Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Winterhawk Outfitters, CO

Winterhawk is one of Colorado's premier wilderness outfitters, providing horseback adventures in the spectacular Flat Tops Wilderness Area. The Flat Tops is an angler's paradise. Whether catching cutthroat and brook trout by the dozen in one of the crystal-clear streams, or landing bruisers in a blue alpine lake, there are opportunities for everyone. From base camp to remote backcountry camps, Winterhawk finds the perfect balance of comfort and rustic wilderness charm. Carpeted wall tents with wood-burning stoves accommodate guests, and the home-cooked meals are always satisfying to begin or end a day of fishing, riding, or simply soaking in the unmatched Flat Tops scenery.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Review 1 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adventure in the Flat Tops,
September 5, 2013
By: WildcatPaul
from Leawood, KS
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family (myself, my wife, and our two teenage children) took a guided fly fishing and horseback riding trip into the Flat Tops with Winterhawk the first full week of August 2013. Winterhawk is a professional operation with good horses and mules, and great people. The owners, Larry and Laura Amos, were very helpful in assisting me with planning the trip. We spent 2 nights at the base camp and 3 nights at the remote Island Lake camp. Guide Bob Terwilliger, wrangler Heather Miller, and cook Ivars Panevics took us up to the remote camp. They were all very accommodating, and, by the end of the trip, seemed more like friends than Winterhawk employees. Bob is a good trail boss and does a great job doing double duty as a fishing guide. He had my son fly casting like a champ in no time and catching fish. Heather does a great job with the stock. She is also good at building impromptu tarp shelters in the woods, complete with camp fire and hot coffee. Ivars cooked some great meals and even loaned me his Stetson to wear for the trip. He was also very flexible in how he prepared food and what time we ate. The country is beautiful, and the water we fished (Middle Derby Creek and several lakes) is full of trout. Unfortunately, we were in some type of strange monsoonal weather pattern (unique for Colorado) and spent time alternating between fishing and hanging out under Heather’s well-made shelters. However, despite the crazy weather, we caught lots of fish and had a memorable family trip. Hopefully, we will make it back again there sometime in the future. Until then, we have lots of Bob’s pictures to help us remember the trip. Thanks all!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucky Me!,
August 22, 2013
By: Factor
from Denver, CO, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:There was more than what was needed at our drop camp.
"Wow! What a great experience I just had with Winterhawk Outfitters in the beautiful Flat Tops Wilderness area in my beloved state of Colorado. From the onset of meeting Jentry, our guide, to the ride back to our car, the Winterhawk team was a delight. We did the drop camp near Island Lake and the ride up was spectacular both in scenery and just fun being on a sure footed horse. After getting some tips on patterns to use from Jentry, my buddy and I headed out on the short walk to Island Lake. I'm just sayin', my first four cast were followed by the proverbial phrase, "fish on!" Needless to say the Cuttthroats and Brookies were both plentiful and beautiful. The camp was equipped with all the amenities needed so with great fishing and easy camping set in a story book backdrop, I can easily say that this was a trip of a life time for me. We stopped at a nice bend on Derby creek during the ride back to base camp and 3 lovely brookies came to hand. Saturday night dinner at base camp included a perfectly cooked ribeye steak I can still taste as I write this! everyone including the staff is raving about their new cook/chef, high praise indeed. Great job Larry and a BIG thank you to you and your team at Winterhawk for providing me with and I'll repeat myself, a once in a life time trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You won't be disappointed.,
August 15, 2013
By: ibhuntin
from Cheyenne, WY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Top notch camp for being at the base of the wilderness.
"What a truly unique fishing adventure. I just returned from a weekend at Winterhawk with my 6 year old daughter. There are very few places where you can combine wilderness horseback riding, world-class stream and small river trout fishing, and even lake fishing in the wilderness with one-man boats. And the fishing is so amazing it should almost be illegal.
Imagine a place with opportunities for big brook trout, cutthroats, hybrids, with sure footed horses, a family friendly atmosphere, and some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. We'll definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good times,
July 31, 2013
By: CoNewbie
from Lakewood, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just returned from a three day fly fishing trip/school with my father-in-law via Winterhawk Outfitters. The trip was a gift from our respective wives for each of us having a mile-stone birthday this year.
This was my first time taking a trip such as this and my expectations were very much exceeded.
Staff was very friendly, polite and generally fun to be around. As others have stated food was plentiful and delicious. Most likely you do not eat as well at home! Our guide Bob did a great job and gave us the appropriate amount of time with instruction on gear, casting technique etc and then we were off. Riding a horse to get fishing locations and our camp at Island Lake is something that adds so much to the experience. Just sit back and soak in the beautiful Colorado outdoors as you move from place to place. Did I mention we caught a bunch of fish!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing school @ Winterhawk,
July 31, 2013
By: RJLoomis
from Colorado
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Clean, neat
"My son-in-lay and I did not know what to expect, since these were surprise 50th & 70th year birthday gifts! I had never been fly fishing so the schooling was good. I appreciated Bob's sense of humor and the fact he was very patient with an "old devil" like me who had a more difficult time picking up the knack; never lost his cool.
Food was EXCELLENT! If you went away hungry, it was your own fault.
Bob knew what he was talking about, where we were going and what to expect.
We went through some very nice country.
If you are looking for a trip away into the wilderness that is blissfuly quiet and you can see the night sky well I highly recommend Winterhawk Outfitters as the place to go.
We also spent a fun rainy evening with Bob and the crew playing "Old Maid" that produced a lot of laughs!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
small stream fishing,
July 6, 2013
By: KansasComet10
from Leawood, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As I have done more and more fly fishing it has become obvious to me that I enjoy small steam fishing the best. My recent experience with Winterhawk Outfitters made this realization even more clear to me! The pure beauty of the Flat Top Wilderness, the solitude,the quiet,the crystal clear water, the healthy aggressive fish,I could go on for ever; was everything and more than I expected. Then there is the staff of Winterhawk Outfitters; They made me feel right at home, as if they had known me for years. As per my usual I did not have everything I needed, no problem, they made sure I had what I needed. Part of the experience was the necessity to ride horse back or should I say mule back to the Middle Derby Creek. I can't remember when I rode last,however I felt very safe and secure on "Rosie".The ride was in and of itself a real kick! The food was hot, taste and plentiful,served home style. My guide Bob, was very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and above all patient with me!! He never seemed to be in a hurry or bothered by my endless questions. My experience was VERY positive and I can't wait to go back in August."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Winterhawk Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent fishing trip with Winterhawk,
August 29, 2012
By: Tucsonflyfisherman
from Tucson, Az
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:great accommodations
"My son and I just returned from a five day fishing trip with Winterhawk Outfitters. Over those five days, we caught over 500 fish and had one of the best trips ever.
We plan a big trip each summer, using the Orvis recommentations. They have always been excellent, but this year was even more outstanding.
We would ride out each day to waters chosen by our guide. This included high mountain lakes, and small streams. We would ride through some of the most beautiful country that you can imagine. Our guide's easy manner made us feel very comfortable, while he instructed us on the correct flies and techniques to use. His knowledge of the Flattop Wilderness is extensive, having guided there for many years. We hope to be able to fish with him again.
Our wranglers made sure that our horses were ready in the morning and they took care of them when we returned with stories of the many fish caught that day.
Our cook had meals ready for us no matter what time we left or returned to base camp. The food was plentiful and delicious.
The combination of great fishing, horse back riding, great accommodations(given the remotness of the base camp) and the wonderful service provided by the staff of Winterhawk made this years trip something that I will never forget.
I would recommend this outfitter for anyone that wants to wear out their arms catching lots of fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes