Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt

Take one intercontinental flight with this hooded sweatshirt as your travel companion and you'll never travel without it again. Designed for the long-distance traveler, our exclusive zip front sweatshirt has an oversized hood with a special pull-down cover for your eyes—and a built-in inflatable neck pillow. You'll rest comfortably even when space limitations prevent you from reclining. Warm, breathable cotton-rich blend. Pockets for tickets, passport, MP3 player, and cell phone. Zip front hooded sweatshirt in navy. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.219 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
52 of 64(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Review 1 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable,
April 7, 2014
By: Khyber1959
from San Francisco
"I only fly 60k miles a year but long red-eye flights require something warm and comfortable in coach. This jacket is great for journeys, I like the inside pockets that can't be pick-pocketed. The eye flap looks a little strange to others but with the lights off who cares? The only criticism I have is that the inflatable neck collar needs revision to make it more useful. I do appreciate the fact that it is easily removable for normal use and for cleaning the jacket."
Review 2 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
March 27, 2014
By: Rayjay
"Have worn the sweatshirt a couple of times. Very good quality, handy number of pockets, and great features. It is going with me on a trip soon, and I will know more, but right now I am very pleased."
Review 3 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfort,
March 25, 2014
By: bw209997
from Fairfiled IA
"This sweatshirt met all my expectations, and exceeded some. Double layered fabric is warm, and the hood fits and looks great, with its own features. The olive green trim color is a nice accent and matches most other clothing. My only complaint is there are too many inside pockets for my taste. I only need two, this hoodie has six!"
Review 4 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
recommended,
March 17, 2014
By: Winterwear
from Cincinnati
"I was looking for a substantial, well tailored, smart looking hooded winter jacket--all of which I found here. It's one of those garments that, if you're like me, you not only wear it; you live in it. By the way, to inflate the head cushion, puncture the valve stem, and blow into it."
Review 5 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy in My Hoodie,
March 10, 2014
By: Jimbodini
from Denver, CO
"My old college hoodies are great for hanging on the weekends, but I needed something suited to my life -- working full time at a tech company, school at night for an MBA and a daddy to a toddler. The standard kangaroo pocket on my old hoodies wasn't cutting it.
This hoodie is outstanding -- lots of interior pockets, the oversized hood with the drop-down eye shade (perfect for a power nap on the train) and midweight make it my new go-to. It's light enough to wear in spring weather and heavy enough to be a cozy companion with a shell on snowy winter days. I'll be traveling internationally this year and fully anticipate LOVING this hoodie on those long flights.
I've only had it for a few weeks but it's already in the starting lineup!"
Review 6 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Update after wearing,
February 26, 2014
By: rusty60
from North georgia
"I've been wearing this sweatshirt for the past few days in the north Georgia mountains. Temps in the low thirties and wind. It is very warm and comfy and the hood works well. This is one of the best I have ever owned."
Review 7 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive service,
February 22, 2014
By: Pajarita
from United Kingdom
"I ordered the TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt as a Christmas gift for my son who travels a lot. I found all the staff I spoke with friendly and efficient. The sweatshirt arrived before the given date and was of excellent quality. Would thoroughly recommend."
Review 8 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Leave Home Without it !,
February 18, 2014
By: bigredone
from Kennesaw, Georgia
"Great travel companion. I have purchased 3 of these, and unfortunately have lost the last 2, but even though they are a little pricey, I keep buying another one. Because they are so wonderful to use when traveling - keep you warm and cozy on a bus or plane, or boat. Never think that you don't need some warmer gear when you are traveling - even in the summer. Great product - I don't go on any long trips without mine ! !"
Review 9 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product,
February 17, 2014
By: Pete1raven
from Plymouth , Ma
"this item has comfort warmth and versatility , the neck support is wonderful having the support is worth the purchase. a little hard to blow up but inflates quick"
Review 10 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a wonderful sweatshirt!,
February 4, 2014
By: rusty60
"i just got this today and it is better than i had hoped. very warm, roomy and cozy with lots of pockets. it's very well made and i love the color scheme. can't wait to travel to the mountains and enjoy it. this will be a sweatshirt that i will make great use of for a long time"
Review 11 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suggested improvements,
October 18, 2013
By: Hilltopcabin
from Richmond, VA
"I used this flying to Australia. It is to bulky for packing or carrying. Suggest using a windproof type fabric of maybe the new drirelease casting tee. I have not tried either one but perceive they are of lighter/thinner materiel.
All pockets should be zippered
or buttoned. The neck pillow worked once one got used to inflating process, etc. It is awkward to deflate as well. On the plane the hood, pillow and warmth were appreciated.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linus Special,
September 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Pimmit Hills, VA
"Not really a sweatshirt, more a casual jacket. It's comfy and warm and enveloping and it feels like I'm wearing a blanket. Very soothing, very satisfying."
Review 13 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smart gear,
September 23, 2013
By: stock
from Adirondacks ny
"Well designed,warm comfortable and everything I wanted"
Review 14 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
August 2, 2013
By: Kipu
from Chicagoland
"So warm and comfy. Neck pillow is THE BEST! Very happy with purchase. First shipment didn't have pillow and Orvis sent replacement immediately. Fantastic experience with customer service."
Review 15 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sweater Purchase Ever,
July 1, 2013
By: Constellation
from California Central Coast
"The ORVIS TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt deserves a sexier name--something like Travel-in-style sweater.
The first thing I noticed is its quality cloth and workmanship--this is a fine garment, extraordinarily well-made. "Durable" comes to mind.
I ordered a size too large, an XXL, but will exchange for the next size down. ORVIS exchange policy assures satisfaction.
This is a warm sweater, almost a windbreaker due to its tight weave. I like everything about it, especially the hidden pockets inside out of sight. And the color composition is striking.
Which means I will order another, to have two on hand. And I will make a point of giving them as gifts.
Overall: ORVIS hit this one out of the park: it is without peer."
Review 16 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As advertised,
June 19, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I have yet to wear this but it appears to be well made and well designed. I would like to see some of the inner pockets to be larger. (The description of the product does not make any mention of the inner pockets."
Review 17 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool sweatshirt,
June 18, 2013
By: DDHDS
from Santa Cruz, CA
"This is one heavy-duty sweatshirt. It does run a bit big and is long, but that is useful if you are layering it during cooler weather. I struggled with how to inflate the neck rest, but customer support said I needed to squeeze the base of the value while inflating, which worked like a charm. Others have mentioned the size of the hood, but it's large size is necessary to accommodate the neck rest when inflated. Overall, I think it is a good product that I will use a lot."
Review 18 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy,
April 19, 2013
By: Dulwich
from London
"Every clothing product I have ever purchased from "ORVIS" has been of excellent quality and this hooded sweatshirt is no exception.
Fits perfectly.
Label says "do not iron neck".
I have removed the inflatable plastic pillow from the neck, via the provided zip, as it was not needed, so no problem there ! It can be refitted after washing if required.
So good I bought 2 !
"
Review 19 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Let Down,
March 19, 2013
By: saltango
"I was so dissapointed. This was going to be my Travel Jacket. The one that I put on as I left the house, held everything and I used everywhere. However I thought it was made from cheap material with a huge hood without any tailoring."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TransGlobal Travel Sweatshirt,
October 22, 2012
By: CarbonCopy
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Whatever the title of the item, this sweatshirt should have been invented a long time ago. It has everything one might need to survive a night in an airport waiting area (except the food). The logic and placement of the features is so well integrated that one wonders how no one thought of them until now. The appurtenances themselves do not seem "extra" but rather simply logical extensions to the otherwise classic "hooded sweatshirt interface." Good job Orvis buyers."