Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015

Fly Fish and explore one of America's iconic landscapes with a small group from Orvis on our Montana fly fishing trip. Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge is a working cattle ranch located just a few miles from the northern boundary of Yellowstone National Park, overlooking Montana's Paradise Valley and its Yellowstone River. The lodge has been hosting anglers for years and has twice been recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Lodge of the Year. Their expert fly fishing guides are delighted to share some of the best trout streams in the Rockies with our group, and July is a perfect time to visit the area for some Montana fly fishing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Review 1 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going Back for a third time in 2013,
August 7, 2012
By: RobertH
from North Carolina
"My wife and I just returned from our 2nd straight year at Hubbard’s Lodge during Orvis Week. We are planning on going back next year also. The managers were awesome, as were all the staff. They all were extremely service orientated and very friendly. The Chefs are very good (some dinner portions were small after fishing all day) as the food was prepared just perfect. The best part was my fishing guide. I could spend the day telling you how great our guide was with my wife and me. I only wish I could have found Hubbard’s years ago. I will recommend this trip and Hubbard’s to anyone who wants to have a fantastic fishing trip and be treated like family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A mixed review!,
July 30, 2012
By: Spotthedog
from U.K.
"Hubbard's Lodge is a beautifully presented Lodge set in an ideal location. The food and standard of accommodation is excellent.
However, given its location, at the "mecca" of American trout fly fishing, the variety and quality of the fishing did not match the standards of the Lodge. We visited the exact same fishing location twice in the first three days which was a real disappointment, given the potentially huge variety of fishing locations available. Our fishing was halted early on the final day when we were stopped from fishing by a Federal Officer for fishing where we were not supposed to be!! I feel the fishing guide let us down and spoiled what should have been a great trip.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Response from Orvis:By JasonOrvis TravelAugust 6, 2012
This customer's comments are completely valid. I take responsibility for not advising him better. I knew he had very specific interests, but didn't encourage him to book a private guide, which I believe would have provided him a much better experience.
Review 3 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip I've Ever Been On,
August 16, 2011
By: BHay
"The most enjoyable part of the trip was meeting all the nice people there, fishing with my wife, the lodge, staff, and food. Also how well Orvis did in arranging all details, Jason Elkins was great in every aspect.
I am not in good health. My guide was very patient with me, and literally did everything for me except catch my fish. He was great!
We are going back next year the same time. Trying to get a 1 yr reunion.
Can't go wrong with Orvis trips!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most of us Plan to Return Next Year,
August 16, 2011
By: Eastways
from Dublin, Ohio
"The accomodations at the lodge and the food were outstanding. Our guide was second to none and the places we fished in Yellowstone National Park were beautiful. In addition, we made a lot of new friends on the trip. Our group from Orvis was great and most of us plan to return next July.
Planning by Jason Elkins from Orvis Travel was thorough, complete and timely. Things could not have been better for us. Jason made sure that every aspect of our trip was outstanding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our First Trip Like This,
August 16, 2011
By: PCommons
"Jason, our Orvis trip leader, was great at drawing us all together and making it a great experience. The staff made everyone feel like family, and Charlie enjoyed the fishing. All interaction made it seem that we were treated as individuals, and our needs were important"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Lodge is Top-Notch,
August 16, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Jason Elkins from Orvis Travel helped make this trip much easier for me by staying in contact with me on a regular basis. GREAT communication
My guide, Steve Michaelchuck (best in the business) first-class knowledge, excellent attitude, one of the nicest individuals I can ever remember meeting. If i could rate him 6 stars, I would do that. He is a fantastic guide and all-around master of the environment.
The lodge owners are superb. Went way beyond to make sure that everything was right. Great family values and very personable.
This lodge is in a class of its own. Attention to detail is applied on all levels. Few places can compare to this level of service, atmosphere, and accomodations. The lodge is top-notch!!
The fishing can be described as classic, unmatched by any other place I have ever fished. I only wish we could have floated the Yellowstone River, but the water level was unsafe and I understand that. No big deal.
If you want the best service, best guides, best food, best atmosphere, this is then place to go."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father Daughter Trip of a Lifetime,
August 16, 2011
By: Grandpataught
"This was the trip of a lifetime I planned on having with my daughter prior to her leaving for college. I can not thank Jason Elkins, from Orvis Travel and Nancy from the lodge enough. Everything was well coordinated with the staff and us. Jason even recommended several things to do on our pre and post trip travel. The participants on the trip and the lodge staff that made it one of the best trips my daughter and I ever had.
Our flight was delayed by 1 1/2 days by the airlines. We did not arrive at our destination until the morning after the trip started. On top of that our luggage was lost with no confirmation as to when it would show up. From the moment we arrived, even though we were tired, lacked gear, and in general pretty poor attitude about how the trip was going, again no fault Orvis, we were treated like honored guests. We were given everything we needed, provided some things that were even above the call like fishing shirt right out of the owners closet. New pants and every piece of gear needed to make a day fishing enjoyable. How can you say thank you enough to people like that. I am fortunate to have had my luggage misplaced for a few days so I could experiance the kindness and over performance of a great lodge. Everyone needs to experience a place like that."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rocky Mountain Trout Roundup, Yellowstone, July 2015
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Trip is Well Worth the Cost,
September 29, 2010
By: WallyW
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall appearance/quality of camp: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fishing was great and the companionship was outstanding. I really felt a part of the group, eventhough I was by myself. The only part of the trip that was the least bit unsatisfactory was the weather. As the saying goes "you pays your money you takes your chances"
My guide Matthew was not only an excellent guide, but very knowledgable about the area and was a good conversationalist.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes