Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Solitude River Trips, ID

Solitude has been operating on Idaho's Middle Fork of the Salmon River for over 30 years. For anglers, we use McKenzie-style drift boats and specially designed fishing rafts. Our guides range in age from 25 to 65. Average age is approximately 40 years old. All of our guides have, on average, 20 years of experience as fishing guides. Our guides are clean-cut, friendly, great cooks and companions, and truly enjoy sharing the river with people. Solitude was chosen as the 2006 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Expedition of the year and a finalist in 2011.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solitude River Trips, ID
Review 1 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salmon River Flyfishing,
November 6, 2014
By: kgk007
from Twin Falls, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In August I, my wife and 6 friends and family spent one of the most memorable and fun weeks we have ever had. Solitude brings great guides, beautiful drift boats (for the amazing fishing) and unbelievable food, and does it with a truly western casual friendly style that made us all friends by the end of the first day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Do Trip,
September 24, 2014
By: Waynr83
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""this was my third trip with Solitude and I must say, it was the best. The new owner, Willi and his guides are the best!! The water was gin clear, weather great, food just outstanding and the fishing was over the top!! This trip is a must for people that enjoy the outdoors!!""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
September 21, 2014
By: Paul12345
from Sylva, NC
"From pre-trip contact and careful advice on preparation, to getting on the river to the last day picnic simply EVERYTHING is done with care and the will to be the best. The river is its own reward, beautiful, wild at times, flowing through a majestic landscape. The fishing is great, with expert guide help if you need or want it. The food is terrific. The camping experience is very comfortable, especially for a wilderness river trip. Simply nothing is left to chance except your ability to hook and land a cut throat. And evn then, help's available if you desire. This was my third trip and I'll be back next year. The best trout fishing I've ever experienced."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
September 21, 2014
By: obiejack
from Chelsea AL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my fourth trip down the Middle Fork with Solitude and it just gets better. The fishing was fantastic. Solitude is by far the most customer focused group I have ever traveled with. From the great guides,top of the line equipment to the over the top food served on this trip. I will go again next year as well and everyone should go with Solitude in my opinion."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Adventure!,
August 11, 2014
By: Mack2251
from Portsmouth, NH, USA
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Outstanding in every way! Rafting the Middle Fork of the Salmon with Solitude is an experience that should not be missed Truly spectacular! Solitude's guides set the "gold standard" in my eyes. Experts on the river, engaging, hard working and great trout anglers. My compliments to (new owners) Willi and Cat for flawless execution given the very challenging logistics."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am missing it already!,
August 6, 2013
By: fishinghole
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:They took care of each camp and left it as they found it.
"Give me a notebook and I will fill it with the most wonderful impressions: Fish caught and (big) fish lost, flexibility to enjoy the river MY way, excellent organization, most personable, enthusiastic, and experienced guides, fresh and delicious food served with care and pride, beautiful weather, inspiring landscape, most congenial co-travelers --and a time to be completely carefree and to immerse myself in something I love, fishing! Thank you, thank you, thank you for a wonderful trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solitude trrip,
October 7, 2012
By: 2pwcorgis
from East Killingly, CT 06241, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Awesome trip. The crew is wonderful, the scenery is spectacular, fising is great. It's amazing how the whole production works with getting gear and fantastic food altogeter for a trip like this. Poetry in motion!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgettable Fly Fishing,
July 27, 2012
By: Lowman
from Orlando, Florida
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Immaculate. Watched the guides picking up minute pieces of trash from the campsite
"We have been on the Middle Fork of the Salmon with Al and his crew of Solitude four times. This past summer our experience was the best yet. The 100 miles of river are magnificent and the brisk constant fly fishing outstanding. The food is plentiful, masterfully cooked on grills and dutch ovens, and delicious.
No one can forget the desserts that are produced in those dutch ovens! If there's a better outfitter in North America, we would have trouble believing it. This is the trip of a lifetime--only we've been lucky enough to do it four times with this outfit. Love the wooden drift boats!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Solitude River Trips, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best family fishing trip,
July 6, 2012
By: Pangolin
from North America
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:All Solitude's guides are excellent instructors
"The Middle Fork of the Salmon is everything a family fly fishing trip should be: unforgettable scenery; non-stop fly fishing; and, at least with Solitude, nimble drift boats that are works of art. Al and the crew at Solitude are absolutely the best outfit on the Middle Fork if fly fishing is important to you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes