Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brush Creek Ranch, WY

Honored as Wyoming's only dual endorsed Orvis fly fishing and wingshooting lodge, The Lodge & Spa at Brush Creek Ranch, a luxury Preferred Boutique© destination, offers top-of-the-line equipment and guide services for novices and experts alike to create a truly once-in-a-lifetime fully outfitted fly fishing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Review 1 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond Awesome,
September 15, 2014
By: DebB57
from Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What an amazing place...first class service and a time to reflect, re-energize and enjoy all that is beautiful in this country! Shout out to our awesome fly fishing guide, Jon Rachal...what an experience!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic experience,
September 11, 2014
By: AvATL
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Knowledgeable, courteous, patient, and entertaining
"The BrushCreek ranch is one of the most beautiful, and serene places that I've ever been. And the Fly fishing trip was beyond amazing. The guides put us on fish within minutes, and the Brookies and Browns were substantial in size and quantity. being more a spinner reel fisherman, I initially was having issues "landing" (or netting as it were) fish. One slight adjustment from the guide, and my set was corrected, and rest was history. I'm not sure "destroyed" is the correct term...but we destroyed them.
The staff at Brushcreek are the most knowledgeable and friendly I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with, the lodging and surroundings are awe inspiring, and the fishing is out of this world. Truly an experience that will last a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked,
September 10, 2014
By: jryan6447
from Indiana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"One of the best fly fishing experiences I have ever had. Outfitters were great and provided gear was top notch. The guides were excellent both in leading wading trip and float trip. My wife is a novice at fly fishing and me more advanced. The guides were able to speak in both languages and make both of our experiences very enjoyable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
September 9, 2014
By: Dwoodward
from Brush creek ranch, wy
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fishing instruction was wonderful! Patient and very easy to understand! What fun!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fish BC,
September 9, 2014
By: Aw8750
from Brush creek ranch, Saratoga, Wyoming
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"John and Michael were awesome! So informative and patient!! John would not give up until I caught a trout! Thanks, guys!,
Annie and Katie"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly fishing at Brush Creek,
September 9, 2014
By: LauraBwy
from Saratoga, WY
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:knowledgeable and very helpful I feel like I learned a lot and improved my casting
"I fished on Brush Creek with a great guide catching several fish on dries. He was a great guide, and Brush Creek has access to some of the best water in the Upper North Platte Valley. I highly recommend it. The guides are great and experienced and just waiting to show a guest a great time. They are fully equipped to outfit a guest and present them with great opportunities to catch fish. And it is gorgeous!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Beat It,
September 6, 2014
By: austintexasflyfishing
from Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brush Creek is top notch. The fishing is the best, accommodations are incredible and the people are outstanding on every level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantasy Island,
September 4, 2014
By: wingshooter66
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:my apologies as I don't remember fishing guides name
"I was at the Ranch in August for 4 days and 3 nights.
From the moment I lost cell service from my carrier I was in heaven.
My goal was to enjoy the serenity and learn to fly fish. Mission accomplished. On the day of my arrival I had an afternoon appointment to fly fish. There was rain moving in and the guide said it was up to me. We went.
Upon pulling up to the pond we saw the quarter hind end of a bear which to me was an excellent experience.
The guide did a wonderful job of explaining the concept and technique as I had never fly fished prior. I do fish and hunt quite a bit and this is just another hobby I want to pick up and master.
I had the opportunity to be involved in two of their wingshooting programs. I ahve done these guided hunts numerous times before, but....Russ, Pat and the crew did an oustanding job of making you feel like you had been hunting buddies for years.
At no point and time did anyone on their payroll from restraunt staff to guides and instructors make you feel like you didn't belong.
Coming from the hospitality industry I am used to "tricks of the trade" and I am very observant of how staff members not being watched are behaving.
Nothing but the utmost preffesionalism from everyone here.
I am looking forward to my trip I am planning for next year.
I have already told the wife I am choosing this over Key West this year for our anniversary....we'll see..
Again Brush Creek staff, thanks for such an outstanding and professional relaxed envirement and stay.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifetime Memories,
September 3, 2014
By: wfarrell2
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I had the honor of taking two 8 hour float trips with Matt and Adam on the Platte. I had high expectations for the trip as I had just inherited a 4th generation fly rod when my Grandfather passed away a few weeks earlier. Matt took my expectations and squashed them delivering an experience I would have not been able to do on my own! Matt rigged up my heirloom and sought ought some of his favorite honey holes. He hooked me up with a beautiful rainbow for my epic catch. After that we put away the heirloom and continued on. That whole day he put us on some hog browns and rainbows and we were pulling them in continuously. I fish a lot and this was by far my best day on the water. The scenery was unreal, the fish were gorgeous, and the guides brought it all together. I will never forget this float and it will be a story told to my children and hopefully to my children's children. Thank you Matt!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
September 2, 2014
By: JB0221
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent guides who are patient in the teaching process. Excellent tips and tricks and really made the experience wonderful for me. It has inspired a desire to continue fly fishing beyond this trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing trip ever!,
September 1, 2014
By: jaylnichols
from Louisville, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the fortunate pleasure of spending two days fishing at Brush Creek Ranch in late August 2014! The first day was spent wading the North Platte in world class private water! Our guide Mike was extremely knowledgeable and provided us with top notch gear and flies! He was able to put us right on the fish and provided great instruction on my extremely rusty technique. Day 2 was spent floating the North Platte in drift boat with Matt Anderson and Adam. I can not say enough good things about them and the entire team at Brush Creek. Again, Matt put us right on the fish and could practically predict when we would get the bite. This was absolutely the hightlight of my trip as I had never floated in a drift boat before. Matt was extremely knowledgeable and again we had top notch gear and flies. Matt and team were extremely attentive to our group needs! The private waters and scenery are some of the best I have ever seen! Everything about Brush Creek is first class, from lodging, food, staff, service, amenities I could go on an on. If you haven't been to Brush Creek Ranch, you are truly missing out!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Transformational experience,
September 1, 2014
By: GreeneDOG
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patient and talented guides for a novice or experienced fisherman. They make the trip an experience to remember in one of the most beautiful places on earth. And you CATCH fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Experience,
August 31, 2014
By: adam1234
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The guides, scenery, and fishing was first class. It was literally perfect!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first time experience,
August 31, 2014
By: JJBarry
from Austin, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have always wanted to learn to use a fly rod, but have been too intimidated, but at the Brush Creek Ranch, I would not pass up on learning. The guides were patient, fun and set us up to catch fish. As my guide Rodney (for both ventures out) said, trout love beautiful locations to and he helped us find them."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome experience!,
August 31, 2014
By: Akucko
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Definitely lives to fish and loves spreading the "good word".
"Went fly fishing for the first time at Brush Creek Ranch in Saratoga, WY. The guides there are all the best! I didn't get it at first, so my guide showed me and explained it to me in several ways until I finally got the hang of the cast."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fishing,
August 31, 2014
By: Steiskal
from Louisville, KY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great experience for a few first timers. Our guide, Jason, explained the process and simplified the how to for our group. It did not take us long to get the hang of it and we moved up and down the river with ease. Awesome experience in Wyoming and on the ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Ever!,
August 31, 2014
By: Bhaas
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just wrapped up a few days of fantastic fishing with some of the best guides I have ever been around. Matt, Adam and John all really embody what true guides should be. From start till finish they made the experience a lot of fun. Caught some of the largest rainbows and browns I have ever caught and did it in some of the most beautiful terrain I have ever encountered. Can't thank the folks at the Brush Creek Ranch enough. Best fly fishing ever!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August float trip,
August 31, 2014
By: Hayesmonster
from Brush Creek
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very helpful and knowledgable guides
"Four of us did an 8 hour float trip with Matt and Adam. The day started with a 2 hour down pour but the bite was so good we didn't mind. The food, fishing, scenery, equipment, friends and the guides could not have been more perfect. We were "on fish" all day, we caught over 80 fish and any additional fish that didn't make it to the boat were our own fault. I recommend this trip and the guides to anyone who wants an unforgettable experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One short of the trifecta,
August 23, 2014
By: mblaze
from Greeley CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I appreciated the guidance and insight on creek fishing
"I had the great fortune of spending an afternoon with my guide, Jake on Brush Creek. The weather was great and the fishing even better. Thanks to Jake's knowledge, fly selection and direction I had a great time catching brown trout, a rainbow and just missed landing a brook trout. Even though I fell short of the trifecta I had and awesome afternoon on the creek. Thanks Jake!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Fishing Experience,
August 13, 2014
By: Davidgreene
from Atlanta, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fly fishing all of the West and this is now my favorite spot. The guides are so passionate and helpful. I brought a client of mine who has never fished before and he is still bugging me to take him back next year. The fishing was excellent and the river had a unique ecosystem. The facilities are up there with a Four Seasons resort. The ranch facilities are top notch. This is a perfect place for a group of expert fisherman or even beginners. If you want to take a break from fishing, check out the actitivies barn for so many amazing things to do. I can't think of a better place to fly fish and I'm looking to return next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes