Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK

Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge is an oceanfront resort located on breathtaking Prince of Wales Island in temperate southeast Alaska. Construction of the main lodge began in 1990, where each log was felled and towed across the bay. In true Alaskan spirit, the raw lumber was milled, peeled and notched by hand. Expansion of the resort entailed the building of a second lodge, providing accommodations for up to 19 guests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.977 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 44(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Review 1 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gonna be hard to EVER top this trip!,
July 31, 2015
By: TheTugIsMyDrug
from Sandy, UT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The guides here are amazing. We were asked in the airport about the lodge and were told by guides that this is the place eveyone is told to go if they want a top rate experience.
"It's hard to know where to start...how about we start at the beginning. As the float plane approached the dock for the Lodge my wife and I knew we had come to the right place. We were greeted by the staff who quickly took our bags and ensured us that we were in good hands. Our bags were taken on a ride up to the lodge and we were welcomed to our home for the coming week. Leslie and Jay let us know of the plans for the day and that we would be filled in on the weeks plans at dinner. Dinner...that is a whole different story. Forget the food you had anywhere else. This place is top notch. I'm pretty sure they have a Michelin Star (or at least they should). Jeff is a top notch Chef and has a great crew with him in the kitchen! The fishing here was beyond our expectations. The guides are more knowledgeable that the fish are I think! My wife and I progressively caught more and more fish each day. With Jim as our Salt Water guide and Jay as our Fresh...My wife literally said , "I think I understand why you are so addicted to fishing!" (Hence my display name). We caught so many fish, we were throwing back legal sized King Salmon with Jim leading the way! AWESOME!
I would tell anyone that is considering a trip to Alaska to put this lodge on their bucket list. Forget putting Alaska on your list! Just put Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge on your list and they will handle the rest!! I promise you that!!! Orvis should be proud to put their name on such a first class establishment as ABL! We have created memories for a lifetime and will be talking about this trip for the rest of our lives!! Thank You! Thank You! Oh, and Thank You!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practically Perfect In Every Way,
July 30, 2015
By: JayLaRay
from Utah, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Being at Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge was an incredible experience. Every day I felt like a celebrity and couldn't believe the quality of the fishing, food, and lodging, and other accommodations. The quality of the gear, staff, and environment is beyond compare."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a spectacular experience,
July 29, 2015
By: comilligan
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been to the lodge twice and both times it has been amazing. The fishing is great, the staff is more than friendly, the food is wonderful, and the experience is something to remember for a lifetime. I cannot imagine a better experience elsewhere."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father/son trip,
July 29, 2015
By: Bill1961mmm111
from TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been in the outdoor business for 30 years and am the past owner of an Orvis endorsed lodge. Owner Brad and Lodge Manager Jay have put together an outstanding program that caters to your every need and the fishing is amazing as well! All of the staff is first class and the food and lodging are as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tenth year and planning to come back,
July 29, 2015
By: Chucklyn
from Mamaroneck, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic guide Fantastic person
"This was the tenth year at Boardwalk for us and we are already looking forward to eleven.We have a wonderful guide in Rich and we pray he will be back next year. The staff are all very friendly,very caring and very able.The food is excellent as are the accomodations. Everything is great. we don't want it to ever change."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
August 30, 2013
By: skinzy
from Knoxville, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was one of the best experiences I have had in the outdoors. Exceptional customer service and support. Would do it again in a heartbeat as soon as my freezer is empty of fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Trip!!,
August 22, 2013
By: KCNFamily
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic Guide! I will ask for him again!
"This fishing trip had a couple of hurdles that Alaska Boardwalk helped us overcome. One was us switching our reservation and adding a day. All of this went smoothly. Our family enjoyed the trip so well on day number of fishing, my youngest was ready to book next years trip!! Jim went above and beyond to ensure that boys did their own share of the work with baiting the hooks to catch their own fish.
To all the staff, Jim, Tonya, and Brad, thank you for making this trip unforgetable. Brad, we will see you in Dallas to schedule next years trip!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip to Alaska,
August 7, 2013
By: Moose3167
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Jim was an excellent guide who was patient and went beyond what was required in order to.provide us with a memorable experience.
"Boardwalk Lodge was an awesome family destination. The staff and facilities were wonderful! Everyone was friendly, hospitable, and accommodating. The food was excellent. The chefs went out of there way to meet all the different food requirements of our family. The fishing was good, but our guides were exemplary. We appreciate all the hard work that Brad has done in making Boardwalk Lodge such a wonderful experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming Home,
July 19, 2013
By: wildflower75
from Mamaroneck, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As the float plane arrives at the Boardwalk Dock I know I've come home. The very professional lodge staff treat us like family and go out of their way to be helpful all the time. Rich, our guide assures us great fishing success; Jay, Nate and JoJo help make that happen while Julie surrounds us with beauty and love and Jeff treats us to fabulous gourmet dinners.
We'll be coming back again and again for as long as we can
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket list check-off,
July 15, 2013
By: TNprincesschum
from Tennessee
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Absolutely, without a doubt, one of the most fabulous trips I have taken. Going into unchartered territory, ie, Alaska, float planes , &unrelentless fishing, it proved to be a pleasant surprise. Every aspect of the trip was exceptional. Still bragging to all at home, that will listen, the virtues of Alaska's Boardwalk lodge. Definitely a repeat trip in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Trip,
July 15, 2013
By: rockyquill
from Tennessee
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:We only saltwater fished
"All the staff were great.We caught plenty of fish and the scenery and location made the trip very enjoyable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fabulous,
July 14, 2013
By: amandvj
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had an experience of a lifetime. Hoping to come back soon. Highly recommend this to all serious anglers. The food was exceptional and everyone at the lodge made the trip unforgettable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic trip!!,
July 12, 2013
By: airbaker
from Newport Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just wanted to thank all of the thoughtful employees of the Boardwalk Lodge for a truly wonderful and memorable trip.
I spent 5 days at the Boardwalk with my daughter and father-in-law and made memories to last for a lifetime. My daughter said it was "the best trip ever!" and she cannot wait to come back; neither can I.
Every time I look into the freezer to pull out yet another filet of fish to cook (we brought home tons of fish) I get a smile on my face thinking of trip. What an amazing and indelible mark it's left on my daughter.
Thanks again to Brad and and the friendly staff for such an amazing experience and for taking such good care of us!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best trip ever!,
July 11, 2013
By: FishHunter2013
from Newport Beach
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Our guide taught, didn't just do!
"As this was my Dad's first fishing trip, I wanted to make it was one to remember. Not only was travel easy, the lodge was beautiful and the staff were eager to please. I really felt that we were catered to our entire trip. Our guide, Jim, allowed me to do my own thing, while helping my dad learn the sport. As always, a fishing trip is also judged by the fishing and we did pretty well! Salmon, halibut, rock fish and more. We brought back more than enough for our friends and family. I really can't wait to get back to the lodge next Spring. Brad and his team have put together a first rate operation and I look forward to seeing some of my new friends again soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream come true,
June 23, 2013
By: Halibutman
from Wilmington, NC
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome! Great Sailor!
"The lodge was phenomenal and I hope to be back some day and will recommend it to anyone I can who is visiting Alaska and wants a once in a life time experience. The lodge staff, guides, etc. set the bar for excellence!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST HOSPITALITY,
June 13, 2013
By: BREAD
from Northern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great trip last week, Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge has the best hospitality.
Brad you have a great crew!
Jeff, Jay, Nate, Jim, Wes, Julie (makes the best bread ever), Ashley, Alex, Kirsten, and the girl that kayaks home,
keep up the GREAT service! Thanks for making this trip one of our favorites.
Our whole family learned to fly fish,
now new fly gear is on order. I might need a drift boat now also.
Jay and Nate, our guides, took great care in making sure we were safe on the river and that we were shown the basics and had time to practice. They worked hard to make sure we had a great trip and that we can leave being able to fly fish.
Fly fishing has 4 new life members now.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All was Great,
June 11, 2013
By: raygLV
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We came in the early season.All was great with the staff and guides. They made it a wonder full trip. I will come again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
October 8, 2012
By: FFFF
from Idaho, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's an adventure that begins with a fantastic ride on a hydroplane that was smoother than most flights I've taken on other planes. The lodge is beautifully set in the woods close to the water and it is spacious and comfortable. The staff is the true gem of the experience. Rarely have I encountered such friendly and hospitable people, it is clear that they enjoy their job, love the place and want to share it with their guests. Our boat captain was great, he was knowledgeable, helpful, accommodating and didn't talk too much or too little."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class Adventure,
October 3, 2012
By: Misterzx14
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"From the moment we landed in the float plane we were greeted with kindness, had our bags kindly carried away for us,and were welcomed as though we were old friends.
The staff was helpful, courteous, and very attentive to ensuring that our visit was all we had hoped it to be.
Our captain was very competent and helpful, making the fishing experience first class.
The food was superb!
I would love to return to the Boardwalk and will recommend it to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Alaska's Boardwalk Lodge, AK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Experience in Alaska,
October 3, 2012
By: grue2012
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Sonny was a great guide. He fished in all kinds of weather and did a great job keeping us in the fish. Having him as our guide was one of the experiences that made the trip so great. Sonny has a good personality and is a great host. Several days Sonny brought sushi that he prepared just for us, which was great!
"Four of us traveled from various parts of the mainland US to fish in Alaska at the Boardwalk Lodge. Our level of fishing varied from novice to experienced and we all had a really great time at the Boardwalk Lodge. Brad Steuart and his team did a great job on all aspects to make our trip a success in all ways. They equipment was great, the food was awesome, we loved our guide, Sonny, and the lodging was great too. Thanks so much for an awesome experience. We will be back to fish another day with these folks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes