Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

El Pescador Lodge

El Pescador is the only lodge in Belize endorsed by Orvis that offers such a wide variety of fly fishing. Bonefish, tarpon and permit are all there and you don't have to go far to get them. Bonefish are the main quarry, but permit and tarpon are regularly caught within a short boat trip of the lodge. The lodge specializes in fly fishing, but light tackle fishing and reef fishing are available, and the guides and boats are on hand to make it happen for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.953 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Pescador Lodge
Review 1 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time!,
November 16, 2011
By: mjgalvin
from Detroit Michigan
"Visited El Pescador in mid November. Weather was great and teh fishing was better. Bone fish galore - shots at permit and tarpon. The guides are very knowledgeable and Luis was both on top of his game and f great assistance to me.
The lodge is very comfortable, the food wonderful and the staff warm and friendly. Everyone (and I mean everyone) did everything possible to to make the trip enjoyable and a success. I highly recommend this Lodge and can't wait to return.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Verse Better than the First,
November 24, 2014
By: JimmyK
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This has been my second trip to El Pescador and I will go back. Despite less than great weather, the food, service, new rooms, and fishing more than made up for the lack of sun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to return,
November 10, 2014
By: Biged67
from Troy, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Simply said, El Pescador does it right! The guides are great, the villa we had was outstanding, the food was excellent and the staff is like Cheers, "they always know your name"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Trip!,
November 5, 2014
By: JLeJeune
from Gloucester, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first visit to El Pescador and it won't be my last. Everything handled by Orvis and the Lodge was done with prompt professionalism with nothing left to guesswork. My arrangements were a pleasure to secure and the execution was flawless. The staff is outstanding and makes you feel right at home and is extremely attentive. Every question is answered promptly and every wish is handled. The fishing staff is keenly aware of making your angling experience the best. They evaluated my casting, gear and fly selection. They helped manage my expectations and the matching of guides to anglers. The guides are friendly and experienced. They know when to step in with help and also when to stand back and let you enjoy your experience. They are laser focused on putting you on fish.
Family style meals were delicious and satisfying with a diverse local menu. Try the Johnny Cakes for breakfast!
I can't say enough about the entire staff, as they say, I was welcomed as an honored guest but left a member of the family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return to Paradise,
October 20, 2014
By: Noble
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my third, but not final visit to El Pescador. One cannot ask for a better ran lodge and staff to deal with. The entire staff make you feel part of the family from the time the boat lands till wheels up going home.
Everyone knows your name, is very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Folks say, "People make the difference" - this is certainly true here. The food and accommodations also are top shelf. Food was over the top the entire trip. And the new accommodations are outstanding.
Oh, and the fishing is good also. Weather was not the best, but all if all it was a great trip and will be returning"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing and Family Vacation,
August 26, 2014
By: scallen
from Herndon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Orivis travel is very thorough and easy to use.
"El Pescador has everything you could want: nice accommodations, dining, pools, excursions, and fishing guides. Every member of the staff was attentive and pleasant. The guided fishing met my every need and made my first flats fishing experience a permanent memory. My family felt very comfortable and took advantage of the amenities-touring the island, taking a golf cart to town, using the pools and SUPs. Additionally, we enjoyed the snorkeling excursion on the last day of or trip. I highly recommend visiting El Pescador lodge and using Orvis travel. My family and I had an unforgettable vacation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Fishing and Vacation Experience,
June 23, 2014
By: JTflyfisher70
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The entire trip was everything I expected and more. Fishing in the park (an hour north of the lodge)was beautiful and less windy than on the lodge side of the island. I caught quite a few bonefish daily but could have caught many more if I'd been more accurate with my fly casting into the wind. The staff (every single one of them) was extremely courteous and helpful. Dining was a real joy; the food was superb. Definitely a hit in my books."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Little Slice of Paradise,
April 23, 2014
By: Bayrat
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As great as the Lodge and the scenery is, the staff made our trip. Everyone was so polite, accommodating and helpful. The food and lodging are good, fishing is world class. This is the most relaxing trip I have been on in 30 years."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
April 6, 2014
By: CynthiaH
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family went to Belize for our Spring Break and stayed at El Pescador. We had an excellent trip and loved our time at the lodge. We were looking for fishing as well as non-fishing family activities. The fishing guides were attentive, patient and instructional. The staff was exceptional, making sure all our needs were met. They arranged sightseeing and activities outside of the lodge, all of which provided outstanding service as well. A great place to stay. We would highly recommend it to any of our friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
El Pesky is the BEST!,
April 5, 2014
By: MarkA1970
from Rockport, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We leave for our third trip to El Pescador in July. This is the place to go fish, go eat and go relax. There really is no finer or well run location out there. You owe it to yourself to experience it, you just cannot use enough words here to explain how truly wonderful it is!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth Visit,
March 26, 2014
By: permitfirstcast
from Jamestown, RI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just returned from our fourth visit at El Pescador Lodge. They continue to exceed expectations in every facet for both fishing and nonfishing participants. Accommodations are comfortable. Pools are refreshing. Food and service aer excellent. Staff treats us as if we were family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor Value,
March 12, 2014
By: Otello
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"A nice place to stay; just ignore the $850+/day if you are fishing solo. For that you get a nice small room,a good dinner, very nice staff, ok breakfasts, and marginal lunches. Forget the free drinks unless you like lots of sugar. Ordinary bar drinks are like a gin and tonic are not in the "free" category.
It was a nice time there. Fun guests and nice outdoor dinners (better then many fishing resorts}; supportive and helpful fishing pros; an average view in a busy tropical setting.
The guides will readily admit that the tarpon are "smart" e.g. fished over. Make sure you can cast a 10wt a long way with accuracy. The permit were somewhere else during the week I was there. A few decent bones but small compared to the Bahamas or Christmas Isl. and really aren't worth the effort if tarpon are around. The panga-style skiffs are not my favorites. The guides worked hard to find fish in difficult conditions.
When you consider the lodge + fishing + airfare you can do better elsewhere. I might go back but not at their current prices."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 13 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
March 6, 2014
By: AnnCSeattle
from Seattle, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My husband and I traveled to El Pescador for our 25th anniversary and our trip couldn't have been any better! The staff was incredible, the facilities were top notch, and the fishing was great. Capt. Emir and Gordy were fun as well as patient and helped me catch my first bonefish on a fly, and my husband catch a huge tarpon. Don't worry if you're not totally into fishing - we also enjoyed a trip to the ruins, a beach bike ride into town, and some downtime at the pool. An added bonus of the trip was the family style meals. Meeting and chatting with folks from all over the world truly added to the experience. We'll definitely be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bonefishing!,
February 23, 2014
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second trip to El Pescador having fished there last year. The bonefish fishing is truly outstanding as they seem to be everywhere. I also found that the size of the fish this year generally seemed bigger than last year with my largest fish weighing in at about 5 pounds - not bad for Belize. I also had bona fide opportunities at permit and tarpon, but no hookups. The food was outstanding as was the performance of the staff. They are warm and friendly and do not know how to say "no". The guides are extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic but you need to be able to take a little critique as they offer it freely - all in the spirit of making you a better fisherman. This is also a great place for a non-fishing partner as there are numerous other activities available."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thought of Everything!,
February 19, 2014
By: AnneM
from Ennis, MT 59729, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We just returned for our third trip with El Pescador, and their customer service continues to amaze me! Their staff is the friendliest around. They learn your name on day one and always greet you with a smile. The fishing program is top rate, with awesome gear and local guides who know the water and where to find the fish. Ali, the owner, has got the high-end lodge experience dialed. I highly recommend El Pescador!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vacation,
February 8, 2014
By: tday
from Waynesburg, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I returned to El Pescador for the second time in two years and we were glad we did. When we left Pittsburgh, PA it was -10 degrees air temperature. When we arrived in San Pedro it was 90 degrees. Once again Ricardo was waiting for us at the airport to take our bags and walk us to the boat. Upon arrival we were greated by Ed the manager. As usual our bags were delivered to our villa while we discussed oue plans for the week with Ed. We spent our first two days relaxing and enjoying the wonderful Belizean weather. The meals were great all week. I especially liked the breakfasts. Our villa was clean and comfortable. All the members of the El Pescador staff or "family" as they liked to called were friendly and accommodating. This is one of the reasons we chose to return. Mariano took good care of us from the bar. Our guide was Cinohi (sp?). My casting was a little rusty the first day so I only boated a few bonefish. Cinohi did manage to get me a tarpon hookup which I promptly lost on the first jump. Robyn went with me the second day and was in the boat to see me boat my first tarpon. It was the thrill of a life time. Cinohi coached me through the entire process. Unforgettable! Robyn caught some bonefish as well. I missed 2 shots at Permit the third day again because of my casting limitations. We spent the last two days relaxing before we had to return to wintery PA."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I had More Days,
January 24, 2014
By: SeattleWingshooter
from Seattle, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took my first trip to El Pescador right after Christmas 2013. I absolutely think this is one of the best fishing trips I ever took. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Emir, our guide was awesome, super passionate and worked very hard for us. Food was great and we love the bar with the fly tying bench. My son and I spent many hours hunched over the bench creating flies for the next day's fishing. The only bad part of the trip was that we wish we could have stayed longer :-). We will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
December 21, 2013
By: flyfisherdmc
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three of my fly fishing buddies and my self spent a week at El Pescador. The resort is top notch. The accommodations are very nice, the food is very, very good, the bar area and pool are very inviting and the service is outstanding. Their fishing program is great and is highly recommended by folks who know the fishing business. Their guides are extremely knowledgeable and very experienced. The fishing experience was good, but was marred by rain, and lots of it, for most of our stay. Kudos to the guides who found us some fish in spite of the adverse conditions. We will return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING SERVICE AND FISHING,
November 23, 2013
By: Sailmejy15
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I can't tell you how amazing the trip to el pescador was. The food and service was impeccable. The guide was incredible. He provided me more shots at permit than any human should have in 3 days. 4 permit, countless bones, and 3 hooked tarpon. WOW. I will be booking this trip again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent trip all around,
November 6, 2013
By: guadalupefly
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"From start to finish this trip through Orvis was great.
The staff and accommodations at El Pescador were superb. The staff was friendly, helpful, and always had a smile.
The fishing guide - was superb with a great sense of humor! Ed, the fishing director, was great with the casting lessons and tips.
I would recommend this lodge and booking experience to anyone who wants to fish in beautiful surroundings."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes