Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing

Grand Bahama Island has long been a popular choice for fly fisherman and non-angling vacationers alike. With direct flights arriving daily from several US cities, getting there is very easy. Unlike some of the other "easy to get to" destinations in The Bahamas, there is very good flats fishing and plenty of things for non-angling companions and families to do. The very productive flats on the north side of the island have justifiably earned the reputation of being home to some of the largest bonefish found in The Bahamas. Many visitors to Grand Bahama Island aren't aware of the expansive mangrove and sand flats that are just a short trip away from the hustle and bustle of Freeport's popular Port Lucaya tourist hub.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Review 1 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience of a Lifetime,
January 26, 2015
By: AMeans
from Atlanta
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My recent trip to Grand Bahama with H2o bonefishing was an experience I will not soon forget. The size of the bonefish was very impressive... I landed a dozen or more in only 2 days fishing with the largest at 9lbs and several others in the 5-8 lb range. I also had several shots at large permit. The new clubhouse was most impressive were I was introduced to the delights of many different sipping rums that accompany the Cuban cigars also on offer. Anyone looking for quality flats fishing with great guides will never go wrong booking with these guys. I highly recommend them and will be back for more later this year and also will include a day of offshore flyfishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best Bonefishing and More!,
March 11, 2015
By: bonefishfool
from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have just returned from another great trip with these guys. This is one of the most complete saltwater fly fishing package I have yet encountered. Its location on Grand Bahama Island makes access by air a snap. There are few locations at which I feel comfortable including my wife, but h2o Bonefishing offers this option with no compromise to my fishing.
I have found the guides to be professional, hard working, courteous and competent. They know the area well. They compliment H2O Bonefishing’s varied programs very well. This spring I fished the flats for bones and permit but last summer I also included offshore fly fishing for tuna and dolphin. The offshore as great because it is a very short ride to the drop off and ocean water. I also went on their “No Boundaries” program that took me and my fishing partner to remoter cays and islands not accessible during normal operations. It was a blast with great fishing and alternative scenery. It was on one those unforgettable trips where myself and my buddy simultaneously landed a ten pound bonefish each! That will never happen again !!!
The general staff, as well as Greg Vincent and Jason Franklin, make me feel more like an honored guest than just another client. Greg and his staff have always gone far beyond the basics and have truly done their utmost to show me a good time. I always have the impression that they are all happy to see me again. Actually, they really make me, a Joe Average fly fisherman, feel like I might be Lefty himself while I am there. I give H2O Bonefishing my heartiest recommendation.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
serious bonefishing,
February 18, 2015
By: NoRegret
from Quebec City, QC, Canada
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with H2O at Grand Bahamas each year for the last five years. It seems like the average size of the bonefish there is getting bigger every year. I have landed 9 and even 10 pounds bonefish, but what is more amazing is that I have seen a good number of bigger fish than that. Add to that a very professionnal organization and you have a great package."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sage Gear, Really?,
June 17, 2014
By: 60jack
from Boston
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meals: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Hotel was OK
"Just got back from a trip with H2O. Saw an awful lot of bones, landed just one schoolie in 1.5 days of fishing hard. Disappointing, caught a dozen in Belize the first time out. Used inferior rented gear the first day, complained about it, but the second day, to his credit, Greg Vincent saw to it that I had a new Helios 2/Mirage 4 rig, and I threw it much much better. Our guide was good finding the fish, but it ceased to be fun for my wife and I after the first couple of hours when it became a blame game seminar on everything I did wrong. After the trip, I wrote back and gave feedback, both positive and negative, and never heard back from the owner. Bad form, no?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Response from Orvis:By Orvis TravelOrvis Travel January 30, 2015
In response to this review, we apologize for not responding sooner, but the review was posted on the Orvis site and the trip was not booked through Orvis. To answer the reviewer’s question as to why no response from the owner, the outfitter would not have looked for it on the Orvis site as it was not booked there. The Orvis associate who normally oversees the reviews had just left the company. It was a matter of bad timing and Orvis takes full responsibility for not responding. As to the reviewer’s experience, it seems that H2O went to great lengths to respond to the client’s equipment issues, but the fishing experience was less than desirable in the eyes of the client. It seems the client had great success on his first time out in Belize. He also states the H2O guide was good at finding fish, but for whatever reasons the client was not as successful. Unfortunately, success in fishing is never guaranteed, but we can sympathize with the client’s frustration. We also know H2O’s excellent reputation and find the comments about the guide out of character.
Review 5 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Planning by Orvis was flawless,
December 28, 2012
By: tday
from Waynesburg, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We booked again because Orvis and H2O provided us with a great vacation. The planning by Orvis was flawless; from the communications prior, to booking through the transfers and our connections at the destination. H2O was a great host and the guides were wonderful. We especially like relaxing outside at the bar enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres after a day on the flats. We also liked the atmosphere at Port Lucaya."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We will definitely return...,
April 19, 2012
By: RArnold
from Pittsburg, PA
"Grand Bahamas bonefishing with Orvis Travel, Pelican Bay and H2O Bonefishing is an excellent experience. There are lots of fish, the guides are excellent and Pelican Bay will satisfy your spouse and children. We didn't see any other folks on the water, so the fishery isn't as heavily pressured as some other islands in the Bahamas. The guide service was truly outstanding and very friendly. Paddy ,the transfer driver, delivered exceptionally good service with her great personality and friendliness. Greg did a terrific job touching base and managing around some difficult weather. He communicated in advance and handled all very well. The most enjoyable part of the trip was Bonefishing with Ishmael and my son Ben, while catching a nice 8 lb. plus bone fish. The pre-trip service was excellent. Very good judgment on picking a location and hotel for the entire family to enjoy. Overall, a great spring trip that is only a short flight away!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
H20 Bonefish Classic,
August 15, 2011
By: DavidDR
from Jackson Hole, Wyoming
"If you want a chance to catch big bonefish, the guides at H20 are the people to see. Hats off to Greg Vincent and Jason Alexander for another great trip to GB. The guides are superb and the fishery is amazing. I've made 3 trips with H20 and in the process of planning the next trip to GB. This last trip was in conjunction with Bonefish Tarpon Trust and hosted by Orvis. All the folks at Orvis Travel make sure the trip goes smooth. See you soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
H20,
August 9, 2011
By: DavidDR
from Jackson Hole, Wyoming
"Are you looking to catch big bonefish? H20 on Grand Bahama is the place. Greg Vincent & Jason Alexander and their guides provide a quality fishing environment. Plenty for the non-angler too. My last trip, June 2011, was co-sponsored by Bonefish Tarpon Trust and I had a great time. I've been to GB and fished with H20 3 times and each trip gets better. "Thuderpants""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Orvis!,
May 25, 2011
By: TerryD
"Everything was great, from the accommodations to the guide. The fishing was excellent and the guide was very knowledgeable. I wouldn't change a thing. Jason from H2O Bonefishing was the ultimate host. Our guide Theo was very pleasant and knew where the fish were. Paddy our transfer driver was quite a character and very timely. I can't imagine having a better experience on my very first bonefishing trip. My wife was so pleased, she wants to come back next year. Port Lucaya is a wonderful place to visit, with great shops and restaurants as well as a nice beach for my wife. The entire experience was fantastic! I learned a lot about bonefishing and greatly improved my skills by day 3, thanks to the guide. Thank you Orvis for putting together a fantastic trip. My Orvis Travel agent Tyler Atkins, made sure everything was perfect."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Trip,
May 24, 2011
By: TerryD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Thank you Orvis for putting together a fantastic trip. My Orvis agent, Tyler Atkins, made sure everything was perfect. The accommodations were great. The guide was fantastic and the bonefishing was great! Jason with H2O Bonefishing and our guide “TO” were great. Jason was a great host and spent lots of time with us each evening after the fishing. He gave my wife some casting lessons.
I learned a lot on the trip about bonefishing and my casting skills. I got skunked on the first day no fault of the guide who put me into fish but just my inexperience bonefishing. I finally hooked up the second day and caught my first fish wading the sand flats with my wife. What a thrill to have a fish make a 100’ run without changing direction! The third day I caught 5 fish and had 7 hookups. I finally learned how to cast to them and what to look for.
I can't imagine having a better experience on my very first Bonefishing trip. My wife was so pleased, she wants to come back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an Experience - Great Fishery,
June 7, 2009
By: JRJ1
from Melbourne, Australia
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My wife and I had a go at something completely new for "Troutfishing Saltwater Beginners Flyfishers" - BONEFISHING!!!
Greg Vincent from H2O Bonefishing is a great guy who responded very well in accommodating all our requests including to provide us with - as we believe, his best guide Ishmael on all but one day. We've to congratulate him and Jason to the team they've got around them - great guys. He also had a Helios 8wt tip and a Zero Gravity 8wt mid set aside for us to use - great rods for that kind of fishing.
Ishmael got us on to the Bonefish on our first day and both of us were able to land one. There was only one mishap - which was my fault, when my wife had her fish in the boat ready for the photo shoot, the camera asked for a change of battery - the spare one was in the hotel room. What a blow! But the three of us know that she's caught one and was holding it and that her fish was the same size as mine if not a bit bigger.
The fishing was very tuff even for the so called "pro's", due to the weather conditions - winds up to 25mph, poor visibility for the guides, rain and thunderstorms, which resulted in only three and a half days fishing for us instead of five. But the weather just can't be influenced and one has to take it as it presents itself - that's fishing no matter where you are.
It was still a great experience for us and best of all - we both landed our first Bonefish, the fastest and most difficult fish to catch we've ever experienced.
Thanks again guys."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Grand Bahama Island with H2O Bonefishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expansive flats, big fish!,
October 20, 2007
By: Elkins
from Orvis Travel, Sunderland, Vermont
"I write this review while sitting in the Fort Lauderdale airport on my way back to Vermont from my second fishing trip with Greg and Jason from Pelican Bay Bonefishing. On my first trip I was surprised by the large average size of the fish and the endless flats on the north side of Grand Bahama. Greg took some time on this trip to show me the south side of the island where white sandy beaches strech for miles and are home to large schools of bonefish and the occasional permit. These beaches, although wonderful for wading, are best accessed by flats boats piloted by the experienced guides. The south side is only good when the tides and winds are right, but wow, when it is right, it is right! In only a few hours these guys had me casting to large schools, singles and a couple legitimate shots at permit. Yesterday, my final day, Greg and Jason took me into a remote mangrove creek that opened up onto a small flat. In short time, Jason had hooked a 4 or 5 pound bone. While we were trying to land this fish, a bonefish that I estimate at 12 pounds lazily cruized by seemingly aware that we had our hands full. Amazingly, this is only one of three fish over ten pounds that came into easy casting range during my short trip.
As an experienced saltwater angler, I really enjoy fishing Grand Bahama Island's flats with Pelican Bay Bonefishing and recommend it often to Orvis customers. There are no comparibly sized resorts in The Bahamas, that I know of, that have a fishing program this good. The variety of non-angling opportunities brings a lot of couples to Pelican Bay but it is the quality fishing that increasingly brings hard core anglers, whether they have a non angling traveling companion or not. It is worth mentioning, however, that Grand Bahama isn't a great choice for non-guided anglers, because of access issues, vast mangrove mud flats, etc. if you are looking for a complete Bahamas bonefishing experience while staying in a larger resort, the guides of Pelican Bay Bonefishing are my first choice.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes