Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR

2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Expedition of the Year.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Review 1 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead fishing trip,
October 24, 2014
By: brenna
from Deschutes River
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I had a great experience fly fishing with Deep Canyon. The 3 day trip was a blast and the highlight was catching big steelhead on our last day! Michael and Cullen were great guides and made the whole experience fun. We are looking forward to being repeat customers! Thanks again - we are hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides!,
October 23, 2014
By: globalboater
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a customer I rarely take time to review fishing operations in a public forum but DCO has provided such an incredible experience that I owe them some positive feedback.
The Deschutes River was beautiful as advertised, the fish were plentiful as advertised, the food was delicious as advertised, the camp was superbly comfortable as advertised and the trip was awesome as advertised.
The guides on my trip were by far the most impressive duo I've ever fished with. Michael and Austin are two of the most humble, humorous, knowledgable, and hard working guides I've ever hired. They know where to fish, how to fish and what each client needs to make a trip complete. My friend who accompanied me on the trip was from Brazil and he had no english language skills to speak of. Michael and Austin made him feel at home and were ready for his every need even before he started to look for a translator. They provide an incredible experience through a dedication to customer service and knowledge of their fishery.
Just Awesome in every respect!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Steelhead,
October 23, 2014
By: fishylady
from Bend, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Super comfortable
"Awesome steelhead trip from Trout Creek to Maupin through the stunning Deschutes canyon where we were the only boat on the river. Catching beautiful steelhead multiple times a day never got tiresome. Damien's expert advice and knowledge of the river meant that we were fishing high potential water all the time. This was probably my seventh or eighth trip with Deep Canyon. As always, the food was killer and the company unsurpassed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a good time for all!,
October 15, 2014
By: tdixon
from Mill Valley, CA, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Unbelievable food and comfortable camp!
"I have been lucky enough to fish with Damien three times over the years on overnight steelhead camping trips. Each trip has been expertly designed for the size and skill of my group. The guides not only provided thoughtful, patient, expert instruction . . . they are great company around camp. I would like to thank Damien, Michael, Cullen, Jeremiah, Ken and Austin for all of their hard work! You guys are the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing experience,
October 13, 2014
By: MarkMcG
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very comfortable and awesome meals
"Damien and the crew from Deep Canyon provide an amazing fishing experience in spectacular country.
The guidance and patience of the guides and their experience in getting you onto fish is first class. The camping set up and food was fantastic. Thanks Ken. Great time with friends and highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants the privilege of catching the mighty steelhead on the Deshcutes River. Particular thanks to Cullen who was my guide for the whole trip. Great guide and person. Lots of laughs and fun.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Steelhead,
October 13, 2014
By: getmcleod
from Deschutes River, United States
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Damien Nurre and his crew of guides, cooks, etc. run a first class operation. I fished with both Mike and Jeremiah who were expert guides and great people to hang with for a few days. The Deschutes is a tricky river. Big water and requirement for wade fishing only so it requires guides to know the river much more than normal. I did catch my first Steelhead (a 26"er) which was a memorable experience to say the least. Expertly prepared hot meals (like eating at a good restaurant) prepared on the river made the whole experience pleasant. The camp sites were epic and they even bring cots so sleep is like being on a bed. I strongly recommend this team and this trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Trip,
October 12, 2014
By: Paul31
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a chance to fish with Deep Canyon Outfitters a few weeks. The accomandations were nice. Quality tents and cots were used. The food was amazing. Most importantly to me, the fishing was great. I’m a trout bum and I landed a 20” redside, which is a fish of a lifetime for me. Also, the guides at Deep Canyon Outfitters are great teachers. I learned a lot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newbie,
October 12, 2014
By: Fishing4Fun
from San Francisco
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The cook was especially good on finding a great campsite and the food was always prepared well and served ion time.
"This was our first time fly fishing for the four of us and the entire experience was enjoyable, restful, and productive. We each caught a few nice trout on a dry fly each day as well as Nymphing. Good thing we had 2 guides, otherwise we would have passed up a lot of good fishing holding spots. We all caught a few fish each morning and evening, mostly 1 to 1.5 lbs.
The cook was terrific and he always found GREAT camp sites. Food was abundant and well prepared. Everyone was first class and great teachers. My 85 year old dad is healthy and got treated like a King. The guides always helped my Dad get in/out of the boat and were always watching for his safety on the River!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible time and great guides,
October 9, 2014
By: jldailey5
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I contacted Deep Canyon seeking someone willing to take 4 people who wanted to learn to fly fish. We booked a 3 day trip and I must say it was one of the most enjoyable fishing experiences I've had. Our guides were patient, very helpful, the food wonderful, and the scenery was spectacular."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding as usual!,
October 6, 2014
By: ASIRANDY
from Bend, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:This is one of my favorite things of fishing with Deep Canyon. Camp is super nice with great food and wine!
"I have fished with Deep Canyon and Damien for many years and have always had an exceptional time. Recently we floated Mac to the mouth with Damien for the first time. The float was amazingly beautiful! Damien's hospitality and expert instruction was, as usual, very helpful as he assisted me and my friend who had never spey cast before to hook and land steelhead on our trip. Always fun. Looking forward to my next trip with Deep Canyon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Outting,
October 6, 2014
By: SoCalFlyFish
from Newport Beach, CA
"Our Fish/float with Cullen and Austin was truly incredible. Our trip started off during the height of the summer fires. The guys at Deep Canyon came up with a game plan to ensure our safety as well as show us a great time fishing. This trip has now made it into the yearly rotation, thanks to all the hard work they provided during our camp! Thanks again guys! See you next year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rd time is a charm-always come back,
October 2, 2014
By: LTPDX
from Portland, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides are very knowledgable but also patient with inexperienced guests. Camp quality is over the top.
"I get together once a year with some old friends from high school and for the past three years we have been meeting in Central Oregon with Deep Canyon Outfitters. This year we did a three day/two night trip down the Deschutes River fly fishing for trout and steelhead and it was an unbelievable experience. The river is beautiful and Deep Canyon's guest experience is first class, from expert guiding on the river to the camping and dining on the river's edge. And with our patient guides, a few of us caught our first steelhead on the fly which was an added bonus! We will definitely do this again with Deep Canyon and I recommend this trip to anyone, novice or expert alike. Friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable guide service. The top line Orvis gear made available to the guests is a real plus to enhance the fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memorable experience!,
September 25, 2014
By: trtyflyfish4u
from Charleston, WV
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great food!
"What a wonderful trip! I understand from articles that steelhead are the "fish of a thousand casts". Deep Canyon Outfitters reduces that in dramatic fashion. The guide, Michael Divita, put us on fish consistently and was so knowledgeable that we were able to get many hookups and land three steelhead in one day! In addition the food was incredible and the conversation was engaging and informative. I highly recommend this ouuutfitter."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deep Canyon Outfitters- AMAZING,
September 10, 2014
By: todfer
from Deschutes County, OR, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished the Deschutes River for 3 days with Damien, Michael, and Cullen, who were all amazing and so professional. I actually brought my 3 kids and wife and everyone caught many, many nice fish and had an amazing time. My wife actually thought we should stay another day! The guides really knew where the fish were and how to challenge me to get at the big ones.
Austin, cooked the food- which my kids told me that we should eat like this at home.. This outfitter made sure each detail was in place for my kids. We actually discussed and they created a menu and followed it exactly- no cost was spared.
Deep Canyon Outfitters is Way more than just a fishing guide..They are professionals, who have a high attention to detail, fishing skill and patience. They have helped me create an experience for my family that will launch a love for fly fishing forever.
Todd Ferrier
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deschutes Fishing Trips,
August 19, 2014
By: JimSeb
from Cambridge MA/Shaver Lake CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In our second multi-day Deschutes trip (2013 and 2014) with Damien, Michael, Cullen, and Tim, our group of six family members--ages 17-61, variously from Canada, Boston, and California--simply loved it. For comparison, many of us have fished for decades, often in Canadian lakes and in many fishing camps. As guides, the Deep Canyon guys were patient, helpfully instructional, and enthusiastic--while being a lot of fun. The equipment was excellent, the food consistently tasty and imaginative while not being fancy, the river and scenery spectacular, the fishing very good, and the level of professionalism high. As our three days of camping and four days of fishing came to a close, with our fly-fishing skill levels increasing rapidly, we could only look forward to more in later years. Enthusiastically recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Guides ROCK!,
May 27, 2014
By: Travelguy
from Roseburg, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fished the Salmonfly hatch on the Deschutes River, Oregon with Damien Nurre Owner/Guide Deep Canyon Outfitters for 3 days. Damien was patient, excellent instructor, and knew where the fish were and how to get them. His bagger Michael was awesome, great food and all the comforts of home. All in all, the best fly fishing trip I have had and best guide, ever! And notice in photo, I fish with an Orvis Helios."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Crooked,
May 18, 2014
By: DrewDown302
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our experience started as we stepped foot into the Confluence Fly Shop in Bend, Oregon. We were greeted right away, staff was super friendly and helpful. The Confluence Fly Shop was very clean and well organized. My wife and I hired Jeremiah for a 1/2 day guided fishing trip while we were there. Before we left the shop he explained everything in great detail and told us that we would head out in his car early in the morning. One minor problem.....we were camping for a few weeks and had our Golden Retriever with us. Not to worry, he said "bring the dog along, it would be great to have him." What a relief!!!
He took us down to the Crooked river and we had a blast. Very knowledgeable, and a great instructor. He gave many great tips that improved our fly fishing for the future. I would highly recommend Jeremiah for a guide if you are in the area, as I plan to next time we are in Bend, OR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great half day trip,
May 12, 2014
By: nickandjoyce
from crooked river, or
"Super 1/2 day trip with Jeremiah. It was our first time fly fishing and we had a blast. Great guide, great location, great fishing. Would recommend without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great float trip on the Deschutes,
November 13, 2013
By: Metalhead
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great comfortable tents and great food
"Our group spent three days floating the Deschutes River with Cullen, Chris, and Phil( great camp cook). The three of them are very professional and had us fishing hard for three days. Spey casting with coaching from guide Chris ( The Silent Professor) was fantastic. Even though we did not land any steelhead, the three days was fantastic. The beauty of the canyon and river along with deer, goats, eagles, added to added to the total adventure of the float. All the meals provided on the trip far exceeded all of our expectations. Who would have expected steak on a float trip cooked to perfection not us. Great fly-fishing experience was had by all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redside Heaven,
June 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Portland, OR, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Perfect
"From Trout Creek to Maupin a group of ladies and I enjoyed incredible fishing, beautiful scenery and exciting whitewater on the lower Deschutes. The end of the famous Salmon Fly hatch brought an end to the crowds. And so with the river virtually to ourselves we laughed and fished and fished some more with our EXCEPTIONAL guides expertly putting us right where the fish were. We cast to plenty of big red-sides sipping small caddis in the foamy back eddies and under overhanging trees and sharpened our nymphing techniques while fooling unsuspecting trout with Jimmy Legs and caddis pupa all day long. How I love those Jimmy Legs!
A heartfelt thanks goes to our guides and camp chef, Michael Divita, Matt Carter and Cullen Whisenhunt for showing us such a wonderful time, pampering us with exceptional food and getting us into some incredible trout. These guys are the best!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes