Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blue Damsel Lodge, MT

Welcome to the Orvis-Endorsed Blue Damsel Lodge, Montana's premier fly fishing lodge. Located on the legendary waters of Rock Creek surrounded by the Lolo National Forest of western Montana, you will stay and dine in rustic luxury while fly fishing the unmatched diversity of the four different trout streams of "A River Runs Through It" country.
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
90 of 91(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Week Up the Creek,
August 29, 2014
By: JandK
from Rocky River, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:All knew the rivers well and all were fun to be with
"The Blue Damsel Lodge on Rock Creek is a beautiful, friendly place. The food was amazing, thanks to Chef Josh. Keith, the owner, is always present to make sure things are running smoothly. The fishing on the Blackfoot River is always a special treat. It is, by far, the most beautiful trout stream I have ever fished. However, the Clark Fork, Rock Creek and the Bitterroot are also great streams."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than we could have hoped or dreamed!,
August 26, 2014
By: kentuckygrams
from Lancaster, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:James was incredible! He was the best guide we've ever had and he was so much fun too. We have never had a guide work so hard to get us on fish and he knew just where to find them. We have been fly fishing for about 14 years and my husband and I both learned so many new things that have helped us to become even greater skilled fly fishing. He helped us catch a ton of trout, was very encouraging, informative, and so much fun!
"husband and I wanted to go out west to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and we knew it had to be perfect because it would probably be a once in a lifetime trip for us. What we found is that it became a trip we will remember, talk about and smile every time we recall all our memories from that week for the rest of our lives. The lodge was so nice, rustic, arty, beautiful and so comfortable. In fact, that is one of the goals of the entire staff is that they want you to feel like it is your home while you are there and we did.
The Blue Damsel shuttle picked us up from the airport which was so nice, and they drove us out to our fishing guide pick up and drop off point each day so we never had to rent a car. There was always lots of talking and picture sharing with the other lodge guests who quickly became friends as we shared our awesome highlights of our day on the river.
Josh was our main chef and the food was absolutely incredible every night, seriously every night. Neither my husband or I have ever eaten such delicious and unique dishes in all our lives. The meals were all such a treat and looked forward to almost as much as the fishing each day!
We both cannot say enough about the entire staff at the Blue Damsel lodge. Each one was so special, so eager to make our stay the best it possibly could be and they all bent over backwards our entire stay to make everything was just perfect for us and the other guests. Actually, I teared up for two days before we left every time I thought about leaving all our new friends and family in Montana that we bonded so quickly with. They are all such loving, wonderful, caring folks and their friendship became a priceless treasure to us.
We live a long way from Montana, but in our hearts, spirits and minds, we never left Montana. The memories and joy we experienced there will be relived, remembered, and talked about for the rest of our lives. We are so grateful to the Blue Damsel lodge, to Keith and his staff for everything they did to make it so very special for us and for the rest of the guests staying with them last week. We know it isn't "just a job" for any of them, and how much it means to each of them to make it everything anyone could hope for that comes and stays with at the lodge. Mission accomplished for us because it was better than we had hoped for, and even better than we could have ever imagined. It was perfect, top to bottom, start to finish, perfect. :)
We were so sure this would probably be our first and last trip to Montana, but we are already dreaming of returning one day and there is no place we would rather stay than at the Blue Damsel Lodge.
O yes, I almost forget, the fishing was AWESOME! We caught a ton of trout, my largest was a beautiful 20" brown on the Clark Fork river, and my husband caught a 25" bull trout in Rock Creek right behind the lodge. Beautiful country, beautiful rivers, incredible fish, and the guides were the best we've ever had. No need to look any further, the Blue Damsel Lodge is the place for you!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Lodge and Fishing!,
August 14, 2014
By: TCBC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Keith and his entire staff are awesome! The guides they use from Blackfoot River Outfitters ensured a phenomenal fishing experience. We fished a variety of waters that were all excellent. We had a unique situation that Keith and the whole staff handled with class and generosity. Four nights and three days of fishing and I could not have imagined a better fishing experience! We will definitely come back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
70th Birthday,
August 14, 2014
By: allen44
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the best vacation ever taken with my wife. The hospitality was warm and genuine. The fishing was tremendous."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get your fish on,
July 27, 2014
By: chipleywearsaskirt
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"5- days of great fishing, and 6-nights of great food at the lodge"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 22, 2014
By: Grousedog
from Michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the time we were dropped off everything was as expected except for one thing, the food. The food FAR EXCEEDED our expectations. Every meal was phenomenal. The fishing was excellent, a few slow moments on hot afternoons but no complaints. Thanks for the great time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trip of a lifetime,
July 22, 2014
By: brookieseventy
from Souderton, PA
"It was everything we had dreamed and more. Keith, Josh, Stephanie and Sam could not have been more helpful and informative. The food was excellent, the service first-rate, and the accommodations (the log cabin) were super. We felt at home, comfortable and always accepted for who we are. Keith was always making sure our fishing experiences were good."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Experience Ever,
July 21, 2014
By: Max1111
from Montana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Every July I stay at the Blue Damsel Lodge and every year they outdo themselves. Just when you think the service cannot improve, it does. Just when you think you had the best meal ever, they top it. The team is accommodating and wonderful and the fishing options are world class."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!,
July 19, 2014
By: HighPlainsAngler
from Lubbock,TX USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This was my first time at Blue Damsel Lodge AND my first trip to Montana. Its hard to find the words to describe. Everything at the lodge was effortless. From arrival at the airport to departure, everything was taken care of. Accommodations were great! Setting fantastic! Food and drink exquisite! Staff extremely friendly and helpful. And of course the fishing was unbeatable! Guides were great and very helpful to me (still a novice) and my guest (first time). Come here and be prepared for one of the best trips of your life!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best of or is,
July 9, 2014
By: Jawstrretcher
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow....the blue damsel was a great lodge..beautifully crafted....excellent cuisine....and a most welcoming and helpful staff....Josh can really cook things up with the best of them! Loved the location...definitely would recommend this lodge"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paradise on Rock Creek,
July 6, 2014
By: Coronado
from Jackson, Wyoming
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Mark is the best guide I have ever experienced and I can sY that having now fished with him for 3 years and working with many other guides throughout Montana and Wyoming
"My wife and I just finished a 6 day visit to the Blue Damsel. Keith and his team once again provided a superb and peaceful experience of enjoyable Flyfishing on challenging Montana rivers and fine dining in a casual rustic surroundings. The staffs attention to detail and personal preferences, remembered from year to year , is unique. Through Keith's excellent collaboration with Blackfoot Outfitters we were matched to the perfect guide for our experience and style of working the rivers, the Blue Damsel provides the perfect experience. While Flyfishing is at the core of what the Blue Damsel experience is about, the staff can accommodate every guests need for other experiences, including my wife's desire for a half day horseback rude into the beautiful surroundings on Rock Creek. Bravo for the A team at BD."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing, guides, lodge, staff, food - Excellent,
July 5, 2014
By: FishOnATightLine
from Lubbock, TX, USA
"Does not get any better than this. Repeat customer and will be back again and again. Special thanks to Keith Radabaugh for another outstanding adventure in the great outdoors. Sam, Josh.... you guys are awesome and without question add to the fun and enjoyment at the lodge. On the rivers, world class trout fishing for the beginner and the seasoned pro. This year James and Jamie guiding my guest and I on the rivers......both were Outstanding !! Folks, you cannot go wrong at the Blue Damsel Lodge. It is THE place to be for trout fishing and fun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginners luck,
June 30, 2014
By: TheNatural
from Woodlands Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide-- could not ask for any better
"I began this trip with the idea of "I'll give this a try" and see if I like it. I had never been fly fishing before.Keith Radabaugh was fabulous in sending me info on what I needed to prepare for this trip, so I was well equipped with proper clothing.From the time we were met at the airport,I found the people who work for The Blue Damsel to be very warm, friendly and professional. The lodging was stellar, as was the food. Our guides on the river were fantastic. The first day on Blackfoot I caught the largest Rainbow Trout that my guide had ever seen. Caught 2 Bull Trout as well. I was told over and over that it is not always this good with every outing, but I still am not sure about that. With the expert guides that we had, we had great fishing 3 days in a row. I had the time of my life. Whether you are a rookie like me or not, it should not matter. This outfit makes the experience one you will never forget !!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for This Beginner!,
June 29, 2014
By: EPosey
from El Paso, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Blue Damsel's location near Missoula, MT makes it the ideal place to learn to fly fish. The lodge is beautifully decorated, comfortable, and very well-equipped.
The owner, Keith, is the real deal--gracious, helpful, and eager to ensure that everything is just right. Our fishing guide, Jason, is one of the most patient people I've ever met. He didn't even lose his cool when I accidentally let his rod slip away into the river!
As every reviewer mentions, Josh's meals are amazing! The meals alone would be worth a return trip. Blue Damsel is the perfect fly fishing experience, and we will definitely stay there again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Birthday,
June 18, 2014
By: RNoethlich
from Sammamish, Wa
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Blackfoot River Outfitters
"Keith has a jewel on Rock Creek. The Staff made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and the lodging was great. Josh prepared a 5 star meal every night ( a from scratch Birthday cake one night), Sam organizing each day for us and Lander taking care of us everyday. This a must visit lodge. Fishing great and Montana landscape just awesome."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Overall Experience,
May 12, 2014
By: 1PagosaFlyFisher
from Pagosa Springs, CO 81147, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All guides were excellent. Very professional and knowledgeable. I can't remember two of their names
"Blue Damsel Lodge is the best for a great fly fishing experience. The Lodge is beautiful, scenery is awesome, and the Staff caters to your every need. Keith, Josh and Sam made the whole visit memorable from the gourmet food to the live entertainment. The guides were the best I have fished with. Very professional and knowledgeable. Can't wait to return"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana at it's Best,
May 8, 2014
By: goodloops
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been hosting trips to the Blue Damsel for four years now. I take clients there because it is simply the best place, and the best way to experience Montana fly fishing. The food, lodging, service, and the fishing is off the charts.
Over the years I have taken a good number of clients to the Blue Damsel and on each and every trip everyone is pleased and so very glad they went.You simply cannot go wrong with the Blue Damsel. I will be there next year and the next and the next...."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blue Damsel,
May 8, 2014
By: MrSteve
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Food and lodging!
Fishing Guides were the best as we caught several species and overall had an awesome time.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st but not last,
September 27, 2013
By: ORod
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 1st time fly fishing, and thanks to Keith, the staff, the guide, and the whole Blue Damsel experience, it won't be my last there or in general. I'm hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Blue Damsel Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blue Damsel Lodge,
September 23, 2013
By: OleMissFisherman
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great experience with friendly knowledge staff. Spacious rooms and the meals were outstanding. Access to Rock Creek very easy. Complimentary pick up at airport an added bonus."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes