Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD

Savage River Angler offers float and wade services for wild and stocked trout, as well as smallmouth bass in far western Maryland. We practice catch and release with barbless flies. The Savage and North Branch Potomac are tailwater wild trout fisheries that offer outstanding angling all summer long. During spring, spend a lot of time guiding the Casselman, upper Savage, and upper North Branch of the Potomac. Most guiding takes place in catch and release or trophy trout management areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.972 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 36(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Review 1 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended,
May 26, 2015
By: RobCW
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ took me on a full-day wade in late May. We spent the first half of the day on the North Branch of the Potomac and the second half on the lower Savage. I'm a novice fly fisherman, and PJ was patient with me, eager to help me learn, and a great teacher. I went from having a very basic understanding of the sport to a significantly deeper grasp of angling strategy and technique. Just as important, we had a ton of fun. PJ is a great guy and a great person to spend your day with. I highly recommend him!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
May 23, 2015
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great experience! PJ took my dad and I to the northern branch. He was extremely patient with my dad who is a beginner. I fly fish myself - fairly often - and PJ taught me some new techniques that I can use in the future. I managed to land nine rainbows and missed a few others. I would highly recommend him as a guide. He is also located near the Deep Creek area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully patient teacher,
May 18, 2015
By: fishernan
"I'm a beginner who has only fished a few times. PJ is a very patient, thorough, and excellent teacher. He is easy and pleasant to be around. He pulls out all the stops and isn't satisfied until I've caught some fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trout trip we ever had,
May 16, 2015
By: Szoobie
from Upper Potomac River
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Loved the care he gave to released fish to make sure they were around for the rest
"PJ really makes for a great trip. He knows the area and can give history/flow rates/hot spots and on. I am not used to being taken care of so well as we usually try things on our own but it was a really positive time with PJ and we caught the biggest and most trout either of us ever caught. Would highly recommend PJ for "beyond expectations" kind of trout trip. Any tangles or break offs that were my fault he would handle for me as I took in the beautiful setting. A real memory maker... Thanks PJ"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Experience Ever,
May 13, 2015
By: EASTFLYJade12
from North Branch, MD 21502, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We went on a drift trip with P J Daley on the North Branch it was a wonderful trip.PJ is very passionate about this River and the trout . He knows where they all hide . We had a very good day being with PJ is like being with a good friend . I highly recommend P J Daley"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Float trips,
May 13, 2015
By: MinnowSlayer
from Ashland, VA 23005, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Myself and 5 others had a great 3 days of fishing with PJ Dailey. Sunday PJ guided myself and a friend on the Savage Rive. This was just a tune up for two float trips on the North Branch of the Potomac River. Between the two trips we caught and released over 60 Rainbows and Browns. I've fished with PJ many many times and am never disappointed. Each time he tries even harder than the last trip. Fishing was tough as a front came through Monday night and Tuesday we expected a slow day. Not PJ. He remained confident and his confidence was passed on to us. He arranged everything from lodging and transportation to a wonderful lunch on the river. If you want to have a great time on the water, and gain knowledge, don't look any further than PJ Dailey."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Conservation and Fishing,
May 4, 2015
By: BARC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ is very knowledgable, both regarding the trout and surrounding landscape. He is a steward of the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day!,
April 22, 2015
By: MNFishMan
from McHenry, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ is a very knowledgeable guide. Even though the water was high on most waters, he found a place on the Casselman where we caught fish and honed our fly fishing skills.
We had a great time and would recommend going with PJ any day of the week!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience,
April 20, 2015
By: PureCoffee
from MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would highly recommend PJ Daley's Guide Service. My brother, eldest Son and I used PJ for my 50th Birthday and we were extremely satisfied. PJ is friendly, knowledgeable, patient, giving, and just everything one wants in a guide. He knows the area like the back of his hand and provided us with memories of a lifetime. He delivered! Everyone of us caught fish! I am going to use PJ again in the near future and have already recommended him to co workers in Eastern MD."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing day!,
October 30, 2014
By: Doc1234
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Late October float trip was great. We had an opportunity to fish multiple types of rigs. We even experimented with Tenkura from the float boat!. had a great time ..... caught healthy fish .... Developed a new friend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enthusiatic, helpful guide,
October 17, 2014
By: Trek57
from Williamsburg, Virginia
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recommend P J Daley highly as a flyfishing guide. He is thoughtful, patient and full of insights improving not only your day on the water with him, but all of your future trips. His enthusiasm for fishing, and care for the resource are impressive. I am excited to return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Day Fly Fishing,
September 20, 2014
By: Stillera
from cuurently N Virginia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:an exceptional guide who promoted quality Orvis products and catch & release fishing
"This was my second time fly fishing. PJ was an exceptional teacher with years of experience and lots of patience. He provided an incredible day of fishing while teaching me how to present the fly and setting the hook...that was the hard part. Caught and released beautiful browns. I could not have asked for a better day. You'll be lucky if you get him as a guide. Thanks PJ, Al"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Persistence Pays Off,
September 18, 2014
By: Randwell2000
from Creola, OH 45622, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I went out with PJ on 9/17. It was a beautiful day but we just couldn't get a fish interested. PJ pulled out all the stops to make sure we got on some fish. He exhausted all of the "usual" offerings and went to streamers as a last ditch effort. BAM! They went for it on almost every cast. instead of getting discouraged PJ kept at it and used all of his knowledge to make the day a success. I am a long time fisherman but beginning fly fisherman so I had some bad habits to correct. PJ was able to get me up to speed quickly and i felt I learned in 4 hours what would have taken me a year on my own. I hope to book him again soon and would recommend him to anyone.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainbows on the Potomac,
September 9, 2014
By: Eperugini
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend and I fished with PJ yesterday on the Potomac and we were on fish pretty much all day. We landed quite a few very nice Rainbows in the 12" to 18" range. PJ was very personable, knowledgeable and he's got a good sense of humor. He knows the river and the fish and works hard to keep his customers engaged. He was eager to point out natural features along including fish habitat, insect eco systems and wildlife. PJ also has a good teaching style, offering pointers on technique all in an effort to improve our fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Master,
September 7, 2014
By: JimatDCL
from Baltimore, MD
"This is my third trip with PJ: a wade trip on the Lower Savage, a float last Summer on the upper section of the North Branch, and a float yesterday on the lower section of the North Branch. PJ has shared generously both his extensive knowledge of fly fishing and the techniques that work best on these two wonderful rivers. Yesterday was a perfect example. Late Summer conditions were less than ideal, but PJ had us on fish with the correct flies throughout the entire day--some of whom he seems to know on a first name basis! PJ is also personable and incredibly hard-working in his efforts repeatedly to put the boat in the correct position so that we caught a large number of sizable, health fish. Both the Lower Savage and the North Branch are outstanding fisheries, and, if you choose to visit, PJ should be your choice to guide your Western Maryland fishing experience. It is difficult to imagine that anyone could do this any better. PJ is a worthy candidate for Orvis Guide of the Year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing fun!,
September 1, 2014
By: JGonzales
from Savage River, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Professional and personable.
"P.J. was an excellent guide, fun, and very instructive. Me and a friend caught some beautiful brown and rainbow trout. If you want to have a good fly fishing trip you can't do better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 13, 2014
By: Briandp332
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure of fishing with PJ. I am a beginner and was looking for someone who could assist me and I found someone who in my opinion was the best. PJ was fun, patient and taught me more in a few hours than. I had learned in 2 years of being on the water alone. He knew where to find the fish, how to approach them, how to present the fly and also offered great advice on the how's, why's and small details that are essential to a good fly fishing experience. I would HIGHLY recommend PJ regardless of your skill level you will have a great experience. I will definitely be using him in the future and would recommend him 100%."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great morning on the Savage River,
August 12, 2014
By: craiglv
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a terrific morning on the Savage River with PJ. Terrrific dry fly action all morning . PJ knew where the fish were, what they were eating and where to position me to get a good drift . It was a 1st rate experience on beautiful water ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry flys on the Lower Savage,
August 10, 2014
By: Southsider
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Highly recommend him.
"It was my first dry fly trip on the Lower Savage River yesterday (Aug 9) with PJ and all of my expectations were exceeded. With the guidance of PJ I was able to land a few native brownies and bookies on this technical river while learning the ins and outs of dry fly fishing. He was very patient and encouraging throughout my half day wade and his enthusiasm for this river is very evident. I highly recommend hiring him as your guide. I am already planning a float trip on the north branch of the Potomac next month."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful day,
July 21, 2014
By: MinnowSlayer
from Ashland, VA 23005, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went on a float trip with PJ Daley on July 8, 2014. Took my daughter for the first time fly fishing. PJ took a lot of time explaining the elements of fly Fishing to my daughter, and worked with her all day long on presentation and casting. Long story short. she had a wonderful day landing 6 out of 8 for the day. I now have a new fishing buddy"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes