Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lone Mountain Ranch, MT

Lone Mountain Ranch is an historic winter and summer guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, which is one of the last remaining large, nearly intact ecosystems in the northern temperate zone of the Earth. Just 18 miles from the Yellowstone Park border, the ranch offers not only some of the finest year-round blue ribbon fly fishing anywhere in North America, but also guided horseback riding, hiking, Yellowstone tours and an Outdoor Youth Adventures program for kids 4-18 years with whitewater rafting and ziplining just down the road. Our highly experienced guide staff will help you discover the diverse fishing experiences this area has to offer. Float the legendary Madison and Yellowstone rivers in a drift boat, walk/wade the Gallatin River and streams in Yellowstone Park, or horseback ride to pristine high alpine lakes. Fine dining, comfortable log cabins and jaw-dropping classic alpine scenery compliment the array of activities we offer for the whole family. June, July, and August are great months for families and September offers an adults-only experience. While many guests spend their winter days skiing from December through March, the Gallatin is an amazing winter fishery for those days off from skiing.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great 3 days at Lone Mountain,
October 10, 2013
By: thfdjf
from Rochester, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brother and I spent 3 great days at Lone Mountain Ranch in early September. It was our first visit, and everything about the place exceeded our expectations. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the cabins and dining hall were great, and the meals were fantastic. We spent 3 full days on the water with our top notch guide, Kurty - drifting on the Madison and the Yellowstone and wading the Madison. Kurty was the ideal Montana fly fishing guide - knowledgable, very competent with the drift boat, an excellent teacher, and, as a Montana native, a rich source of information and stories on the area and the wildlife. We learned a lot and caught some beautiful fish. We were definitely not ready to leave at the end of our stay, and we look forward to a return trip to LMR soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not displeased in any way!,
September 24, 2013
By: SammyRay
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I came to Lone Mountain as they had both activities that we both love. Fishing and horse riding, me fishing, her the horses.
The people at the ranch were friendly, courteous, and made us feel right at home. I wanted to take them all home with me they were so good to us.
The dining was world class and we were never disappointed with their food or service.
The horseback riding was everything my wife wanted, taking several day trips. The horses, equipment, and the wranglers were excellent. The mountain trails were thrilling and scenic for her.
Fishing with the guides was the best I have ever had. The guides had great knowledge of the various streams in the area, they were extremely courteous, and greatly attentive to the task. I learned much from them. On a float trip, my wife went with us. She caught many fish and the guide spent most of his time teaching her technique and taking her fish off her hook.
Overall, this trip ranked at the top of our best trips. We were not disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fly-fishing shop and experience,
September 22, 2013
By: THinColorado
from Eagle, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I thoroughly enjoyed my four days fishing at Lone Mountain Ranch. John Hall and
Kurty are very knowledgeable,helpful,
and friendly guides.
Truly enjoyed their
expertise.
The Orvis fly shop at
the Ranch was outstanding. John, the manager, and Jake
and Josh were always
assisting me with great advice and made
my fishing experience
that much more fun.
Thank you to the Orvis
Fly-Fishing Team!!!!
I would definitely fish with you again and I hope to do so in
the future.
Have a super winter!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing,
September 22, 2013
By: codyh
from Hamilton Township, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent four long days fly fishing with guide Rick Reed. Have fished with a few guides in other states, but must say Rick was the best in devoting his time and knowledge to improving my somewhat moderate skills. The staff at the ranch are top notch in every way. Was a perfect experience all around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous First Time Fly Fishing,
September 13, 2013
By: HomewoodFlyFishers
from Birmingham, AL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We were back at Lone Mountain Ranch for the 1st time in 25 years....best vacation ever!! Jake, John, and Josh were great in preparing us for our fly-fishing trip...first time for me. We had an amazing experience standing in the beautiful Gallatin River fly-fishing. I am already looking for fly-fishing opportunities in Alabama. Jake was an amazing guide...very instructional, encourager and a lot of fun. We learned a lot and had a great time. Our next visit to the ranch will definitely include more fly-fishing. Thanks guys!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wild Trout Dreams,
September 4, 2013
By: BillsMThol13
from Derbyshire, UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Must return for some Spring fishing in March.
"Four decades of trout fishing could not prepare me for this exquisite wild trout experience.
Beautiful rivers unbounded, seriously knowledgeable and delightful guides and wild fish that have spent years in my dreams , all contributed to an unforgettable holiday.
I shall be planning a return visit soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An outstanding family vacation & fishing experienc,
September 3, 2013
By: DSeymour
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a fabulous time at the ranch last week. I'm an avid fly fisherman and I brought my 17 year old daughter and 10 year old son to experience Montana for the first time. Both kids LOVED the ranch and all the activitiers. Jake did an awesome job guiding the 17 year old and she loved fly fishing. My son rode horses all week and is hooked as well. Thank you for a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked!,
September 2, 2013
By: HookedonFlyFish
from Lone Mountain
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We are hooked! Our guides John and Forest have inspired a new hobby for the Washburn family - fly fishing! Never thought that would be possible. We thought Forest was going to have his work cut out for him with our two teenage boys who are always moving and obsessed with extreme sports. His expertise and great attitude captured both the boys.
As for the adults - we think this could be our new thing together but we are trying to figure out how to get John on our dates so he can inject his knowledge, contagious laugh and love of the sport. Would highly recommend this group. Their passion for the sport is truly contagious!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Week,
August 21, 2013
By: ML35
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The absolute man. Felt like I was learning from a fishing guru.
"Our family just returned from a great week at Lone Mountain. We had an absolute blast fishing the Gallatin, Yellowstone and Madison rivers. Our guides, John Hall and Rick Reed proved to be experts on their local waters and general wildlife. Moreover, their patience and ability to teach and communicate (and untangle) gave our family memories we won't soon forget. Can't wait to get back to Lone Mountain!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing at LMR,
August 21, 2013
By: LNtotheH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Made it out 4 times with Kurty and John on the Gallatin and Yellowstone and fishing was unforgettable. Kids had a blast the day they went out, with our one child who wasn't interested in fishing catching a white and rainbow and the other two coming up empty. Great to get out early and fish with the spruce moth dries. Definitely the best and most beautiful fishing and I have ever done. LMR does everything else great too, so when not fishing, we all had a blast."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vacation Ever,
August 18, 2013
By: whitefishking
from Glenwood Springs, CO 81601, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Lone Mountain Ranch fly shop and outdoor shop is the place for fly fishing. Excellent staff- top notch guides-Rick Reed- John Mckinnie-John Hall-Kurt Dehmer-Maggie Kuhlman-Josh Berry, and Jake Messinger- very smart- they know their fish!! I floated the Yellowstone River with John Hall. I caught Yellowstone Cutties, Rainbows and a few white fish. John showed me a lot of tips to help me improve my flyfishing. I wade fished with my son- John Mckinnie (Lone Mt. Ranch fly shop manager and guide) on the Galatin River and caught fish there too! The best day of fishing was floating the Madison river with John M. as our guide. The whole family went, and I hooked on the best, hardest fighting Brown ever, for me. Without John's quick reactions with the net, I would have lost him! PRICELESS!! Best day of fishing ever!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great days in Montana,
August 13, 2013
By: hollandfly
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After waiting over ten years to make a trip to Montana with the family, nothing of the experience at LMR disappointed. A majot highlight of the week was a half-day fishing the Gallatin and a day float trip on the Madison. A terrific experieince,made complete under the tutoring eyes of Josh and Kurty, whose patience was legendary! Thanks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable!,
August 10, 2013
By: DWRSooner
from Edmond, OK, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:what a trio... keep em close!
"My mom was from western Montana and I spent significant time fishing there...but...this trip to LMR rekindled an early passion for me and kindled one for my wife and 2 youngest kids [what an unbelievable mix of mountain air, wild water, terrain, horses, food (yes and wine), ambience, and real people... and the amazing flowers near the tree line on the 6hr horseback ride into Yellowstone Park] ... and my 18 and 21 y/o boys and I became real fly fisherman (I'd fly fished quite a bit, including with good guides, and both my boys had done some, but the Orvis guides at LMR, John Mckinnie, John Hall, Rick Reed, and John Kirk (and a cameo flycasting lesson from Jake!) taught us to really FISH!... excellent instruction aimed at our skill levels, our personalities, and our need to catch fish! ... from Rick Reed's early nymphing lessons, etymology, and his drift boat mastery to John Hall's focus on tenacity and big fish in magical holes, and John McKinnie's knowing what we needed, what a week!... can't wait till next year!... we're hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
August 6, 2013
By: Doodah
from Memphis, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A true professional
"Everything at Lone Mt was absolutely first class, but I want to single out the fishing. John McKinnie runs the fly shop superbly and arranged several half day trips on the Gallatin for me and my 12 year old grandson with guide Rick Reed. I could not have been more pleased with the results - great Orvis rental gear, super organization, and Rick busted his chops to put my grandson on plenty of wild rainbows. This was a trip of a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time,
August 3, 2013
By: BoneRat
from Cardiff, UK
"I thought you can't come to one of the premier areas in the world & not try the fishing. My back ground was that of sea anging, my previous attempts at fly fishing ending in derision by both fish & people.
The experience provided by all at LMR and by John, John & Josh exceeded all my expectations. They were very knowledgable and tolerant of my beginner fumblings.
The fishing was great & in stunning surroundings, actually managed to catch fish & lots of them by my standards.
Food was excellent & the ranch peaceful & friendly.
Had forgotten the US breeds mossies that can pierce Kevlar - memo to self - more DEET next time!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 2, 2013
By: Lanky143143
from Cohasset, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a great experience! I'd never been fly fishing before and thought I'd give it a try. My guides were Joshua and Kurt and both were excellent, not only with instruction, but at sharing their fly fishing experience and other fishing stories. The level of service from them and at the Fishing center was exceptional yet reserved and not over-bearing. Very comfortable!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three Great Years and Counting,
August 1, 2013
By: Cejks
from Winnetka, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just returned from our third fantastic stay at Lone Mountain Ranch. Our two boys (8 and 5) love the kids program and have begged to go back the past 2 summers. The fishing has always been top-notch, and the guides (John Hall, John McK, Maggie, Kurty, Forrest...) are knowledgeable, personable and highly skilled. Whether working with my wife and I or the kids (I don't know a lot of 4 year olds that have landed a cutthroat on a dry fly, but John McK even managed to make that happen last year), they have always struck the right tone when instructing to make sure the emphasis is on enjoying the time on the water. As another reviewer noted, the entire staff manages to deliver a high level of service in a very casual and relaxed manner - perfect for a family vacation on a ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
July 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Wilmette, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my best week of fishing ever! Kurt, my guide, beyond 5 days of great trips. He improved my skills and took me to spectacular Fishing places. The horseback riding was individualized so that we continue to improve our skills. Everyone on staff seem interested in making our vacation a memorable one. The food was excellent
.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12 memorable days of fishing,
July 27, 2013
By: KentUKFisherman1
from Kent UK
"We had two great weeks at LMR in July with excellent staff, food and activities. Fishing over 12 days was superb - I am afraid I lost count of the tally! It would be really difficult to find a better, more helpful, knowledgeable and patient guide than Kurt D. We fished all sorts of waters, learnt much and saw a lot of wildlife. John McK should be complimented on running such a well organised fishing programme.
Can't wait for our next visit to LMR!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lone Mountain Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome memories,
July 17, 2013
By: cpduerr
from Pittstown, NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:John is the BEST! He was very patient with my daughter and I and we really enjoyed his expertise and his company. He has a real gift in being able to work with fishermen of all abilities....
"Had a fantastic week at LMR and would recommend everyone get there. The activities were terrific - lots of riding, hiking, and other cool adventures. We have a 13-year old and a 16-year old and they will have very special memories from this trip. The staff couldn't have been any better - the service was great but in such a fun and casual way. We loved our trip and would love to go back! The half day fly fishing was terrific - John really turned me around because I truly hate fishing and by the end of our day I was really enjoying it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes