Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blackberry Farm, TN

Blackberry Farm - often described as "Easy to get to. Hard to leave." is located in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Named by Travel + Leisure for its outstanding service as the number one resort in the U.S. and Canada in the 2012 World's Best Service Awards and the #1 Resort in North America by Travel + Leisure's 2011 World's Best Awards, this 62-room Relais & Chateaux property offers some of the world's finest wines, cuisine, fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, sport clay, cycling, and mountain biking opportunities. In addition to an abundance of outdoor activities, Blackberry Farm offers a Spa and a series of annual culinary, enrichment and adventure events.
Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 39(97%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blackberry Farm, TN
Review 1 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blackberry Experience,
March 14, 2014
By: Sunshine2323
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dan is just such a personable guy.
"My wife and I recently visited Blackberry Farms (our 6th visit in 6 years). The food is the best in the USA; the people are as friendly as you will ever meet; anywhere!
This visit we scheduled a fly fishing "lesson" as well as a sporting clay "lesson".
Both were wonderful. The instructors that Blackberry has on staff are so patient for beginners as well as experts. They teach while having fun. Both adventures were scheduled for 4 hours and the time went by way too fast!
We are already checking our calendars to see when we can come back and start all over.
This is a "must-do" experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time,
February 25, 2014
By: tomstr6
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dan was a great guide and a better person. We got into fish and I enjoyed the company. It was simply a pleasure and great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
January 16, 2014
By: Greg18
from Ponte Vedra, FL 32082, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent three days fishing in over New Years in some very cold weather, but it was still my best fishing trip ever. The guides are awesome and really committed to making sure you enjoy your trip and get the most out of all your time fishing. They are all s enthusiastic and passionate about fishing so they really like to help people enjoy fishing as much as they do. Also the food is fantastic especially after a long day fishing. I can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fishing at the world's best resort,
January 13, 2014
By: heybro
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:None - Alex is the man
"Blackberry Farm may be the best resort on the planet. The Food is beyond compare - you will be wowed at every meal. The Service is impeccable - nothing is out of reach - they will make it happen. Everything at Blackberry is this way and Fishing is no exception. Alex Quick may be the best fishing guide on the planet. Every fishing day with Alex becomes the best fishing day ever. He puts you on fish, is a great coach and fishing mentor, tells great stories, takes AWESOME pictures of your catch, and just makes it a great day. Fishing at Blackberry for me usually results in landing 12-20 Rainbows in a four hour trip. I only fish one time a year so this fish count is astounding for me. I highly recommend Blackberry Farm on every level and highly recommend a 3 day stay. This allows you to experience the Food, Spa, Fishing, and overall tranquility to the fullest. Any shorter stay will leave you wanting more and stay longer if you can!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
December 11, 2013
By: flywater
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our 2nd trip to Blackberry Farm and fishing is always in our agenda. We fished Monday of Thanksgiving week, right before the big winter storm that blew in. Alex took my husband and I out on the creek on property. He had us on fish right off the bat. We were able to use both dry and wet flies. Alex put us on some amazing water pockets with fantastic fish. Just watching the fish in crystal clear water was beautiful but having them fight on the line is still such a thrill. We loved the property and Alex knew exactly when and where to throw your line. We will return and fish again!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex Quick, Expert Guide,
November 26, 2013
By: Docko
from Webster Groves, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:ALL ratings above and below are *****
"On a cold, rainy, late November morn, I arrived just as Alex was tying a nymph he thought might be right for the conditions. 5 minutes after stepping into the creek, I hooked the first of four fat rainbows over two hours. This is the second time I have fished with Alex, and he is as good a fly-fishing guide as I have found anywhere."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Flyfishing Experience at Blackberry,
November 12, 2013
By: Flyfisher106
from Naperville, IL, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was my third fly fishing experience at Blackberry Farm and it keeps on getting better. Alex Quick and his staff keep improving the stretch through the farm and even with extremely low, clear water there were many fish present willing to take a properly presented fly. They are getting more naturally reproducing fish which demonstrates the improvement of the fishery. Also, Alex was very good about giving me a great list of flies to tie before going which was remarkably accurate to the flies used when there. On the water, Alex is an excellent guide as well and his staff were knowledgeable and helpful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
October 12, 2013
By: Flyfishers2
from Benton, KY 42025, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The box lunches provided by Blackberry were delicious!
"My husband and I spent a wonderful day of fly fishing with Alex Quick. Alex put us on the Hiawassee River to begin our day. He is a true professional;a proficient guide and a delight to be with. In the afternoon we had the privilege of fishing the Hesse Crick which runs through the Blackberry Farm property...a beautiful stream with big trout that are not shy about taking a dry fly...a fly fisher's dream. Our day couldn't have been nicer. We have sweet memories of our day with Alex and the fish we caught with him! Don't change a thing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
October 8, 2013
By: GaryF
from Blackberry Farm, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am in love with fly fishing and it's all because of Blackberry Farm. I have learned so much from Alex, Geoff (years past) and others. The river is superb. The pace is perfect. And the successes that I have enjoyed can't be underestimated. Kudos"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved our first time fly fishing,
October 7, 2013
By: BlackberryFarmOct2013
from Pelham Manor, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My boyfriend and I went to Blackberry Farm this past weekend and booked a 4-hour guided trip with Daniel Munger. I think 4 hours is the absolute minimum you would need to enjoy this experience, though the property also offers a 2-hour option. We fished Hesse Creek which is on property. It was very lucky that Blackberry has a fishable creek on site considering the Smoky Mtns Natl Park was closed due to Federal Government shutdown. Hesse Creek was perfect--convenient to the property while being quiet and picturesque. There are some natural trout though it also stocked. We caught 5 trout during our trip--a real thrill. Daniel was fantastic and made the trip. He was extraordinarily patient with us as beginners, even when we repeatedly got our flies caught in the branches of overhanging trees. I was fishing one area for about 25 minutes with no luck while Daniel was helping my boyfriend. Then Daniel came over, changed up one or two things about my cast and within 5 minutes I had hooked a fish... Perhaps most importantly he was an absolute pleasure to talk to. What a great trip thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a BLAST!,
October 7, 2013
By: MeatSauce
from Miami, FL
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished with Jeremy the first day, who was wonderful and very patient and a great teacher. Gave us a nice short lesson and taught my girlfriend how to fly fish in an hour. She hooked four and landed 2 within an hour.
Next day I fished with Daniel alone. We had a great time and caught 4 out of 8 bites in the morning. Had a big rainbow come out of the water and eat the fly! He was very fun, very knowledgable and put me on some great fish!
I would recommend this trip to anyone who knows how to fish or first timers. Thanks guys."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
October 1, 2013
By: JWWW
from Birmingham, AL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Like so many activities at Blackberry Farm, fly fishing is a great experience and one that should be near the top of your list of things to do while there regardless of your fly fishing experience level. My guide, Mike, did an excellent job and was very patient with my rusty skills. I had a lot of fun and would recommend the fly fishing program at Blackberry to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
September 26, 2013
By: konmag
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were just at Blackberry Farm for 3 days, & fly-fished with Daniel twice. He was extremely knowledgeable about the sport, patient (especially when my flies were in the branches!), & really made it a wonderful experience. We would highly recommend him as a guide, & Blackberry as a fly-fishing destination!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once again- great,
September 22, 2013
By: mbl17
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:the best
"Third time to Blackberry Farm and have fished each time- the fishing is always great and Daniel Munger made the experience exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Do at Blackberry,
September 1, 2013
By: MississippiDuo
from Mississippi, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Blackberry was an idyllic place for my husband and I to learn to fly fish. Daniel Munger gave us expert instruction and had us casting within no time. My husband caught a trout on his first cast, beginners luck I say. We had such an enjoyable time fishing and chatting with Daniel that we booked another fishing trip the next day. On the second trip we went into the national park and had a wonderful time as well. We're hooked, thanks to Daniel!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Times,
August 26, 2013
By: OldKYfishingguy
from Kentucky
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Alex Quick is an excellent teacher and guide who knows his craft. Although I have fished all my life this was a highlight experience. Learning to fly fish is something I have always wanted to do, great experience. I highly recommend the Blackberry Farm experience and their guides ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
August 19, 2013
By: Newfish
from North Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I spent the day with Alex learning to fly fish. He is very knowledgeable and a wonderful teacher. All while keeping the day light and enjoyable. We could not have had a nicer day. It didn't hurt that we caught 20 or more beautiful fish in the middle of the summer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
August 17, 2013
By: Newbefisher
from Vienna, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great experience fly fishing at Blackberry Farm. Third time attempting to land rainbow and brown trout. Hooked four and landed two in my two hour guided experience. Daniel and Dusty are great guides for someone who never fly fished before coming to this ideal destination. Great conversation and education even in the two previous trips when I landed nothing. Can't wait to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish On!,
July 16, 2013
By: BiggerRed
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've fished everything from back country Trout to big game Blue Marlin and my Fly Fishing experience at Blackberry Farms was absolutely amazing. I fished with Daniel Munger and he was a class act. He was extremely knowledgeable, fun to fish with, and was happy to take pictures of all 11 Rainbow's I caught in a four hour trip. I was also able to speak with some of the other guides back at the camp and I got a similar vibe from everyone else as well. If you're looking for great fishing, awesome scenery, and fun experienced guides then I highly recommend you check out Blackberry Farms."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Blackberry Farm, TN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Day of Fly Fishing,
June 5, 2013
By: GolferRSB
from Texarkana, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A Blackberry Farms boxed Lunch, a beautiful river to float and one of the best guides (and nicest) in the country in Alex Quick and his associate made for an outstanding day of fly fishing. The drive in a Lexus was a lot better than the customary pick up."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes