Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Hole Lodge, MT

Big Hole Lodge has been hosting guests since 1984 and is ideally located on the banks of the Wise River in a magnificent wilderness setting. Guests stay in spacious private cabins with modern conveniences, all opening to a panoramic view of the scenic Pioneer Mountains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.977 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
85 of 85(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
September 26, 2014
By: TNKJ
from Vermont
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Since I began fly fishing 6 years ago, I've taken a trip each year to different lodges from Maine to Alaska. The Big Hole Lodge was by far the best all around experience I've had. Craig and Wade Fellin are wonderful hosts that make you feel like family from the time you book to until they drop you at the airport upon departure. Their guides are extremely competent, good teachers, friendly and personable, patient when needed; and we caught a lot of fish. Craig will customize your trip to fish the rivers you wish but will always give good direction on what your expectations should be. The fly shop was well stocked, the accommodations were excellent and the food fantastic. I will return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than we expected,
September 26, 2014
By: HenryMBowles
from Alameda, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Big Hole Lodge - simple, but comfortable, well appointed accommodations - hearty, delicious meals - an attentive, charming staff - in a serene, beautiful setting. Our guide was skilled, patient, and made our fishing a positive and memorable experience. We look forward to returning next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
September 23, 2014
By: CherokeeCutthroat
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Even though the fishing was "off" on our first day on the Big Hole, the staff and guides make for a great experience. Eagles, lunch, great weather.
Lodging is first rate, and food is excellent.
Then the fishing turned and good became great!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of Body Experience,
September 22, 2014
By: SJAD
from Scottsville, VA 24590, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Big Hole Lodge..Craig and Wade..the Guides...the Staff are fabulous! Extremely welcoming and quality through and through.
Can't wait to return next year for Montana's primo fly fishing and divine nature!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cutthroats,
September 21, 2014
By: Tommyboy1969
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Good and fun
"Excellent place, people and fishing"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Montana Fishing Lodge,
September 21, 2014
By: Charles5876
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Second trip to Big Hole Lodge. Excellent guides, fishing options, food, and comfort. Big Hole is a great river and there are other fine options as well. Craig Fellin is a very knowledgeable and hospitable fly fishing host."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great weekend,
September 20, 2014
By: Flygal1191
from Deep Creek Road, Wise River, MT 59762, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The accommodations, food, location and guides were fabulous. It was fun to fish the Big Hole River and catch some beautiful fish. The meals were the best I ever have had at a fishing lodge, thanks to Lynette."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return year after year,
September 19, 2014
By: Ohiofisherperson
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing at the Big Hole Lodge since the late 1990s. I go back year for many reasons. Fishing...the guides are the best. The return to nature...nothing is more beautiful, more relaxing than floating the Big Hole River. The people...the staff, the gourmet cooks and those you share dinner with at the long wooden dining room table."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An outstanding fly fishing vaction,
September 17, 2014
By: Rick1950
from Big Hole Lodge, Wise River, MT
"Craig Fellin & The Big Hole Lodge provided an outstanding fly fishing vacation! Every aspect of my experience was planned to ensure fun, relaxation and great fishing.
The Orvis endorsed Big Hole Lodge is a great venue with spacious cabins, a friendly attentive staff, outstanding food, and a well stocked fly shop.
I went there to catch fish and had a world-class experience. Craig's focus is understanding each guests ability and the type of fishing they desire. There is a wide variety of fishing opportunities...from rafting on the Big Hole River to wading private streams.
All guides want you to catch fish, but Craig's guides are outstanding in the way they help you catch fish. They know the rivers very well, from time of hatches to fly selection, and communicate exactly how and why I was doing something to maximize my experience.
I would recommend The Big Hole Lodge to anyone and look forward to returning soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everything a fisherman dreams about,
September 15, 2014
By: marcvo
from Ghent, Belgium
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Craigh and Wade were equally as competent
"when young and living in europe one dreams about the prairie , the plains and above all the fishing in magnificent rivers . All these dreams are fulfilled in the most complete way at the big hole lodge . Great lodge , a very diversified choice of rivers and above all the competence of the guides . The food is excellent . My non - fishing wife appreciated the concept , the atmosphere with the other guests and the other activities in the wise river valley .martine and Marc"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first class,
September 14, 2014
By: DIRTYDAVE
from Kittery, Maine
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:exceptional
"Who would expect, in the wilds of Montana, to have genuine maple syrup on their pancakes...MAINE maple syrup that is ..and form a company in my home town !! This says it all.."give the client MORE than they expect, with a smile " Not a bad mantra for a place hand-built by the fishing owner/manager !!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Good As It Gets,
September 14, 2014
By: DGHP
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I just returned from the Big Hole Lodge in Wise River, Montana. Craig Fellin and his entire staff were amazingly warm, welcoming and extremely accommodating. We fished with a different guide each day which was a very pleasant experience. The fishing was very good, we caught Brown, Rainbow, Cut Throat and Brook Trout as well as a few Graylings. We were taken to a variety of places to fish each of the five days we were there. The accommodations were very comfortable and the food was outstanding. Additionally, the scenery was amazingly beautiful. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests at the lodge, all of whom seemed to be as pleased with the experience as we were. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I would have to say as far as fishing lodges go, the Big Hole is as good as it gets."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
matching the hatch,
September 14, 2014
By: DIRTYDAVE
from Kittery, Maine
"Sept 7-11. 3 bluebird days. .and snow !!
when you look for a new place to go, the website is a valuable source of information . However..many times the website info is stronger on merchandising than accurate details
BHL has a website that is accurate in EVERY aspect, PLUS it clearly represents the mantra of the owner .." total customer service with a smile"!!.
Clients come to fish camps for a variety of reasons, but if the search is for quality fishing, in a simple , yet elegant, lodge .. BHL is THE PLACE
The BOSS, Craig, has produced a spot which not only meets his dreams,(as a fisherman, host and environmentalist and land owner) but exceeds the needs on any and al thoughtful fisher-folks !!.I delight in breaking records..but let me add to the unbroken string of "highly-
e"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of Everything,
September 13, 2014
By: crazy4fishin
from Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I would like to give the Lodge at least 8 stars for every category!!
"My husband and I went to Craig Fellin's Big Hole Lodge for the first time this year. It lived up to everything we had heard or read about it. The staff, the guides, the rooms, Lanette, the Chef... everything was first class…we felt well taken care of and very spoiled. We did happen to pick a week when a "Canadian Express Arctic Storm" barreled through. We had heavy clouds, frigid winds and snow, but the guides cheerfully put us onto fish every day. Their knowledge of the rivers around the lodge is exceptional. We are planning to return to fish with Craig again next summer. I highly recommend The Big Hole Lodge for the Orvis Lodge of the Year award!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
September 13, 2014
By: Dragonfly1949
from Big Hole Lodge, MT
"WOW! Is only a 10+ but in fact, this long looked forward to vacation is so much more. The staff is exceptional in making certain your needs are met -- from my allergies to special dietary needs, helping me increase my fly casting to netting trouts; a helping arm while wading streams; lunches on riverbanks; breakfast and dinner served family style around one table; patience! Lovely accommodations -- we stayed in a log cabin next to Wise River!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wild Trout in Gorgeous Country,
September 12, 2014
By: GrassFedBeef
from Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Thank you for a special highlight in my twenty-some year love affair with trout and flies. The unspoiled country, beautiful pastures, wild trout, comfortable rooms, great food, skilled guides and warm hospitality of our hosts made this a memorable week I will cherish for a long time. Topped perhaps only by Labrador with my Dad a decade ago. But you don't go there for the food or the rooms, no sir.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Place, Great Time,
September 11, 2014
By: JohnfromWinchester
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Big Hole Lodge, located in a picture postcard setting in Montana, serves up an experience worthy of it's location. From the no-hassle pre-trip arrangements, to the comfortable, homey accommodations, the eclectic and delicious meals, the well-stocked fly shop, the expert, friendly and accommodating guides, the menu of different fishing experiences and locations, and the fabulous fishing, Big Hole Lodge provides everyone with a world-class experience. As a fishing novice, I particularly appreciated the patience and teaching techniques of the guides. In short, if you love great scenery, food, and fishing, Big Hole is the place to be. I can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Doesn't Get Any Better!,
September 8, 2014
By: amaiorano
from Madison, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent guides in all aspects
"The best endorsement I can give is the fact that I've already made reservations for next year at Craig's Big Hole Lodge. Our week with Craig was a wonderful experience in every respect. From our initial communications through our departure Craig and his team were warm, friendly, and effective. Over five days of fishing in several different rivers, each guide was thoroughly knowledgeable, patient, and dedicated to putting us on the fish. Each guide taught my wife and I valuable lessons that improved our skills through the week. During the week we caught plenty of brown, rainbow, brook, and cutthroat trout along with whitefish and a few grayling. In addition, in our few spare hours, I caught a number of nice 14" rainbows fishing the Wise River immediately behind the cabins. Craig starts you off at check-in with a few flies that were right on target.
Linette and the kitchen team provide extraordinary meals. Every morning started with an excellent breakfast and every dinner was a treat. Lunches on the river were amazing. Fine dining in waders! Special requests were no problem.
The cabin was squeaky clean, warm and inviting.
Rare is the vacation where every aspect is simply perfect. Craig and his team achieved that during our week. Craig is an exceptional host whose warmth and genuine concern for his guests truly makes the Big Hole Lodge stand head and shoulders above its peers. As a result, we'll be back next year. Next August can't get here soon enough.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Hole River,
September 5, 2014
By: Blaineburt
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have had a few guided fishing trips and this was the most productive one I have experienced. The staff was professional and competent. A first class experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just gets better every year,
September 5, 2014
By: TXflyfisher45
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I have visited this lodge 15 times and every experience has exceeded our expectations. Great hospitality and attention to detail with every meal being a gastronomic experience. Best fishing in America with professional and fun guides that put you on the fish and work to improve your fly fishing techniques."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes