Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Micro Scissors Forceps

Compact. Handy. Durable. The first of its kind made just for removing the tiniest of hooks and flies. Hardened stainless steel micro-serrated edges cut Dacron®, Spiderwire®, monofilament, braided, and gel lines quickly and cleanly. Smooth jaw prevents hook damage when crimping barbs on small flies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Micro Scissors Forceps
Review 1 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use it on my lanyard and the sling pack as well. It does what it should do - snipping monofilament and debarbing hooks.
It is very well made and does not corrode at all.
"
Review 2 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis,
May 8, 2014
By: estebano
from Riverton, Utah
"Like all Orvis products these forceps are very good quality, a little tight at first I think this is necessary due to the scissor portion but they work very well for what they are designed for and I believe they will last a long time. Nice feel to them"
Review 3 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great tool for skinny fingers,
April 22, 2014
By: JoshC
"These are great little forceps for going light and fast on the water; they are compact and eliminate the need to carry separate forces and nips. I only have one complaint and that is the size of the finger rings, they leave quite a bit to be desired for someone with even moderately thick fingers. They are simple enough to engage, but getting your fingers back out of them when you are done and have clamped them back into their storage place can be infuriating if you don't have all day to fiddle with your gear and want to get back to fishing and don't' have a free hand to hold the forceps in place while you carefully back your fingers out of the holes. An otherwise excellent product that just needs a simple tweak in ergonomics."
Review 4 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Micro Forceps,
August 20, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I needed a small pair of forceps to complete a light weight kit for fly and spin fishing. These fit the bill and have proven to be well-designed and reliable throughout a year of use on Virginia’s small streams and traveling to large New England lakes. The design incorporates a forceps and scissors for maximum utility. They work well removing and de-barbing hooks, and cutting most all fly and spin fishing lines, leaders and tippets. Recommended for those needing a small, high quality, versatile fishing tool."
Review 5 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
April 12, 2013
By: HTMurphy
from Atlanta, ga.
"Excellent! Small, compact, but enough to complete the task."
Review 6 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi tool,
September 5, 2012
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"These are an excellently engineered piece of equipment, they fulfill more than one function they are a pair of powerful clamps, very effective cutting scissors and debarbing tool. Beautiful quality to Orvis high standards."
Review 7 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
May 21, 2012
By: flytyer64
from Elgin, Il
"Had another set of Micro Forceps but loss them in the Driftless area so I had to get another pair. Use them all the time."
Review 8 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for what they are!,
August 3, 2011
By: Nine0Yater
"I owned the Micro-Scissors forceps previously and ended up losing them out of my chest pack. Thought I'd be fine with my nippers and a pair of Power-Jaw forceps. But I ended up really missing the tiny Micro-Scissors. So I purchased a replacement.
They are very small, and seem to require a little more force to open and close than a "standard size" forceps. A little "twist" in your grip aides in both the opening and closing, and they do operate smotthly with no binding. This extra effort doesn't bother me in the least, and once you get the hang of them, they are just as handy as any others.
Their tiny size makes them perfect for a minimalist outing, or where size and weight are important considerations. (Backpacking for example)
They eliminate the need to carry nippers as well, but since they don't have an eye cleaning tool incorporated into them, you'll need to use a fly to clear any hook eye.
The clamp portion provides plenty of grip, and the scissors portion with its serrated edge works great on everything from tippet to trimming flies.
A small fly box, the Micro/Scissor Forceps, Gink, and a couple of spools of tippet are all I carry (or need) when fishing for a day.
I love these little guys and you probably will to if you understand what it is your getting. They are tiny. If you have big hands and/or fat fingers you'll likely be disappointed. The same holds true if you lack sufficient finger strength to operate them efficiently.
Highly recommended for those of you looking for the ultimate in tiny forceps."
Review 9 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Need an Iron Grip to Use These Forceps,
May 18, 2011
By: socalmare
"I have ordered these forceps twice and 'struck out' both times. The forceps stick, they require two hands to open or close so I find them non-functional for me, a female fly fisher. Perhaps if I could have tried them out in the store, I could have found a pair that worked to my comfort.. For me, this product is not up to Orvis standards or of any use to females who don't wish to fight with trying to open or close them. Would not recommend.
Will give ONE STAR - .
"
Review 10 for Micro Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small but Mighty,
January 16, 2011
By: Cardo
from Shendoah Valley, Virginia
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have smaller hands than the average fishermen so these hit the spot. Small enough to hang off any vest and not get in the way. When mashing down the barbs they do 'lock' (which they are supposed to do). But, I figure all positive locking forceps will do that. The added cutter works great and seems to never go dull. Would appreciate these in a black."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Micro Scissors Forceps
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1