Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch

This compendium, by award-winning drinks-and-spirits expert Michael Jackson, is the definitive guide to single malt scotch and its producers worldwide. Bound in rich leather, the 448-page tutorial includes maps, photos, and overviews of more than 800 scotch distilleries. Personalise with gold leaf embossing, up to 3 letters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Review 1 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And now I feel like a neophyte!,
July 31, 2012
By: 130693449
from Fulton, NY
"I have been drinking Single Malt Scotch for nearly 50 years, and though I knew a good deal about the subject. It turns out I know a lot less than I thought.
I bought this book as a gift, but made sure I had time to skim through it. I will either have to buy a second copy, or make an extended visit to my son!
VERY nicely done! I ran a small publishing company for a number of years. I was quite impressed by both the content and presentation of this book. It is informative, and will fit right in on the shelf with anyone's valued, leather-bound books."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
January 16, 2014
By: Drmad
"I bought this book as a gift for my scotch obsessed sister, and she was thrilled! It arrived quickly, and the embossing looked great. Thanks!"
Review 3 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous BOOK,
January 15, 2014
By: joanieh
from Avon CT
"I gave this book to my husband as a gift and he loved it! It gives you so much information on a wide variety of scotches. Monograming is available and it really added a special touch, well worth it.
A perfect gift for any scotch lover
"
Review 4 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Birthday Present,
December 9, 2013
By: Bigash53
from Lantana, FL
"My best friend and I turned 60 this year and we were going to Scotland but couldn't work out schedules. This was a perfect gift for him and I to wet our thirst for getting to Scotland on our 62nd birthdays. Every book I get from Orvis is a treasure and I have many of them.
Thanks, keep up the good work.
"
Review 5 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Single Malt Scotch Primer,
November 20, 2013
By: Chazz32
from Southport, Maine
"This book on single malt scotches is beautifully done. It has a red leather cover and is illustrated throughout with excellent photos, including the labels of many scotches. The descriptions of the scotches are well-written, and the book is seductive in a way that makes you want to visit Scotland and buy the scotch. You can almost taste and smell the peat and sparkling spring waters that help make these scotches taste so special!"
Review 6 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch,
November 19, 2013
By: Chazz32
from Southport, Maine
"This book is an attractive, well-written comprehensive guide to single malt scotches that would enhance anyone's library. It brings to life the world of true scotch and captures the essence of Scotland with it's fresh sspring waters, peat and aged kegs. After reading through the book, I want to go to Scotland and sample as many of its wonderful single malt scotches as i can!"
Review 7 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotch Lovers Dream,
January 2, 2013
By: sprahhh
from chicago, il
"This is a High quality, wonderfully informative, deeply engaging guide to the somewhat intimidating world of scotch. The author tries not to be judgemental, but instead be objective and informative so that the reader/drinker can form their own conclusions. I gave this as a christmas gift and have only heard praises from the recipient."
Review 8 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for Scotch lovers,
January 2, 2013
By: baileymom1
from Harrisburg, PA
"My husband was thrilled with this gift and has shared it with several friends. He particularly appreciates the ratings as well as the monogram. The book is very well made and makes an impressive statement."
Review 9 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the greatest books on Single Malt Scotch,
December 29, 2012
By: MobileBayDen
from Mobile, AL, fish in Waynesville, NC
"Well done, very comprehensive and the monogram gives it a personal touch."
Review 10 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you love Single Malt Scotch buy this!,
December 28, 2012
By: TexMoStl
from St. Louis, MO
"I purchased this book as a gift for a fellow single malt scotch lover and made the mistake of reading part of it before I wraped it. He did not receive the gift. If you love single malt scotch this is a must buy. Now I have to buy a another copy for my friend."
Review 11 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality fast service,
December 28, 2012
By: Whiskeyformymen
from Reno NV
"The book came when expected and even with monograming it came very quickly. The quality of the book is exceptional"
Review 12 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
December 28, 2012
By: JohnTW
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Purchased this book as a Christmas gift for my brother-in-law. It exceeded my expectations. The information was relevant and included images. The leather binding was exceptional and the embossed initials I had put on came out great. Would highly recommend this for the hard to buy for scotch enthusiast."
Review 13 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Book,
December 28, 2012
By: GRayC
from Raleigh,N.C.
"book arrived promptly and in mint condition. Receiver of this gift was pleased."
Review 14 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book,
December 14, 2012
By: Bmwgyrl
"If you or someone you know loves scotch this is a great book."
Review 15 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful book for hard-to-buy-for people,
November 1, 2012
By: BeverlyAG
from Florida
"I bought this for my husband because I never know what to get him. This is very sophisticated looking, so even if he never reads it (but I think he will), it looks great just lying around."
Review 16 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
December 29, 2011
By: KLands
from Peekskill, NY
"This was for my dad for his birthday and I ordered it with the monogram. It arrived on time and the monogram was perfect. It was the first thing he noticed and he has been looking through the book ever since he got it - checking off which ones he has tried!"
Review 17 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful book!,
December 24, 2011
By: Mellu
"This guide to Scotch is very well done, and the binding is lovely. It was a gift and I had it monogrammed so it looks great. The descriptions seem well done, and very informative. I checked one that I had visited for accuracy."
Review 18 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 22, 2011
By: Sonnyf
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
"My husband has everything! But not this Beautiful leather bound book about single malt whiskey (scotches). The perfect Christmas gift. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 19 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Rocks!!!!,
December 22, 2011
By: wasa
from Texas
"This book is fantastic. I purchased this book, with the monogram, for three family members that have toured the Whiskey Trail in Scotland together. I hoped I would have them before Christmas. I never imagined that I would have within two days of placing my order. Thanks Orvis - Superb customer service."
Review 20 for Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 15, 2011
By: eretika
"This was a gift for my boyfriend, a lover of Scotch, and he was thrilled with this book! Beautifully put together and wonderfully informative."