Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain

Verdant green valleys, high altitude wildflower meadows and the majestic Pyrenees mountains provide a spectacular backdrop to great trout fishing in Northern Spain. Ivan Tarin has built a knowledgeable and expert fly fishing business over the last ten years that covers more than two dozen valleys across 200 miles of mountain terrain, high quality accommodation in two Lodges, and 6 expert Guides. Catch browns, rainbows, zebra (Mediterranean) trout and brook trout in streams and lakes that can only be accessed with special permission in Nature Parks in the high Pyrenees. Ivan and his Guides are great hosts, the food in the Lodges is of the highest calibre, and you will be introduced a wonderful new world of fly fishing.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Review 1 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing experience!,
August 27, 2015
By: PaulCurtis
from Wilbraham, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fishing was extraordinary, complemented by the spectacular scenery of the Spanish Pyrenees! The guides were very knowledgeable and I learned a lot as well!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
August 27, 2015
By: BradCurtis
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"One word for this trip "awesome"! Fishing, guides, scenery, food, wine and host!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Time!,
August 27, 2015
By: SusanneCurtis
from Wilbraham, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Enjoyed the hiking in the breathtaking scenery of the Pyrenees! Ivan was the perfect host serving great meals complemented by a bottomless glass of fine wines every night! The guys loved the fishing experience as well!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guides, Wonderful Fishing Experience,
August 12, 2015
By: MateoE
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 2 sons joined me on a trip to fly fish in the Spanish Pyrenees. We were welcomed to Salvelinus Lodge by Ivan Tarin and his most capable guides, Aitor and Ramon. The Lodge was charming and comfortable. The meals served at the Lodge and on the fishing trips were all feasts and the fishing was truly fabulous, a truly memorable experience. The Arragon and the Escarra Rivers in the mountains just south of the border with France were spectacular, crystal clear, cold, and full of fish. The last fishing day, we made a trip south toward Balaguer and fished the Segre. The rainbows were huge. I highly recommend Ivan and Salvenlinus. I look forward to our return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing in the Pyrenees,
July 27, 2015
By: Nikus
from Andorra
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The whole family had a great fishing holiday in the Pyrenees. From Jacetania Lodge we fished high mountain streams.
What an exceptional place! We were looked after splendidly both by Iván – a wonderful chief guide – as well as the staff at the lodge.
Our children really enjoyed themselves, they learned a lot and fished in a place they will never forget.
This was our second visit and it won´t be the last! We are thinking of making it a yearly trip.
Many thanks to Salvelinus and Iván
We´ll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life Time Adventure,
July 25, 2015
By: TKFW
from Napa, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"OK - if you're burned out by a work routine, know you need to rip yourself into a world totally alien to the one you are working in: love travel, adventure, history, fly-fishing, great food and wine. Call Ivan Tarin - a world class guide to adventure and a force of nature. He works very hard to bring the very best of his beloved Spanish Pyrenees to you, and does. Three lodges, all diverse in their charm - many streams, rivers, high mountain lakes were our home for 9 days. We shared them with native zebra browns, rainbows and trophy big browns. My wife who is a beginner went home with great memories and the beginnings of a good cast, mine improved; we loved the great attention Ivan and his guides gave us every day in the mountains. This is a beautiful part of the world, with castles and historic villages and sites. Ivan will tailor the trip around your interests. When you return home you will have an adventure of a lifetime."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please believe this review,
July 20, 2015
By: RLangford
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Ivan in the Pyrenees Mountains was an experience of a lifetime. My wife, daughter, 2 sons and I had an wonderful time in a beautiful setting, catching lots of browns and rainbows. Ivan's attention to detail was amazing. We all have different levels of fishing skills and interests so Ivan balanced the locations and intensity of fishing to the individual needs of my family. The accommodations were excellent. The idea of sleeping in a very comfortable lodge in a village that was created in the 1300s blows my mind. We fished the high country and the low country. They are very different and equally great places to fish.
The food and wine Ivan served us is some of the best I've ever had. Please take the time to go to his website and give this trip some serious consideration. Ivan is a master guide and host.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fishing trip,
June 10, 2015
By: koky
from Spain
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This trip was my best fishing experience, the level of learning was fantastic, and of course, fishing in the pyrenees is an incredible experience.
The lodge is very peaceful and homely.
I recommend this trip to my best friend. 10/10
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fishing in spain,
June 8, 2015
By: serge65
from france
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"three days fishing in spain very fabulous magnific rivers, very pretty lodge near the river and a very nice service guiding
meals include near the river like a 5 stars
thanks for all"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
salvelinus fishing aventure,
June 7, 2015
By: serge65
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"'I just spent three fantastic days with salvelinus fishing adventure a memorable experience in the lodge in santa cilia in spain . in a quaint lodge has the cozy ambience or on constantly seeks to make you
happy .the fishing was perfect. guides, true professionals showed me very fishy river, uncrowded and what about the picnic table with real glasses and cutlery and chairs all in a
truly fabulous mountain environment. salvelinus thank you
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific!,
May 31, 2015
By: hteiii
from Georgia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was in Spain for work and took a couple of days for recreation at the Salvelinus lodge in the Eastern Pyrenees. I've been to Spain a bunch and had always wanted to try it out. The lodge is in the village of Aren. It was just terrific! The food was outstanding and I am already acquainted with Spanish cuisine. This was really good. The service at the restaurant and lodge could not have been better. But the fishing! Several days out and they ranged from good to some-of-the-best-I've-ever-had. The Rio Segre was just beautiful and a wonderful fishery. I've never caught so many 20" plus browns and rainbows in my life in one day. I had to soak my wrist in ice water that night. All the other fisheries were quite good as well. Ivan and his crew are the best. I really enjoyed my time with one of the seasoned guides, Ramone. What gentlemen! Don't miss this opportunity."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide, Great fishing!!!,
October 30, 2013
By: GunpowderJ
from Baltimore, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I went to Spain for work, and as I often do, I will look up potential fisheries and fishing opportunities. I got wind of Ivan Tarin and Salvelinus and took a chance fishing in the Pyrenees. It was amazing! Not only was it some of the most beautiful country I've ever fished, the fishery is unpressured and full of sizable willing fish happy to crush surface flies. Ivan is a wonderful guide and host, and Juan Antonio at the Ribagorça lodge is an amazing cook (best meal I had in a country of amazing food). I was only able to fish for two days, but in that time, we prospected a productive tailwater, sight fished for still water zebras, and chased natives and browns in a mountain freestone. All produced great fish! I managed to land rainbows, browns, and the native zebra brown...only missing out on a chance at high mountain brookies because it was late in the season. Ivan worked hard to make sure the trip was customized to my interests (and we were all over the place with my ADD). I thought of the Pyrenees as a 'while I'm there' kind of destination, but now....I would go back just for the fishing, food, and great people. Great job Ivan!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Salvelinus Lodge, Pyrenees, Spain
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience,
October 28, 2013
By: FishSterling
from Sterling, CO 80751, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pre-trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ivan was quick to email and answer any and all questions we had.
"My fiancee and I recently returned from fishing with Ivan Tarin of Salvelinus in late September and what an exceptional time it was! We were the only anglers everywhere we went, and received expert advice and pointers the entire time that led to incredible fishing. We were never at a dull moment, using various techniques and tricks for different locations and conditions. Ivan went out of his way to be instructive and helpful, not to mention an engaging and humble host. We were treated with the utmost respect and some of the finest food and wine in the world. If we can, we will be returning to experience Salvelinus again! 5 Stars!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes