Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex

1 3/4 oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Mid-Flex Fly Rod for 3-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best. The new patent pending Helios 3 weight is so innovative and, frankly, so far ahead of all other fly rods it skips generations in how fly rods should feel, cast, and fish. Our 3 weight spring creek fly rod is so sublimely light, incredibly responsive, deadly accurate, and just plain easy and enjoyable to cast that to compare it to other graphite rods is like comparing graphite to bamboo. There is no comparison. The 3-weight Helios fly fishing rods are that good. And everyone is noticing. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small package delivers!,
March 23, 2012
By: TheDudeMan
from Asheville, NC
"Couldn't be more satisfied with my purchase of the 7'6" 3 wt. I use it in the smaller streams in western North Carolina and on some trophy waters that can produce some large trout. It feels great on small bluegill and can easily handle trout in the 18+ range. I was surprised at how well this rod casts and amazed at its accuracy. Great job on the Helios line Orvis!"
Review 2 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Believe it, try 7 stars,
February 20, 2012
By: RCJP
from Medfield, Mass.
"I bought this Helios 3 wt rod last season. With all the superlatives in advertising today. this one deserves everything good that they say. The only negative is that you will neglect all those other rods you were so fond of. It just works better than you expect. That's rare today."
Review 3 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effortless accuracy,
May 27, 2011
By: SmallCreekFreak
from Stanley, NC
"I received the Helios 7'6'' 4pc 3 weight as a Christmas present from the love of my life. She totally suprised me with this gift. Since 99.9% of my fly fishing takes place on small Western North Carolina trout streams, the rod length and line weight are ideal. I have an older Rocky Mtn 3wt that I thought that was the real deal, but it nows take a second seat to this new jewel. This is by far the lightest ,most accurate casting fly rod I have ever had in my hand. I was able to fish for hours without even noticing it was even there. I do a lot of high sticking on plunge pools and it was just so effortless. If I had to describe in one word...ACCURATE!! This rod places the fly exactly were you want it. Orvis, you have outdone yourself on this series of rods. One of the cools perks of buying this rod was the that I also got a Large Arbor Battenkill reel to match up with it for free. I see that you get an Access reel when you buy it now. Guys, I know that the price might make the average fisherman say ouch, but you won't regret it! With quality, you only pay once! This is one fly rod that you will be proud to own."
Review 4 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skeptical convert,
June 5, 2009
By: Anonymous
from Adirondack Mountains, N.Y.
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have tried Orvis rods in the past and could never pull the trigger. I recently thought that no rod could match my Winston Boron llt for feel, flex and presentation. The 3wt. Helios has become the rod I reach for first every weekend. It disappears in my hand and casts effortlessly. What has surprised me the most is the improved accuracy of my casting. It seems to follow my thoughts. Great job on this one!!
(balances really well with the 1-3 wt BBs reel)
"
Review 5 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Weekends 100 Crappie on 3 Wt,
May 4, 2009
By: Crappieman
from NY & NJ Private Lake
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love this 3 wt rod. Catch a fish on it and you will know why. I caught over 100 crappie using it over a period of 2 weekends. I think that I should buy another rod (6 wt) for my wife so that I can borrow it often."
Review 6 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Rod!,
March 24, 2009
By: flyman2913
from Hamilton, OH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just received a Helios rod for my birthday. It weighs next to nothing!
A short story about my rod....
I walk up to my favorite stream and cast a size 18 Parachute Adams. A huge (10 pound) brown trout strikes my fly and strips 20 feet of line! Once he is downstream, I am able to take control and land him. Since I am in a public area, I released him. Later, I got home and caught about 13 5 to 8 inch bluegill in my pond. The next day, I grilled them up and had a delicious bluegill dinner. If you want a fly rod. get a Helios!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One great rod,
March 14, 2009
By: trueblue
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Why I love my Helios rod?
My Helios 763-4 3 weight rod is the best looking finest casting rod for small streams and rivers that I have fished. I fish a small river in Ohio the Mad river this river is some what channelized with few pools that hold big browns but for Ohio's standards it is a fine cold water fishery. I have Been fishing this river for a long time with some nice browns under my belt but some thing has always been missing until I picked up this rod and started to fish it. My Helios and I are a perfect pair! this rod is very responsive, it helps me land those finicky trout that have proper table manners and just sip the fly off the waters surface. My Helios also casts very accurately. This rod can help me get to that shy trout that is rising under that impossible low hanging branch." My Helios is amazing, and thats why it will always hold number one in my heart.
"
Review 8 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zero-Gravity,
February 23, 2009
By: nebagamonbe
from Northern WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"No florescents, no phones, no faxes.
Zero worries, zero stress, zero guilt.
The only weight I feel rests not on my shoulders,
but lies in my hands.
Some would call it Heaven,
A few would insist Enlightenment,
But for me, its Zero Gravity.
"
Review 9 for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A 3 WT. ROD WITH INCREDIBLE PRECISION AND FEEL,
October 29, 2008
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
"THIS IS MY 5TH HELIOS AND IT IS UNBELIEVEABLE! I TRIED IT OUT ON THE CASTING POND IN MANCHESTER, VT., EARLIER THIS MONTH AND DECIDED TO ORDER ONE WHEN I GOT HOME. IT HAS THE MOST PRECISION OF ANY 3 WT. I'VE EVER CAST WITH SO MUCH FEEL, BUT AT THE SAME TIME, MAINTAINS GREAT BACKBONE. THIS IS THE ANSWER FOR THE TRADITIONALIST THAT WANTS THE SHORTER ROD FEEL WITH THE NEW TECHNOLOGY FOR FISHING A LIGHT LINE ON SMALL TO MEDIUM-SIZED STREAMS. IT IS SO DELICATE ON SHORT CASTS, BUT HAS THE ADDED BACKBONE ON THE LONGER CASTS FOR BIGGER FISH, FLIES, WIND, ETC. I CAN EASILY CAST IT 50', THE TAPER IS PERFECT AND IF YOU ARE USED OF FISHING SLOW ACTION RODS AND BAMBOO AND YOU ARE AFRAID OF THE NEW TECHNOLOGY, THIS ROD WILL MAKE YOU A BELIEVER, BECAUSE THERE IS NO COMPROMISING ANYTHING FOR ANYTHING ELSE. THIS ROD HAS THE BEST FEEL OF ANYTHING I'VE EVER TRIED, PERIOD. I JUST ORDERED THE 602-4 HELIOS AND I KNOW IT WILL BE A WINNER. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE 1-WEIGHT. I KNOW IT WILL BE INCREDIBLE AS WELL! THANKS AGAIN ORVIS!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Helios™ 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1