Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brush Creek Ranch, WY

Honored as Wyoming's only dual endorsed Orvis fly fishing and wingshooting lodge, The Lodge & Spa at Brush Creek Ranch, a luxury Preferred Legend© destination, offers top-of-the-line equipment and guide services for novices and experts alike to create a truly once-in-a-lifetime fully outfitted fly fishing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
67 of 68(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Review 1 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
July 4, 2015
By: eebrushcreek
from Brush Creek Road, Saratoga, WY 82331, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:the guides made it a great experience for us
"my wife and I had never been flyfishing before and Clayton and Mike made this a great experience. From the patience they demonstrated in showing us the basics and then taking us to numerous places to fish with their intention of having my wife land her first fish which ended up being a pretty large rainbow trout. Great instruction, great conversation and a wonderful experience which will have us returning in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience, 4 years in a row,
June 29, 2015
By: recarrigan
from Glenview, IL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 4th trip to BCR, and we still love the place. Each year I have looked forward to the fishing, and my technique continues to improve each time. All of the guides really are talented at the people skills (training), managing all the gear, then reading the river to come up with the right spot, technique and equipment to land the fish. In particular, I enjoyed working with Adam each of the last three years, and I feel like he made me a much more consistent and professional caster with his knowledge of the sport. Well done, guys. Keep it up."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best,
June 26, 2015
By: DaveDsonoma
from Santa Rosa, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The four of us never fly fished in our lives. Clayton & Hayden did a fantastic and patient job teaching and guiding us. Before we knew it, we were mastering fly casting and catching fish. Everyone caught them and our 14 yr old daughter and 11 yr old son both held their fish for pictures.
Clayton & Hayden are incredibly skilled, great with people and really went above and beyond to make the entire experience fantastic. Even the ride back was an extra adventure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why we will always come back...,
June 24, 2015
By: XTRA1360FSSD
from San Diego, CA
"My family and I visited BCR for this first time this June. Fly fishing was a must and we couldn't have asked for better guides than Michael and Clayton. As first timers, we had no idea how-to and 25-minutes in, my son was on the fish. They could not have been more patient, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The lessons we were taught about the art of fly fishing, the fish we were going after, the Ranch's conservation expectations made for one of the most awesome afternoons we have ever experienced as a family outdoors. Michael, Clayton DO NOT change how you do it. You are doing it 110% correctly!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional,
June 23, 2015
By: jwilborn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome
"As a guest at the Brush Creek ranch for a recent wedding weekend, I had the good fortune of going out on three guided fly fishing excursions over the course of the weekend. My guides: Jon, Hayden, and Michael were personable, knowledgeable, skilled and brimming with enthusiasm. As a novice fisherman, I was able to catch four or five brown trout and hook into several more. It was a thrilling experience and has left me wanting more. The gear and professional of the guides and other staff was impeccable. I simply can't say enough about the people at Brush Creek, their attention to detail and desire to provide their clients with a memorable experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BCR with 5 girls 6-11, plus grandpa,
June 23, 2015
By: tva49
from Chesterton, IN, USA
"I took my granddaughters and their friends to BCR for 5 day trip 6/13-18.
Their daily actitivites included instructional riding for the youngest Lil Wrangkers and advanced riding and trail rides for the older girls. We also explored the ranch in search of bones and antler sheds with great success as well as used a metal detector to find treasures around unrestored homesteads. Our daily finds gave rise to some intrepretive archeoligy discussions about life on the ranch before Bruce and Beth White made it into the 5 star destination it is today. The girls learned how to fly fish using a tenkara rod and the smiles that go with the knowledge that " I did this myself" literally jump off the photos of them holding their prized trout. Matt Anderson and his staff have really made tremendous progress improving and already best in class program. The Little Wrangler program is awesome. My girls had the time of their lives and grandpa enjoyed a couple of nice glasses of Scoth while they had smores around the fire in the evening. We will be back next year.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Guides -Locations,
June 20, 2015
By: Hahn1869
from Pearland, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Matt Anderson and his staff are outstanding (Mike, Dan, Coach, Adam) year in and year out. We will be there in two weeks for another eight day stay. One major reason we continue to visit BCR is because of the job Matt continues to deliver. He'll make sure your on the right water wether its creek, stream, hollow or river. They pride themselves on giving you the best opportunity everyday to catch lots of trout (brown, rainbow, brookies). The big game hunting and wing shooting is outstanding as well... 30,000 acres, what's not to love!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing at Brush Creek Ranch,
June 20, 2015
By: GeorgeMG
from Cirencester, Gloucestershire GL7, UK
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Last week I did a lightning inspection trip to review Brush Creek Ranch. The only spare time I had was one hour before breakfast. I set off with Hayden at 0700Hrs to the creek which was running high and fast following a period of heavy rain and snow melt. We battled through flooded meadow and woodland which required some tight casting. Hayden was excellent throughout and he has a natural gift for 'reading' the river.....the result was a very healthy looking brown trout caught on the last cast! I wholeheartedly recommend Hayden as a top fishing guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing experience,
June 16, 2015
By: KathrynFR
from Garden City, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this place is a gold mine! We had an amazing experience from start to finish. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in all that they do! I had never gone fly fishing before and after one morning I can see how people can do this all day long. It was peaceful and fun and challenging. Our guide was very enthusiastic and eager to help me catch a fish! I wish I had packed a lunch and stayed out all day! We will definitely come back to Brush Creek Ranch!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Guides,
June 15, 2015
By: YPOMetroNY5272015
from New York, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bush Creek guides are very knowledgeable, personable and accommodating. We had a large group at the ranch for several days and whether a novice or expert the program is well worth it...thank you! Great time!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Experience,
June 14, 2015
By: Chuck1900
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:MIke was a very patient and competant instructor and guide. Especially for my wife who was reluctant to fly fish. She now loves it.
"Our recent family vacation at Brush Creek Ranch was really the best family vacation we've experienced. The location is incredible, the staff, from the fishing guides to the Little Wranglers Guides were all amazing. We left knowing we will return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Trip of a Lifetime,
June 12, 2015
By: KeithAL
from Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family spent a week at BCR and had an incredible time. Floating the North Platte was the most unforgettable part of the vacation for me. My son and I are used to fishing small rivers and streams in the smokey mountains and had never before been on a float trip. We both agreed that the float trip on the Platte with Adam was the best fishing adventure we have ever experienced.
I cannot possibly describe how majestic the setting was and even if we hadn't caught fish it would have been amazing. We did catch fish, though!! Lots, and lots, and lots of beautiful browns and rainbows. By the afternoon we lost count!!
The entire family also spent a morning fly fishing on the property working the waters of Brush Creek. The water was swift from rapid snow melt but Adam, Dan, and Mike were all there with us to make sure the fishing was successful. All the guides are incredibly knowledgeable and patient and helped my wife and daughter with casting and they had a blast! Please make sure you spent plenty of time on the water, either on or off property, during your trip to BCR. I promise you will LOVE IT!
Thanks again, Adam!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fly fishing Lesson for a Novice,
June 11, 2015
By: WC2015
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an awesome time with Michael as a guide. Was a first timer and he couldn't have been more patient with me in teaching me the proper way to fly fish. Amazing Ranch as well - everything from food, staff, accommodations was top notch! Thank you!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing guides,
June 8, 2015
By: Dan94117
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Fishing Guides at Brush Creek Ranch where awesome, they had great tips casting and we caught bass every 15 mins! No to mention the 5 star accommodations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides for Fly Fishing,
June 8, 2015
By: Harrells
from The Lodge & Spa at Brush Creek Ranch
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Jann was a first timer and I have several fly fishing trips in my past. Our guides, Clayton and Jon, were exceptional at teaching Jann how to fly fish and me new technique for improving my casting. Plus we caught some beautiful fish. Jann is "hooked"... We will be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Experience!!,
June 6, 2015
By: NYFlyFishin
from New York, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had never picked up a fishing rod before my trip to Brush Creek Ranch and was a little nervous about what to expect. The team at Brush Creek and specifically Clayton took me under their wings and made the experience amazing! I caught several fish and the team was so supportive and excited for me. They really took the time to teach me the ropes and make sure that I had a blast while fishing! Outgoing, helpful, supportive, friendly and truly the best are just a few words to describe the Brush Creek staffers. Cant recommend this experience enough!
I hope to be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
June 5, 2015
By: MagsandDamian
from New York, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Once in a lifetime experience - had an amazing time learning fly fishing with Hayden. He was incredibly knowledgeable and able to adjust his teaching style to any level. His passion for sport was completely contagious - my fiance and I can't wait to return to Brush Creek again and request Hayden for another lesson. Big thanks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Adventure,
June 5, 2015
By: jeanpamela
from Florida
"First time fly fishing and was a bucket list item. It was just amazing and fun. Our guide at Brush Creek Ranch was John and he helped in every way possible. I caught a few which made it even better. I would love to fly fish again. Thank you Brush Creek for my Amazing Adventure!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 19 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perspective,
June 5, 2015
By: JordanZ
from Roslyn, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I returned from Brush Creek about a week ago and am still telling everyone I know that they need to visit at least once in their lifetime. The accommodations were first class and the food was amazing! The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. From what I was told, it is very difficult to get a job working at the ranch, so they have the cream of the crop, which is a major factor in what makes Brush Creek a step above the rest. The number of activites offered is seemingly endless; from fly fishing to gun club, each activity is a once-in-a-lifetime experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Brush Creek Ranch, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The People Make the Experience,
June 4, 2015
By: ScottyMarks1120
from Hampton, NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our trip consisted of a father son weekend with 5 guys at the Brush Creek Ranch and a full day float trip on the North Platte in late May. From the moment you step out of the car you are treated like royalty. Our fly-fishing skill ranged from very proficient to neophyte. Our guides, Matt/Adam/Trey and the photog Nick handled the age ranges and ability levels with extreme professionalism and the right amount of challenge depending on skill of each angler. The riverside meal was top-notch.
Now onto the actual fishing, the river was a bit high and stained which dictated the game plan of hammering the banks with streamers. We all caught a few very healthy fish but some of the guys exhausted from the work which prompted a strategy change in some boats, nymphing. After lunch the fishing really picked up and we were even blessed with a light caddis hatch. Matt, my guide, noticed fishing rising and didn't wait but three head pokes to make the call for a dry fly setup. Needless to say the next hour was game-on with the surface fishing. As quickly as it started though it stopped and we went back to throwing big bugs. I mention this because Matt's quick decision making added an awesome element to the trip and who doesn't like catching big browns on dry flies. The day wrapped with well over 40 fish landed with a few in the 20"+ range and untold numbers of the ones that were missed. All in all I've been on a few guided trips in my day and the team of guides at Brush Creek Ranch excelled at every opportunity. We are heading back in September for a half day blast and cast. If the bird hunting is anything like the fishing we are in for an epic adventure.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes