Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dutch Bulb Gardens

A delight to give or to receive, these lovely selections of blooming bulbs arrive each month, in your choice of a three- or six-month series. The first month's shipment will arrive in a decorative basket. Simply keep the basket and use it each month when your next garden plant arrives. Every collection is carefully packed and shipped, ready to sprout with simple care instructions. Note: The bulb baskets are shipped the first week of every month. Every species will bloom at different times to make your garden last all month long. Basket measures 5"H x 10"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Review 1 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
February 4, 2013
By: 1avidgardener
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the second time I purchased the dutch bulb garden from Orvis. Several years ago, I purchased the 6 month plan for my parents. The first -fourth baskets were beautiful. The last 2 were just ok. I didn't report the last 2 as we were satisfied with the first 4. I decided to try them again this year, purchasing the 3 month plan. My parents have received 2 of the 3 and we are quite disappointed with them. The Hyacinth only partially bloomed and only one daffodil came out. My mom did fill out the on-line survey we were sent after the first basket was unsatisfactory. Having just spoken to her about the 2nd basket, I called Orvis. The customer service rep. has put in a request for a full refund."
Review 2 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dutch bulb gardens,
January 7, 2012
By: DebAla
"I gave this as a christmas gift to my elderly parents. They are delighted to received the gardens each month."
Review 3 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dutch Bulb Gardens,
January 2, 2012
By: magogqueen
from Newport, VT
"Gave this for three months to my 85 year Mother for her birthday. She is delighted with the first delivery - very healthy bulbs, all of which are now blooming. I know she will be very pleased with the next two as well."
Review 4 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Holiday Gift,
December 30, 2011
By: Dmaster
"Orvis delivered a great basket of blooming bulbs to help make our aunt's Christmas special and with the following month's deliveries it will help her see a long winter thru until spring."
Review 5 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
December 30, 2011
By: jackeljl
"I give this gift to my mom every year and she absolutly loves it. She always gets complements on the flowers."
Review 6 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 30, 2011
By: Canudo
"Thank you for bringing spring to Montana in the winter!!"
Review 7 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful,
December 29, 2011
By: MomDad
from NJ
"We received the 1st of 6 months of the basket of flowers gift. It is wonderful to have such spring flowers in Dec. They were sent by my daughter & her family. We do have one suggestion---that you include thin strips of wooden strips and some string (preferably the color green) so that as the flowers (particularly the hyacinths) get heavy they can be put around the arrangement so that they do not bend or break."
Review 8 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb gift,
December 22, 2011
By: Daniel2
from Richmond, VA
"The gift is greatly enjoyed by my Mother every month with new flowers and plants to enjoy"
Review 9 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dutch Bulb Gardens,
January 15, 2011
By: handlin
"I received 6 months of these flowers and was thrilled. They arrived perfectly with shoots up, ready to bloom. Requiring almost no effort (only light and regular watering) they were an absolute joy. I have decided to try to remember to gift myself next year."
Review 10 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much better than Christmas flower arrangements,
January 13, 2011
By: Hoya
from Indianapolis, IN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For Christmas, we gave 7 bulb gardens as gifts, rather than sending the usual flower arrangement from a florist. All recipients have been very pleased with their unique gift and enjoyed the color and fragrance of the flowers. Several have commented that the gardens create the sense of springtime indoors. I was disappointed that the January flowers had been changed. For a little more than the price of a Christmas floral arrangement that typically lasts a couple of weeks, the 3 month garden provides many days of enjoyment. Overall, a great value and highly appreciated Christmas gift."
Review 11 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not all plants bloomed,
January 7, 2011
By: greenthumbgirl
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Sounds like I had the same experience as "Disappointing..." I had five tulips bloom (very pretty), 1 pink hyacinth (smelled great), and 3 crocus. I didn't have any evidence of a blue hyacinth in the pot, and had a few narcissus leaves (but no blooms). Muscari never bloomed, either.
I received my second pot today, but the tag says it is a "substitution" for this month due to the high quantity of bulb orders. I guess I'll have to wait and see what pops up and hope they all bloom this time."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 12, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that these bulbs did not bloom as expected. We work hard to make sure every item we offer our customers is of the highest quality. We thanked this customer for this feedback and will make sure our product specialists hear of these concerns.
Review 12 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
January 2, 2011
By: Hoopster
from Cleveland, Ohio
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Tulips: excellent
Hyacinths, blue: one bloomed,excellent
Hyacinths, pink: excellent
Narcissus: leaves only
Muscari: no evidence
Ornithogum: no evidence
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 7, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the Dutch Bulb Garden did not bloom as expected. Orvis offered to exchange the garden or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Customer Service also passed the customer's concerns on to the product developer so that he is aware of the problem.
Review 13 for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift!,
January 2, 2011
By: queengrandmommy
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've sent this to my Mother for Christmas for the past 2 years. She loves it and says a new one arrives just as the old is done blooming. She has something bright and living during the cold months then saves the bulbs to plant outside. A great gift!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dutch Bulb Gardens
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1