Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Crystal Creek Lodge, AK

Operated by same owner/manager since 1988, associated with Orvis since 1991 and twice awarded Orvis-Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge of the Year, Crystal Creek Lodge offers guests a unique combination of field and stream diversity, the highest guide, staff and aircraft to guest ratios available in Alaska and inspired lodging and hospitality. The surrounding Bristol Bay Region and Alaska Peninsula inarguably offer the most diverse and productive freshwater fishing opportunities on earth. Compare offerings and decide for yourself if Crystal Creek Lodge offers the most comprehensive guided fishing and lodging package available in Alaska, if not anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.987 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
149
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
151 of 151(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remarkable Alaska Experiences,
November 20, 2014
By: donnall
from thorne bay ak/lewistown MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As an Alaska resident and former guide, I cannot think of a better place for a visitor to enjoy an amazing sample of the state's angling, scenery, (and wing-shooting, for that matter) than Crystal Creek Lodge. Daily fly-outs allow you to sample a tremendous cross-section of the famous Bristol Bay region. The guides and pilots are uniformly experienced, capable, and enjoyable to spend time with in the field. Lodging and accommodations are spectacular. I have been fortunate to visit many times on writing assignments and frequently recommend Crystal Creek to friends whatever their level of experience in Alaska."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class in Every Way,
November 19, 2014
By: tomsq
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crystal Creek is a first class experience in every way. From the fishing and guides to the food and wonderful atmosphere, it exceeds expectations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip Ever,
October 1, 2014
By: gonefishinnotcominghome
from New York, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great/fun
"our trip to Crystal Creek in early August was fantastic. the guides and operators and all great and friendly and became like family in just a few days. the fishing was fun and beyond my expectations. the bar after a great day fishing was a great place to exchange fishing stories. it make a trip of a lifetime something I'll never forget."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfull Alaska,
September 28, 2014
By: luisanchorena
from Argentina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second time to Crystal Creek lodge, this time me and my friends went to the tent camo for 3 days where we had an excellent experience. I recomend it very much"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once in a lifetime,
September 26, 2014
By: Seesaw1
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Unbelievable experience! Especially my first time fly-fishing! Tremendous support and genuine care from a great group of people! Felt more like family! Flying in the Beaver-priceless!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still amazed !!!,
September 24, 2014
By: Agustin
from Argentina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great Guide
"Just get back home and I'm still amazed by the week spent at Cristal Creek Lodge. Everything is what you should expect from an Orvis endorsed lodge ...and even more. Wonderful facilities ,excellent service and unbelievable fishing and hunting ! Brian , the chef, was incredible and surprise us every day , all the guides shown a deep knowledge of the region and the fishing. The atmosphere at the lodge was great! It is a great operation ,perfectly run by Dan Michaels."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience of a lifetime,
September 21, 2014
By: Ross19400
from West Vancouver, BC, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The varied fishing locations were exceptional.The bears are something I'll never forget. They are so hospitable letting you fish in the river right beside them!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
must do,
September 21, 2014
By: nottie
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our third trip to Crystal Creek. Yet again they surpassed our already high preset expectations. It is not only the lodge, food, and fishing which make it; but also it is the wonderful mix of all the staff who are both professional and personal, which raise Crystal Creek above its competitors."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket from list overflows,
September 21, 2014
By: AULflyman
from Napa, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Friendly, knowledgeable, cheerful, helpful, interesting lives, serving
"My 3 friends and I have had a wonderful Alaska fly fishing adventure on our collective list for years. This was the year it all came together. From the moment the van picked us up at the airport, 'till the final good buy to the wonderful staff, we were convinced that we were existing in the dream of a lifetime come true for us. We caught many fish, but most importantly were the caliber and sincere desire for our enjoyment expressed by every single member of the Crystal Creek "family". From our first communication with Heather, through every over the top five star meal, through every guide we fished with or even encountered, we felt that so many people were completely dedicated to our thorough enjoyment and happy experience. Truly, Crystal Creek takes the term "First Class" to heretofore uncharted heights. Thank you, Crystal Creek! We'll never forget you, until wee meet again!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Fishing Lodge,
September 21, 2014
By: Jblbbbsb4
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crystal Creek Lodge is not a place you come to visit, but a place you come home to. Crystal Creek Lodge is comfortable in its breathtaking natural landscape, balancing refined luxury with rustic warmth. It has the relaxed elegance to match some of the greatest lodges across the globe. Most importantly, the entire fishing experience is off the hook, it is a piscatorial paradise! The lodge facilities, and equipment are of exceptional quality and well taken care of. The guides expertise and genuine nature make Crystal Creek Lodge the most enjoyable fishing experience to be had and all skill levels are taken care of with great detail. The cuisine could easily be found at a high-end exclusive urban restaurant! Lastly, a relaxed and friendly culture/atmosphere exclude from the entire staff, making all aspects of travel, lodging, and fishing at Crystal Creek Lodge a five star experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!!,
September 20, 2014
By: Offcall1
from Orlando, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After my visit to Crystal Creek Lodge, I am spoiled for any other lodge. Accommodations, food, bar but most importantly the fishing was world class. Expensive but worth every single penny!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
September 17, 2014
By: Brad34
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my 10th trip to Crystal Creek Lodge, that should sum it up!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grrrreat time!!!,
September 17, 2014
By: thesnapper
from newtonville Ma.
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a city person I didnt really know what to expect and with very little fishing experience.
the staff was just perfect.Patient,wise and compassionate they made the whole experience memorable in many ways .From catching lots of fish, seeing bears real close(with no fear) enjoying the gourmet meals and of course the unmatched scenery. the whole trip was seamless!!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique experience,
September 16, 2014
By: Matius
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:dedicated, supporting & patients
"Spectacular place, outstanding attention, very dedicated team (guides - cook - pilots). Superb food quality."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing and Wildlife Experience,
September 16, 2014
By: jgr1764
from Orlando, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Experienced and effectively taught people how to improve casting
"Exceeded my expectations in accommodations, staff friendliness, food and activities and adventures. The staff made us feel like a part of the Crystal Creek family. Every aspect of the experience is first class and worthy of the highest Orvis recognition! Dan and his team make it a place you want to return to again and again. And the wildlife experiences were second to none!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class there is no comparison to Crystal Cr,
September 16, 2014
By: Baxb
from Park City, UT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I had the opportunity to fish with every guide on the Team all of them were GREAT
"My second year at Crystal Creek for 2weeks has been undoubtably the BEST time I have had in years last year was GREAT but this year was beyond all of my expectations from start to finish!! Dan and his entire TEAM absolutely love what they do which is provide the Best professional and personal service I have ever experienced anywhere in the fishing and hunting world. I look forward to my return in 2015. If you want a shot at some of the best Alaska wild rainbows or silvers this is the place to go.Thanks Team Crystal Creek for giving me such a wonderful experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miss it already!,
September 15, 2014
By: PhilyFamily
from Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"It was a long way home from King Salmon to Philadelphia, but after a good nap, I'm ready to start that trip all over again. My husband, two adult boys and I had an absolute blast with Capt. Dan Michels, Lynette, Ryan, Brian and the rest of the staff. Our freezer is packed with gorgeous salmon, and our hearts are full from the amazing experiences at Crystal Creek Lodge. The lodge is absolutely spotless, and we were treated like family in every sense of the word. Dan piloted us on astounding fly-out adventures, including walrus haul-outs, black volcanic sand beach-landings and treasure hunting, tundra "death marches" (i.e. Alaskan hiking!), volcano fly-overs accompanied by musical selections from the ipod, fishing with perfectly maintained waders and equipment, and bear-viewing every which-way. There was even a mount for the GoPro on the floatplane wing--they think of everything. Every dinner featured "desert #1" AND "desert #2", with a choice of main courses, and lunches in the bush always included a homemade soup as a starter. Our guides were the BEST--Ryan was always right next to me to offer his arm, to keep me steady in the current--on-time, professional, SAFE and happy trip to the wild. The lodge has a nice gift shop with fur slippers, jewelry and a well selected choice of clothing; also interesting books to read and artifacts to investigate. Fish was perfectly packed for travel. Thank you CCL, and also Entree Alaska and GoGirl Travel. Usually I don't return twice to a place I've already been, because there is so much to see in the world, but I can see Crystal Creek Lodge becoming a fabulous tradition!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Year,
September 10, 2014
By: Mikey2
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is our fourth year in a row to visit Crystal Creek Lodge. As before Dan, Heather and Alex have a great staff that are there to make sure your stay is outstanding. The fishing and food leave nothing to be desired. If you are looking for a truly five star Alaska adventure you cannot go wrong by choosing Crystal Creek."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding in Every Way,
September 9, 2014
By: Noble
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very easy review to write. OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This was my fourth trip to Crystal Creek and will not be my last. There are not enogh words to describe how great the people, the place, the food and the fishing are. But, by far what makes it above all others are the folks who run it. They cannot do enough to make your stay an outstanding experience.
I have been in eight to ten lodges in past six years. CRYSTAL CREEK is by far the tops in all areas.
Thanks to Dan, Heather,Alex and all the crew. You are the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded all expectations,
September 4, 2014
By: Archforlife
from Lansing, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crystal Creek Lodge is incredible! The staff is friendly, hardworking, helpful, patient, and highly knowledgeable. The variety of fish and rivers made every day an exciting adventure. The planes are immaculately maintained and the pilots are experienced professionals. The guides are terrific and the fishing equipment is top notch. My daughter had never fly fished before and they had her laying out line like a veteran by the end of the week. More importantly, they got us into fish everywhere we went. And they made it fun. The chefs made meals that rivaled the best I’ve eaten in top restaurants around the world. The lodge is gorgeous and our room was spacious and comfortable. But it was the entire staff is really what made our week extra special. They made each of the guests feel like part of their family, and by the end of the week we felt like we had made lifelong friends with the staff and the other guests. I’ve wanted to fish in Alaska for 25 years. After our week at Crystal Creek, I plan to go back every chance I get. And I wouldn’t even consider going to another lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes