Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA

Come experience the best fly fishing Virginia has to offer! Our fly shop is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley only minutes away from spring creek brown trout on the famous Mossy Creek. We are also surrounded by wild brook trout in the freestone mountain streams of The George Washington National Forest and Shenandoah National Park. We fish for smallmouth and largemouth bass, musky, and carp on the Shenandoah and James Rivers. Our shop also manages many stretches of private trophy trout water on local spring creeks and rivers. Private and corporate fly fishing lessons and clinics are available at our schools in Harrisonburg or Wintergreen Resort, Virginia.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Review 1 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Morning on Smith Creek,
August 11, 2014
By: GMC1
from Arlington, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Where to start! When I requested this half-day trout trip with the guys at Mossy Creek a while back, I indicated that I really needed time to work on my skills (casting, setting the hook, reeling, etc...) as I had never caught anything bigger than an 8" trout. Mossy Creek guide Frank Polito knocked it out of the park! Frank very quickly identified what skills I needed to adjust, bad habits (excessive false casting) I needed to break, and was very patient in his approach. I learned many new skills, and also learned many basic points about fly fishing that I had not known before. Frank clearly knows his stuff, and put me on many amazing fish throughout the morning. A very exciting and rewarding day for me! Frank also guided my 12 year-old son and a couple friends during a trip last year and did an amazing job with the kids. I don't think there is anyone Frank can't guide successfully. I would fish with Frank as my guide anytime, and hope to soon.
Without a doubt, the guys at Mossy Creek Fly Fishing have always been extremely helpful and supportive every time I've been to their neck of the woods. Not only are they excited about sharing their clear passion for the sport, but they are also dedicated to maintaining the simple rewarding aspects of fly fishing that have drawn us all to this wonderful sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic First Experience,
April 12, 2014
By: GWD6113
from Clifton, VA 20124, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A fantastic guide and teacher.
"A one day lesson at Mossy Creek followed with a day of fishing one of their private waters with guide Dusty Wissmath and I am hooked on fly fishing. Have been collecting fly fishing equipment for 40 years but never used it. For my 70th birthday my wife bought me the lesson and a day of guided fishing. The only negative is that I now know that I have lost 40 ears in which I could be fishing. From the first fish to the three monsters that were able to escape the landing net, I had the best birthday of my life. Caught and released 8 to 10 rainbows and lost one that my guide said had to be between 24 and 26 inches. Colby and Brian, the owners of Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, take customer service to a new level and, though I was a beginner, I was treated extremely well by them and guide Dusty. With fish like that swimming in their waters I will certainly be back. Whether you are new as I was or an old hand you owe it to yourself to give Mossy Creek a try, you won't be sorry."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Above and Beyond",
November 18, 2013
By: SFall
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Given that consumers are looking more to the internet to make purchases I wanted to share a "truly amazing" in the store experience. I was in the market for a new 4 wt and reel for Brook Trout in the Valley. My family has taken a number of guided trips with Mossy Creek and the experience has always been outstanding. Owner Colby Trow and I spoke on the phone a number of times and we made an appointment for us to meet and review my choices. Note he came in on his day off to personally help me. He selected 3 different rods too sample and explained in detail the slight difference of each in performance and feel. He did the same with the reels that keep me in the desired price range. Once my choice was made on my new rod and reel he selected a number of flies and reviewed knots and set ups to ensure our success.
This was a first rate experience and I would recommend that any angler in the market for a new outfit take the time to visit or call Mossy Creek Fly Shop for the best insight and advice in VA. You will not only preform better on the water but will have a better understanding of your equipment's full potential."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great team,
November 12, 2013
By: highroadcutter
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Smooth operation run by great guys who are passionate about conservation and knowledgeable about fly fishing. Best fly fishing experience from start to finish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fall Trout Fishing,
November 8, 2013
By: flyfishing1332
from Harrisonburg, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Brian was extremely helpful and patient in providing guidance to my wife, who enjoys fly fishing, but has limited experience.
"My wife and I had a most enjoyable day on the water fishing for trout on Smith Creek with Brian Trow of Mossy Creek Fly Fishing. Brian is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and a delightful fellow with whom to spend a day on the stream."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Experience,
September 2, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Richmond, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished and dealt with Colby and Brian for a number of years. While I fuly endorse what has already been posted, I feel I have to add a few comments.
The Trows intimate knowledge of the rivers and stream that they fish is unsurpassed. From Carp to Muskies. they know where the fish are and will do their level best to get you the "Big One". How they maintain their enthusiasm from day to day and trip to trip amazes me.
Their enthusiastic and intense but low key approach to guiding is both infectious and rewarding for both the beginner and experianced fly fisherman/woman.
But probably their best traits are their business ethic and customer service commitment that make you want to come back again and again.
I can't thim of an outfetter better desrving of the Orvis endorsement
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 7 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Its a Lifestyle!",
August 31, 2013
By: VBDUKES
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Expert training and taught my 9 year old the basics in a day. He is now 14 and loves the sport!
"It has been 4 plus years since my first trip with Brian and Colby and I have enjoyed countless since. I have also taken a number of close friends, clients, and most importantly my family with the Trow's and their patient and very professional guides. I have had some of the most memorable moments on the water with my family due to the attention to detail and unparallelled passion of the Trow's. I have also turn to them for my saltwater fly fishing needs as they have provided expert advice and in some cases over-nighted needed equipment personally handed by them. Their commitment to the waters they fish and the community they live is also part of the overall lifestyle they live. If you are a first time angler or season veteran contact Mossy Creek and you will not regret it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best,
August 28, 2013
By: SFall
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Can't say enough good things about the folks at Mossy Creek! They treat each time on the water like its their first... taking the extra steps to teach the fundamentals of fly fishing! As a female angler who has fished with a spinning rod her whole life, I have been quick to learn why they love what they do and can't wait to go back- Now I can't imagine fishing any other way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Memories for our family,
August 27, 2013
By: GRobert
from Warrenton, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"You hate to give all your secrets away, because when you find something great, you want to keep it quiet. But somethings have to be shared. Mossy Creek Fly Fishing is one such thing.
I have fished with the Mossy Creek boys several times with my son, my dad, my sister, my brother in law, and my nephews. It has been kind of a family affair. We have done the float trips as well as the fly fishing in the streams and had a great day each and every time.
The Trow's do an excellent job and their passion for the sport is evident. These boys cannot wait to get on the water.
Thanks for everything and we will be back. Soon I hope."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mossy Creek Fly Fishing, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
August 8, 2013
By: Ricgua
from Highland Park, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:3 different trips 3 excellent guides looking forward to meeting Shane at the end of this month!
"I happened upon Mossy's fly shop four years ago while on a vacation in Shenandoah and I have been hooked ever since. I have been out for bass, musky and trout with these guys. The guides here are patient, friendly, knowledgeable and most importantly they get you on the fish. Even if you are not going out with them and you want some advice where to go, they still get you on the fish. They bring customer service to a whole new level. I cannot say enough good things about this crew!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes