Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Big Hole Lodge, MT

Big Hole Lodge has been hosting guests since 1984 and is ideally located on the banks of the Wise River in a magnificent wilderness setting. Guests stay in spacious private cabins with modern conveniences, all opening to a panoramic view of the scenic Pioneer Mountains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.974 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 of 78(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return year after year,
September 19, 2014
By: Ohiofisherperson
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing at the Big Hole Lodge since the late 1990s. I go back year for many reasons. Fishing...the guides are the best. The return to nature...nothing is more beautiful, more relaxing than floating the Big Hole River. The people...the staff, the gourmet cooks and those you share dinner with at the long wooden dining room table."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An outstanding fly fishing vaction,
September 17, 2014
By: Rick1950
from Big Hole Lodge, Wise River, MT
"Craig Fellin & The Big Hole Lodge provided an outstanding fly fishing vacation! Every aspect of my experience was planned to ensure fun, relaxation and great fishing.
The Orvis endorsed Big Hole Lodge is a great venue with spacious cabins, a friendly attentive staff, outstanding food, and a well stocked fly shop.
I went there to catch fish and had a world-class experience. Craig's focus is understanding each guests ability and the type of fishing they desire. There is a wide variety of fishing opportunities...from rafting on the Big Hole River to wading private streams.
All guides want you to catch fish, but Craig's guides are outstanding in the way they help you catch fish. They know the rivers very well, from time of hatches to fly selection, and communicate exactly how and why I was doing something to maximize my experience.
I would recommend The Big Hole Lodge to anyone and look forward to returning soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everything a fisherman dreams about,
September 15, 2014
By: marcvo
from Ghent, Belgium
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Craigh and Wade were equally as competent
"when young and living in europe one dreams about the prairie , the plains and above all the fishing in magnificent rivers . All these dreams are fulfilled in the most complete way at the big hole lodge . Great lodge , a very diversified choice of rivers and above all the competence of the guides . The food is excellent . My non - fishing wife appreciated the concept , the atmosphere with the other guests and the other activities in the wise river valley .martine and Marc"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first class,
September 14, 2014
By: DIRTYDAVE
from Kittery, Maine
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:exceptional
"Who would expect, in the wilds of Montana, to have genuine maple syrup on their pancakes...MAINE maple syrup that is ..and form a company in my home town !! This says it all.."give the client MORE than they expect, with a smile " Not a bad mantra for a place hand-built by the fishing owner/manager !!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Good As It Gets,
September 14, 2014
By: DGHP
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I just returned from the Big Hole Lodge in Wise River, Montana. Craig Fellin and his entire staff were amazingly warm, welcoming and extremely accommodating. We fished with a different guide each day which was a very pleasant experience. The fishing was very good, we caught Brown, Rainbow, Cut Throat and Brook Trout as well as a few Graylings. We were taken to a variety of places to fish each of the five days we were there. The accommodations were very comfortable and the food was outstanding. Additionally, the scenery was amazingly beautiful. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests at the lodge, all of whom seemed to be as pleased with the experience as we were. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I would have to say as far as fishing lodges go, the Big Hole is as good as it gets."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
matching the hatch,
September 14, 2014
By: DIRTYDAVE
from Kittery, Maine
"Sept 7-11. 3 bluebird days. .and snow !!
when you look for a new place to go, the website is a valuable source of information . However..many times the website info is stronger on merchandising than accurate details
BHL has a website that is accurate in EVERY aspect, PLUS it clearly represents the mantra of the owner .." total customer service with a smile"!!.
Clients come to fish camps for a variety of reasons, but if the search is for quality fishing, in a simple , yet elegant, lodge .. BHL is THE PLACE
The BOSS, Craig, has produced a spot which not only meets his dreams,(as a fisherman, host and environmentalist and land owner) but exceeds the needs on any and al thoughtful fisher-folks !!.I delight in breaking records..but let me add to the unbroken string of "highly-
e"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of Everything,
September 13, 2014
By: crazy4fishin
from Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I would like to give the Lodge at least 8 stars for every category!!
"My husband and I went to Craig Fellin's Big Hole Lodge for the first time this year. It lived up to everything we had heard or read about it. The staff, the guides, the rooms, Lanette, the Chef... everything was first class…we felt well taken care of and very spoiled. We did happen to pick a week when a "Canadian Express Arctic Storm" barreled through. We had heavy clouds, frigid winds and snow, but the guides cheerfully put us onto fish every day. Their knowledge of the rivers around the lodge is exceptional. We are planning to return to fish with Craig again next summer. I highly recommend The Big Hole Lodge for the Orvis Lodge of the Year award!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
September 13, 2014
By: Dragonfly1949
from Big Hole Lodge, MT
"WOW! Is only a 10+ but in fact, this long looked forward to vacation is so much more. The staff is exceptional in making certain your needs are met -- from my allergies to special dietary needs, helping me increase my fly casting to netting trouts; a helping arm while wading streams; lunches on riverbanks; breakfast and dinner served family style around one table; patience! Lovely accommodations -- we stayed in a log cabin next to Wise River!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wild Trout in Gorgeous Country,
September 12, 2014
By: GrassFedBeef
from Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Thank you for a special highlight in my twenty-some year love affair with trout and flies. The unspoiled country, beautiful pastures, wild trout, comfortable rooms, great food, skilled guides and warm hospitality of our hosts made this a memorable week I will cherish for a long time. Topped perhaps only by Labrador with my Dad a decade ago. But you don't go there for the food or the rooms, no sir.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Place, Great Time,
September 11, 2014
By: JohnfromWinchester
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Big Hole Lodge, located in a picture postcard setting in Montana, serves up an experience worthy of it's location. From the no-hassle pre-trip arrangements, to the comfortable, homey accommodations, the eclectic and delicious meals, the well-stocked fly shop, the expert, friendly and accommodating guides, the menu of different fishing experiences and locations, and the fabulous fishing, Big Hole Lodge provides everyone with a world-class experience. As a fishing novice, I particularly appreciated the patience and teaching techniques of the guides. In short, if you love great scenery, food, and fishing, Big Hole is the place to be. I can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Doesn't Get Any Better!,
September 8, 2014
By: amaiorano
from Madison, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent guides in all aspects
"The best endorsement I can give is the fact that I've already made reservations for next year at Craig's Big Hole Lodge. Our week with Craig was a wonderful experience in every respect. From our initial communications through our departure Craig and his team were warm, friendly, and effective. Over five days of fishing in several different rivers, each guide was thoroughly knowledgeable, patient, and dedicated to putting us on the fish. Each guide taught my wife and I valuable lessons that improved our skills through the week. During the week we caught plenty of brown, rainbow, brook, and cutthroat trout along with whitefish and a few grayling. In addition, in our few spare hours, I caught a number of nice 14" rainbows fishing the Wise River immediately behind the cabins. Craig starts you off at check-in with a few flies that were right on target.
Linette and the kitchen team provide extraordinary meals. Every morning started with an excellent breakfast and every dinner was a treat. Lunches on the river were amazing. Fine dining in waders! Special requests were no problem.
The cabin was squeaky clean, warm and inviting.
Rare is the vacation where every aspect is simply perfect. Craig and his team achieved that during our week. Craig is an exceptional host whose warmth and genuine concern for his guests truly makes the Big Hole Lodge stand head and shoulders above its peers. As a result, we'll be back next year. Next August can't get here soon enough.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Hole River,
September 5, 2014
By: Blaineburt
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have had a few guided fishing trips and this was the most productive one I have experienced. The staff was professional and competent. A first class experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just gets better every year,
September 5, 2014
By: TXflyfisher45
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I have visited this lodge 15 times and every experience has exceeded our expectations. Great hospitality and attention to detail with every meal being a gastronomic experience. Best fishing in America with professional and fun guides that put you on the fish and work to improve your fly fishing techniques."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2014 Trip,
September 4, 2014
By: KansasTexan
from Wichita, KS
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A return trip to the BHL was not a disappointment. Super accommodations, great service, tremendous menu and most of all excellent and diverse fishing. The BHL has solid guides willing to tailor the experience to conditions and your interests. Well worth the trip and likely to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great spot,
September 1, 2014
By: Wolverine32
from Dallas, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fishing was superb. Guides great. and Lynette's cooking truly gourmet."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It keeps getting better!,
August 28, 2014
By: BigJoeoncemore
from Darien, CT
"A friend and I just returned from another trip to Craig Fellin's Big Hole Lodge. I have been fishing there for over 15 years and every time I go back it just gets better...somehow. Read my previous reviews. The Lodge is situated perfectly to get most out of MT scenery and to put you in the correct frame of mind. Lynette's meals are always perfect. The cabins are spacious and are nicely appointed. The guides are terrific and manage to get you"hooked" no mater the conditions. I am better than a mediocre fly fisherman and my dear friend is just a beginner; and all caught fish. Our last day on the Big Hole, I alone landed 30 nice size trout and may have missed another 12-15; and the trip was shortened by 2 miles due to an afternoon thunderstorm! There are several great fisheries from which to choose. The trip to the West fork of the Bitterroot is well worth the long day, and the Big Hole is never miss. This year, we had the best day on the Beaverhead. Suffice it to say, we will be back...again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Of The West,
August 26, 2014
By: MTFlyfisherb4u
from Wise River, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My daughter and I spent the first week of August at the Big Hole Lodge , Wise River Montana. Craig Fellin and his crew gave us a week we will always remember. The lodge,fine dining and Western Montana scenery,are the essence of fly fishing for trout. I would like to nominate the Big Hole Lodge for the Orvis Lodge Of The Year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing this summer!,
August 17, 2014
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This was my second trip to the Big Hole Lodge this summer and once again everything was perfect! The fishing was exceptional! I fished the Big Hole, Beaverhead and the West Fork of the Bitterroot. The cutthroats on the Bitterroot were fat and healthy and the browns on the Beaverhead and Big Hole were huge. I caught many fish in the 18 to 20)" range, with one 22" brown. Craig's guides are amazing. They know where the fish live and how to fool them into taking your fly. I've already signed up for 2 trips in 2015. One in July and one in August. Big Hole Lodge is the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best!,
August 8, 2014
By: AnglingNut
from Conner, MT
"The Big Hole Lodge is the ultimate for a western USA fly fishing experience. The Big Hole, Beaverhead & Missouri Rivers offer the complete array of 5 trout species. The Lodge also has private access to fabulous streams with fabulous fish! The guides are very knowledgable, very conscientious, very friendly and very eager to give their clients the best experience. The lodge accommodations & amenities are superb, as is the cuisine."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Big Hole Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splendid - Year after Year,
August 5, 2014
By: SarahV
from Syracuse, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been fishing with my father at the Big Hole Lodge since 2005. We love it there. The fishing is excellent; the accommodations are wonderful; and the food is divine.
Whether you are an experienced angler or a beginner who would just like to see Montana, choose Big Hole Lodge-- you will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes