Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC

Chetola is an 87 acre resort in the heart of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains. Located at an elevation of 3600 feet, the resort dates back to 1846 when the only structure on the property served as a way station for goods traveling up and down the mountain. Many of the resort's activities are centered around Chetola Lake which visitors drive around as they enter the location. The resort is surrounded by a 3600 acre national park which features over 25 miles of multipurpose trails. In addition to fly-fishing programs, Chetola offers packages throughout the year for snow skiing, Blowing Rock Winterfest, Blue Ridge Wine Festival, spa and wellness activities and wingshooting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Review 1 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Day EVER,
March 23, 2014
By: TraviniaKC
from Greenville, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Let me start by saying I have never been moved enough by service to write a review, and not because I am a snob but because I think service is a lost art in this day and age, but this day and a young man changed my mind and prompted this letter. My adventure started with my beautiful wife treating me to a full day guided fly fishing excursion, Dustin Coffey picked us up at the Chetola Lodge prompt at 7:30. We all agreed a small quick breakfast was in order so we stopped at a local spot for a bite of REAL home cooked food. After this a short drive and it was off to the stream we enjoyed conversation with Dustin on the ride and found him to be informative and quite knowledgable, this continued throughout the day. I have been fishing for over 20 years and Dustin was uncanny at sighting BIG fish in the most obscure places all while battling 20 mile an hour winds. I couldn't see half the fish he put me on and it didn't stop there, he pointed out trees and bushes and so many other things that could have easily been over looked. This day will truly live in my memory as one of the best fishing days of my life I have never hooked so many Big Wild trout,
we lost our fair share but landed just as many. I can promise you that all of my friends will be coming to see Dustin as I have never met a guy more true,excited and passionate about what he does for a living for these kind of people it isn't a job it really is their passion and it shows in his commitment to his guest. We were having so much fun we skipped lunch a got right back on the stream for more beautiful trout, we are already planning a float trip in a month or two and can't wait, I can promise you that if you want a great time and the chance to land a few fish of a lifetime visit the Chetloa and "Hook up" with Dustin.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
February 9, 2014
By: PJP79
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My neighbor and I fished with Dustin and had an outstanding day. Dustin knows the water, loves the environment and thoroughly enjoys guiding. We spent an ice cold day on the water and even though we expected challenging conditions, Dustin stayed upbeat. Sure enough we caught hogs the likes of which I've not seen out west where we usually fish. Dustin was more excited when we hooked our rainbows than we were! He is gracious, thoughtful, and enthusiastic. I highly recommend hiring Dustin for fishing NC waters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing,
February 5, 2014
By: HRC2121
from Blowing Rock, NC, USA chetola resort
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For 2 years in a row I have went fishing with Dustin Coffey. He is an amazing guide and works hard to make the expert and the novice feel like a pro. My favorite thing is that his love for The Lord shines through. You don't have to worry about language or anything that is off color. He is truly an man to envy, both as an outdoorsman and as a peer. I felt completely safe and he took every precaution as he taught me to handle the water and to fly fish for the first time. I don't think I ever want to fish with anyone else."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Float Trip,
November 12, 2013
By: myfloattrip
from Blowing Rock, NC
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My guide, Ryan Dunne, did an outstanding job maneuvering the boat, getting me in position to catch fish, and instructing me in fly fishing. This trip is a must on everyone's bucket list."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guided Trip,
October 28, 2013
By: 1971JG
"Dustin Coffey took us on an amazing fly fishing trip. We caught an unbelievable number of large rainbows and a very large brown in very clear, skinny water. Dustin was a great guide, showing us new techniques, helping us refine our existing skills, and was as patient and enthusiastic as anyone could want in a guide. Would love to fish with him again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once in a lifetime catch,
October 13, 2013
By: tarheelpa
from Ashe County, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I had briefly met Dustin Coffey a few weeks before our guided trip and immediately saw the passion for fishing he has and also the importance of environmental preservation involving this fishing privilege. I knew at that time he would fulfill my needs of a guide particularly for his love of teaching the art and science of fly fishing. The water was pretty skinny that day and fishing was more like hunting. We did however catch a multitude of huge fish including a rainbow pushing 5 lbs and then the fish of a lifetime which was a native brown trout measuring 27" and weighing around 7 lbs. This happened to be my day! Dustin is indeed a true gentleman, and a good Christian man as well, which I most appreciated particularly realizing the tremendous beauty we were experiencing that day. I will be back and know who to call. Thanks Dustin"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll be back,
October 5, 2013
By: Jack2910
from Blue Ridge Mountains
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ryan, is very knowledgeable fisherman and an excellent coach.We fished 2 new rivers for me, the Watauga and the South Holston. I am an experienced angler, but every river has certain characteristics and you need to know how to fish it. Immediately Ryan began to coach me on the best techniques for various situations on both rivers. It made our days very effective. Ryan is very knowledgeable about the entomology of both rivers. This added to our results.All this technical "stuff" aside Ryan is enthusiastic, optimistic, polite, with a great sense of humor and lots of stories. I have booked Ryan in the past and coming back is the best endorsement I can give. I'll be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyin' with my Girls,
October 1, 2013
By: Vigman
from Blue Ridge Mountains NC/VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow, what a great trip. Dustin Coffey was just phenomenal. He was a terrific instructor/guide/chef. My wife and daughter came with me on this trip to learn the sport and just thought it was one of the coolest experiences. I would recommend this trip to any novice to expert to experience true North Carolina. Couldn't ask for a better location."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful experience,
September 30, 2013
By: DBTx
from Watauga River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ryan Dunne, our Orvis endorsed guide, was a complete professional. He is very polite, prepared, and very knowlegable of the water we fished, and the surrounding area. His expert guidance helped us to catch many fish, but we also improved our technique which made us better fly fishers. A beautiful weather day. Our lunch stop was excellent, good food he prepared, and a bank site that was spectacular. Throughout the day, he had rod options for us so we could switch from top water to nymphing, depending on what the river offered us. I would definately do this again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing with a Pro,
September 9, 2013
By: likeabird
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dustin Coffey...wanted his name to start the review, Prince of a gentleman, enthusiasic, honest and breath of fresh air. I'm a first time fly fisher and a female and let's just say... I'm hooked!! and I hooked many rainbow trouts and a brown native rainbow...yes.. I did, 10 fish that I counted and 6 more that I hooked...did I mention that I'm in the 20/20 club...all of my fish were 26 and none under 20 inches...yes, It was a dream day, Dustin was so full of engery and life and he loved the outdoors, he took great pride in showing us the stream and mountain side, he cared about the health of the fish as well-made sure they were okay after we hooked them. He made us a delicious meal-grilled chicken and sides...he blessed our food with a beautiful prayer...I was touched and blessed to get to know him...he is a Christian and I wanted to honor that part of him, thank you greatly for the love of God's creations...Dusty will be a life time friend that I will cherish and my boyfriend Tom as well- feels the same way! Thank you Dusty, you are the Best!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stout Trout Rout,
August 30, 2013
By: HookedJ
from Georgia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Rare to find the knowledge of product and equipment with pleasant encouraging attitude -total package>!!h
"Preface by saying I have fished all my 58 years;bass/bream/hybrid/peacock bass[ fresh water];reds/snook/trout/billfish [salt]--buy NEVER flyfished until Dustin Coffey took me and a buddy to Va.private waters "managed" stream last week. Never before experienced the rush of fishing 1 lb test line for 20"+ rainbows. Dustin's professional ; easy going attitude was only surpassed by his childlike enthusiasm when a hookup occured.!! The fishing was supurb [catch and release but pics to prove it]--but the enthusiastic attitude and encouragement from the guide made for a memorable experience ..10 stars and HIGHLY recommended outing --great equipment and top drawer service.!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing supreme,
August 28, 2013
By: Bigdog1
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend and I discussed a fly fishing trip while on vacation, When I heard professional guide on private water I was in, but had no idea what a great day we had in store. Dustin Coffey spent the day making sure we had a great trip,he was professional in every way. The steam was isolated and beautiful. We caught several rainbow over 20" and I have a terrific story about the BIG one that got away...I guarantee I'll be back"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
special day in the creek,
August 12, 2013
By: albright
from Greenville, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was just a great day on the creek. The guide knew what he was doing and put me on some truly trophy fish. I had never caught trout out of a creek in the 3 to 5 lb. range and particularly on nymphs. Needless to say it was quite an experience. I learned a lot and I appreciated the care that was given to the handling and revival of each fish. I suggest you get an early start so you can spend as much time on the creek as possible. And I will be returning."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Remote fly fishing getaway!,
July 19, 2013
By: Bonecarver
from Blowing Rock, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I hired Ryan Dunne through Chetola Resort. We traveled to a remote untouched region of the NC/VA border and fished a private headwater stream, we didn't see another soul the whole day. To put it context, we crossed three old railroad trestles from a bygone era, under an amazing canopy with a stream lined with rhododendrons and Fished 1.5 miles of the headwater stalking large bows and browns. Some were sight fished, some were nymphed out of cuts and from rocky overhangs! This is Southern Appalachian Fly fishing at its best, from the theater to the characters. Mr. Dunne was professional, knowledgeable and allowed me the opportunity to fish to my level, with patience and mindful instruction. He could get my mother to catch fish with a fly rod! Chetola resort did an outstanding job, accommodations were excellent and service was outstanding. I may come back for the wing shoot package, but I will definitely come back to throw some flies with Chetola guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, NC
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice resort with one exception,
July 30, 2011
By: Tiger8899
"Beautiful property, very nice rooms and great staff. If you are there to fly fish, get them to set up some time at the Refuge, great trophy trout and a beautiful setting.
The one gottcha was, although the room was nice, you had to run the water for up to 20 minutes to get hot water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes