Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Eagle Nest Lodge, MT

Eagle Nest Lodge - 2008 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Lodge of the Year. Eagle Nest Lodge was built along the banks of the Bighorn River in 1985 and has been serving the most discerning clientele since. In 1986 it was chosen among the first group of lodges to receive an endorsement from the Orvis Company for fly-fishing excellence and won the coveted Fly-Fishing Lodge of the year in 2008.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
131 of 131(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 3 days of fishing!,
July 30, 2014
By: Earl81601
from Glenwood Springs, Co
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ryan worked very hard when things were slow to put us on fish
"This was my 1st trip to Eagles Nest Lodge and will certainly be back. The fishing was excellent
all three days as the guides worked to find what was producing. As far as the Lodge experience it couldn't have been any better. Great food every night and John and Rebecca make it over the top.We will definately be back.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Times,
July 29, 2014
By: Goldeye
from Glenwood Springs, CO 81601, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very professional and great knowledge of the Big Horn
"i have been to the Eagles Nest three years in a row and can't imagine going anywhere else! the lodging, service, guides and hospitality is top notch! Not to mention the fishing, is unbelievable!!! Highly recommend the Nest to anyone who likes to catch fish, eat unbelievable cuisine and enjoy great people!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous Experience,
July 29, 2014
By: Dego
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Both Sam and Rob were great people to fish with.
"What a wonderful time...great fishing, great accommodations, great staff and great food with friends. This was my first trip to Eagle Nest Lodge and Montana and I could not have asked for a better situation. Thanks ENL Staff for making my time in MT wonderful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge in North America!,
July 25, 2014
By: FlyfishingMontana
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our fourth trip to Eagle's Nest Lodge and everything was again top notch, the guides, as a group, are as good as or better than any lodge in North America! Their knowledge, encouragement, ability to teach and provide the client the experience they are looking for (i.e. fishing dries, streamers, nymphing or fishing for carp in the lake) is second to none and really sets them apart. The food was terrific and plentiful (too plentiful!), the lodge is clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the addition of the Bose speaker in the living room. We put it to good use. Finally, their flexibility and willingness to change the schedule to accommodate a later start in order to fish the evening Caddis hatch was very much appreciated. Although this makes for longer days for the staff and guides and more time away from their families everyone was professional, courteous, always had a smile and never mentioned the impact of the later start on their personal lives and families. Eagle's Nest Lodge has established a culture that is second to none. We have had the same staff and guides year after year and is a large part of what sets Eagle's Nest Lodge apart from all other lodges. Knowing that we will see familiar faces and a consistent program is in large part what continues to bring us back year after year. Eagle's Nest Lodge has set the bar so high that it make it next to impossible to leave and try another lodge and we are already looking forward to returning next year for what we are sure will be another great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time!,
July 24, 2014
By: rj92
from Glencoe, IL
"This was my second trip to Eagle Nest Lodge in four years. I have been fly fishing about 2 - 3 times per year since 1996 all over this hemisphere. This trip, July 13 - 17, 2014 was one of the all time best! The weather, the lodge, the food, and all three guides I had in three days of fishing were just outstanding! (The guides I had were Ryan, Adam, and Sam.)
John and Rebecca Shirley are world-class hosts and I would recommend them and the Eagle Nest Lodge to anyone. They are as gracious and easygoing as any hosts or hostesses with whom I am familiar.
I missed a couple of trips to Eagle Nest during the last two years. I won't miss any more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really hard to beat!,
July 23, 2014
By: diceman
from Seattle, WA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the 4th year in a row our group has come to Eagles Nest Lodge for a few days of fishing. It never fails to surpass our expectations! John and Rebecca run a great ship...beautiful, well maintained lodge, spectacular food, top-notch guides and a great all-around experience. Best of all, they are wonderful hosts who always go the extra mile to make your visit special."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great First Fly Experience,
July 22, 2014
By: Bgreazel
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just returned from my first fly fishing excursion at the Lodge. Rebecca and Jon are excellent hosts. The food,guides and accomodations are first class and the company is even better. Upon my arrival Jon gave me a tutorial on how to cast. The next day he was our guide and I acheived the coveted trifecta (and only hooked Jon twice). Over three days of fishing I must have caught 50+ fish. Can't wait to return again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great People, Food and Fishing!,
July 22, 2014
By: Ofer
from Seattle, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"John and Rebecca are the ultimate hosts. Our group of ten have just completed our 4th year and are planning on returning next year. It feels like family and they are always looking for ways to make your stay better than the last time around"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Lodge / Great Fishing,
July 22, 2014
By: DEM1221
from Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On our 4th trip to Eagles Nest we could not have enjoyed our time more.
John and Rebecca run an outstanding lodge, and the guides are great.
Combined with excellent food and great fishing, it was a tremendous experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love Eagle Nest,
July 9, 2014
By: MTreiner
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide.
"This was our 4th or 5th trip and we love coming here. Rebecca & John are a great host & hostess. The food is delicious and the fishing is always good. Sam is a wonderful guide and very knowledgable about the area. We've already booked for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top shelf,
June 21, 2014
By: craigbra
from Memphis, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A recent trip to Eagle Nest Lodge was one of the best I have ever had. From John and Rebecca's hospitality, to the guides, the food, and the fish in the Bighorn River the entire experience was top shelf. I'll be going back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just fun,
June 4, 2014
By: Det1234
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:terrific teacher and sense of humor
"Greeted by a great couple who are warm and sensitive people is the beginning of a 5 day trip with sensational food, thoughtful and experienced guides who subtly teach how to cast, control your line, and be successful catching fish to the evenings of laughter, telling fish and other stories is just the one small part of this immensely fun time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the greatest,
June 3, 2014
By: catsill
from farmington hills, mi
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:the gratest
"Have gone there for 9 years and have booked next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heaven on earth.....,
June 3, 2014
By: Bob8691
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:absolutely the best
"Where do we begin. My son and I discovered Eagle Nest last year and returned again this year bringing some friends. It is the PERFECT retreat. Becca and John have developed the perfect formula for success. The lodge is very comfortable and intimate which makes for a small group and allows for all of the personal service and comforts. The food is world-class. Sherry is the best kept secret. I travel over 150k miles annually and Eagle Nest is 5 stars in my book. Of course the fishing is the icing on the cake. the Big Horn is always consistent. great fishing and the guides are some of the best you will find globally in the business. All have been with John between 10-20 years. that should tell you all you need to know about John, Becca and the program. They know the conditions, the river and the fish! I cannot say enough good things about Eagle Nest, John and Becca. It is truly a GREAT experience and one that my son and I cherish. We are already booked for next year and can't wait!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing fishing,
May 31, 2014
By: pepperman
from scottsdale az
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Best guide I've ever had
"Lodging at Eagles Nest was great! John & Rebecca, gracious hosts with the most. So accommodating with every detail. Along with our two sons, we can't say enough praises for the amazing fishing everyday, our guides, the accommodations and the food....so much good food! The group blended well and we made new friends. Can't wait to return!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect lodge in the perfect place,
May 29, 2014
By: Asarkozy
from Aurora, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He is very knowledgeable and a great guide.
"I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Eagle Nest lodge and I couldn't have found a better place. This lodge has great accommodations, fantastic food, wonderful people and the best fishing ever! We spent two days on the Bighorn and lost count of how many fish we caught. Every day after returning from fishing, we had a great time sharing stories over cocktails. I hope to return again, Rebecca and John are the greatest hosts and the guides are all the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A true 5 Star fishing experience,
May 27, 2014
By: BLC71cadesert
from La Quinta, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I give him the highest recommendation
"I had a great stay and outstanding fishing on the Bighorn! John and Rebecca Shirley get credit for placing me with Sam Boggio as my guide. I had the best experience fishing with Sam every day. It just got better and better! And then at the end of the fishing day you return to the lodge for a wonderful gourmet dinner prepared especially for the guests assembled. The service and care extended to all guests is the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extraordinary Experience,
May 27, 2014
By: JSJr
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fishing exceeded all expectations; both the quality and quantity of fish was stunning! We must have had two dozen doubles in three days of fishing.
The accommodations were superb. It's a beautiful lodge, with perfectly and tastefully appointed sitting areas, porches, and bedrooms. I can't begin to capture how great the food was for all three meals. The dinners and breakfasts, especially, would compare favorably with the nicer restaurants in major cities.
But what makes Eagle Nest Lodge among the best experiences in the world is the people affiliated with the lodge. John, Rebecca, Sherry, and the guides (especially ours, Sam Boggio) go out of their way to make you feel at home. Even for first-timers, like us, they all made you feel like old friends. Sam was particularly good at teaching us as we fished. Everyone at ENL goes out of their way to help you enjoy this beautiful country.
I can't give a higher recommendation for a place. It's unbelievable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fishing and service at eagle nest,
May 27, 2014
By: chairmandale
from eldorado hills, calif.
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:was very effective in moving you at a pace that matched your skill level.
"I joined a group[ of business associates to spend 3days at the camp, the service and accommodations at the resort were over the top.John and Rebecca could not have been nicer to our group, anything you would need to fish is provided even the excellent guides who lead you through the fly fishing process , making each cast smoother than the last.- Will return, hope to bring some new friends to enjoy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Eagle Nest Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three days of fishing heaven,
May 27, 2014
By: RJG1103
from Chicago
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:One of the best guides I've been out with over the past 10 years
"My fishing buddy and I had a top-notch experience at the Eagle Nest Lodge, from start to finish. The fishing opportunities were varied as we nymphed and dry flied from the drift boat and nymphed and threw dries wading. And we caught fish in all situations - thanks, in large part to the expert assistance of our guide, John Shirley, who was patient, good-humored, and on top of every situation. The lodge experience, including the bountiful meals, was a 5-star experience. It doesn't get any better than this!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes