Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD

Savage River Angler offers float and wade services for wild and stocked trout, as well as smallmouth bass in far western Maryland. We practice catch and release with barbless flies. The Savage and North Branch Potomac are tailwater wild trout fisheries that offer outstanding angling all summer long. During spring, spend a lot of time guiding the Casselman, upper Savage, and upper North Branch of the Potomac. Most guiding takes place in catch and release or trophy trout management areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.979 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 of 48(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Review 1 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Guide,
August 22, 2015
By: MatthewR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ is a terrific guide. I have been fly fishing for 20 years and a half-day float trip with PJ on the North Branch of the Potomac made me a better fly fisherman, hooked me up with some of the finest fish I ever caught, and was one of the most enjoyable experiences fishing that I ever had. My teenage son who never fly fished before was with me. PJ had him casting, catching fish, and laughing in no time. My son and I are already planing our next trip with PJ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Float,
July 20, 2015
By: EricBalt
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Floated the Westernport section on July 17. PJ put us on some good fish and kept us fishing hard all through the float. Learned some new tricks and had a great time. Looking forward to using Savage River Angler again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Weekend,
July 19, 2015
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"PJ puts you on fish. Enough said. You will catch fish with PJ. We fished the North Branch and Savage and had a blast. Caught a ton of fish and sharped my fly fishing skills. You will be a better fisherman after spending time with PJ. Can't wait for my next float and wade trip with PJ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Year #2 - Another Great Time,
July 17, 2015
By: GeoffW
from Cleveland, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second year fishing with PJ. As the year before, we had a great time and I left a better angler than when I arrived. I'll be back next year.
Get out and fish with PJ!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Branch of Potomac,
June 19, 2015
By: Stefanbabij
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My cousin and I floated the North Branch of the Potomac bellow the mill, we didn't have very ideal conditions yet PJ put us on some fantastic dry flies fish, we also got a bunch of fish a nymphs. PJ knows the river extremely well and will put you on fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time on the Savage, Awesome Guide!,
June 16, 2015
By: bigzy00
from College Park, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad and I did both a half-day wade and a half-day float with PJ. I don't have that much experience fly fishing, but PJ took the time to improve my cast and technique, which made an enormous difference. He is extremely knowledgable and you will definitely be a better angler by the end of your trip. I guarantee nobody knows the Savage better than PJ, he knows where the fish are and there is no doubt you will catch fish with him. The float and the wade are both worthwhile, and I would definitely recommend doing them both if you have time. Bottom line, PJ is a great guide and a great guy, and you will have an awesome time and catch some sweet fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide Ever,
June 16, 2015
By: VBiggs
from Amherst, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He was amazing.
"My 22 year old son and I fished with PJ for 2 days, Savage River (wade) and North Branch of the Potomac (float). The experience was incredible. PJ is talented, knowledgeable and and amazing teacher. We caught a lot of fish and he really improved my son's skill, a beginner, in a very short period of time. Great time and I would recommend him to anyone looking for some great fishing in western Maryland."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Savage River Angler Float,
June 15, 2015
By: flyfishwv1
from WV
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"“Profit in business comes from repeat customers, customers that boast about your project or service, and that bring friends with them.” -W. Edwards Deming
I recently did a float trip with PJ down the C&R section of the N. Branch from Barnum, WV to Bloomington, MD. First off, for the weeks and months leading up to the trip, PJ was EXTREMELY gracious with his time. He was willing and available to speak on the phone numerous times to answer any and all of the questions that I had for him and to generally discuss all things fishing and impart his many years of experience on the conversation.
During the float, it was obvious that PJ is an absolute expert guide. He worked hard to get us on fish and did a great job teaching us what we needed to do, how to do it, and why. I will definitely be doing another trip with Savage River Angler and HIGHLY recommend to anyone to spend time on the water with PJ... you'd be a much better angler for it and have a blast in the process!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June Fishing 2015,
June 15, 2015
By: Kidtrout
from Potomac River Garrett County MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished again with PJ on two separate occasions ( June 2 & 10th ) . Totally two different days on the same section of the Potomac an each day was fantastic. On the second outing I brought a friend who was very new to Fly Fishing and PJ was able to work with him and put him on some fish as well as saving him from falling into the river when he tried to set a hook ! Can;t say enough about PJ's experience as a guide and knowledge of our local waters here in Western MD. If you are planning or thinking about a fly fishing trip in Western MD PJ is your guy! Don't wait!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With P J Daley on The Potomac,
June 8, 2015
By: JackLaw
from Pittsburgh, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"P J Daley brings experience, expertise, knowledge and enthusiasm to the most exciting and productive wild trout float fishing trip you will experience. His knowledge of the river and strength of handling the float craft are phenomenal. I am going back to do it again. Thanks P J."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great float trip with PJ,
June 8, 2015
By: wmarsh422
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a very educational, enjoyable and productive float trip from Barnum, WV back to Maryland with PJ. He worked extremely hard due to the low flows but put us on alot of fish and both of us were able to boat rainbows, browns and brookies. He is a strong instructor and has a passion for improving your abilities and landing fish. Excellent scenery, gorgeous river and he is alot of fun. If you are planning a trip in this area, PJ is a must have guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Late Spring on North Branch,
June 1, 2015
By: JimatDCL
from Baltimore, MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my fourth guided trip with PJ Daley, the Owner of Savage River Angler. The first was a wade trip on the Lower Savage. The last three have been float trips down different sections of Western Maryland's largest river: the North Branch of the Potomac. PJ is just the consummate guide. In a variety of conditions, he works hard and with great patience to put you on fish. Fishing with his guidance and suggestions, based on his many years on the water with a fly rod in hand, is always a valuable learning experience. And he is great company. We caught many wild Rainbow and Brown trout, including a beautiful wild Brown in excess of 20 inches. If you live within several hours or so of Garrett County, MD, you should make plans to visit either the North Branch for a float or the Lower Savage for a wade trip with PJ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended,
May 26, 2015
By: RobCW
from Washington, DC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ took me on a full-day wade in late May. We spent the first half of the day on the North Branch of the Potomac and the second half on the lower Savage. I'm a novice fly fisherman, and PJ was patient with me, eager to help me learn, and a great teacher. I went from having a very basic understanding of the sport to a significantly deeper grasp of angling strategy and technique. Just as important, we had a ton of fun. PJ is a great guy and a great person to spend your day with. I highly recommend him!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
May 23, 2015
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great experience! PJ took my dad and I to the northern branch. He was extremely patient with my dad who is a beginner. I fly fish myself - fairly often - and PJ taught me some new techniques that I can use in the future. I managed to land nine rainbows and missed a few others. I would highly recommend him as a guide. He is also located near the Deep Creek area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully patient teacher,
May 18, 2015
By: fishernan
"I'm a beginner who has only fished a few times. PJ is a very patient, thorough, and excellent teacher. He is easy and pleasant to be around. He pulls out all the stops and isn't satisfied until I've caught some fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trout trip we ever had,
May 16, 2015
By: Szoobie
from Upper Potomac River
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Loved the care he gave to released fish to make sure they were around for the rest
"PJ really makes for a great trip. He knows the area and can give history/flow rates/hot spots and on. I am not used to being taken care of so well as we usually try things on our own but it was a really positive time with PJ and we caught the biggest and most trout either of us ever caught. Would highly recommend PJ for "beyond expectations" kind of trout trip. Any tangles or break offs that were my fault he would handle for me as I took in the beautiful setting. A real memory maker... Thanks PJ"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Experience Ever,
May 13, 2015
By: EASTFLYJade12
from North Branch, MD 21502, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We went on a drift trip with P J Daley on the North Branch it was a wonderful trip.PJ is very passionate about this River and the trout . He knows where they all hide . We had a very good day being with PJ is like being with a good friend . I highly recommend P J Daley"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Float trips,
May 13, 2015
By: MinnowSlayer
from Ashland, VA 23005, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Myself and 5 others had a great 3 days of fishing with PJ Dailey. Sunday PJ guided myself and a friend on the Savage Rive. This was just a tune up for two float trips on the North Branch of the Potomac River. Between the two trips we caught and released over 60 Rainbows and Browns. I've fished with PJ many many times and am never disappointed. Each time he tries even harder than the last trip. Fishing was tough as a front came through Monday night and Tuesday we expected a slow day. Not PJ. He remained confident and his confidence was passed on to us. He arranged everything from lodging and transportation to a wonderful lunch on the river. If you want to have a great time on the water, and gain knowledge, don't look any further than PJ Dailey."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Conservation and Fishing,
May 4, 2015
By: BARC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ is very knowledgable, both regarding the trout and surrounding landscape. He is a steward of the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day!,
April 22, 2015
By: MNFishMan
from McHenry, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ is a very knowledgeable guide. Even though the water was high on most waters, he found a place on the Casselman where we caught fish and honed our fly fishing skills.
We had a great time and would recommend going with PJ any day of the week!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes