Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD

Savage River Angler offers float and wade services for wild and stocked trout, as well as smallmouth bass in far western Maryland. We practice catch and release with barbless flies. The Savage and North Branch Potomac are tailwater wild trout fisheries that offer outstanding angling all summer long. During spring, spend a lot of time guiding the Casselman, upper Savage, and upper North Branch of the Potomac. Most guiding takes place in catch and release or trophy trout management areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.957 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Review 1 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainbows on the Potomac,
September 9, 2014
By: Eperugini
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend and I fished with PJ yesterday on the Potomac and we were on fish pretty much all day. We landed quite a few very nice Rainbows in the 12" to 18" range. PJ was very personable, knowledgeable and he's got a good sense of humor. He knows the river and the fish and works hard to keep his customers engaged. He was eager to point out natural features along including fish habitat, insect eco systems and wildlife. PJ also has a good teaching style, offering pointers on technique all in an effort to improve our fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Master,
September 7, 2014
By: JimatDCL
from Baltimore, MD
"This is my third trip with PJ: a wade trip on the Lower Savage, a float last Summer on the upper section of the North Branch, and a float yesterday on the lower section of the North Branch. PJ has shared generously both his extensive knowledge of fly fishing and the techniques that work best on these two wonderful rivers. Yesterday was a perfect example. Late Summer conditions were less than ideal, but PJ had us on fish with the correct flies throughout the entire day--some of whom he seems to know on a first name basis! PJ is also personable and incredibly hard-working in his efforts repeatedly to put the boat in the correct position so that we caught a large number of sizable, health fish. Both the Lower Savage and the North Branch are outstanding fisheries, and, if you choose to visit, PJ should be your choice to guide your Western Maryland fishing experience. It is difficult to imagine that anyone could do this any better. PJ is a worthy candidate for Orvis Guide of the Year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing fun!,
September 1, 2014
By: JGonzales
from Savage River, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Professional and personable.
"P.J. was an excellent guide, fun, and very instructive. Me and a friend caught some beautiful brown and rainbow trout. If you want to have a good fly fishing trip you can't do better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 13, 2014
By: Briandp332
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure of fishing with PJ. I am a beginner and was looking for someone who could assist me and I found someone who in my opinion was the best. PJ was fun, patient and taught me more in a few hours than. I had learned in 2 years of being on the water alone. He knew where to find the fish, how to approach them, how to present the fly and also offered great advice on the how's, why's and small details that are essential to a good fly fishing experience. I would HIGHLY recommend PJ regardless of your skill level you will have a great experience. I will definitely be using him in the future and would recommend him 100%."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great morning on the Savage River,
August 12, 2014
By: craiglv
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a terrific morning on the Savage River with PJ. Terrrific dry fly action all morning . PJ knew where the fish were, what they were eating and where to position me to get a good drift . It was a 1st rate experience on beautiful water ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry flys on the Lower Savage,
August 10, 2014
By: Southsider
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Highly recommend him.
"It was my first dry fly trip on the Lower Savage River yesterday (Aug 9) with PJ and all of my expectations were exceeded. With the guidance of PJ I was able to land a few native brownies and bookies on this technical river while learning the ins and outs of dry fly fishing. He was very patient and encouraging throughout my half day wade and his enthusiasm for this river is very evident. I highly recommend hiring him as your guide. I am already planning a float trip on the north branch of the Potomac next month."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful day,
July 21, 2014
By: MinnowSlayer
from Ashland, VA 23005, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went on a float trip with PJ Daley on July 8, 2014. Took my daughter for the first time fly fishing. PJ took a lot of time explaining the elements of fly Fishing to my daughter, and worked with her all day long on presentation and casting. Long story short. she had a wonderful day landing 6 out of 8 for the day. I now have a new fishing buddy"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great teacher!,
July 10, 2014
By: fishernan
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent a half day on the North Branch of the Potomac with PJ Dailey in June. What a super day! I am a beginner and PJ explained what was what and patiently answered all my questions! We even caught fish!. I highly recommend him as a guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Guide,
July 8, 2014
By: RR789
from Hightstown, NJ
"Fishing the tail water of the Savage for the first time with P.J. was a great experience. He is the consummate professional fishing guide. Willing to impart his knowledge of the river and the art of fly fishing, I came away learning many things which will help me on the water and make me a better angler. If you enjoy catching wild brownies on dry flies, P.J. is the go-to guide and fishing partner."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating North Branch of Potomac,
June 25, 2014
By: HaroldtheFinatic
from North Branch of Potomac
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ Daley from Savage River Anglers took me and my wife for a day long float down the North Branch of the Potomac. PJ was very professional right from the start. He gave us options for which stretches of river to float and when water conditions were tough due to excessive rains, he gave us the option to choose another date to fish- which we did. We very much enjoyed our trip with PJ. He was knowledgeable and very attentive. We slammed fish as PJ knows every bit of the stretch of river we fished. He was very good getting my wife on rising fish and she caught many on the dry fly. He kept us on fish well after dark. PJ was very friendly and our trip was excellent. We will definitely go back out with him on another trip soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time success,
June 25, 2014
By: Bigs228
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic guide
"With absolutely zero experience in fly fishing, PJ Daley ran through it soup to nuts. He was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and eager to teach and instruct. Upon arrival at some of the most beautiful trout waters I've seen, we were hooked up on hungry fish in a matter of minutes. Each fish caught was a celebration along with great conversation and feedback. The day ended as an unforgettable memory and new found spark to get back on the water. I highly recommend PJ as a excellent resourceful guide and look forward to future trips.
*Side note - was very impressed with the borrowed Orvis gear, very comfortable and effective."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
June 25, 2014
By: JasonH
from savage river, MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ clearly takes pleasure in his work/fly fishing. He showed a lot of patience with a beginner who kept tying wind knots. However, he taught me the skills to get numerous strikes and 4 hooked. I had a great time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading on the North Branch,
June 22, 2014
By: RockvilleBud
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"PJ has all the fishing knowledge and river experience to insure a great day on the water. PJ obviously enjoys his work showed a lot of patience with a fly fishing beginner, who managed to get numerous strikes and netted at lest 6 rainbow. Definitely will return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Potomac,
June 21, 2014
By: Kidtrout
from Potomac River Garrett County MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:PJ is a highly energetic & positive person with deep knowledge of the areas he supports & guides. The Orvis name & brand is very well represented with PJ !
"After talking about floating the Potomac River for many years I finally made the trip with PJ \ Savage River Angler. Why I waited so long is beyond me ! PJ's knowledge of the stream and local eco system was impressive as well as the great service and fish stories! We had a fantastic day, all day , booth fishing on top and on the bottom. The river offers the opportunity to catch some native "wild " trout with beautiful colors as well as the chance for a trophy. It was very obvious to me that PJ knew this water and knew it well. It was also very obvious that PJ embraced this ecosystem\fishery and is committed to preserving it. I would strongly recommend PJ\Savage River Angler to anyone that is considering hiring a guide in Garrett County to fish this fantastic river or other areas in Garrett county. DONT"T WAIT - I will be going back soon !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Day!,
June 18, 2014
By: GeoffW
from Cleveland, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great day on the N. Potomac this week with PJ. I learned a ton and ended up catching a bunch of nice Rainbows. PJ is great to be in the boat with and will teach you a lot. Looking forward to getting back on the water with him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personal Best Brown,
June 12, 2014
By: FishingHippie
from Frederick, MD, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"PJ took my father and I on an evening float and managed to me on my personal best brown within 10 minutes of leaving the ramp. A giant 24" N Branch brown. He continued to put us on fish all evening both above and below the surface.
I would highly recommend any guide trip with PJ, I know I will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A 1/2 day with PJ,
June 7, 2014
By: youghiogheny
from McHenry, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Felt I learned an enormous amount of technique for the Savage river in such a short time with PJ.
Great knowledge, even better teacher."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day,
May 30, 2014
By: jnashed
from Winchester, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"fished with PJ on a late evening trip PJ recommended. He honestly told me the fish turned on after 6:30pm and that was the best time to float. So we hit the water at 3:30pm and fished until dark. He was right on. Lots of bugs and lots of dry fly fish. PJ is a heck of a guide. Knows the area inside and out. Loves to teach. Loves to learn. Makes the whole experience so much fun. He works hard to find fish, row the boats, tie on flies, and everything a guide can do. And he does it in a way that just makes it feel like your fishing with a buddy. I've fished with PJ a few times now and have enjoyed it every time. I highly recommend him. Again he will tell you straight how conditions are and the best way to cover the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always learning,
May 17, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished with PJ for the 2nd year in a row and it was great as usual.
Lots of rainbows but more importantly I learn so much from bug selection to casting techniques.He sets a great standard as far as guides go.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Savage River Angler - Fly Fishing Guide, MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't Get Much Better,
May 5, 2014
By: RodYassin
from DCL, MD
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Simply the best.
"Just got back from my 8th or 9th time fishing with PJ and Savage River Anglers. If you wish to experience phenominal fishing and a guide who really knows his stuff, then look no further. PJ pocess' all the right qualities to make you fish at your potential weather you are a green horn or a chisalled old veteran. I have had days when I missed a bunch of hook ups and the fish weren't cooperating, but I have always had fun not matter if I caught 6" fish or 18" fish. PJ is just a great guy to be around and he really knows how to bring out the best in your fly fishing skills. Top-notch guide all-around. Mend! Ha."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes