Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Hole Lodge, MT

Big Hole Lodge has been hosting guests since 1984 and is ideally located on the banks of the Wise River in a magnificent wilderness setting. Guests stay in spacious private cabins with modern conveniences, all opening to a panoramic view of the scenic Pioneer Mountains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.968 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 63(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It keeps getting better!,
August 28, 2014
By: BigJoeoncemore
from Darien, CT
"A friend and I just returned from another trip to Craig Fellin's Big Hole Lodge. I have been fishing there for over 15 years and every time I go back it just gets better...somehow. Read my previous reviews. The Lodge is situated perfectly to get most out of MT scenery and to put you in the correct frame of mind. Lynette's meals are always perfect. The cabins are spacious and are nicely appointed. The guides are terrific and manage to get you"hooked" no mater the conditions. I am better than a mediocre fly fisherman and my dear friend is just a beginner; and all caught fish. Our last day on the Big Hole, I alone landed 30 nice size trout and may have missed another 12-15; and the trip was shortened by 2 miles due to an afternoon thunderstorm! There are several great fisheries from which to choose. The trip to the West fork of the Bitterroot is well worth the long day, and the Big Hole is never miss. This year, we had the best day on the Beaverhead. Suffice it to say, we will be back...again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Of The West,
August 26, 2014
By: MTFlyfisherb4u
from Wise River, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My daughter and I spent the first week of August at the Big Hole Lodge , Wise River Montana. Craig Fellin and his crew gave us a week we will always remember. The lodge,fine dining and Western Montana scenery,are the essence of fly fishing for trout. I would like to nominate the Big Hole Lodge for the Orvis Lodge Of The Year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing this summer!,
August 17, 2014
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This was my second trip to the Big Hole Lodge this summer and once again everything was perfect! The fishing was exceptional! I fished the Big Hole, Beaverhead and the West Fork of the Bitterroot. The cutthroats on the Bitterroot were fat and healthy and the browns on the Beaverhead and Big Hole were huge. I caught many fish in the 18 to 20)" range, with one 22" brown. Craig's guides are amazing. They know where the fish live and how to fool them into taking your fly. I've already signed up for 2 trips in 2015. One in July and one in August. Big Hole Lodge is the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best!,
August 8, 2014
By: AnglingNut
from Conner, MT
"The Big Hole Lodge is the ultimate for a western USA fly fishing experience. The Big Hole, Beaverhead & Missouri Rivers offer the complete array of 5 trout species. The Lodge also has private access to fabulous streams with fabulous fish! The guides are very knowledgable, very conscientious, very friendly and very eager to give their clients the best experience. The lodge accommodations & amenities are superb, as is the cuisine."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splendid - Year after Year,
August 5, 2014
By: SarahV
from Syracuse, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been fishing with my father at the Big Hole Lodge since 2005. We love it there. The fishing is excellent; the accommodations are wonderful; and the food is divine.
Whether you are an experienced angler or a beginner who would just like to see Montana, choose Big Hole Lodge-- you will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
21 y Reelwomenwannabees,
July 31, 2014
By: PatM27
from Ames, IA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from Big Hole Lodge for 5th time with our fishing group of 21 y. Started with Reel Women of Lori Ann Murphy & original 8. Fished many Orvis Lodges over 21 y but BHL is near the best. Great guides, staff, food, accommodations and waters to fish. Cannot say enough to compliment BHL expertise. We will return over and over for the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
July 30, 2014
By: SteveBofTexas
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are looking for knowledgable guides, warm & friendly lodge staff, excellent food and the quintessential western US trout fishing experience... then you should visit the Big Hole Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence,
July 30, 2014
By: BandJ1625
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:all great
"We've gone to this lodge for many years. The accomodations, food, staff, guides are superior. We are particularly grateful for the effort everyone connected to the lodge has made to make the experience exceptional for my husband who has mobility issues."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 30, 2014
By: GeorgeinAustin
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guides
"Every year I go to 2 or more lodges in different places to experience the wonders of our sport, so far I have been to about 30, mostly in the US.
This year I travelled to the Big Hole Lodge, it is one of the 2 best lodges I have ever visited. The setting in the Wise River Valley is stunning, the cabins and dining room are well appointed and very comfortable. Craig Fellin is a easy going, but extremely well organized, host and guide. The staff was friendly and very helpful and willing o adapt to any request.
There range of fishing options is amazing - the Big Hole has 70 miles of floatable water, which are broken into 10-20 mile stretches for floating; in addition there are the Missouri, Jefferson, Bitterroot, Beaverhead, Wise and some private waters available. I ended up staying for 8 days of fishing (due to a cancellation) and only once floated the same (and very productive) stretch once.
Due to sun, high temperatures and fluctuating water levels, the fishing was described as "very tough" by the guides. Nonetheless, I landed 10 fish a day on average including three 20" + Browns and several Rainbows and Browns in the 14-16" range.
I would highly recommend this lodge to any fly fisherman, even those just beginning. Craig is a great instructor as well and I saw him introducing a young man into the sport one day.
Tight lines!
George"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRAVO!,
July 29, 2014
By: Flywheel
from Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Impressive all around
"Outstanding staff and guides who work tirelessly to give you the best experience. Great variety of fishing on rivers, streams and lakes. Lanette gets my vote for best chef in the West! I've stayed at great lodges around the world but this is the one I'm returning to for the sixth time next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JOY=Fly Fishing at Big Hole Lodge,
July 26, 2014
By: CJwms
from Frio County, Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I attended the first women only fly fishing school held at Orvis headquarters in Manchester, Vt. in April 1993. I then went on one of Lori Ann Murphy's Reel Women trips the next summer where I met the group of women that I have been fishing with for the last 21 years. We have fished together at an Orvis endorsed lodge every year and have never been disappointed. However, the very best of the lodges for our group has been the Craig Fellin Big Hole Lodge in Wise, Mt. This year was our fifth trip to that lodge. Why? The comfortable and affordable accommodations, great food,Craig Fellin's care in meeting all expectations and above all else terrific guides have made our experiences there special in every way. Our group (the Quality Chicks) look forward to returning there for the foreseeable future. I may be a Quality Chick but am closer to being 80 than 70 and the guides make as much effort to get me to the fish without breaking my neck as they took helping my daughter,who joined our group five years ago, learn to fly fish as a complete beginner. I have found that once is not enough and have returned to the BHL for a second week of fishing in August most years. It is such a joy to have found a lodge that is the perfect size, great location for a variety of water and the perfect amount of care and attention needed to make trip the highlight of the year.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently great experience,
July 26, 2014
By: BigFishCatcher
from Deep Creek Road, Wise River, MT 59762, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:All terrific. Some of the best. Chuck Page is the best!
"This is one of the most gracious, accommodating lodges I have ever visited. I have been to the Big Hole Lodge 6 times in the last 5 years and it is always great.
Meals are wonderful and accommodate food allergies and preferences beautifully and seamlessly. Cabins are comfortable, inviting and well stocked with snacks and beverages. Your wish is their command.
Guides are some of the best I have ever fished with. They work very hard to get you into fish and to find the right fly to catch them - even when fishing conditions are difficult. These guides are very gracious hosts, as well. Interesting conversations, lots of laughs, big fish and lots of them!
I will return to this lodge every year ( and more than once per year, if possible, I feel like part of the family here."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Hole Lodge,
July 26, 2014
By: Lisa29
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Chuck Page is the best guide I have ever had
"I have been fora sling to the Big Hole Lodge for 5 years and have made 8 trips there. This is my favorite fishing destination! The accommodations are very comfortable. Each cabin has a refrigerator and a coffee maker and they are well supplied with snacks and beverages. If you don't see something you would like, you just ask and it will be there. The staff is extremely personable and accommodating. Lynette and her kitchen staff create wonderful meals and beautifully accommodate food allergies and preferences. The guides are some of the best I have ever fished with. They work hard to get you into fish and to find the right fly to catch them. But it is more than just fishing here. Craig, Wade, the lodge staff and even the guides are very gracious hosts. Everyone wants to ensure you have a good time as well as good fishing. The bonus is that the fishing is great- even under tough fishing conditions. There are really big fish in these waters. And, lots of them!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigholelodgetroutgalore,
July 21, 2014
By: Suzh
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great fishing and guiding on the Big Hole. Recovering from a broken leg, but limitations were not a problem fishing from drift boats. Lots of action, browns up to 21" were caught and released. Saw moose and eagles too. Lodge made wonderful lunches and dinners were outstanding, lamb and ribeyes with lots of veggies! Our group were treated like old friends. We keep coming back for more, something to look forward to every year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than ever!,
July 18, 2014
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
"I just returned from my 9th visit to Big Hole Lodge. Craig did a major update to the interior of the cabins and lodge with new furniture, sheets, blankets, towels etc. It's still as warm and inviting as it has always been, but with a touch of class. Lanette's meals are fantastic. She and her staff did an amazing job of accommodating the many dietary needs of our group. But the bottom line is the fishing. I love the variety of water offered. The Big Hole seems to always produce and I did the Missouri River option this year. I'd go back there in a heart beat. The Missouri fish were huge and the guide that I had was exceptional. The guides are all fantastic and fun to be with. Craig and the entire staff can't do enough to make your trip successful. I'm already looking forward to a return trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Lodge Ever!,
July 17, 2014
By: SarahLouise
from Chevy Chase, Maryland
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent professional. A patient teacher. He knows the river like no one else.
"I have spent a week each July for the last five years at Big Hole Lodge in Wise River, Montana. Our all-women fly fishing group has had fabulous fishing, top-notch guides, delicious and healthy food every year. The lodge is run by Craig Fellin who has created an incredible environment on all counts. Located near so many rivers, both novice and experienced fishermen will love it. The guides and staff go out of their way to accommodate guests. This place is special."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great MT Experience,
July 17, 2014
By: PJMR
from Big Hole Lodge MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not to be missed in Montane,
July 7, 2014
By: ESant
from NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"An efficiently run and highly accommodating lodge with great food and a competent, friendly staff.
The fishing is outstanding with many great rivers within reach.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Staff,
July 3, 2014
By: RebeccaandMark
from California, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had great stay at the Big Hole Lodge. What stood out to us the most was the staff. Everyone tried so hard to ensure our stay was perfect.
We really enjoyed the limited size and number of guests that stay at one time. We got to know the other guests and build new friendships.
Food was outstanding.
A beautiful place and the Big Hole is a beautiful and diverse river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Week Fly Fishing the Big Hole,
July 1, 2014
By: Oregonfishers
from Oregon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All were excellent
"Wonderful place! Craig and the rest of the staff made this a memorable week for us. They made every effort to taylor this trip to our needs. Outstanding meals. "No garlic!" "no problem!" Would you believe that
lunch items without garlic had my name on them?
The guides were fantastic. Craig seems to train them in a way that gave us the greatest experience possible. Guides worked really hard to have us catch as many fish as possible and we did!
Wonderful time.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes