Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool

A true sportsman's tool for hunting or working in the woods or garden. Handcrafted by Italian artisans in the foothills of the Alps near Maniago. Full-tang hand-forged and hand-ground stainless-steel blade and razor-sharp hook make quick work of small limbs and branches. The handle is genuine cocobolo wood and is drilled for a lanyard. Genuine, thick, heavy-duty cowhide sheath. Blade is 9½", 15" overall length. Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Review 1 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best tool,
August 25, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"As a 40+ year outdoor professional, I have gone through a lot of outdoor tools, but this one is already my go-to camp tool. Will be passing this one on to my grandchildren..."
Review 2 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior quality and a must have!!,
August 21, 2014
By: AmericanWolverine
from Rocky Mountains Colorado
"As an outdoor/backcountry guide I am always looking for new great gear to add to my collection. This is a high quality tool made for the most serious of conditions. I carry this on all of my trips as my "go to" cutting tool for aggressive bush craft/shelter building. I sliced through a 2" diameter aspen with a single blow like I was cutting through butter without the "shock-effect" one might expect. I do recommend treating the sheath before you take it out but this is superiorly crafted tool and I won't hit a trail without it!!!"
Review 3 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement Purchase-wouldn't work without it,
August 20, 2014
By: pampas2ny
from New York/Uruguay
"I've used the Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool for three years on our eucalyptus tree farm. It is great in every sense: light, sharp, versatile (especially the pruning hook), handles well. I'm buying a replacement now because I lost mine in the woods. Replaces both a hand axe (hatchet) and machete. Couldn't--and wouldn't want to--work without it."
Review 4 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 23, 2014
By: Hamster
"Bought for husband and he is thrilled. Using to clear brush around barn."
Review 5 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 30, 2013
By: ht2517
"I bought this for my new son-in-law who loves to be in the woods. It was a big hit! It's very sharp. ( he shaved some hair off his arm, ha! ) Handsomely finished. Great feeling handle and weight."
Review 6 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Tool,
October 24, 2012
By: HappyDuckDog
from Derwood, Maryland
"I have been looking at this tool for some time and was reluctant to spend the money. What a mistake. The quality is supurb and it fuctions as well as it looks. I now find every excuse to prune and remove suckers from my landscape. I also carry it with me to our many waterfowl blinds as there is always a need for tuning up the brush we use to conceal ourselves. Be careful. This thing is SHARP!"
Review 7 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful tool,
September 20, 2012
By: PatrickWH
from Waterloo, Belgium
"Not only is it a beautiful tool but it is as sharp as it looks.
The quality of the blade is excellent.
I did not expect to find gardening tools at Orvis, but the brand guarantees quality.
This product deserves it's brand.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh, Heck Yes!,
September 1, 2012
By: WoodstockMarine
from North Coast Ohio
"I received this as a gift several years ago and it sat silent in a drawer. I mean, what do you do with a knife that size? So, I went to a camp out with about 100 Marine veterans and I took the knife. We were carving a roasted pig when I first took out the knife. WOW! So sharp it took pieces out of the cutting board - separating joints - no problem. Slicing meat thin or thick - no problem - making kindling no problem - heck I even opened beer bottles. I am buying one for an Army Ranger deploying to Afghanistan - If the Marines can use it the Army has to have it."
Review 9 for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet looking !!,
December 28, 2011
By: Ischmail3
from Summerville, SC
"I received this for Christmas. Beautiful knife/tool with the wood grain finish and a solid feel to it. I am looking forward to camping this year."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Ultimate Woodsman Tool
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1