Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR

2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Expedition of the Year.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Review 1 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome 3 day float!,
November 26, 2014
By: BestD
from Bozeman, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We did a 3 day, 2 night Deschutes River Steelhead trip with DCO in November. Awesome trip! Steelhead are notoriously tough to catch, but the DCO guys knew exactly where we would find fish. The food & level of service at camp was off the chart - these guys do an amazing job!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead Nov 2014,
November 19, 2014
By: SMS2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:As mentioned above - having the propane heated dining tent to retreat to was terrific.
"What can I say but I landed 12lb + Steelhead on the final day of the three day trip. This was the second Steelhead of the day. As a novice angler and relatively new to working with a spey rod, my guide, Cullen was patient but determined to get my casting up to the level of efficiency that it needed to be. On top of the expert instruction we were treated to a first class camp each evening. The biggest surprise was the propane heated dining tent to relax in and enjoy a first class meal. Big plus when dealing with the cold November evenings."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
November 15, 2014
By: corbinbrands
from bend, or
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the fortunate opportunity to fill the last seat on a 4 day steelhead trip with Deep Canyon Outfitters. From beginning to end everything was top notch: foods, service, scenery, you name it. We even talked some Steelhead in to eating on the swing, which was icing on the cake in my book."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12th year with DCO,
November 13, 2014
By: LilFella
from Roseburg,OR
"So many amazing fishing trips, so many memories. Been fishing with Damien for so long now, I think he was in diapers rowing through whitehorse (expertly I might add) the very first time with him. 12 years later, the line between client and friend once again becomes blurred, and it’s all about the fishing. The expert accommodations provided in such a remote environment are wonderful, allowing time to laugh, enjoy and expound upon the experience of the day, and past days.It doesn’t get any better than this."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giving Back,
November 12, 2014
By: fishylady
from Bend, OR
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hooked five, landed three steelhead on a very special trip with Cullen fishing on the Warm Springs Reservation from Trout Creek to Maupin on the Lower Deschutes. This was a trip that Deep Canyon Outfitter donated at the Deschutes River Conservancy (DRC) Tight Lines Auctions. Damien is a board member on the DRC and generously donates every year. In my book, he is the most generous and most community minded of all the guides in town. Working with the tribe, this very special trip allowed us to fish on the tribal side of the river. A very rare event. The fishing was great, the guide wonderful, the food exquisite. Not your average river food, the chef owns his own private catering firm. First class all the way. Can't recommend Deep Canyon highly enough."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful trip that everyone should experience,
November 11, 2014
By: IdahomeMPD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ken the camp cook was fabulous
"Damian and his staff create a wonderful overnight experience on the Deschutes river in central Oregon. They are highly knowledgeable and exceptional teachers and guides. Steelhead fishing is a challenging game and they give you every extra advantage possible. Camp accommodations were clean and comfortable and the food was exceptional! Can't wait to come back next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just a first class operation,
November 9, 2014
By: Travelguy
from Roseburg, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great equipment and bagger
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spey heaven,
November 3, 2014
By: Swedenspey
from Stockholm, Sweden
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the third time, I came from Sweden to fish with Deep Canyon. I have always been very satisfied with the service, the food and the professional guiding. This time I caught three steelhead in three days and every time I fish with Deep Canyon I always learn something new about fishing for steelhead. I always have a lot of fun! Damien is the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead fishing trip,
October 24, 2014
By: brenna
from Deschutes River
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I had a great experience fly fishing with Deep Canyon. The 3 day trip was a blast and the highlight was catching big steelhead on our last day! Michael and Cullen were great guides and made the whole experience fun. We are looking forward to being repeat customers! Thanks again - we are hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides!,
October 23, 2014
By: globalboater
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a customer I rarely take time to review fishing operations in a public forum but DCO has provided such an incredible experience that I owe them some positive feedback.
The Deschutes River was beautiful as advertised, the fish were plentiful as advertised, the food was delicious as advertised, the camp was superbly comfortable as advertised and the trip was awesome as advertised.
The guides on my trip were by far the most impressive duo I've ever fished with. Michael and Austin are two of the most humble, humorous, knowledgable, and hard working guides I've ever hired. They know where to fish, how to fish and what each client needs to make a trip complete. My friend who accompanied me on the trip was from Brazil and he had no english language skills to speak of. Michael and Austin made him feel at home and were ready for his every need even before he started to look for a translator. They provide an incredible experience through a dedication to customer service and knowledge of their fishery.
Just Awesome in every respect!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Steelhead,
October 23, 2014
By: fishylady
from Bend, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Super comfortable
"Awesome steelhead trip from Trout Creek to Maupin through the stunning Deschutes canyon where we were the only boat on the river. Catching beautiful steelhead multiple times a day never got tiresome. Damien's expert advice and knowledge of the river meant that we were fishing high potential water all the time. This was probably my seventh or eighth trip with Deep Canyon. As always, the food was killer and the company unsurpassed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a good time for all!,
October 15, 2014
By: tdixon
from Mill Valley, CA, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Unbelievable food and comfortable camp!
"I have been lucky enough to fish with Damien three times over the years on overnight steelhead camping trips. Each trip has been expertly designed for the size and skill of my group. The guides not only provided thoughtful, patient, expert instruction . . . they are great company around camp. I would like to thank Damien, Michael, Cullen, Jeremiah, Ken and Austin for all of their hard work! You guys are the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing experience,
October 13, 2014
By: MarkMcG
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very comfortable and awesome meals
"Damien and the crew from Deep Canyon provide an amazing fishing experience in spectacular country.
The guidance and patience of the guides and their experience in getting you onto fish is first class. The camping set up and food was fantastic. Thanks Ken. Great time with friends and highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants the privilege of catching the mighty steelhead on the Deshcutes River. Particular thanks to Cullen who was my guide for the whole trip. Great guide and person. Lots of laughs and fun.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Steelhead,
October 13, 2014
By: getmcleod
from Deschutes River, United States
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Damien Nurre and his crew of guides, cooks, etc. run a first class operation. I fished with both Mike and Jeremiah who were expert guides and great people to hang with for a few days. The Deschutes is a tricky river. Big water and requirement for wade fishing only so it requires guides to know the river much more than normal. I did catch my first Steelhead (a 26"er) which was a memorable experience to say the least. Expertly prepared hot meals (like eating at a good restaurant) prepared on the river made the whole experience pleasant. The camp sites were epic and they even bring cots so sleep is like being on a bed. I strongly recommend this team and this trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Trip,
October 12, 2014
By: Paul31
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a chance to fish with Deep Canyon Outfitters a few weeks. The accomandations were nice. Quality tents and cots were used. The food was amazing. Most importantly to me, the fishing was great. I’m a trout bum and I landed a 20” redside, which is a fish of a lifetime for me. Also, the guides at Deep Canyon Outfitters are great teachers. I learned a lot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newbie,
October 12, 2014
By: Fishing4Fun
from San Francisco
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The cook was especially good on finding a great campsite and the food was always prepared well and served ion time.
"This was our first time fly fishing for the four of us and the entire experience was enjoyable, restful, and productive. We each caught a few nice trout on a dry fly each day as well as Nymphing. Good thing we had 2 guides, otherwise we would have passed up a lot of good fishing holding spots. We all caught a few fish each morning and evening, mostly 1 to 1.5 lbs.
The cook was terrific and he always found GREAT camp sites. Food was abundant and well prepared. Everyone was first class and great teachers. My 85 year old dad is healthy and got treated like a King. The guides always helped my Dad get in/out of the boat and were always watching for his safety on the River!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible time and great guides,
October 9, 2014
By: jldailey5
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I contacted Deep Canyon seeking someone willing to take 4 people who wanted to learn to fly fish. We booked a 3 day trip and I must say it was one of the most enjoyable fishing experiences I've had. Our guides were patient, very helpful, the food wonderful, and the scenery was spectacular."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding as usual!,
October 6, 2014
By: ASIRANDY
from Bend, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:This is one of my favorite things of fishing with Deep Canyon. Camp is super nice with great food and wine!
"I have fished with Deep Canyon and Damien for many years and have always had an exceptional time. Recently we floated Mac to the mouth with Damien for the first time. The float was amazingly beautiful! Damien's hospitality and expert instruction was, as usual, very helpful as he assisted me and my friend who had never spey cast before to hook and land steelhead on our trip. Always fun. Looking forward to my next trip with Deep Canyon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Outting,
October 6, 2014
By: SoCalFlyFish
from Newport Beach, CA
"Our Fish/float with Cullen and Austin was truly incredible. Our trip started off during the height of the summer fires. The guys at Deep Canyon came up with a game plan to ensure our safety as well as show us a great time fishing. This trip has now made it into the yearly rotation, thanks to all the hard work they provided during our camp! Thanks again guys! See you next year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Deep Canyon Outfitters, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rd time is a charm-always come back,
October 2, 2014
By: LTPDX
from Portland, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides are very knowledgable but also patient with inexperienced guests. Camp quality is over the top.
"I get together once a year with some old friends from high school and for the past three years we have been meeting in Central Oregon with Deep Canyon Outfitters. This year we did a three day/two night trip down the Deschutes River fly fishing for trout and steelhead and it was an unbelievable experience. The river is beautiful and Deep Canyon's guest experience is first class, from expert guiding on the river to the camping and dining on the river's edge. And with our patient guides, a few of us caught our first steelhead on the fly which was an added bonus! We will definitely do this again with Deep Canyon and I recommend this trip to anyone, novice or expert alike. Friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable guide service. The top line Orvis gear made available to the guests is a real plus to enhance the fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes