Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts

The seaside has its own sense of time—and priorities. We've created our 7.2-oz., midweight pure cotton Surfwashed Twill Shorts to help you find that same relaxed feeling any time. A special dye-and-surfwash process results in the vintage look of clothing that has already seen seasons of sun, sand, and relaxation. Exclusive striped pocket lining and subtle Orvis embroidery. Stenciled Orvis logo on interior waistband. These twill shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-46. Inseam 9".
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
41 of 47(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Review 1 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shorts,
September 10, 2013
By: Davido
from Seattle, WA
"Love these shorts. Good fit, nice look. I wish I could wear them year round."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usual great product,
August 30, 2013
By: Thommo
from Brackley Northants
"Bought 2 pairs cotton twill shorts - good strong colours - perfect fit and the usual Orvis super service. Now have 4 pairs in assorted colours so there are endless mix and match possibilities !!"
Review 3 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product - pity about the availability,
July 31, 2013
By: pebe
from Oxfordshire
"Well made
Look good
Fell great to wear
Just annoying that I ordered 2 and could only get 1
"
Review 4 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice summer shorts,
July 22, 2013
By: PattiW
from Bedford, VA
"Great looking chino shorts; well made; comfortable"
Review 5 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strange Fit,
July 17, 2013
By: Birddogging
from Beaufort, SC
"The shorts themselves look to be of high quality, but they are a little roomy in the thigh and knee. I am hoping once the material wears in a little bit they will fall better, but I am kind of disappointed in the fit as they stand now. If you enjoy a roomy fit these shorts are definitely for you."
Review 6 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
July 8, 2013
By: DannyHead
from Perdido Key, FL
"The colors offered are very seasonal. The fit, construction, and styling are all above my expectations."
Review 7 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A Good Buy,
July 1, 2013
By: NCMM
"Well made, good fit would have given five stars if not having to have them taken up by 2 inches, and i stand at 6ft , but this is a personal choice. may be for an online purchase and given postage extra i believe them to be a little over priced"
Review 8 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
May 22, 2013
By: Mark1029
from Overland Park KS
"I love clothes from Orvis, they tend to fit true to size, are cut room for comfort. This is the first piece of clothing that didnt fit true to size."
Review 9 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size?,
May 1, 2013
By: Fisherman51
from Scotland
"I cannot fault the quality of the product but the size just doesn't work. I ordered the 34 waist and the waist was too big and the legs were un-wearably baggy. You just can't wear something like this and feel comfortable. I'm not an awkward shape either - 6'1" and 185lbs Sorry Orvis but not impressed. Service and delivery/return all ran very smoothly so good marks for that but all-in-all - a waste of time."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality,
April 2, 2013
By: Dewdrop
from SE England
"Although not yet worn - not warm enough! - they have been tried on and washed. They are very comfortable, have washed well, not hard to iron, and most importantly seem to be very well and stornly made."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surf Wash Cotton Chino Short,
September 18, 2012
By: Predazzo
from St. John's, NL
"The overall quality of these shorts, and the materials used, is fine, but the workmanship in the sewing was not up to par. After one washing the main stitching in the crotch came undone and I had to take it to a tailor to get repaired."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Golf Shorts,
August 20, 2012
By: Conday
"The shorts are very comfortable and attractive and complement a
nice golf shirt. The loops are attractive and allow for a great fit for most belts.
Also, they launder well without fading and look like new after each washing.
"
Review 13 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts!,
August 14, 2012
By: ZeissMan
from Greenwood Village, Colorado
"Comfortable for those dress-up BBQ evenings and yet easy to move around in while hiking and fishing. So well fitting, I bought three colors."
Review 14 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surfwashed Shorts,
July 2, 2012
By: Norv
from Davidson, NC
"I really was looking for a good pair of whit shorts for the summer. The shorts I received seemed to be good quality but the sizing was off a bit. I normally wear a size 36" waist comfortably but these were too small. I would definitely require a size 38" waist. Other than the sizing discrepancy no problems. Anyone purchasing these shorts needs to order a size larger than what you normally wear."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
June 29, 2012
By: PoolDad
from OH
"These are great shorts. Fit perfect and the quality is amazing. I ordered two pairs and will be ordering more."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I asked for,
June 25, 2012
By: ken9319
from Manchester, VT
"I visited the flagship store in Manchester because I had read an Orvis advertisement for Nantucket red shorts. They didn't have my size in the store, but said they could send them to my home. What I received are not real ACK red shorts. A waste of time and money."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 19, 2012
By: Quiethut1323
from LA, CA
"Casual look of the pants and the comfortable feel of the product. One immediately likes the product."
Review 18 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding quality,
June 12, 2012
By: tom4
from Port Washington NY
"fabric is far better than any comparitabe walking shorts
Plus the seams and the belt line is top grade I had to shorten the length as i have a short rise , the store did this to me at no charge
Well done"
Review 19 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shorts and great color.,
May 25, 2012
By: Juanavista
from Chicago, IL
"The surf washed shorts are made of a very comfortable fabric and the new lawn green color is perfect for summer wear. My only complaint is the inconsistency in the waist sizing in the line of surf washed shorts. The 34 waist on these shorts was at least three-quarters of an inch less than the 34 waist on two other surf washed shorts that I purchased."
Review 20 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Sensational,
May 24, 2012
By: Arte
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
"These shorts are are soft and comfortable. Color is awesome and they are true to size. I will be purchasing additional pairs...."