Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leather Lanyard with English Whistles

Get your dog's attention with two of the most famous British sporting/training whistles of all time. Includes a model 60½ nickel-plated brass "Thunderer" and the pealess, high-pitched model 211½. Whistles come attached to a comfortable, hand-braided adjustable lanyard made from genuine Nubuck leather. Stainless-steel end clips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Review 1 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A classy lanyard,
November 14, 2014
By: Senpai
from Langdon, AB
"I purchased this for my wife, who handles dogs but does not shoot. The fine, soft leather is quite nice, and it is well suited to her smaller stature. It has thus far proven to be far more durable than first appearances would have indicated. If it ever does wear out, I will be buying another one."
Review 2 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Lanyard,
March 2, 2014
By: GSPHunter
from North Carolina
"Quality & workmanship of the lanyard are fantastic. The whistles are nice, but one is very shrill & will be replaced by one less annoying. Very nice product & makes for a wonderful gift."
Review 3 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 1, 2014
By: micalm
"We are very satisfied with this whistle. It works really well. Our dogs immediately come when we have them out for their walks. The actual quality of the lanyard is excellent and the whistles have great pitch. We use it each time take our pets out doors."
Review 4 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great whistles,
January 14, 2014
By: McGrain
from Upstate NY
"Just started to use them and it seems to work out just fine. The leather lanyard give it some class."
Review 5 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product for my needs.,
September 23, 2013
By: joy44
from Northern CA.
"I wanted a lanyard that was both very functional and classic in style.
The lanyard holds the particular hunting whistles I use when hunting with my labradors in the field and the leather construction is not only functional and strong, it also has a very nice feel and is nice looking.
"
Review 6 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Gift to a Champion Field Dog Owner,
November 24, 2012
By: Bucksie
from Pennsylvania
""Tillie," a flusher, is a champion field dog and her owner is a multiple champion at their club. After a recent hunt on a beautiful November day, I sent the lanyard as a token of my appreciation for a perfect day of pheasant/chukar hunting. In the owner's words: "...thank you for the beautiful lanyard and whistle!!! It is always my pleasure to work Tillie for you.....nice to know you can count on the gun to hit the bird 95% of the time .......... Hope you are having a special thanksgiving!"
Review 7 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good!,
October 29, 2012
By: Dice
from Las Vegas, NV
"I wasn't expecting something this good. It is excellent! I look forward to buying other items in the future."
Review 8 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Whistle, Great Price!,
February 23, 2012
By: GoldFurFlying
from Balm, FL
"I received this beautiful lanyard and 2 whistles from my husband for Valentine's Day. I love the thin high-pitched whistle, as does my Golden, the dog on which it is used in the field.
While the lanyard is very well designed for comfort and is beautiful, it does have a drawback in that you can't add any additional items to it, such as duck calls which is very important when you work dogs in the field."
Review 9 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traing Whistles,
February 20, 2012
By: unclealec
from Kennebunk, Maine
"Excellant product that meets and exceeds all my needs. Good old fashioned quality!!"
Review 10 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
below Orvis standard,
January 11, 2012
By: Padre
from California
"Item was too light weight. Leather should have been more substantial and desperately needed oil. Whistles were OK but not a value added since I replaced them with my own."
Review 11 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made and useful,
December 31, 2011
By: BobRF
from Virginia
"beautifully made and whistles work like a charm. get this if you have gun dogs to train"
Review 12 for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Gift For a Pro Dog Trainer,
December 29, 2011
By: lbuck
"I bought this as a gift for a pro dog trainer and they are really happy with the quality, especially the feel of the leather and the 2 different classic whistles. Thanks Orvis. lbuck"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Leather Lanyard with English Whistles
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1