Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Hole Lodge, MT

Big Hole Lodge has been hosting guests since 1984 and is ideally located on the banks of the Wise River in a magnificent wilderness setting. Guests stay in spacious private cabins with modern conveniences, all opening to a panoramic view of the scenic Pioneer Mountains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.965 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 57(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
July 30, 2014
By: SteveBofTexas
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are looking for knowledgable guides, warm & friendly lodge staff, excellent food and the quintessential western US trout fishing experience... then you should visit the Big Hole Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence,
July 30, 2014
By: BandJ1625
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:all great
"We've gone to this lodge for many years. The accomodations, food, staff, guides are superior. We are particularly grateful for the effort everyone connected to the lodge has made to make the experience exceptional for my husband who has mobility issues."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 30, 2014
By: GeorgeinAustin
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guides
"Every year I go to 2 or more lodges in different places to experience the wonders of our sport, so far I have been to about 30, mostly in the US.
This year I travelled to the Big Hole Lodge, it is one of the 2 best lodges I have ever visited. The setting in the Wise River Valley is stunning, the cabins and dining room are well appointed and very comfortable. Craig Fellin is a easy going, but extremely well organized, host and guide. The staff was friendly and very helpful and willing o adapt to any request.
There range of fishing options is amazing - the Big Hole has 70 miles of floatable water, which are broken into 10-20 mile stretches for floating; in addition there are the Missouri, Jefferson, Bitterroot, Beaverhead, Wise and some private waters available. I ended up staying for 8 days of fishing (due to a cancellation) and only once floated the same (and very productive) stretch once.
Due to sun, high temperatures and fluctuating water levels, the fishing was described as "very tough" by the guides. Nonetheless, I landed 10 fish a day on average including three 20" + Browns and several Rainbows and Browns in the 14-16" range.
I would highly recommend this lodge to any fly fisherman, even those just beginning. Craig is a great instructor as well and I saw him introducing a young man into the sport one day.
Tight lines!
George"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRAVO!,
July 29, 2014
By: Flywheel
from Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Impressive all around
"Outstanding staff and guides who work tirelessly to give you the best experience. Great variety of fishing on rivers, streams and lakes. Lanette gets my vote for best chef in the West! I've stayed at great lodges around the world but this is the one I'm returning to for the sixth time next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JOY=Fly Fishing at Big Hole Lodge,
July 26, 2014
By: CJwms
from Frio County, Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I attended the first women only fly fishing school held at Orvis headquarters in Manchester, Vt. in April 1993. I then went on one of Lori Ann Murphy's Reel Women trips the next summer where I met the group of women that I have been fishing with for the last 21 years. We have fished together at an Orvis endorsed lodge every year and have never been disappointed. However, the very best of the lodges for our group has been the Craig Fellin Big Hole Lodge in Wise, Mt. This year was our fifth trip to that lodge. Why? The comfortable and affordable accommodations, great food,Craig Fellin's care in meeting all expectations and above all else terrific guides have made our experiences there special in every way. Our group (the Quality Chicks) look forward to returning there for the foreseeable future. I may be a Quality Chick but am closer to being 80 than 70 and the guides make as much effort to get me to the fish without breaking my neck as they took helping my daughter,who joined our group five years ago, learn to fly fish as a complete beginner. I have found that once is not enough and have returned to the BHL for a second week of fishing in August most years. It is such a joy to have found a lodge that is the perfect size, great location for a variety of water and the perfect amount of care and attention needed to make trip the highlight of the year.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently great experience,
July 26, 2014
By: BigFishCatcher
from Deep Creek Road, Wise River, MT 59762, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:All terrific. Some of the best. Chuck Page is the best!
"This is one of the most gracious, accommodating lodges I have ever visited. I have been to the Big Hole Lodge 6 times in the last 5 years and it is always great.
Meals are wonderful and accommodate food allergies and preferences beautifully and seamlessly. Cabins are comfortable, inviting and well stocked with snacks and beverages. Your wish is their command.
Guides are some of the best I have ever fished with. They work very hard to get you into fish and to find the right fly to catch them - even when fishing conditions are difficult. These guides are very gracious hosts, as well. Interesting conversations, lots of laughs, big fish and lots of them!
I will return to this lodge every year ( and more than once per year, if possible, I feel like part of the family here."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Hole Lodge,
July 26, 2014
By: Lisa29
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Chuck Page is the best guide I have ever had
"I have been fora sling to the Big Hole Lodge for 5 years and have made 8 trips there. This is my favorite fishing destination! The accommodations are very comfortable. Each cabin has a refrigerator and a coffee maker and they are well supplied with snacks and beverages. If you don't see something you would like, you just ask and it will be there. The staff is extremely personable and accommodating. Lynette and her kitchen staff create wonderful meals and beautifully accommodate food allergies and preferences. The guides are some of the best I have ever fished with. They work hard to get you into fish and to find the right fly to catch them. But it is more than just fishing here. Craig, Wade, the lodge staff and even the guides are very gracious hosts. Everyone wants to ensure you have a good time as well as good fishing. The bonus is that the fishing is great- even under tough fishing conditions. There are really big fish in these waters. And, lots of them!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigholelodgetroutgalore,
July 21, 2014
By: Suzh
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great fishing and guiding on the Big Hole. Recovering from a broken leg, but limitations were not a problem fishing from drift boats. Lots of action, browns up to 21" were caught and released. Saw moose and eagles too. Lodge made wonderful lunches and dinners were outstanding, lamb and ribeyes with lots of veggies! Our group were treated like old friends. We keep coming back for more, something to look forward to every year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than ever!,
July 18, 2014
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
"I just returned from my 9th visit to Big Hole Lodge. Craig did a major update to the interior of the cabins and lodge with new furniture, sheets, blankets, towels etc. It's still as warm and inviting as it has always been, but with a touch of class. Lanette's meals are fantastic. She and her staff did an amazing job of accommodating the many dietary needs of our group. But the bottom line is the fishing. I love the variety of water offered. The Big Hole seems to always produce and I did the Missouri River option this year. I'd go back there in a heart beat. The Missouri fish were huge and the guide that I had was exceptional. The guides are all fantastic and fun to be with. Craig and the entire staff can't do enough to make your trip successful. I'm already looking forward to a return trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Lodge Ever!,
July 17, 2014
By: SarahLouise
from Chevy Chase, Maryland
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent professional. A patient teacher. He knows the river like no one else.
"I have spent a week each July for the last five years at Big Hole Lodge in Wise River, Montana. Our all-women fly fishing group has had fabulous fishing, top-notch guides, delicious and healthy food every year. The lodge is run by Craig Fellin who has created an incredible environment on all counts. Located near so many rivers, both novice and experienced fishermen will love it. The guides and staff go out of their way to accommodate guests. This place is special."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great MT Experience,
July 17, 2014
By: PJMR
from Big Hole Lodge MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not to be missed in Montane,
July 7, 2014
By: ESant
from NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"An efficiently run and highly accommodating lodge with great food and a competent, friendly staff.
The fishing is outstanding with many great rivers within reach.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Staff,
July 3, 2014
By: RebeccaandMark
from California, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had great stay at the Big Hole Lodge. What stood out to us the most was the staff. Everyone tried so hard to ensure our stay was perfect.
We really enjoyed the limited size and number of guests that stay at one time. We got to know the other guests and build new friendships.
Food was outstanding.
A beautiful place and the Big Hole is a beautiful and diverse river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Week Fly Fishing the Big Hole,
July 1, 2014
By: Oregonfishers
from Oregon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All were excellent
"Wonderful place! Craig and the rest of the staff made this a memorable week for us. They made every effort to taylor this trip to our needs. Outstanding meals. "No garlic!" "no problem!" Would you believe that
lunch items without garlic had my name on them?
The guides were fantastic. Craig seems to train them in a way that gave us the greatest experience possible. Guides worked really hard to have us catch as many fish as possible and we did!
Wonderful time.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
November 7, 2013
By: DWilliams
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Been going to the Big Hole Lodge for ten years now. Excellent guides, amazing fishing, great facility, fantastic food and a very friendly and attentive staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this lodge!,
August 29, 2013
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
"I have been very fortunate in being able to be a guest at Big Hole Lodge 8 times in the past 4 years. Needless to say I love the place! Craig and his staff make you feel as though you are visiting old friends. Lanette's meals are fabulous. The guides are very knowledgeable about the local waters, are great at finding a fly that works, plus they are fun to spend the day with. The lodge is very well maintained and comfortable. Everyone on the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience. What more could you want? I have already booked two trips for next summer. I highly recommend it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
July 22, 2013
By: Fishfoo
from Hermitage Pa
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was my second trip to the lodge and I was pleased to see mostly the same friendly faces that we're continually asking what can we do for you. Accommodations,food and staff were first class and fishing great. Look forward to another trip soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still a Winner,
July 21, 2013
By: AussieJane
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A second trip from Down Under proved that The Big Hole Lodge experience is as good (even better?) than ever. Apart from the delightful revisiting, I was again impressed by the degree of thought that Craig puts into crafting the right trip for the individual angler: eg sending me off to fish the Missouri with Matt, just to give me a truly good experience. It worked! This lodge will always be on my US fishing itinerary: a great product that can still be customised to the tastes/capacities (and idiosyncracies!) of the individual angler. This will NOT be my last trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING,
July 20, 2013
By: KimMD
from Maryland, USA
"Last year was our first trip to the Big Hole Lodge. My family spent 5 blissful days there, and all agreed it was our best vacation ever! We just returned from our second trip there, staying 6 days this time, and even with the extra day we still didn't want to leave! Craig, Wade, the lodge staff and the guides are all so warm and welcoming. Lanette is an amazing chef, and every meal is incredibly delicious. Like last year, every aspect of our trip was perfect and the fishing was incredible. The guides are outstanding, and very knowledgable, helpful and patient. They worked very hard to ensure that we caught lots of fish! On our last night, the BBQ and bonfire by the river was the perfect ending to an amazing trip. We plan to return to the Big Hole Lodge again next summer, and hopefully for many more years to come."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stay, great fishing,
July 18, 2013
By: HGMcBundeFly
from Portland, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Organized a reunion trip with some old college buddies. More importantly, fishing buddies. 2 from Portland, 1 Tennessee, 1 NY. Big Hole Lodge and the Wise River valley proved to be an exceptional setting for relaxation, adventure and enjoyment. Our group's fishing skills ranged from top to mid and our guides were fantastic- accommodating all and participating in the fun.
Craig is an excellent host and provided first rate hospitality, as I've experienced there before. Being a returning guest is special at Big Hole Lodge. The food was fantastic and our group really enjoyed the private setting, limit to number of guests and flexible schedule- which allowed us to maximize fishing and relaxation.
Big Hole is a dream of a river with so much diversity and splendor. Many options for other rivers and adventures. Big Hole Valley provides a real taste of Montana and Big Sky country- in culture, history, landscape, people and wildlife.
Looking forward to returning!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes