Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise

The southern coast of Chile is a stunningly remote area full of fascinating places to hike, fish and kayak. It's impossible to fully explore by vehicle and a ship is great for the deeper waters off the coast, but can't get you into the mountains that rise directly from the sea or sail into most of the secluded bays. What you need is a special ship that carries a helicopter, multiple watercrafts, and an expert crew of trained guides who can lead the way.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 of 7(86%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Review 1 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Trip of a Lifetime,
March 16, 2011
By: TMengel
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We enjoyed everything from the first class service on the ship to the helicopter fly fishing, and wouldn't change a thing. This was the best fishing experience ever, even in the rain. We enjoyed helicopter fishing in a new spot every day, and the best guides I have ever fished with. It is truly a fly fishing trip of a lifetime and Orvis Travel service is the way to go."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Orvis Travel,
June 30, 2010
By: BruceM
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"At 3:45 AM on February 27th 2010 an earthquake of 8.8 magnitude struck off the coast of Chile. My wife and I along with four fisherman from Oklahoma were asleep at the Ritz Carlton in Santiago awaiting to travel to Puerto Montt via Chilean Airline for an Orvis organized fly fishing trip aboard the Nomad of The Sea expedition vessel. Needless to say, it looked like all plans would be cancelled due to the closing of the airport and the devastation / damage to many parts of Chile. What a pleasant surprise we were in for, however. The Orvis organizer, Jason Elkins, and his team of assistants in Santiago and Puerto Montt plus the Ritz Carlton staff immediately took control of the situation and did one OUTSTANDING job! The Ritz provided blankets, water, food to any and all people in the area at the time of the quake. We were initially told that no air flights would be available for at least six days. Somehow, Jason and his team were able to contact the owner of the expedition ship later that day and made arrangements for a private KingAir aircraft to meet us outside Santiago and fly us to our destination the same evening and board the ship for our fishing trip. Orvis employees need to be congratulated and thanked for the outstanding services they provided to ensure we were able to continue our trip. Unfortunately for many other vacationers in Santiago awaiting cruise ships, etc. they were unable to make their connections. We were thankful that we survived the quake and to additionally continue our vacation was above and beyond our expectations. Again, Thank you Orvis and the Staff of the Nomad of the Sea."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an experience!,
March 22, 2010
By: Fishgod
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You must take this trip. Put this on your bucket list! You won´t regret it.
BW
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
good but not great,
February 16, 2010
By: tribeca
from New York
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Just returned from a week on Nomads of the Sea.
The fishing - mainly lake fishing with a couple of rivers. Overall quality was below that of Agentina around St Martin de los Andes and Bariloche. Poor weather meant the fishing was blown out a couple of days which didnt help but there were other issues. Part of the problem is that when 'plan A' doesnt pan out due to weather there is no decent 'plan B' .
Guides - Overall were good and worked hard. One lost my back up rod accidently in a river which I wasnt thrilled about. He made no effort to replace it which irked me.
Boat - Superb rooms and overall fascilities. Great food, equal to just about any top NY restaurant. Wine also excellent. The on board staff worked very hard.
Other passengers - younger crowd than I expected and they were all great fun. Getting to know them was the high light of the trip.
Overall- I was disappointed. My expectations were high which they should be given the price but the fishing (and the organization around the fishing) just wasnt up to scratch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Response from Orvis:By Jason ElkinsOrvis TravelFebruary 17, 2010
This reviewer makes some valid observations about the fishing in Chile. It is weather dependant, and when rains muddy up the rivers, small remote lakes are often the plan B, unlike Argentina where the topography and weather are more moderate. Guests should understand this when they book any trip in Chile. Unfortunately, this customer did not book his vacation through Orvis Travel, so didn't have the opportunity to discuss the fishing with one of our experts. Orvis Travel customers have many options available to them, and we are happy to help them choose the experience that best matches their angling preferences, skills and expectations. Unfortunately, we didn't have the opportunity to discuss the trip with tribeca, or we may have recommended a different trip. If you are considering any trip offered by Orvis Travel, and would like to learn more about what to expect, please give us a call at 800-547-4322 so we can help you decide if it is the right trip for you.
Review 5 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a Lifetime,
February 18, 2009
By: TomandAnneR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Even after traveling the world, this was the "trip of a lifetime" for my wife and me; a fitting celebration for a 50th wedding anniversary. Having Jasnna on board was a real plus. All 3 concierges were great. Fabien was a patient and perceptive casting instructor, and we really appreciated his guiding expertise. He made it happen. The helicopter pilot went out of his way to give us spectacular views of the Andes.
There was nothing the entire staff wouldn't do to ensure that expectations were exceeded. Better do it once in your life. You'll never forget it or regret it.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a lifetime...,
December 29, 2008
By: Anonymous
"Take this trip! And, keep a daily journal of everything you are experiencing. All your senses will be pleasantly overwhelmed. This trip provides you with memories that will last a lifetime. Many thanks to Jason Elkins from Orvis Travel and all the staff of Nomads of the Seas for making this trip so special for us. My highlight was catching a nice 26" brown trout -- what a thrill! It was the biggest fish caught all week. For my husband, catching the large brook trout was his favorite fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Patagonia Fly Fishing Adventure Cruise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Be prepared,
November 27, 2007
By: Anonymous
"This is simply a wonderfully executed trip; the amenities and equipment are truly 5-star. But guests need to remember their trip will be through the islands and fjords of a temperate rain forest: expect lots of cold rain and wind, and feel lucky if you don't see it! The rain will also dramatically affect the quality of the fishing, so be prepared for that as well.
But as a 5-star boat trip through one of the world's great biospheres, this trip could hardly be done better.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes