little worried that our trip would suffer a bit since none of us were accomplished fly fishermen, but Rick and John did an awesome job teaching and helping us throughout the week. We seemed to have pretty awesome conditions and managed to catch a ton of fish. Catching a lot of fish was definitely a bonus, but this trip was about getting to experience the beauty of Montana. John and Rick really invested in our lives while we were guests at the ranch. You'll talk to these guys like you've known them your whole life. In addition to helping us land fish, they really put in the extra effort to give us a true and authentic Montana experience. I'll admit, I did have high expectations since LMR was an Orvis endorsed lodge. I wasn't sure if we would ever have the chance to come back, so I wanted this trip to be one I could tell my kids about one day. My expectations were blown out of the water by the ranch and our guides. These guys worked their tails off to ensure that our family had a great time. Lone Mountain Ranch goes above and beyond to provide their guests with a true Montana experience that will have you wanting to return as soon as you get home."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class Operation,
June 18, 2014
By: SLKilkelly
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I recently returned from a stay at LMR and can't say enough great things about the experience. All of the staff we interacted with were outstanding, but our fishing guide Jake especially stood out. Jake is a native of the Bozeman area and his knowledge of the local waters is encyclopedic. His teaching skills are outstanding, and he is a genuinely friendly, pleasant person to be around. After Jake finishes his guiding day, he goes out to fish for a few hours on his own. That speaks to the passion Jake has for his craft. We are planning a return visit to LMR soon, and as soon as I know the dates, I'm booking fishing days with Jake!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a Lifetime,
June 17, 2014
By: Harvey123
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a magical experience bringing our 12-year old grandson on his first ever fly fishing trip. I was contacted ahead of the visit by Lone Mountain’s head of fly fishing, John McKinnie. He wanted to know exactly what did we seek in this trip and to schedule the days accordingly. I explained it was all about introducing our grandson to the sport - teaching him and getting him on some fish so that he really experiences the thrill. John planned a casting class upon our arrival and set up two days of wade fishing and one float trip. The guides were Jake Messenger, Rick Reed, John Sniscak and Kurt Dehmer. All but Kurt worked with our grandson and they were fantastic in teaching, letting him learn by mistakes and successes and being contagious with their love of the great Montana outdoors and fly fishing. Turns out the boy is a natural! He set and landed his first ever trout strike which was a 19 inch rainbow in the beautiful Grayling Creek! On the Madison he caught a whole bunch of browns and rainbows several at about 20 inches and one 21-Inch bow! He could not have been more thrilled but his proud grandparents were! Oh, and my wife and I had a fantastic fishing experience as well. We’ve been to lodges in New Zealand, Alaska and Tennessee. But never have we had such a rewarding experience. Hats off to Lone Mountain and especially their manager John and guides Jake, Rick and John. BTW my wife told John she really hoped to see a moose and he drove us to a remote spot where, sure enough we spotted two!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lone Mountain Ranch is First-class,
June 16, 2014
By: TXflyF35
from Waxahachie, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:lunch provided through LMR
"I booked a full day float trip through LMR to take advantage of the Orvis-approved guide service. I wanted my daughter ( age 14) to have a good first time out fly-fishing.
Our guide, John Sniscak, was a knowledgeable fly-fisher and superb boatman.
My daughter caught a lot of fish, and was all smiles at day's end. Success!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes