Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

El Pescador Lodge

El Pescador is the only lodge in Belize endorsed by Orvis that offers such a wide variety of fly fishing. Bonefish, tarpon and permit are all present and you don't have to go far to get them. Bonefish are the main quarry, but permit and tarpon are regularly caught within a short boat trip of the lodge. The lodge specializes in fly fishing, but light tackle fishing and reef fishing are available, with the guides and boats are on hand to make it happen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.959 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
73 of 74(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Pescador Lodge
Review 1 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time!,
November 16, 2011
By: mjgalvin
from Detroit Michigan
"Visited El Pescador in mid November. Weather was great and teh fishing was better. Bone fish galore - shots at permit and tarpon. The guides are very knowledgeable and Luis was both on top of his game and f great assistance to me.
The lodge is very comfortable, the food wonderful and the staff warm and friendly. Everyone (and I mean everyone) did everything possible to to make the trip enjoyable and a success. I highly recommend this Lodge and can't wait to return.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Next Generation,
August 2, 2015
By: fishchick1
from reno nv
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The food was incaredible. Bella gave me a tour of the kitchen (my profession is a Director of Dining Services). It was very impressive. Byraon and Mariano are incredible - i don't know how they remember names and what you like so quickly. The you ladies waiting on the tables could not have been sweeter. Isa has the patience of a saint to spend hours each evening on the casting platform working with every level of fisherman. He really had some incredible tips. Gordy and Krisitan also had some great tips and strict standards for casting which really helped improve our skill level.
"We had the fortunate opportunity to be guided by Gordy and Kristian the next generation of family guides at El Pescador. These young men were professional, knowledgeable and had great energy. We learned a lot, caught some really nice fish and enjoyed their company for six days. Would recommend the lodge, the guides, and the overall experience. We are looking forward to returning very soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best trip ever,
July 7, 2015
By: dstan11
from Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My fiancé Allison and I enjoyed a week at El Pescador! It was top notch service and I can not say enough about the wonderful experience we had. The accommodations were outstanding. The food, fishing, atmosphere and the staff was the best! Our guide Alex was awesome! He worked very hard to put us on fish and did! He was a great teacher and guide! We will definitely be returning soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ell Pescador,
June 17, 2015
By: Bsrel1962
from Greenville, OH 45331, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Orvis kept us updated on our time table, per phone,email, and written info
"Excellent service, friendly informative staff, chef dinners, a wonderful experience. My husband, for his birthday, spent time bone fishing with a most professional Orvis guide, Truel. I highly recommend the air trip to the Mayan Ruins, so spectacular!!!! Such a relaxing experience, try the lodge drink "Pain Killer", while enjoying the tropical breeze."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a lifetime,
June 15, 2015
By: Audoc
from Eufaula, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In celebration of 60th birthdays and our 35th wedding anniversary, my wife and I took our family to El Pescador. We truly enjoyed the trip of a lifetime! All caught their first "boney-fish" in a beautiful setting with relaxing accommodations and outstanding food and service. Our Orvis hosts, Sarah and Truel, were wonderful and the fellow travelers enjoyable. Our only problem was that the trip ended too quickly. We can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding El Pescador,
March 23, 2015
By: SouthJerseyJohnny
from Moorestown NJ USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our four days at El Pescador exceeded expectations in all respects. Up-to-date, comfortable accommodations; excellent, plentiful food with great variety; a super-friendly and attentive staff; very good fishing with outstanding guides. To top it off, spent a super day visiting the impressive Mayan ruins at Lamanai. Great relaxation; total enjoyment. Going back for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
March 2, 2015
By: sondley
from NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"El Pescador delivered above and beyond. Excellent lodge, service, food, accommodations. Great fishing experience for first time salt water fly anglers. It didn't hurt that the weather was warm and sunny while snow storms rolled through at home. A gift to my fisherman husband; he was NOT disappointed. Highly recommend and would definitely go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 Years in a Row!,
February 28, 2015
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love El Pescador so much, I just returned from my 3rd consecutive year and will go back in 2016 too. Landed one tarpon and got spooled by a permit on this most recent trip. Very challenging fish. Fantastic food, guides, and staff. Lots of activities for the non-angler too. This crew knows their stuff and does it as well as anyone!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in everyway,
February 24, 2015
By: wccason
from Ambergris Caye
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Now I'm spoiled. The friendly and attentive service at El Pescador is enough to make you want to go back time and time again. Then combine that with world class fishing, well, like I said I'm now spoiled most any other spot.
Highly recommended"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Operation,
February 24, 2015
By: Beausoleil
from Broussard, LA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Top notch
"Just returned from an exciting fishing trip booked through the fine folks at Orvis. My bucket list for 2015 was to fly fish for tarpon, permit and bonefish. El Pescador was the place to be for great fishing and a short two hour out of Houston to escape the cold. The island of Ambergris Caye was beautiful along with the accommodations of El Pescador. The fine, friendly staff exceeded my expectation of what a resort should be. Thanks El,Pescador for fine memories that will last a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Destination,
January 14, 2015
By: redfish25
from Jackson, WY
"I have been hearing about El Pescador for years, and after visiting many great lodges in the Bahamas, my wife and I spent Christmas in paradise.
Everything about this operation is top notch. The staff at EP is fantastic. They pay attention to the details, are friendly without being over the top, and are incredibly helpful. The food is great, and the bar with the pool table and foosbal is a classic place to hang out.
We fished two days, one day with Vince, focused on getting my wife a bonefish. He was patient, calm, fun and we were super successful. The second day was about chasing permit with Emir, and we had great opportunities and follows but no eats.
From a non-fishing perspective, this is a perfect place for families. We went on the snorkeling adventure which was the highlight of the trip. Taking the kayaks out in the lagoon was super fun, and riding bikes to San Pedro was cool too."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Verse Better than the First,
November 24, 2014
By: JimmyK
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This has been my second trip to El Pescador and I will go back. Despite less than great weather, the food, service, new rooms, and fishing more than made up for the lack of sun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to return,
November 10, 2014
By: Biged67
from Troy, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Simply said, El Pescador does it right! The guides are great, the villa we had was outstanding, the food was excellent and the staff is like Cheers, "they always know your name"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Trip!,
November 5, 2014
By: JLeJeune
from Gloucester, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first visit to El Pescador and it won't be my last. Everything handled by Orvis and the Lodge was done with prompt professionalism with nothing left to guesswork. My arrangements were a pleasure to secure and the execution was flawless. The staff is outstanding and makes you feel right at home and is extremely attentive. Every question is answered promptly and every wish is handled. The fishing staff is keenly aware of making your angling experience the best. They evaluated my casting, gear and fly selection. They helped manage my expectations and the matching of guides to anglers. The guides are friendly and experienced. They know when to step in with help and also when to stand back and let you enjoy your experience. They are laser focused on putting you on fish.
Family style meals were delicious and satisfying with a diverse local menu. Try the Johnny Cakes for breakfast!
I can't say enough about the entire staff, as they say, I was welcomed as an honored guest but left a member of the family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return to Paradise,
October 20, 2014
By: Noble
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my third, but not final visit to El Pescador. One cannot ask for a better ran lodge and staff to deal with. The entire staff make you feel part of the family from the time the boat lands till wheels up going home.
Everyone knows your name, is very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Folks say, "People make the difference" - this is certainly true here. The food and accommodations also are top shelf. Food was over the top the entire trip. And the new accommodations are outstanding.
Oh, and the fishing is good also. Weather was not the best, but all if all it was a great trip and will be returning"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing and Family Vacation,
August 26, 2014
By: scallen
from Herndon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Orivis travel is very thorough and easy to use.
"El Pescador has everything you could want: nice accommodations, dining, pools, excursions, and fishing guides. Every member of the staff was attentive and pleasant. The guided fishing met my every need and made my first flats fishing experience a permanent memory. My family felt very comfortable and took advantage of the amenities-touring the island, taking a golf cart to town, using the pools and SUPs. Additionally, we enjoyed the snorkeling excursion on the last day of or trip. I highly recommend visiting El Pescador lodge and using Orvis travel. My family and I had an unforgettable vacation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Fishing and Vacation Experience,
June 23, 2014
By: JTflyfisher70
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The entire trip was everything I expected and more. Fishing in the park (an hour north of the lodge)was beautiful and less windy than on the lodge side of the island. I caught quite a few bonefish daily but could have caught many more if I'd been more accurate with my fly casting into the wind. The staff (every single one of them) was extremely courteous and helpful. Dining was a real joy; the food was superb. Definitely a hit in my books."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Little Slice of Paradise,
April 23, 2014
By: Bayrat
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As great as the Lodge and the scenery is, the staff made our trip. Everyone was so polite, accommodating and helpful. The food and lodging are good, fishing is world class. This is the most relaxing trip I have been on in 30 years."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
April 6, 2014
By: CynthiaH
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family went to Belize for our Spring Break and stayed at El Pescador. We had an excellent trip and loved our time at the lodge. We were looking for fishing as well as non-fishing family activities. The fishing guides were attentive, patient and instructional. The staff was exceptional, making sure all our needs were met. They arranged sightseeing and activities outside of the lodge, all of which provided outstanding service as well. A great place to stay. We would highly recommend it to any of our friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for El Pescador Lodge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
El Pesky is the BEST!,
April 5, 2014
By: MarkA1970
from Rockport, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We leave for our third trip to El Pescador in July. This is the place to go fish, go eat and go relax. There really is no finer or well run location out there. You owe it to yourself to experience it, you just cannot use enough words here to explain how truly wonderful it is!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes