Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR

2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Expedition of the Year.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Review 1 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memorable experience!,
September 25, 2014
By: trtyflyfish4u
from Charleston, WV
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great food!
"What a wonderful trip! I understand from articles that steelhead are the "fish of a thousand casts". Deep Canyon Outfitters reduces that in dramatic fashion. The guide, Michael Divita, put us on fish consistently and was so knowledgeable that we were able to get many hookups and land three steelhead in one day! In addition the food was incredible and the conversation was engaging and informative. I highly recommend this ouuutfitter."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deep Canyon Outfitters- AMAZING,
September 10, 2014
By: todfer
from Deschutes County, OR, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished the Deschutes River for 3 days with Damien, Michael, and Cullen, who were all amazing and so professional. I actually brought my 3 kids and wife and everyone caught many, many nice fish and had an amazing time. My wife actually thought we should stay another day! The guides really knew where the fish were and how to challenge me to get at the big ones.
Austin, cooked the food- which my kids told me that we should eat like this at home.. This outfitter made sure each detail was in place for my kids. We actually discussed and they created a menu and followed it exactly- no cost was spared.
Deep Canyon Outfitters is Way more than just a fishing guide..They are professionals, who have a high attention to detail, fishing skill and patience. They have helped me create an experience for my family that will launch a love for fly fishing forever.
Todd Ferrier
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deschutes Fishing Trips,
August 19, 2014
By: JimSeb
from Cambridge MA/Shaver Lake CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In our second multi-day Deschutes trip (2013 and 2014) with Damien, Michael, Cullen, and Tim, our group of six family members--ages 17-61, variously from Canada, Boston, and California--simply loved it. For comparison, many of us have fished for decades, often in Canadian lakes and in many fishing camps. As guides, the Deep Canyon guys were patient, helpfully instructional, and enthusiastic--while being a lot of fun. The equipment was excellent, the food consistently tasty and imaginative while not being fancy, the river and scenery spectacular, the fishing very good, and the level of professionalism high. As our three days of camping and four days of fishing came to a close, with our fly-fishing skill levels increasing rapidly, we could only look forward to more in later years. Enthusiastically recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Guides ROCK!,
May 27, 2014
By: Travelguy
from Roseburg, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fished the Salmonfly hatch on the Deschutes River, Oregon with Damien Nurre Owner/Guide Deep Canyon Outfitters for 3 days. Damien was patient, excellent instructor, and knew where the fish were and how to get them. His bagger Michael was awesome, great food and all the comforts of home. All in all, the best fly fishing trip I have had and best guide, ever! And notice in photo, I fish with an Orvis Helios."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Crooked,
May 18, 2014
By: DrewDown302
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our experience started as we stepped foot into the Confluence Fly Shop in Bend, Oregon. We were greeted right away, staff was super friendly and helpful. The Confluence Fly Shop was very clean and well organized. My wife and I hired Jeremiah for a 1/2 day guided fishing trip while we were there. Before we left the shop he explained everything in great detail and told us that we would head out in his car early in the morning. One minor problem.....we were camping for a few weeks and had our Golden Retriever with us. Not to worry, he said "bring the dog along, it would be great to have him." What a relief!!!
He took us down to the Crooked river and we had a blast. Very knowledgeable, and a great instructor. He gave many great tips that improved our fly fishing for the future. I would highly recommend Jeremiah for a guide if you are in the area, as I plan to next time we are in Bend, OR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great half day trip,
May 12, 2014
By: nickandjoyce
from crooked river, or
"Super 1/2 day trip with Jeremiah. It was our first time fly fishing and we had a blast. Great guide, great location, great fishing. Would recommend without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great float trip on the Deschutes,
November 13, 2013
By: Metalhead
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great comfortable tents and great food
"Our group spent three days floating the Deschutes River with Cullen, Chris, and Phil( great camp cook). The three of them are very professional and had us fishing hard for three days. Spey casting with coaching from guide Chris ( The Silent Professor) was fantastic. Even though we did not land any steelhead, the three days was fantastic. The beauty of the canyon and river along with deer, goats, eagles, added to added to the total adventure of the float. All the meals provided on the trip far exceeded all of our expectations. Who would have expected steak on a float trip cooked to perfection not us. Great fly-fishing experience was had by all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redside Heaven,
June 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Portland, OR, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Perfect
"From Trout Creek to Maupin a group of ladies and I enjoyed incredible fishing, beautiful scenery and exciting whitewater on the lower Deschutes. The end of the famous Salmon Fly hatch brought an end to the crowds. And so with the river virtually to ourselves we laughed and fished and fished some more with our EXCEPTIONAL guides expertly putting us right where the fish were. We cast to plenty of big red-sides sipping small caddis in the foamy back eddies and under overhanging trees and sharpened our nymphing techniques while fooling unsuspecting trout with Jimmy Legs and caddis pupa all day long. How I love those Jimmy Legs!
A heartfelt thanks goes to our guides and camp chef, Michael Divita, Matt Carter and Cullen Whisenhunt for showing us such a wonderful time, pampering us with exceptional food and getting us into some incredible trout. These guys are the best!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ladies Fly Fishing Adventure,
June 30, 2013
By: FilbertNut
from Deschutes River, Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a fantastic time fly fishing on the Deschutes River in Central Oregon with three amazing ladies. Our guides, Michael and Matt had so much patience with me, as I'm a beginner. From teaching me technics to guiding me in the river. Yes, I caught fish! Cullen is quite the chef! Didn't want to quit eating as his meals are gourmet! He also set up our camp while we were fishing. Lots of laughter and shared stories. I would highly recommend this fly fishing trip if you are inexperienced or have been fishing for many years. Fond memories for years to come."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ladies' Flyfishing Adventure,
June 27, 2013
By: YetisYoda
from Beaverton, Oregon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very comfortable accommodations
"We spent 3 awesome days on the Deschutes river (June 21,22.&23) with Matt, Michael and Cullen-Matt and Michael put us in just the right spots so we all caught fish- taught us new casting techniques and literally held our hands! Cullen was the best chef ever and made our campsite the epitome of luxury-all we had to do was catch fish and enjoy the spectacular scenery! I think the trip was worth every penny- and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great fishing experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
November 8, 2012
By: MountaineerWVU
from Glen Dale, WV, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our group of guys and their sons had a great fly-fishing experience with Cullen and other guides. Thanks for Damien for helping us set this up and keeping us informed. We started our fishing with Cullen for steelhead on the Lower Deschutes River. In just a few minutes we felt like Cullen was one of our old fishing buddies. Battling and landing my first steelhead was an amazing thrill. I was so happy when Cullen sent me that photo. Next we fished for trout on the Crooked River and it was fun for everyone. We had a group of six and everyone caught their share of fish. From being helped to choose the right fly, to improving our technique and finding that productive spot in the river, we enjoyed it. The fishing and the scenery along the rivers will be remembered."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guides,
November 5, 2012
By: Callen
from Ipswich, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been on eight or ten trips with Damien and his guys over the past seven years, mostly on the lower Deschutes. Our group has had a wide range of experience levels, and we have had our logistical and weather related challenges over the years. However, we have had a blast and caught plenty of fish every time. The camp set up, food, and the guiding instruction is always top notch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time,
October 30, 2012
By: rmgw
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
October 25, 2012
By: RYSG
from Bend, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group of about 10 guys has been hitting the Lower Deschutes for the salmon fly hatch (3-day float trip) with Damien and his Deep Canyon crew for about 7 years. Our group's skills range from intermediate to expert- but all have a blast and catch a lot of fish. Deep Canyon runs an absolutely first-class operation from start to finish. They know every stretch of the river, all the gear is dialed in and ready to go- so your job is to enjoy the view and get fishing. They will put you into great spots, and you will catch fish. And then after a long day on the river, there's nothing better than rolling into camp with all the tents set up, awesome food coming off the grill, and cold drinks fueling the stories. Late night, guide Mike Divita might break out the guitar and ad lib songs about the day. Ridiculous fun. PS- we also hunt chukar and pheasant with them at the ranch each fall- which is also a top notch operation and a must do over-night guys trip. Overall it's a really easy call- these guys run the best guide service in the area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast and Blast Experience,
October 11, 2012
By: LTPDX
from Portland, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a great experience in a beautiful place. I live in Portland, OR and wanted to plan a special 50th birthday trip for a bunch of guys from LA that I went to high school with and this was the perfect place. We had a range of both fishing and hunting skill levels ranging from beginner to moderately experienced and Deep Canyon accommodated all of us perfectly. The entire set up is excellent. We did a three night-two day trip and fished the Crooked River with Cullen who was a knowledgeable and fun guide. Being outfitted with the great Orvis gear was a plus! We hunted pheasant and chukar the following morning on the Deep Canyopn property. What an experience hunting in the cover on the valley floor with the Cascade Range as a back drop and Roger as our guide. The lodge itself is first class, the food is fantastic and the camradrerie excellent. We came as guests and left as friends are we are absolutely coming back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Excellent 3 days on the Deschutes,
September 14, 2012
By: WallaWallaWineGuy
from Walla Walla, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I chose Deep Canyon Outfitters for a trip with my Dad after it was recommended to me by an acquaintance in Bend Oregon. They said it was the most professional and knowledgable service they had experienced for fly fishing the Deschutes river and I whole heartedly agree with that assessment.
Everything about the operation from booking, guide service, boat handling, fishing knowledge, river knowledge, ability to teach old fishermen new tricks, camp setup and hosting was first rate.
My Dad and I spent three days in late August fly fishing the Deschutes with our guide Mike Divita and camp host Nate Chenea. We had both spent many years fishing from the banks of the river but neither one of us had ever floated this section of river. Mike showed us how to really fish the riffles and eddies and the correct techniques to use. We both caught more fish and bigger fish than we ever had on our own. Mike is an expert boatman and was able to put is in spots you could only dream of getting to from the banks and we were able to land fish in almost all of them.
Nate was a fantastic camp host and cook, the appetizers and wine were ready as we stepped off the boat for the evening and the dinners and breakfast was top notch. The accommodations were comfortable and very nice.
Couple all that with the beautiful scenery of the canyon and perfect weather and the trip couldn’t have been any better.
Thanks Damien, Mike, and Nate for an outstanding fishing trip. Deep Canyon did a fantastic job.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful day on the river!,
August 27, 2012
By: Giancarlo
from Bend, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Mike works fast and efficiently
"My family chose Deep Canyon Outfitters for a day of fly fishing as a birthday present to me; my wife and daughter had never been close to a fly fishing rod before and needed the necessary instructions before getting started. Mike (our guide) chose the Crooked River for the occasion, and what a good choice that was! Mike’s skills as a teacher and communicator (and cheerleader) made him an immediate star with my family, and as soon as we got to our spot my two women were eager to begin practicing roll casts, tensions casts, and even a back cast at the end. Mike’s skills as teacher and educator are in the highest percentile, and what he accomplished in 30 minutes, I couldn’t have accomplished in 30 hours!.
I am a seasoned fly fisher, with good knowledge of our local waters, and I must say that I was so taken by Mike’s ability to engage my family on fishing, that I spent as much time watching them interact, as I did fishing. The catching was spectacular, and at the end of the day, my family was making arrangements with Mike for future expeditions (we had to pry them off the river).
Mike is a tough and seasoned guide, and you will be as comfortable with him going down the Deschutes’ rapids on a multiple day trip, as you are sipping wine and beer on your porch. His gentle side doesn’t betray the toughness and presence of mind that are required of an outdoor leader and guide.
Deep Canyon Outfitters was the BEST choice we could have made! Thank you to all of you.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crooked River, Bend OR,
July 17, 2012
By: MMSD
from San Diego, CA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"First time fresh water fly fishing - totally different than the salt. Had a great experience with Jeremiah. Expertly taught me how to fish nymphs. Hooked up to many trout and whitefish in several great spots on a beautiful canyon setting. Great day with a great guide!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Time,
June 29, 2012
By: CDM1
from SoCal
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our fly fishing experience was so much fun & exciting that we are ready to repeat the guided tour to again! Our guide Cullen was the best of the best. He prepared us, taught us, encouraged us marking the experience unforgettable.
Thank you Cullen
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes