Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina

Los Ombues lodge is perched on a hill overlooking 37,000 acres of prime bird hunting land in the rich floodplain of the Parana River, with another 120,000 acres under lease for shooting. 20 million eared doves roost in native woodlands, an abundance of ducks inhabit marshes that rival anything in the world, and perdiz (partridge) rise over dogs in the rolling grassland.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 44(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Review 1 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Team feedback,
August 19, 2011
By: GSparta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had the entire lodge reserved with 13 hunters from 4 different states, coming in 3 different days on 4 different flights and leaving on 2 different days on 4 different flights! I was trying to be in charge, but there was NO way I could have done it without Jodi. She is unbelievably organized and knows everything there is to know about the trip! She now recognizes my voice when I call. We are already starting to think about going back in 2 years. I felt some pressure, because I was the one who was telling the new ones how great it was and inviting them to go. It could not have been better. Everyone said they had a great time. Thank you so much to the Orvis "team" and Los Ombues."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the finest,
February 22, 2011
By: RFLCAL
from Covington, LA
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just completed our 8th visit to Los Ombues and the experience improves each year. It is difficult to fathom the number of birds. Twelve hunters in eight hunts took over 50,000 dove. The accommodations, food and service are superb. You hunt ten minutes from the lodge in rolling fields of sunflowers overlooking a river delta. The views are spectacular. Someone meets you at the airport in BA to assist with the gun transfers upon arrival and at departure. You could not ask for a better experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 22, 2011
By: BCbIII
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Eight friends of mine joined me at Los Ombues for wing shooting the week of February 4-11, 2011. We flew the Buenos Aires arriving on Sathuday the 5th. We spent the 5ht in Buenos Aires staying at a hotel arranged by the lodge. The hotel met and exceeded our requirments which included quality of accomidation, gun storage/safety, and excellent meals. We traveled to Los Ombues on the 6th and shot that afternoon, the next 2 days and the morning of the 4th day before we departed for our return to the States. Los Ombues is a beautiful estancia, well appointed with very comfotable rooms and baths. The staff could not have been more accomodating and gracious. Juan Pablo joined us for every meal and shoot. He is delightful company and very knowlegable on many subjects making conversation easy and enjoyable. The shooting was close to the lodge and very sporting. The food and wine were supurb. In short we had a ball and I highly recommend Los Ombues to anyone intersted in shooting in South america."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding lodge/outstanding hunt,
February 10, 2011
By: WWL3
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Los Ombues offers everything an avid sportsman would put on their list for a perfect day. Food and lodging is excellent but more important the hunting is exceptional as is the natural beauty of the region."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Fantastic,
February 9, 2011
By: lawrencec
"This was our 9th annual trip to Los Ombues and it just gets better every year…. Great shooting and excellent accommodations with a superb staff. There are no long trips to the field (we had experienced much longer transport in Cordoba) and the lodges proximity to Buenos Aires makes travel a breeze. We are a group of 16 and everyone can’t wait to come back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spectacular setting/shooting,
February 8, 2011
By: kseth
from new york, ny
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i have been to Cordoba 3 time and have not been back after visiting Los Ombues. We have just completed our 9th visit and have rebooked for next year.
the setting and beauty of the countryside is unrivaled..wonderful rolling hills of corn, sunflower and soy with rivers and marsh coupled with azure blue sky.
NO shortage of Dove. there is no such thing as a disapointing morning or afternoon shoot...all of which are no more than 10 mins from the Los Ombues Lodge.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't be any better,
July 30, 2010
By: NormS
from California
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 4th. trip to Los Ombues.
That speaks for itself. Better bird hunting can't be found anywhere.
A professionly managed operation and friendly staff. Great accomadidations, excellant food and relaxed atmosphere.
I highly recommend the lodge.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Mixed Bag Hunt and Service,
July 29, 2010
By: JLin
from Houston, Tx
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"June 2010 - Our group of 8 had a fantastic experience at Los Ombues. Transfers between Buenos Aries and the lodge went without any issues as they arranged an esscort to meet us at flight arrival and transfer thru the airport to the air charters.The 'Mixed Bag' hunt of ducks in the morning, Perdiz mid day and doves in the afternoon was great. Birds were plentifull and almost over whelming. Juan Pablo's very accomodating field guides ensured the field experience was as good as it gets. Especially meeting up in the evening for a beverage, conversation of the day's hunt and viewing the river flats with a beautifull sunset backdrop.The Lodge staff and accomodations were inviting, they took care of every detail and they ensured you felt 'at home'. Great meals matched with Juan Pablo's superb Malbec wines and conversation added to an overall FANTASTIC MIXED BAG HUNT."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoot,
July 29, 2010
By: AlexFF
from New York
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Carlos, Gustavo and all the Ombues people run a fabulous place. They have superb service, are fun people, arrange for amazing shooting in spectacular settings with no other shooters any where to be seen. Seems they are the only people to have figured out EntreRios is one of the best places to shoot in the world.
The food, service, and setting of the lodge are all 5 star. And the post morning shoot, pre-lunch fishing expeditions were a great added fun bonus.
I can not recommend Los Ombues more highly, although I don't want anyone else to know about this jewel, as I want it all to myself and my friends!
Great place, great value and a wonderful shoot!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I shall return with reinforcements,
July 29, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Austin, Texas
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure of hunting at Los Ombues in Februray of 2010. I have been blessed to hunt in many locations in my lifetime. Los Ombues was the most organized and professionally run hunt that I have ever been on. The lodge was spectacular. I am a food critic originally from New Orleans so it really takes alot to impress me regarding food. The food was terrific. The staff all take pride in their work and do their best for you.
Juan Pablo constantly asks if you need anything and questions how he can improve his operation. On leaving I told him that the only way that he could improve his operation is if he accepted Credit Cards. That is truly all that I could come up with. They are constantly trying to do better and improve but they are already tops!
The bird hunting is phenominal. This was my first trip to Argentina. I can't wait to bring my Father and Son back with me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 28, 2010
By: FOOT
from Atlanta, GA
"This is the best hunting experience I have ever had. 4 of us visited Los Ombues in May 2010 and experienced duck, perdez, and dove shooting. The hunting was incredible and we ended each day with sore sholders. The scenery, food, the staff, the accomodations and the overall coordination of each day was excellent. I highly recommend a trip to Los Ombues and would love to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Addict,
July 28, 2010
By: BlackEddie
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I`ve been going to Los Ombues for more than 10 years, at least twice each season, and they have never seized to surprise me with some added feature.
The quantity of birds & scenery is excellent and part of the Nature of the Country, but the Service is outstanding, the food superb and their wine stock, be prepared to gain a few pounds, even if you do all the possible workout at the recently inaugurated Gym.
Don`t forget you`re going shooting NOT eating. Enjoy
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!!!!,
April 16, 2010
By: TonyV
from Lakeland, TN
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Visited Los Ombues in March, 2010 and it was truly an amazing experience. This was not only the best wingshooting I've ever experienced but the Los Ombues accommodations and staff were truly exceptional. The food, lodging, professional friendly staff and especially the hunting made this an event of a lifetime. I could not imagine any finer experience anywhere."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once in a lifetime!!!,
April 15, 2010
By: SureShotTN
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"2010 was my first trip to Argentina. I had heard many stories about Los Ombues but I had never had the opportunity to actually make the trip - All I can say is that it is a once in a life time experience. If you have a bucket list this trip needs to be on it for sure. If you like to shoot you will have all you can stand. I have never seen as many birds on a hunt in all my life. My bird boy was right by my side - anything you want they got it covered. I was not the best shot in our group but I can not ever remember having more fun.
The lodge is off the charts. The staff is attentive almost to a fault. Laundry is done before you even ask. If clothes hit the ground they are going to be washed. The meals were first rate. Augie and Juan Pablo make the whole thing run flawlessly.
Like I said it is a once in a lifetime experience, I am just trying to figure out how to convince my wife I need to go next year!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once in a Lifetime,
April 15, 2010
By: CJMphs
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been on this trip several times and all I can say is that it is truly a Once in a Lifetime experience. The staff and facilities are unequaled at other lodges I have been to. The number of birds, the guides, the hosts, the food and lodging could not have been any better. If you are fortunate enough to go you will go back.
All I can say it has been a "Once in a Lifetime" experience I plan on experiencing many more times.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wingshooters Paradise !!!,
April 13, 2010
By: FrankP
from Memphis,TN
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been to Los Ombues many times, most recently March-2010 and to be completely honest about my experience everything about the trip continues to get better, For example, my group harvested more birds in 2010 than in 2008 which I did not think was possible (And all the shooting is done within 5 minutes from the Lodge), the facilities have been upgraded to include a workout room with all of the latest exercise equipment to compliment the existing 5 star Lodge.
I cannot say enough about the staff, they are truly magnificent and professional, they will go out of their way to make sure that your experience is as enjoyable as humanly possible. I would like to mention a few by name - Maria, Gustavo, Augustine and of course, Calos and Juan Pablo Sanchez (the Hosts) and there are many more worthy of recognition.
If you have a passion to wingshoot, you will not find a better place than Los Ombues and if you add the beauty of Argentina along with number of birds and quality of food and accomodations, I think that you will quit searching for Wingshooters Paradise because like me, you will have found it !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic trip,
December 6, 2009
By: Anonymous
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went with a few friends... The whole stay was beyond expectations. Hunting was superior and the lodge was definitely five star; from the staff to the dining. The fields were located near the lodge and little time was wasted traveling to hunt. Each of us had our on personal guide (bird boy) who took care of our every need from shells to drink . John Paul was very hospitable and ran things efficiently, ensuring our stay was the utmost enjoyable. I would recommend Los Ombues to anyone interested in bird hunting at the highest level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Trip!,
November 21, 2009
By: jrp7
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went on this trip with 5 friends and had a great time! Accommodations are great, host, Juan Carlos, is exceptional, and the bird hunting was phenomenal! Countryside is beautiful! Definitely a must do trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muy Bueno!!,
October 25, 2009
By: Guillermo
from Kansas City
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been a guest at Los Ombues four times in the last four years and plan on the trip being an annual event for years to come.
I have stayed at and shot with several of the "best" outfitters in Cordoba and now call Los Ombues my only Argentine destination.
Carlos, Juan Pablo and all of the staff make sure that the shoot and the stay are very first rate. From the birds, to the bird boys, to Augie, to the kitchen staff, to the masseuse, to the little amenities in the well appointed rooms, to the food, to the vista, to the ..... EVERY DETAIL IS THOUGHT-OUT AND EXCEPTIONAL.
I did not mention that the shooters can usually see the estancia from the shooting grounds which means no hour plus road trips!
So if you want world class shooting with world class accomodations my recommendation is Carlos Sanchez' Los Ombues in Entre Rios Agentina.
By the way, last year Carlos put in a well appointed health club!
BCKinsey"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Los Ombues Lodge, Argentina
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Time Of Our Life,
October 7, 2009
By: Oilman
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have wanted to bird hunt in Argentina for the past couple of years. After searching the web I located three different lodges. After checking out each lodge I decided on LOS OMBUES, and let me say, I made the right decision.
My group consisted of myself and three friends, upon our landing in Buenos Aires we were met at the airline gate by a gentleman from LOS OMBUES. This gentleman lead us through the airport, loaded our bags and continued with us out to a private plane supplied by LOS OMBUES. Once on the plane the two pilots had us in the air within minutes for a short one hour flight to a safe landing strip just two miles from the lodge. Upon landing the folks from LOS OMBUES loaded our bags and carried us on a very short two mile trip to the lodge. While we were being shown around the lodge our bags were being placed in our rooms and appetizers were being placed on the table. The LOS OMBUES folks told us to "make ourselves at home", and we did. After settling in and dining on a great lunch we had plenty of time to rest before our first evening shoot. Our guide (John) carried us out for a short five minute drive where we met our bird boys. Each of us were given bird boys which remained ours for each of the hunts. Our bird boys already had all of our equipment set up and ready for us when we arrived for each hunt. Once we were in place and ready the shooting began, and went on until dark. The birds never stopped flying and we never stopped shooting, it was great. After each morning hunt we would take the short drive (10 miles max) back to the lodge where we would find more appetizers ready and another fine lunch being prepared. After lunch we would have plenty of time to visit in the comfort of the living area or outside upon a beautiful shaded area overlooking the river. Each day our group took advantage of the early afternoon by napping in our room getting rested for the evening hunt. Our trip consisted of great hospitality from everyone at LOS OMBUES as well as plenty of great food, fine wine and cold beer. At the trips end, we made our short 2 mile journey to the landing strip where we found our bags already loaded on the plane, the plane was checked out and ready with both engines running. Within one hour our group was being escorted through the airport at Buenos Aires by the same gentleman from LOS OMBUES which helped us begin our trip. I don't know how things could have been better, great people, great food, great dove shooting and wonderful treatment. I am making plans already for another trip next year to LOS OMBUES, this time I'll be bringing my wife and teenage kids to try a round of mixed bag hunting. I'm already looking forward to another round of great hunting and another round of royal treatment from the folks at LOS OMBUES.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes