Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blackberry Farm, TN

Blackberry Farm - often described as "Easy to get to. Hard to leave." is located in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Named by Travel + Leisure for its outstanding service as the number one resort in the U.S. and Canada in the 2012 World's Best Service Awards and the #1 Resort in North America by Travel + Leisure's 2011 World's Best Awards, this 62-room Relais & Chateaux property offers some of the world's finest wines, cuisine, fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, sport clay, cycling, and mountain biking opportunities. In addition to an abundance of outdoor activities, Blackberry Farm offers a Spa and a series of annual culinary, enrichment and adventure events.
Average Customer Rating:
4.904 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 of 52(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blackberry Farm, TN
Review 1 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Anniversary Experience,
August 10, 2014
By: welyles
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I had the best experience this weekend. The service was superb! The best thing for us is that we live only 20 minutes away. It is wonderful to be able to have this 5 star experience so close. My wife had the best experience with her horse ride, the Wilderness Horse Ride. I had a great time fly fishing with an excellent guide all day. If you want to have the most romantic as well as outside experiences, then this is your place. We will return many times!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing With Jeremy,
June 28, 2014
By: Horiuchi11
from Sarasota FL
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was our first trip at blackberry and we fished for five days the first was just a "refreshment" with mike and Jeremy. The second day we fished with mike and Jeremy as well. The next 3 were with Jeremy and we landed a lot of fish with Jeremy and mikes help!!! Thanks guys"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outsatanding experience,
June 27, 2014
By: Horiuchi11
from Sarasota FL
"Fishing with mike and Jeremy for the first of five days was a great refreshment. They were both Phenomenal guides and landed us 20 or so rainbows!!! Thanks guys"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice morning on the water,
June 25, 2014
By: Hoseman
from Walland, TN 37886, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very nice two hours spent on Hesse Creek with guide Dan Munger. Good instruction and super patience with a novice fly fisherman. We lost a few and netted three very nice brown trout."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Fish and Big Memories,
June 24, 2014
By: Caldwell
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a boy, I grew up fly fishing, not for the joy of fishing itself, but instead to merely spend time with my father. Time that I often found myself drifting away into a deep slumber during the early morning drives or the methodical rhythms of water lapping against the boat. Last summer, however changed something. I discovered the finesse, the art, and the beauty of a targeting specific fish on a dry fly. It was like nothing I had ever experienced and I was immediately engulfed into the overwhelming sickness that I so readily accepted of fly fishing.
I fell in love with out-thinking a fish. I tried different techniques and different flies and different rivers. I eagerly sat, watching over my father’s shoulder as he tied fly after fly eventually guiding me directly to the vice. However, when it comes down to it, there is something special not only about where you are but who you are with, the stories you share, and the journey to and fro.
Sadly, in todays society, we are all guilty of posting the photo of a monster slab in a once and a lifetime river. However, it is often the anticipation as you approach a new ecosystem or break the ice with that one story of when the fish that got away. I by no means am a great angler, but I would say that I am a student. I am learning the finer techniques and I can’t keep my ears open wide enough to absorb all of the lessons that those around me have to share.
And that is where Blackberry Farm comes in. After roughly a year of actively pursing large cutthroat on a dry fly in Jackson Hole to the rainy steelhead rivers of Washington State to the unthinkable realization that your cast no longer shoots because the eyes are iced over all while wading the frigid Massachusetts winter rivers. The key word is perusing because, in all reality, I can count the amount of fish I have caught this year on one hand. Even so, I find a sense of inner peace while rescuing my fly from the ever threatening shrubs and untangling my tippet after my faulty technique cinches wind knot after wind knot. The ever-common question “were you fishing or catching?” was too often answered oh just fishing today. But in all reality, it is not the fishing or the catching that matters. It is the joy of disconnecting from the real world and entering the REAL world. It is the beauty of communicating face to face with an actual human being rather than typing some scribbles on a cloud that no one will ever find ever again. It is on these special days that I learn the most about myself.
Before I had even thought of packing, mere hours before departure, my mind solely focused on my job, my mother called and warned me, trying to manage my expectations. “I wouldn’t bring two rods, it’s just an itty bitty river and the fish are like pets!” Well to me I couldn’t be more excited for the opportunity to fish. I didn’t care what anyone else had to say. I was going to make the most out of it.
When I arrived I was immediately amazed by the beauty of the grounds. My mothers first stop on the tour was of course the river. “Now Caldwell, remember, it is not the west.” Well to me, a recent transplant to the East, the homeland had never felt so far away. Rod in hand, I cautiously stalked up to the bridge hoping not to spook a fish. To my amazement the fish were stacked on top of each other. And to me, they were BIG.“ I threw on a simple Parachute Adams, something large enough for my eyes to remember how to follow the presentation and vigilantly wait on pins and needles for the most subtle slurps. I quickly realized that these “pet fish” were no stupid cats but instead wise old frogs who were not easily fooled. I quickly went smaller and smaller until I had trouble threading the 7X tippet through the impossibly small eye of the hook, something I had recently discovered on the Swift River as the only way to catch a fish. One hook up after hours of chess and I was thrilled! I was sharing the early morning river with my family.
We laughed and joked and reminisced of old times on the water, all the while not caring about the task at hand.
As the sun rose, the guides started to show up. Smelling a fresh group in the water they watched from above as the next batch of would be transplants tried there hand at their water, each one kindly offering suggestions that were memorized and stored for later use while attempting to act as if that was obvious to me.
It is an interesting game trying to connect with a complete and total stranger and yet so simple. A kind suggestions or an offer of a fly can be all it takes. When I first met Alex, I was excited to hear stories and to learn of what adventures he had been on. We swapped back and fourth and apparently, and not surprisingly, my eyes got big when I was talking about my 2 week unemployed heaven on my cross country migration home from college, chasing native Cutthroat in Jackson. He immediately started in on a story from just the day before of large rainbow trout that he had found. But due to low water levels and high temperatures they were forced to cast 50 yards, a difficult if not impossible feat for most. My father, at 6’4, can hurl heavy weighted flies a country mile. To me, distance was an unknown game, something always sought after but never attained. So I quickly asked “is there any way you might be able to check out my cast to see if I can even get it in the same area code?!” As we walked over to the pond my adrenaline started pumping and the little voice inside my head was saying huck that thing and try the double haul and put your body into it. All the while my first cast landed in a heap mere yards in front of me. “Ok slow down. Be smooth. Let the rod do the work.” Quickly I realized that I was getting a private casting lesson rather than a measure of my distance. He graciously continued as if this was the only important thing in the world, improving some strangers cast… 30 minutes later, after hundreds of casts, we finally went inside. Little did I know, the other guides had finished the day and were waiting to discuss the important details for the days to come. I was happily content trading story for story learning from my new found friends.
After the skies opened up in a torrential down pour I tried the pond. Something I had never done before. Just as I was striping out my line excited to implement my new lessons all three guides drove up. “LOOK there’s a big one right there. GO GET IT!”
In my utter stupidity “How!?” And of course my first cast scared the fish away and they drove off giggling. Even so, I was determined to catch whatever creature was out there. I finally landed a fish and realized that the monster popper was not where most flies are, nicely hooked in the corner of a trout’s mouth. Oh boy… that’s one thing I haven’t practiced, removing flies from fish.
As the days went on I soon learned the inns and outs of the pond and the river thanks to well-timed tips and suggestions from the ever-helpful guides at Blackberry farm. Remember this is before I had spent even $10 at their shop. Even so that treated me better than a prince! I was spoiled rotten.
When the day finally came for a guided trip with Alex, the conditions did not fare for the larger drift with the larger fish, and that was ok. For I just wanted the experience, not necessarily the photo to post.
We decided to hit a small river, the Road Prong in the Great Smokey National Park where we targeted small native brooktrout. I jumped out of bed before my alarm had gone off and quickly re-checked my bag for my fly boxes, my sunscreen and everything else you could imagine. We jumped in the car and the stories started to fly. I can tell that he too was trying to manage my expectations, just like my mother had done a day or two before. I wouldn’t have it. If there is one thing that I have learned from fishing it is that the fish are just a bonus. On the drive he spoke of monster brown trout and listed off the names of each one as we passed the hole it was normally found in. To Alex, it is a science, not just a past time. He studies the fish, their feeding habits, their movement, and the river. Each one had a different story or a different, sometimes painful, memory of the time that it got away. He spoke of one such fish. A famous fish, named after someone who shall not be named here and the subsequent recollection of all of that days events.
As we hiked up to the river the stories continued and laughter was always just a brief moment away.
When we turned off the path and bushwhacked down, I knew we were in for something special. Not a sign of human life was evident mere feet from the trail and the once manicured steps were no longer present. Instead we quite literally slipped, fell, and stumbled our way down to the water all the while anticipating the excitement of a new river, a new species, a new technique, and even more important, a new friend. Alex quickly showed and kindly guided me through the proper ways to cover water and I quickly showed him, how adept I was a catching every stick, and rhododendron in the park. After covering the first pool we cautiously walked up the river in our chaco sandals. Instead, Alex adjusted my technique in order to not test the slippery rocks but instead to place all of my weight on the slimy surface to break through and find grip. I cautiously tried it and of course his knowledge of the area was second to none and we quickly scurried up water falls and boulders finding a new treat around every turn.
Just so you can imagine this hidden gem close your eyes and imagine the sound of rushing water cascading over rocks, the call of a whippoorwill in the distance and then imagine a tunnel, not made of cement but instead of rhododendron trees and shrubs. After a few hours and a few breathtaking colors were seen glimmering from the sides of fish, I had to ask if I could take a picture because I knew that my words could never do it justice. Little did I know that Alex had a few tricks up his sleeve yet to come.
This river at times was scary, one false step and it could cost you. I found myself crashing down on my knee as I scrambled from falling off a drop off, or scraping the hair off of my shine as I numbly fell off the ledge. The excitement only added to the already exhilarating trip. Each missed strike was inevitably the biggest fish of the day. Each time I apologized and Alex, cool as a cucumber, was unfazed. Knowing that it was not the number of fish we caught or even the size of the fish, but instead the intangible memories that I am trying to express in plain ink.
There was something special about clawing up a mossy boulder and placing a delicate dry fly just to the far side and watching that sudden take in amazement. There was one moment that I will never forget. We climbed one of the larger waterfalls and found ourselves looking across a pool… This would look like any other pool except without realizing it, I watched as my fly flowed toward me. But instead of looking down at the water level expecting a slurp at any moment, I was eye to eye with the fly. The fly, was at EYE LEVEL. I have never known such a sensation as that.
I feel that I could recount every hole but I realize that I have already surpassed the average attention span in the first paragraph of this text. Even so, I wanted to put some time into this because I know how much time this hard working group puts in each and every day to share the best experience possible whether it be casting your first fly rod to chasing a famous brown trout or testing your climbing skills while stalking native brook trout on a secluded river in a national park. Every aspect of this lodge was phenomenal, from the suggestions they gave, to the stories they shared, to the gourmet meal that the chiefs meticulously prepared, was flawless. They took the extra time to make it special, to make each experience unique and for that I thank you with my small recount of my cherished memory that has been stored in a safe place, not in a cloud but deep down in my soul. For these memories are what fuel us to go out in the rain, to continually practice, and even to help us escape.
Thank you to each and every one of you at the Blackberry fly fishing lodge. I cannot thank you enough for my incredible experience that you shared with my family and I.
Best wishes and tight lines.
See you on the water soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Day,
June 10, 2014
By: Mike82ABN
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guide
"Fished with Dan Munger today and had a wonderful outing catching numerous fish during the four hour session. Dan was patient with me showing me everything I needed to know and then put me on the fish. Thank you for a great time Dan!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing,
June 7, 2014
By: BDM1
from Blackberry Farm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding guide
"Fly fishing today with guide Alex Quick was fantastic. The best fly fishing I have ever experienced. We fished the lower Hess River, wading upstream in shorts and water shoes. I caught 12 spectacular Rainbow, a few got away. It was beautiful weather, warm with cool water, and a light breeze. Alex was the perfect guide. A memorable experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding guides/great waters,
June 5, 2014
By: TomBor
from Midwest
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For beginners or pros, this place is a delight. The guides are great teachers willing to share knowledge of what works at the time and place your fishing and why it works. The on property, quest only, Hesse Creek has to be experienced to be believed and there are plenty of nearby opportunities in the Little River watershed or nearby tail waters. You owe it to yourself to fish here."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
May 28, 2014
By: TXFlyDude
from Frisco, TX
"I have fished a lot of places with a lot of guides but throughly enjoyed this experience. Dan was a terrific guide and very friendly. While I only fished a half day on property we caught a lot of fish. Had not spent that much time on small creeks and really found it to be challenging.
Would recommend this to anyone interested. Thanks Dan!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the Bug!,
May 21, 2014
By: Bill6742
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I are in our 60's and had only fly fished once before. we didn't have great expectations for our float trip, but it was a beautiful day, so we thought, what the heck. Turns out we had a fantastic day of fishing, including a 20 inch rainbow my wife caught by herself. she's "hooked" now, and so am i! Dan was our guide and did a great job. a fun guy to spend the day on the river with, and very knowledgeable. can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing The Little River with guide Alex Quick,
April 29, 2014
By: Docko
from Webster Groves, MO, USA
"This was my third outing with Alex Quick, Head Guide for Blackberry Farm. Do not mistake his youthful appearance for lack of experience. Alex knows where the fish and how to catch them.Fishing in the Smokies for wild trout is fantastic, and the most beautiful place I have fished EVER! Alex is patient and tactful, and a pleasure to spend time with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing--Great People,
April 23, 2014
By: Bird33
"Blackberry Farm is a very special place and a place that my wife and I have decided to spend as much time as we can, even to the point of foregoing other vacations and adventures. She loves the horses, I love the fishing! Dusty and Alex are two of the finest guides with whom one could have the pleasure of fishing. Beyond being great guides, they are both really good guys and fun to be around. Whether we are having one of those magical 20+ fish days or a less successful 2 to 3 fish, the beauty of Hess Creek and the surrounding mountains makes for one of the most enjoyable times a person can experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,great guid,
April 22, 2014
By: DDCT
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Terrible weather but Alex made it work.
"Diane and I are complete novice's at flyfishing. Alex was great in getting us started, patient,and clear instruction. On the river guided each of us to a catch. The experience left us wanting to learn more about this great sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blackberry Experience,
March 14, 2014
By: Sunshine2323
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dan is just such a personable guy.
"My wife and I recently visited Blackberry Farms (our 6th visit in 6 years). The food is the best in the USA; the people are as friendly as you will ever meet; anywhere!
This visit we scheduled a fly fishing "lesson" as well as a sporting clay "lesson".
Both were wonderful. The instructors that Blackberry has on staff are so patient for beginners as well as experts. They teach while having fun. Both adventures were scheduled for 4 hours and the time went by way too fast!
We are already checking our calendars to see when we can come back and start all over.
This is a "must-do" experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time,
February 25, 2014
By: tomstr6
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dan was a great guide and a better person. We got into fish and I enjoyed the company. It was simply a pleasure and great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
January 16, 2014
By: Greg18
from Ponte Vedra, FL 32082, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent three days fishing in over New Years in some very cold weather, but it was still my best fishing trip ever. The guides are awesome and really committed to making sure you enjoy your trip and get the most out of all your time fishing. They are all s enthusiastic and passionate about fishing so they really like to help people enjoy fishing as much as they do. Also the food is fantastic especially after a long day fishing. I can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fishing at the world's best resort,
January 13, 2014
By: heybro
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:None - Alex is the man
"Blackberry Farm may be the best resort on the planet. The Food is beyond compare - you will be wowed at every meal. The Service is impeccable - nothing is out of reach - they will make it happen. Everything at Blackberry is this way and Fishing is no exception. Alex Quick may be the best fishing guide on the planet. Every fishing day with Alex becomes the best fishing day ever. He puts you on fish, is a great coach and fishing mentor, tells great stories, takes AWESOME pictures of your catch, and just makes it a great day. Fishing at Blackberry for me usually results in landing 12-20 Rainbows in a four hour trip. I only fish one time a year so this fish count is astounding for me. I highly recommend Blackberry Farm on every level and highly recommend a 3 day stay. This allows you to experience the Food, Spa, Fishing, and overall tranquility to the fullest. Any shorter stay will leave you wanting more and stay longer if you can!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
December 11, 2013
By: flywater
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our 2nd trip to Blackberry Farm and fishing is always in our agenda. We fished Monday of Thanksgiving week, right before the big winter storm that blew in. Alex took my husband and I out on the creek on property. He had us on fish right off the bat. We were able to use both dry and wet flies. Alex put us on some amazing water pockets with fantastic fish. Just watching the fish in crystal clear water was beautiful but having them fight on the line is still such a thrill. We loved the property and Alex knew exactly when and where to throw your line. We will return and fish again!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex Quick, Expert Guide,
November 26, 2013
By: Docko
from Webster Groves, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:ALL ratings above and below are *****
"On a cold, rainy, late November morn, I arrived just as Alex was tying a nymph he thought might be right for the conditions. 5 minutes after stepping into the creek, I hooked the first of four fat rainbows over two hours. This is the second time I have fished with Alex, and he is as good a fly-fishing guide as I have found anywhere."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Flyfishing Experience at Blackberry,
November 12, 2013
By: Flyfisher106
from Naperville, IL, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was my third fly fishing experience at Blackberry Farm and it keeps on getting better. Alex Quick and his staff keep improving the stretch through the farm and even with extremely low, clear water there were many fish present willing to take a properly presented fly. They are getting more naturally reproducing fish which demonstrates the improvement of the fishery. Also, Alex was very good about giving me a great list of flies to tie before going which was remarkably accurate to the flies used when there. On the water, Alex is an excellent guide as well and his staff were knowledgeable and helpful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes