Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

El Pescador Lodge

El Pescador is the only lodge in Belize endorsed by Orvis that offers such a wide variety of fly fishing. Bonefish, tarpon and permit are all there and you don't have to go far to get them. Bonefish are the main quarry, but permit and tarpon are regularly caught within a short boat trip of the lodge. The lodge specializes in fly fishing, but light tackle fishing and reef fishing are available, and the guides and boats are on hand to make it happen for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.949 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
58 of 59(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Pescador Lodge
Review 1 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time!,
November 16, 2011
By: mjgalvin
from Detroit Michigan
"Visited El Pescador in mid November. Weather was great and teh fishing was better. Bone fish galore - shots at permit and tarpon. The guides are very knowledgeable and Luis was both on top of his game and f great assistance to me.
The lodge is very comfortable, the food wonderful and the staff warm and friendly. Everyone (and I mean everyone) did everything possible to to make the trip enjoyable and a success. I highly recommend this Lodge and can't wait to return.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Fishing and Vacation Experience,
June 23, 2014
By: JTflyfisher70
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The entire trip was everything I expected and more. Fishing in the park (an hour north of the lodge)was beautiful and less windy than on the lodge side of the island. I caught quite a few bonefish daily but could have caught many more if I'd been more accurate with my fly casting into the wind. The staff (every single one of them) was extremely courteous and helpful. Dining was a real joy; the food was superb. Definitely a hit in my books."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Little Slice of Paradise,
April 23, 2014
By: Bayrat
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As great as the Lodge and the scenery is, the staff made our trip. Everyone was so polite, accommodating and helpful. The food and lodging are good, fishing is world class. This is the most relaxing trip I have been on in 30 years."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
April 6, 2014
By: CynthiaH
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family went to Belize for our Spring Break and stayed at El Pescador. We had an excellent trip and loved our time at the lodge. We were looking for fishing as well as non-fishing family activities. The fishing guides were attentive, patient and instructional. The staff was exceptional, making sure all our needs were met. They arranged sightseeing and activities outside of the lodge, all of which provided outstanding service as well. A great place to stay. We would highly recommend it to any of our friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
El Pesky is the BEST!,
April 5, 2014
By: MarkA1970
from Rockport, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We leave for our third trip to El Pescador in July. This is the place to go fish, go eat and go relax. There really is no finer or well run location out there. You owe it to yourself to experience it, you just cannot use enough words here to explain how truly wonderful it is!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth Visit,
March 26, 2014
By: permitfirstcast
from Jamestown, RI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just returned from our fourth visit at El Pescador Lodge. They continue to exceed expectations in every facet for both fishing and nonfishing participants. Accommodations are comfortable. Pools are refreshing. Food and service aer excellent. Staff treats us as if we were family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor Value,
March 12, 2014
By: Otello
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"A nice place to stay; just ignore the $850+/day if you are fishing solo. For that you get a nice small room,a good dinner, very nice staff, ok breakfasts, and marginal lunches. Forget the free drinks unless you like lots of sugar. Ordinary bar drinks are like a gin and tonic are not in the "free" category.
It was a nice time there. Fun guests and nice outdoor dinners (better then many fishing resorts}; supportive and helpful fishing pros; an average view in a busy tropical setting.
The guides will readily admit that the tarpon are "smart" e.g. fished over. Make sure you can cast a 10wt a long way with accuracy. The permit were somewhere else during the week I was there. A few decent bones but small compared to the Bahamas or Christmas Isl. and really aren't worth the effort if tarpon are around. The panga-style skiffs are not my favorites. The guides worked hard to find fish in difficult conditions.
When you consider the lodge + fishing + airfare you can do better elsewhere. I might go back but not at their current prices."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 8 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
March 6, 2014
By: AnnCSeattle
from Seattle, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My husband and I traveled to El Pescador for our 25th anniversary and our trip couldn't have been any better! The staff was incredible, the facilities were top notch, and the fishing was great. Capt. Emir and Gordy were fun as well as patient and helped me catch my first bonefish on a fly, and my husband catch a huge tarpon. Don't worry if you're not totally into fishing - we also enjoyed a trip to the ruins, a beach bike ride into town, and some downtime at the pool. An added bonus of the trip was the family style meals. Meeting and chatting with folks from all over the world truly added to the experience. We'll definitely be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bonefishing!,
February 23, 2014
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second trip to El Pescador having fished there last year. The bonefish fishing is truly outstanding as they seem to be everywhere. I also found that the size of the fish this year generally seemed bigger than last year with my largest fish weighing in at about 5 pounds - not bad for Belize. I also had bona fide opportunities at permit and tarpon, but no hookups. The food was outstanding as was the performance of the staff. They are warm and friendly and do not know how to say "no". The guides are extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic but you need to be able to take a little critique as they offer it freely - all in the spirit of making you a better fisherman. This is also a great place for a non-fishing partner as there are numerous other activities available."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thought of Everything!,
February 19, 2014
By: AnneM
from Ennis, MT 59729, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We just returned for our third trip with El Pescador, and their customer service continues to amaze me! Their staff is the friendliest around. They learn your name on day one and always greet you with a smile. The fishing program is top rate, with awesome gear and local guides who know the water and where to find the fish. Ali, the owner, has got the high-end lodge experience dialed. I highly recommend El Pescador!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vacation,
February 8, 2014
By: tday
from Waynesburg, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I returned to El Pescador for the second time in two years and we were glad we did. When we left Pittsburgh, PA it was -10 degrees air temperature. When we arrived in San Pedro it was 90 degrees. Once again Ricardo was waiting for us at the airport to take our bags and walk us to the boat. Upon arrival we were greated by Ed the manager. As usual our bags were delivered to our villa while we discussed oue plans for the week with Ed. We spent our first two days relaxing and enjoying the wonderful Belizean weather. The meals were great all week. I especially liked the breakfasts. Our villa was clean and comfortable. All the members of the El Pescador staff or "family" as they liked to called were friendly and accommodating. This is one of the reasons we chose to return. Mariano took good care of us from the bar. Our guide was Cinohi (sp?). My casting was a little rusty the first day so I only boated a few bonefish. Cinohi did manage to get me a tarpon hookup which I promptly lost on the first jump. Robyn went with me the second day and was in the boat to see me boat my first tarpon. It was the thrill of a life time. Cinohi coached me through the entire process. Unforgettable! Robyn caught some bonefish as well. I missed 2 shots at Permit the third day again because of my casting limitations. We spent the last two days relaxing before we had to return to wintery PA."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I had More Days,
January 24, 2014
By: SeattleWingshooter
from Seattle, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took my first trip to El Pescador right after Christmas 2013. I absolutely think this is one of the best fishing trips I ever took. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Emir, our guide was awesome, super passionate and worked very hard for us. Food was great and we love the bar with the fly tying bench. My son and I spent many hours hunched over the bench creating flies for the next day's fishing. The only bad part of the trip was that we wish we could have stayed longer :-). We will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
December 21, 2013
By: flyfisherdmc
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three of my fly fishing buddies and my self spent a week at El Pescador. The resort is top notch. The accommodations are very nice, the food is very, very good, the bar area and pool are very inviting and the service is outstanding. Their fishing program is great and is highly recommended by folks who know the fishing business. Their guides are extremely knowledgeable and very experienced. The fishing experience was good, but was marred by rain, and lots of it, for most of our stay. Kudos to the guides who found us some fish in spite of the adverse conditions. We will return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING SERVICE AND FISHING,
November 23, 2013
By: Sailmejy15
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I can't tell you how amazing the trip to el pescador was. The food and service was impeccable. The guide was incredible. He provided me more shots at permit than any human should have in 3 days. 4 permit, countless bones, and 3 hooked tarpon. WOW. I will be booking this trip again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent trip all around,
November 6, 2013
By: guadalupefly
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"From start to finish this trip through Orvis was great.
The staff and accommodations at El Pescador were superb. The staff was friendly, helpful, and always had a smile.
The fishing guide - was superb with a great sense of humor! Ed, the fishing director, was great with the casting lessons and tips.
I would recommend this lodge and booking experience to anyone who wants to fish in beautiful surroundings."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First rate experience,
November 5, 2013
By: Rais05
from Springfield, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"El Pescador Lodge was a wonderful experience: the staff was very friendly and helpful and service was outstanding; our fishing guide was very knowledgeable in all respects (especially as a coach); and meals were very good as well as the accommodations overall. Hope to return next year. Kudos to the management."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saltwater fishing for all levels,
November 5, 2013
By: Mikey2
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from my first visit to El Pescador with a large group of 19. No matter what your fly casting abilities are the guides at El Pescador can put you on fish and help you improve them. From blind casting to bonefish or site casting to the spooky ones, or trying to hit the fast moving permit or tarpon. Caught my very first ever permit, tarpon and barracuda which was only accomplished because of my great guide Cezar coaching me through what to do. Very different than trout fishing. My wife is a none angler and she had a great time also. We are already planning our return visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstand Team,
November 4, 2013
By: Noble
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My second trip to El Pescador this year. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The thing that makes it stand out above the rest is the PEOPLE who work here. This is truly a group deciated to seeing that every guest has an experience above expectations. The accomdations, food and fishing is over the top...but the personal service is what sets this place apart from others.
Fishing was good...weather was good days we fished, but had been raining before and waters were not as clear as we would have liked, but thanks to the outstanding guides everyone caught fish and was happy with the trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
October 30, 2013
By: FFPhil
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We recently experienced a three day, four night fly fishing package at El Pescador Lodge in Belize. We had a fantastic fishing guide who helped seasoned freshwater fly fishers adapt and expand freshwater skills to saltwater. Rooms, food, and service made for an optimal experience. Staff can only be described as fantastic. Looking forward to returning soon and applying the saltwater fly fishing skills acquired this time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful people and place,
June 7, 2013
By: MTtrouthead
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group included experienced fly fishers and some first timers. We all had a great time primarily thanks to the superb service oriented staff. Beautiful location, very comfortable, with above average food. Lori Ann provides the best fly casting instruction I've ever had. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes