Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile

This Chile fly fishing trip to Patagonia Baker Lodge offers lucky anglers the opportunity to experience outstanding fishing while enjoying some of the world's most impressive natural scenery. The Rio Baker begins its journey to the Pacific Ocean 170 miles south of Balmaceda. From its headwaters in Lake General Carrera, the Baker flows through a spectacular mountainous countryside. It is flanked on the North and South by the great Patagonian ice fields and its banks are enshrouded by endemic forests, home to some of the most unique fauna in the world. The Baker, although turquoise-green from a distance, reveals crystalline waters on closer inspection. The lodge itself is right in the middle of the splendor, overlooking the river.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Review 1 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a Lifetime!,
February 22, 2014
By: benso040
from Saint Paul, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:The pre-trip recommended flies list needs to updated to included more and larger streamers and terrestrials
"This was truly the trip of a lifetime. Between the beauty of Chilean Patagonia; the quality of the Rio Baker fishery; the food/wines/accommodations at the Baker Lodge; the authenticity and kindness of the staff; and the shared passion for fly fishing that linked everyone there- it was simply spectacular. I'm a lifelong avid fisherman but relatively new to fly fishing. I found the guides were skilled teachers and their passion for fishing was a joy to behold. On the scenic 5 hour ride down to the Lodge (an excellent transition from busy life to the tranquility of the Baker) I asked about the fishing in the dozens of creeks, rivers and lakes that we crossed or skirted and our guide/driver had fished them all and recalled with the universal zeal of fishermen, the size and type of fish, conditions and flies used on his most recent outings there. The rest of the week passed in a flash with opportunities to fish the Baker, the Cochrane, the Mai-Ten, and Lago Bertrand. Our group caught plenty of fish including "Big Brown" a 28 incher from Lago Bertrand- and missed as many as we caught. The evenings were spent as friends around the dinner table with good food and wine and the Renaissance era hosting skills of Manuel Reyes- part owner and lodge manager. A remarkable fisherman/entrepreneur who spent much of his early life in Sweden. The team he has assembled were a key part of the experience. While this was the trip of a lifetime, I'm already working on ways to get back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great guides and staff,
February 12, 2014
By: jack1946
"Really enjoyed fishing the Baker River--what a piece of water. Fish were from 16 inches to 30 inches in January/February. Fished mostly streamers, with some hoppers, fat alberts, dry flies and nymphs. Guides were terrific--very knowledgeable and hardworking. The lodge is right on the river so very convenient. Also opportunities to fish nearby lakes and streams, but Rio Baker was the high point for me. Would recommend contacting the lodge for specific recommendations about specific flies to bring for the time you are there. Lodge staff were very helpful and responsive. Accommodations are fine--not luxurious but certainly adequate for fishing trip. The scenery is spectacular. If coming from outside of Chile, would allow plenty of time to make connections from international to domestic flights. We missed ours--the Santiago airport was a mess and it took an hour to get our baggage. Not a good way to start the trip! Despite this, a wonderful experience all in all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A grand delight!,
February 10, 2014
By: 3SnowyOwl
from North Oaks, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PBL is located in the midst of spectacular grandeur. With each bend in the river or bend in the road or shore on the lake, there's new beauty. Stunning!
The hospitality of the Lodge is superb! Great staff!
The fishing on the Baker was excellent, with fish we caught in the 16-28 inch range. All muscular with hefty shoulders.
It takes a while to travel to the lodge, but the scenery along the way is captivating.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to go back,
January 26, 2014
By: GeorgeL1
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from the Baker Lodge. This was my 7th trip to Chile and the 5th to the Baker. Every time I go to this lodge and the fishing keeps getting better. The water was down this year yet the fish still fought harder than ever. The meals keep getting better and the staff have everything managed perfectly. See you next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mid January Fishing with Baker Lodge, Chile,
January 22, 2014
By: fairfaxflyfisher
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fishing at Baker Lodge was spectacular: trip of a lifetime. We went in the middle of summer (mid January). The guides were terrific, fish were good size to great (15-25"). I'm told there are some much bigger, but this was more than adequate for me. Big muscular strong fish that leap from the water and fight like the blazes. I particularly liked fishing on the Baker River itself, especially the evening from 8-10 pm, just before dark. Although the hatches in summer are not frequent (even the caddis), the fish are eager to take large hopper-like flies, ants, beetles, and if that is not "on", then they take streamers by bolting from their lie and hammering the fly. What a hoot! In addition to the Baker, they have a nice smaller freestone stream (Mytan), that is wadeable. I love to wade fish. That is a really nice option. They also have a spring creek available, but really very difficult unless you can cast 40-50 feet accurately. It's rare to have all these options from one lodge and one site.
The lodge itself is comfortable and well appointed. The internet (wireless) allowed us to maintain contact with family and let them know we were safe and happy. Rooms were comfortable, clean and very nice. Perfect for a fishing lodge.
I cannot say enough about all the Baker Lodge Staff: Lodge Manager, Manuel, Guides (Rodrigo and Marcelo) and support staff including the wait staff and chef. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. They were able to accommodate our needs on a daily basis, even if we asked for a change in schedule that morning, in order to fish the evening 'hatch.' The guides were the best I have ever had. Truly fun to be with and gave just the right amount of encouragement and instruction. Great fishing experience. I would do it again in a heartbeat!! Thanks for a great trip Baker Lodge Staff!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lodge lets down trip,
January 17, 2014
By: Spotthedog
from U.K.
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Having carefully read the paperwork supplied by Orvis I was excited about my first trip to Chile.
Generally the fishing lived up to its hype except that the size of the fish were very small as soon as you left the Baker river with the fish averaging less than a few ounces ,
Half the boats used were hired in and lacked maintenance. The vehicles were rather battered pickup trucks with some seat belts that didn't work! Not a good thing on the very rough narrow gravel roads.
By far the most disappointing feature of this trip was the Lodge itself. There is absolutely no way this could be described as Deluxe accommodation. Instead the room was basic. Heat was provided by electric radiators because the storage heaters didn't work and we were not allowed to use the log burning stoves in the rooms. Due to mess and fire risk. The wardrobe door didn't close properly and the shower was impossible! It proved impossible to control the water temperature so it ran scolding hot or instantly changing to freezing cold.
There is no TV or fax. Even the office printer didn't work. High speed internet was a joke. It was provided by a dongle from the mobile telephone network. Consequently it was totally unreliable and dead slow.
The dictionary definition and my understanding of "gourmet" dining bore absolutely no resemblance to the quality and presentation of the food provided..The same applied to the lunches that generally only consisted of a couple of filled bread rolls .
Whilst the setting and scenery is spectacular the trip failed to provide value for money.
My experience with other Orvis Lodges clearly shows this is not a trip I would recommend to others because better fishing in equally stunning locations in much much better quality Lodges is available for considerably less cost.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Jason ElkinsGeneral Manager of Orvis Travel, Orvis AdventuresMarch 28, 2014
One of the things in which we pride ourselves is attention to detail and understanding the individual and their desires when booking a trip with us. In this case we miscalculated the specific level of amenity that would ultimately give this customer his best experience. The Orvis Travel sporting travel program manager visited the lodge shortly after this guest’s trip, and investigated all of the items mentioned in this review. The lodge confirmed that one seatbelt was malfunctioning during this guest’s visit, but that it was repaired within a few days. Although this trip was not an appropriate fit for this guest, based on our site inspections, recent guest feedback, and the other stellar customer reviews, there is no doubt that Patagonia Baker Lodge is committed to providing a rewarding fishing experience with a high level of service and comfortable accommodations. It is a very good choice for those guests looking for a remote and scenic destination where they can have an authentic fly-fishing adventure in the mountains of Patagonia without compromising comfort and safety.
Review 7 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best place to fish in all of Patagonia,
March 5, 2012
By: KenANDPatti
"This is the best place to fish in all of Patagonia (Chile & Argentina). It is remote, but sooo worth it. We are going back for our 4th trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second Trip, Outstanding,
February 2, 2010
By: JCox
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the second time that I've gone on this thip with George Layton, and especially appreciate his work in organizing those trips with Orvis Travel. Manuel, the lodge manager, was an excellent host. He has an excellent staff, and he manages them in a friendly way that creates a very pleasant atmosphere at the Lodge and on the various waterways. I thorougly enjoyed the trip both times. It was a bit of an adventure for me, and I would highly recommend it to anyone else. Chile is beautiful, the staff and facilities of the Lodge are outstanding, and the fishing is wonderful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Patagonia Baker Lodge, Chile
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing excellence,
September 16, 2009
By: phishes
from Tysons Corner, VA
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This trip was one of the best I have ever been on. The people there were very helpful. The lodge and food where excellant. The fishing was beyond reproach with the variety of waters to be fished, the way to fish each of the waters and of course the FISH. As I tell people "I could of caught more fish. But I could not land the ones I hooked fast enough.""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes