Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Crystal Creek Lodge, AK

Operated by same owner/manager since 1988, associated with Orvis since 1991 and twice awarded Orvis-Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge of the Year, Crystal Creek Lodge offers guests a unique combination of field and stream diversity, the highest guide, staff and aircraft to guest ratios available in Alaska and inspired lodging and hospitality. The surrounding Bristol Bay Region and Alaska Peninsula inarguably offer the most diverse and productive freshwater fishing opportunities on earth. Compare offerings and decide for yourself if Crystal Creek Lodge offers the most comprehensive guided fishing and lodging package available in Alaska, if not anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.982 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
113 of 113(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Good As We Hoped,
July 28, 2014
By: colorado11
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:excellent, accomplished guides
"My fishing friend and I returned to Crystal Creek for the second time. We went earlier in the season than before and had some concerns if it would be the 'same thing' -- it wasn't. We fished different places and caught different fish. What was the same was the superior service, food and attention to detail. The staff and guides could not have been more attentive and helpful -- and they know how to catch fish.
We so enjoyed our time at Crystal Creek and look forward to returning."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Alaskan Adventure,
July 27, 2014
By: Swimpal
from California, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Crystal Creek Lodge delivered a perfect combination of incredible fishing, brown bear excursions, and walrus viewing. Whether by flight or by boat, volcanoes to streams, this was an epic adventure. The staff & guides are fun and really care about personalizing your experience. With luxurious accommodations and culinary diversity, you cant go wrong. Gear & mudroom operation impressive. Hard-core fisherman sharing their passions with wildlife enthusiasts and vice versa. Something for everyone!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 Star Exerience,
July 27, 2014
By: Tim0714
from Cincinnati, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crystal Creek Lodge is a combination of incredible fishing, knowledgeable and fun guides wrapped in a 5 star lodging and dining experience. Can't wait to return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Alaskan experience,
July 24, 2014
By: LaFisherman
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Accommodations and equipment, including aircraft are exceptional and well maintained. Daily flights to various fishing locations add flexibility to adjust to changing conditions."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaska at its best,
July 22, 2014
By: emh2014
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"From the moment our group arrived, CCL was there to take care of us and ensure that everyone was comfortable and had the most incredible experience possible in Bristol Bay. CCL's staff and guides were exceptionally welcoming and helpful, going out of their way to accommodate our group and our needs. It was an unforgettable time. We will be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
July 21, 2014
By: Bushido
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The lodge was immaculate. The food was so good I thought I was at a four star restaurant. The guides were professional as well as very attentive. If you are a first time fisherman or a veteran this lodge is the place for you.
Regards,
Curt H
San Francisco, CA
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time!!,
July 20, 2014
By: jim39
from North Baltimore, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides and everyone did an outstanding job!!!
"Everyone at Crystal Creek seem to be dedicated to seeing that everyone has a memorable experience a great time. The food and lodging were outstanding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury in the Wilderness!,
July 19, 2014
By: JvonZ
from Moab, UT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:each was fabulous
"My four days at Crystal Creek Lodge were absolute perfection - a combination of stellar host and extraordinary staff that made me feel like family -- to the fantastic tours, unparalleled scenery and luxury of the best in food, drink and conversation. I've traveled the world, and this was one of my top 5 adventures/experiences. Thank you!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Week & Fellowship,
July 18, 2014
By: RD2TEE
from Centerville, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Knowledgable and friendly
"The experience at Crystal Creek Lodge continues to be one of best experiences that I am fortunate enough each year. The staff is most knowedgable,friendly and service oriented. Dan, Alex, Heather and Josh create and promote a memorable experience. The food and its presentation is outstanding. I look forward to the continued opportunity to visit this unique and unmatched lodge and its staff in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2014,
July 15, 2014
By: Clayt
from Brookville, OH 45309, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five Star Fishing Experience!,
July 10, 2014
By: Rjoy2653
from Eugene, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Both guides were excellent. Knowledgeable and helpful. The meals were outstanding. Service was 5-star!
"This was my husband and I's third trip to Crystal Creek Lodge together and it won't be our last. We have gone each time with another couple that are very good friends.
From the moment you arrive, the staff at CCL go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every wish. The lodge is spectacular and the accommodations are spacious and comfortable, with high end beds and furnishings. From each gourmet meal prepared by the chef, to the guides and fishing experience, CCL is first class all the way. The professionalism and knowledge of the guides is second to none and the equipment, boats, planes and gear are all top notch.
It is evident that the staff/guides/pilots take great pride in their work and in ensuring each guest has the experience of a lifetime. I can tell you, we sure have had an exceptional experience each time we have been to CCL. Just when you think they can't improve (or have nothing to improve), they do! Dan, Lynnette, Alex, Heather and all of the staff and guides are AMAZING!!
We highly recommend CCL to anyone wanting to go to Alaska for a 5-star fishing and dining/lodging experience!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Do!,
July 10, 2014
By: GregorA
from Montara, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Both very knowledgeable and passionate, and respectful of the fish.
"Been to AK many times and my stay at Crystal Creek Lodge was by far the best experience. The staff are extremely nice and attentive, the food is awesome, the lodge is spectacular and very comfortable, the guides are very experienced, knowledgeable of all the surrounding fishing options & adaptable to all skill levels. Most importantly, they are passionate about finding the fish to make the trip worth the while. We caught Kings in the morning, Sockeye mid-day and BIG Rainbows on the fly in the afternoon. They have the whole deal going on here...truly a memorable experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystal Creek July 1-6, 2014,
July 8, 2014
By: ZeffWheelock
from Lincoln, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Wonderful, wonderful trip
"I have never had a more enjoyable vacation than fishing at Crystal Creek Lodge in King Salmon, AK! From the host, Dan Michels to the chef, Brian, to all the help and guides (Duane, Aaron, Hayden and Connor) and especially our pilot, John Mock, it felt like I was part of a larger family. Every thing was perfect! Fishing was top notch. There were good fishing stories, great friendships amongst everyone. I wasn't a guest at a lodge, I was another member of a large family. It was a wonderful introduction for me to Alaska. I think I got spoiled with 5 perfect days of sunshine and 70+ degrees. The chef, Brian, is a truly inspirational cook who served up meals with ingredients that you would not think go well together. But everything was cooked in the tradition of a 5 star hotel. Fresh baked bread with a maple, bacon jelly. A dessert that consisted of a poptart on a small bed of pop rocks for the fourth of July with some other creations. King Crab legs that were about 18" long. It was unbelievable. The guides were incredibly patient and knowledgeable. The barkeepers were more than willing to talk to all the guests. It is truly an experience that I will never forget!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Lodge,
July 6, 2014
By: GHCA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Every guide was great
"Just back from my second visit to Crystal Creek Lodge. Absolutely top quality in every respect - the fishing, the gear, the guides, the staff, the planes, the lodge, the food, you name it. Took my eleven year old son along this time, he had a blast and with the guides' help was casting a fly rod for sockeye on the first day. Highest recommendation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystal Creek,
July 3, 2014
By: AlanTAlaska
from Corona CA
"This was my first trip to Alaska and I'm pretty sure I don't need to experience another lodge any time soon. The overall experience was amazing; the Staff, Guides, Chef's and Pilots were all true professionals. The Fishing was beyond anything I have ever experienced. I highly recommend you choose Crystal Creek Lodge for your next Alaska trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic experience,
July 1, 2014
By: Chadbeck
from Los Angeles, CA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great group of guys that now how to find and assist all skill levels to catch fish and have a fun experience!!
"The staff, fishing and dining experience are second to none! Not only are the guides professional and very talented, but they truly enjoy what they do and it shows. The chemistry of the staff creates a fun filled atmosphere whether the bite is on or not. If it's not, rest assured the crew at Crystal Creek will find fish. There are not many places in the world you can catch a King, Sockeye and 30 inch rainbow on the same river!! I made the mistake of bringing my own gear the first year and my rod never left its case. Their equipment is top of the line and you’ll need it for those trophy rainbows!! If you get sore after an action packed day on the water and a meal to die for, be sure to get a massage! You’ll be ready to do it all over again the next day. Crystal Creek, there is no substitute!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever,
June 30, 2014
By: Tperky
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crystal Creek Lodge is the best I have been to over 18 years of fishing off and on. The guides, the equipment, the lodge, the food are all exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
June 30, 2014
By: Tynatgma
from York, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Amazing and awesome....everything and everyday was way beyond excellence...all of the staff was exceptional as well as the lodge itself..and the fishing was amazing...wow"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever!,
June 30, 2014
By: Camper93561
from Tehachapi, CA 93561, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my eleventh fishing trip to Alaska. This was also far away the best overall!! The staff at Crystal Creek is wonderful! The guides are awesome. (as was the fishing!)The overall service makes the difference. the menu was amazing for any five day trip, but for Alaska it was incredible. I would recommend Crystal Creek to anyone going to Alaska."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Crystal Creek Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked on Fishing,
June 26, 2014
By: MarinFisherGirl
from San Anselmo, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My very first time fly fishing and I am hooked!
Crystal Creek Lodge was the perfect place to learn. The lodge is fully equipped with everything you need - even hat nets to keep the pesky bugs away. The guides are instructive and patient as well as good company to spend the day with. The lodge is like spending time in someone's home with wonderful welcoming hosts. Our pilot, Dave, was full of great stories and local knowledge pointing out attractions during our flights.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes