Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology

At just 2 lbs. 6 oz. in size large, Pack & Travel waders pack down, pack in, and provide great comfort—the perfect waders for backcountry fishing, travel, warm-weather, and low-water fishing. The waders are 30% lighter than Pro Guide™ waders. Both models are super lightweight, flexible, and comfortable, yet rugged; and pack down to save space and weight for long trips and floatplane weight limits. A groundbreaking, patented, and exclusive sonic-welded seam technology eliminates threads that can wear out and stitch holes that, over time, can eventually leak. Leg seams run up the back of the wader to further reduce abrasion. A special four-layer breathable, waterproof fabric keeps you dry and comfortable. Detachable suspenders on the chest waders make for easy quick conversion to waist-high waders in a pinch. Both come with an easy-snap, adjustable belt. In overcast. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0
76 of 79(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Review 1 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great performing wader,
March 12, 2012
By: PatKane
"The Orvis Pack and Travel Waders are like my jammies. I have worked and guided very hard for the past two years in the same pair. These waders are comfortable and very durable. They're great for long wade-fishing hikes or wet days spent in a drift boat. I love how they wear like a pant without excessive bulk and quickly convert to a chest wader for deep wading or wet weather. I'm excited to spend another season with them on the water.
-Pat Kane
Professional Guide, PRO Outfitters, Missoula, MT
"
Review 2 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
October 6, 2013
By: AJSpencer
from Southeast
"I bought these as a birthday present for myself online and was curious as to the durability and quality of the waders. I was impressed immediately out of the box with them. The seams are awesome (or lack of seams) and they are super lightweight and comfortable. As an added bonus you can roll them up into a tiny bundle and put them into carrying bag that comes with them. I plan on sneaking these onto our next group fly fishing trip and act as if I forgot my waders at home and then out of nowhere pull these like a rabbit from a hat, Alakazam!
I'm used to having super heavy waders that are difficult getting in and out of- these are not those type of waders!
I will be wearing these for years to come, Thank you Orvis!!
"
Review 3 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top notch,
October 4, 2013
By: 29lbCoho8lbline
from Ontario, Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I needed something light enough to easily transport by air. These waders fit the bill perfectly. They're light, pack small and easy to wear. My only problem is that the boot size incrementally increases with the overall size of the wader. My simple fix was to use a size10 felt liner in the size 12 wader (my foot is a size 10)."
Review 4 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lite weight wader,
October 2, 2013
By: jmarchi
from hampton, nh
"Would have given this product a 4.5 if able too. great product used for a 3 day trip on the conn. river in nh. Only draw back is suspenders are made of Velcro and they do not seem like they are going to stand up to more than a few more trips before they will no longer stick to themselves..... but I was dry and comfortable"
Review 5 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders,
October 1, 2013
By: sehussey
from Michigan
"Lightweight, comfortable. Only issue was with the suspenders, but after reading other reviews, I bought the replacement suspenders from Orvis and have been very happy."
Review 6 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy for the Price!!,
October 1, 2013
By: ggolbs
from Wisconsin
"I picked them up on sale..
I would Highly recommend these waders.. They are designed for traveling. So they are Your best bet if you intend to Fish while flying the airlines..
They would also make a great pair for backpacking because they take up little space
I used them once so far and they worked awesome!!
If your in the market for waders. Buy them!"
Review 7 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
September 28, 2013
By: Flygolf
from Washington
"Lightweight and comfortable waders. Suspenders are just OK but I used a set from my Pro Guide waders and that worked great. They fold down nicely for waist high waders. All my waders that have leaked in the past leaked int the seams, so I expect these will hold up better and longer."
Review 8 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better Than The $$,
September 24, 2013
By: troutmonster
from Greenville, SC
"X-Large was just what the sizing chart recommended and it fits well. Just big enough to get some layers under it. Bag is handy and not hard to get waders in. They are very light weight in comparison to even the neoprene waders they are replacing. Would purchase again"
Review 9 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never knew waders could be this comfortable.,
September 24, 2013
By: Jtlbrt
from Madrid, Spain
"I've been fishing for 50 years but unfortunately hadn't bothered to get new waders since I got neoprenes about 20-25 years ago. I had no idea that a pair of waders could be so comfortable as well practical for packing. I am very glad I took advantage of these having gone on sale and would recommend them to anyone."
Review 10 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Wader,
September 23, 2013
By: Budden
from St. John's, NL
"I bought these waders because I wanted something lighter. The salmon hole I fish is down over a 45 degree hill for about a mile. So walking up over that through the woods on a mid summer days heat is exhausting. Add rubber chest waders and I might as well be in a sauna. So I needed something light, breathable and overall easy to wear. These are amazing! They're like wind breakers almost. I can wear them down the hill without even getting warm, but because they're so small and light, I just put them in their pouch and carry them on the side of my rod. It's amazing how light they are!"
Review 11 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
September 18, 2013
By: whipfly
from Georgia
"A friend linked me the Pack & Travel waders on sale.
I needed a new pair so I jumped based on the price and reviews. The quality and comfort of these waders exceeded my expectations.
I am 5'11, 185 lbs and these fit me perfectly. Room for someone a little taller and a little heftier.
Don't hesitate to buy this product! It has lots of little features that put it above and beyond my other waters."
Review 12 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Deal!,
September 17, 2013
By: hartsellsc
from Boone, NC
"I was able to get these waders for a steal at $115 during the sale a little while ago. I just started fly fishing and it immediately became a new passion of mine. I knew I needed some good waders if I wanted to continue fishing this winter so I came to Orvis. I've used these waders the past few weeks and have been completely dry and comfortable every time. Can't wait to fish this winter in the cold with my new waders."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful value, excellent product.,
September 12, 2013
By: twintbo
from Texas
"I am very happy not only with the value of these waders but the exceptional quality in which they are constructed. I am very happy with them and have already recommended them to a family member."
Review 14 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
September 11, 2013
By: skyway211
"Great product. Ive used these a few times already and they fit and feel great. I can not speak on their longevity since I have only had them a few weeks. They do, however, feel very well made and durable."
Review 15 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel and Pack Waders,
September 11, 2013
By: dhenry1025
from North Carolina
"Nice Waders, fit great, suspenders could be better but still a great product Orvis shipping was fast I hope to get a lot of fishing time with these,"
Review 16 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product good service,
September 11, 2013
By: RichD
from Philadelphia, PA
"Ordered 2 pair for my wife and me in anticipation of a weeklong fishing trip and paid for overnight shipping.
One pair came overnight the other not so much. Called Orvis and they refunded the overnight fee and had the second pair to me in time for our trip
Can't ask for more than that!
Oh BTW the waders are an excellent choice and pack well."
Review 17 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid value,
September 9, 2013
By: exvegas
"This is my second pair of Pack & Travel waders. I leapt at the half-price sale, but I expect to get some more wear out of the originals, which I bought as soon as they hit the market several years ago.
I've been quite satisfied with the first pair: good fit (including my wide feet), light, durable. A couple misgivings: I wonder it the neoprene booties with use have developed what we used to call compression leaks. A minor point is that the inner pouch pocket is flimsy: its seams blew out though I never use the pouch, and thead interacted badly with the velcro from the suspenders. The suspenders are much more versatile and less obtrusive than the awful buckled contraption on the ProGuides."
Review 18 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight Quality.,
September 7, 2013
By: sbrouwers
"These were bought for a friend and he is very happy with them. Very well constructed and light weight. Very easy to pack."
Review 19 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Uncommon Angler,
September 6, 2013
By: bmoreangler
"WOW is all I can say these waders are great for travel and everyday fishing use! They are durable and fit like a glove! Bets i have had yet"
Review 20 for Pack & Travel Waders with SonicSeam Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Round Waders,
August 26, 2013
By: crash57
"Fished these waders for the first time recently in cold Rio Grande waters at 8000 ft. No leaks. I kept them in the folded down waist high position and they stayed there with no problems. Heading home, I packed them easily into the included storage container which resulted in a pretty nice space savings in my fishing travel box. These waders were recommended to me, and I would recommend to others as well."