Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR

2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Expedition of the Year.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Review 1 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 2015,
June 11, 2015
By: W2wino
from Walla Walla, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent 4days and 3 night on the Deschutes. It was a fantastic experience from start to finish. It started at the shop with Jeremiah getting us set up with licenses and gear. We hooked up with Timmy (the bag man) and went fishing. It seemed like we were instantly catching fish. Then great grub and more fish on the hook. Did I mention floating into camp each night stepping off the boat to a set up camp and appetizers. Dinners to follow...all amazing food. Being a somewhat inexperienced fly fisherman I was extremely pleased with the amount of hands on guidance offered by Jeremiah. He also was great about tailoring certain spots to each angler to spread around the various types of casting, gear set ups, and of course mending! The guy knows his fishing and is passionate about all aspects of fishing and the fisheries."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic trip,
June 1, 2015
By: todfer
from Deschutes County, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hi,
Each year, for over 10 years, DCO has catered to a group of 10-12 friends who come to fish the Deschutes. Its a 4 day trip and DCO makes every detail amazing. From getting into the "fishy spots" on the river, to setting up camp, to preparing meals DCO does it all perfectly. DCO is a world class outfitter and creates a super memorable trip for any age.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip on Deschutes,
May 27, 2015
By: jt2428
from Bay Area, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"WEnt with deep canyon anglers last week on the Deschutes, 4 day float trip. timed the salmon fly hatch well.
They are a great outfitter. our lead guide Cullen was outstanding, and our second guid Matt, and our gear boat operator were also outstanding. Great, but challenging fishing. Would not necessarily reccommend for a novice, but if you like fishing dries, and challenging scenarios, this is your place.
Food and accomodations on river were excellent. Just did not bring enough beer.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top-notch,
May 26, 2015
By: Bassbug18
from Summit, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Willing fish that would take a well-presented fly; knowledgeable guides who were a pleasure to fish with; incredible vistas; great food and hospitality. I've fished with guides and outfitters across the U.S. and Deep Canyon exceeded expectations. Well done."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Guided trip,
May 24, 2015
By: SteveWillhite
from Deschutes River, Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Deep Canyon Outfitters provided everything you could hope for on a flyfishing 3 day trip. Our guide was very patient and encouraging. The camp staff was very attentive with service that was always accompanied by a smile. I would highly recommend DCO and hope to fish with them again in the future. Caught my first trout on a dry fly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic trip with great dry fly fishing,
May 17, 2015
By: MitchD
from Bend, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"guides were excellent at putting different skill levels in areas they would succeed. Food was great and guides were total professionals. Fantastic trip for clients."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Outfitter,
May 9, 2015
By: SteveRinTX
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great setup
"It is rare that a company exceeds my high level of expectation, but Deep Canyon Outfitters managed to do it. My son-in-law and I just got back from our first 4 day fly-fishing adventure in Oregon. From the moment we met our guide until the time we hit the "take-out" point at the end of the trip we were blown away by the high level of service. Michael, our guide, was a true professional, completely dedicated to making sure we had a wonderful time. He knew the river like the back of his hand and constantly put us in spots to catch some amazing fish. Cullen, excellent guide and cook extraordinaire, was in charge of setting up the campsite. Each evening we arrived at our camp for delicious meals, a spacious tent, and wonderful conversation. Thanks for giving us a trip we will never forget. We'll be back! And if you are reading this, do yourself a favor and go."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome 3 day float!,
November 26, 2014
By: BestD
from Bozeman, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We did a 3 day, 2 night Deschutes River Steelhead trip with DCO in November. Awesome trip! Steelhead are notoriously tough to catch, but the DCO guys knew exactly where we would find fish. The food & level of service at camp was off the chart - these guys do an amazing job!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead Nov 2014,
November 19, 2014
By: SMS2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:As mentioned above - having the propane heated dining tent to retreat to was terrific.
"What can I say but I landed 12lb + Steelhead on the final day of the three day trip. This was the second Steelhead of the day. As a novice angler and relatively new to working with a spey rod, my guide, Cullen was patient but determined to get my casting up to the level of efficiency that it needed to be. On top of the expert instruction we were treated to a first class camp each evening. The biggest surprise was the propane heated dining tent to relax in and enjoy a first class meal. Big plus when dealing with the cold November evenings."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
November 15, 2014
By: corbinbrands
from bend, or
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the fortunate opportunity to fill the last seat on a 4 day steelhead trip with Deep Canyon Outfitters. From beginning to end everything was top notch: foods, service, scenery, you name it. We even talked some Steelhead in to eating on the swing, which was icing on the cake in my book."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12th year with DCO,
November 13, 2014
By: LilFella
from Roseburg,OR
"So many amazing fishing trips, so many memories. Been fishing with Damien for so long now, I think he was in diapers rowing through whitehorse (expertly I might add) the very first time with him. 12 years later, the line between client and friend once again becomes blurred, and it’s all about the fishing. The expert accommodations provided in such a remote environment are wonderful, allowing time to laugh, enjoy and expound upon the experience of the day, and past days.It doesn’t get any better than this."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giving Back,
November 12, 2014
By: fishylady
from Bend, OR
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hooked five, landed three steelhead on a very special trip with Cullen fishing on the Warm Springs Reservation from Trout Creek to Maupin on the Lower Deschutes. This was a trip that Deep Canyon Outfitter donated at the Deschutes River Conservancy (DRC) Tight Lines Auctions. Damien is a board member on the DRC and generously donates every year. In my book, he is the most generous and most community minded of all the guides in town. Working with the tribe, this very special trip allowed us to fish on the tribal side of the river. A very rare event. The fishing was great, the guide wonderful, the food exquisite. Not your average river food, the chef owns his own private catering firm. First class all the way. Can't recommend Deep Canyon highly enough."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful trip that everyone should experience,
November 11, 2014
By: IdahomeMPD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ken the camp cook was fabulous
"Damian and his staff create a wonderful overnight experience on the Deschutes river in central Oregon. They are highly knowledgeable and exceptional teachers and guides. Steelhead fishing is a challenging game and they give you every extra advantage possible. Camp accommodations were clean and comfortable and the food was exceptional! Can't wait to come back next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just a first class operation,
November 9, 2014
By: Travelguy
from Roseburg, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great equipment and bagger
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spey heaven,
November 3, 2014
By: Swedenspey
from Stockholm, Sweden
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the third time, I came from Sweden to fish with Deep Canyon. I have always been very satisfied with the service, the food and the professional guiding. This time I caught three steelhead in three days and every time I fish with Deep Canyon I always learn something new about fishing for steelhead. I always have a lot of fun! Damien is the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead fishing trip,
October 24, 2014
By: brenna
from Deschutes River
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I had a great experience fly fishing with Deep Canyon. The 3 day trip was a blast and the highlight was catching big steelhead on our last day! Michael and Cullen were great guides and made the whole experience fun. We are looking forward to being repeat customers! Thanks again - we are hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides!,
October 23, 2014
By: globalboater
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a customer I rarely take time to review fishing operations in a public forum but DCO has provided such an incredible experience that I owe them some positive feedback.
The Deschutes River was beautiful as advertised, the fish were plentiful as advertised, the food was delicious as advertised, the camp was superbly comfortable as advertised and the trip was awesome as advertised.
The guides on my trip were by far the most impressive duo I've ever fished with. Michael and Austin are two of the most humble, humorous, knowledgable, and hard working guides I've ever hired. They know where to fish, how to fish and what each client needs to make a trip complete. My friend who accompanied me on the trip was from Brazil and he had no english language skills to speak of. Michael and Austin made him feel at home and were ready for his every need even before he started to look for a translator. They provide an incredible experience through a dedication to customer service and knowledge of their fishery.
Just Awesome in every respect!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Steelhead,
October 23, 2014
By: fishylady
from Bend, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Super comfortable
"Awesome steelhead trip from Trout Creek to Maupin through the stunning Deschutes canyon where we were the only boat on the river. Catching beautiful steelhead multiple times a day never got tiresome. Damien's expert advice and knowledge of the river meant that we were fishing high potential water all the time. This was probably my seventh or eighth trip with Deep Canyon. As always, the food was killer and the company unsurpassed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a good time for all!,
October 15, 2014
By: tdixon
from Mill Valley, CA, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Unbelievable food and comfortable camp!
"I have been lucky enough to fish with Damien three times over the years on overnight steelhead camping trips. Each trip has been expertly designed for the size and skill of my group. The guides not only provided thoughtful, patient, expert instruction . . . they are great company around camp. I would like to thank Damien, Michael, Cullen, Jeremiah, Ken and Austin for all of their hard work! You guys are the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing experience,
October 13, 2014
By: MarkMcG
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very comfortable and awesome meals
"Damien and the crew from Deep Canyon provide an amazing fishing experience in spectacular country.
The guidance and patience of the guides and their experience in getting you onto fish is first class. The camping set up and food was fantastic. Thanks Ken. Great time with friends and highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants the privilege of catching the mighty steelhead on the Deshcutes River. Particular thanks to Cullen who was my guide for the whole trip. Great guide and person. Lots of laughs and fun.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes