Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System

All the fly-fishing floatant you need to keep flies afloat in one handy kit: premium gel, paste, powder, and fly dryer. The gel is temperature-stable. It won't melt in the heat or harden in the cold. The paste gives tippet, leaders, and indicator more buoyancy. Powder keeps flies floating high, has a sparkle attractor and creates a realistic air bubble effect. Shake-N-Flote Renew dries flies fast and reinvigorates them. This fly-fishing floatant system is a great value. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Review 1 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Floatant,
June 19, 2014
By: Dlspa1
from Johnstown, PA
"This is the second time I purchased it so it has to be good for me to buy it again !!! Dryer is the BEDT U EVER USED dry flies quickly the paste works very well on leader same for floatant keeps fly sitting high on water!!"
Review 2 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fly care kit,
June 12, 2014
By: turkyhorst
from Stony Creek PA
"Great starter fly maintenance kit. Shame there could be more of each compound but all in all a pretty good value"
Review 3 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Real Caddis,
April 8, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"these slow water caddis look real and behave well in the water. SPecifically for slowere waters, this fly will be sure to attract fish."
Review 4 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you need,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I use everyone of these items everytime I am in the river. The gel the first time I tie on the fly, the shaker after my fly gets a bit soaked, the dust to rejuvinate the fly and I use the small brush to get under the threads of the fly a bit, and the paste on the tippet. Keep all of them on your lanyard or in your vest."
Review 5 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This set is an absolute must for dry fly fishing. Start with the gel before your first cast. Then as your fly get a bit soggy, shake it in the shake n float, and after you catch a fish, brush on the dust to renew the fly."
Review 6 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Floatant System,
August 13, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I fish dry flies all year-round on Virginia’s trout streams and I am never without the Hy-Flote floatant system. The dust and renew products are good for drying saturated dry flies, and the tippet paste also works well to add terminal float. In my opinion, the real gem of the system is the gel, which works best when applied to dry flies before fishing, enabling them to ride higher and float longer before becoming saturated. When they do become saturated, I prefer to dry them using my amadou pad followed by a reapplication of Hy-Flote gel. For best performance, simply rub a small dab of the gel between your fingers to warm, then rub the gel into the fly (especially the hackle) until absorbed. Tight lines."
Review 7 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Maybe I did something wrong...,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"I followed instructions found online. Applied the gel and dipped the fly in the powder. Maybe that was wrong as the fly turned white and stayed that way until the powder came off. The fly started sinking again after a few casts, so I blew it off and reapplied the powder. Again, white fly. Like I said, maybe I was doing something wrong. I'll have to look into it more. I rated it ok overall since it did help my fly float rather well, at first. I guess it's better than nothing!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceJuly 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. For best results when using the Hy-Flote System, treat your damp fly with the Shake-N-Flote Renew or Hy-Flote Dust before applying the Gel Floatant. Both the Dust and Shake-N-Flote work as desiccants to remove moisture from the fly. Once either of these treatments have been applied, blow off the excess powder and then apply the Gel Floatant. Once again, thank you for your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 8 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything floats,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"A complete collection of all the floatants you could want or need. Good job on making it easy Orvis."
Review 9 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great package,
May 6, 2013
By: Storerab
from Wilmington, NC
"One stop purchase for all applications. Another great product."
Review 10 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
February 6, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"This is a great kit. It's everything I need to keep my flies floating hi and dry!"
Review 11 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product combo,
February 5, 2013
By: WestMassChris
from Western Massachusetts
"My dries ride high even after many casts, fantastic to be able to buy all theae products together. Thanks for another great orvis deal."
Review 12 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
January 29, 2013
By: Troutflyfisherman13
from Jefferson City, TN
"This is a perfect go to tool that every fly fisherman needs readily available. It's highly convienient and works tremendously well in the trout streams. Quick, accurate and guaranteed to work on first cast after application!"
Review 13 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!,
August 30, 2012
By: jbUK
from UK
"I've been delighted with this product. All of the items have been useful, but the "magic" properties of the shake n float renew is brilliant in bringing a dry fly 'back to life'."
Review 14 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hy-flote,
May 15, 2012
By: rickz
from downingtown,pa.
"this set has all you need and is small enough to carry in your vest or pack. it does the job very well and i would recommend this to anybody who flyfishes."
Review 15 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 8, 2011
By: CoachBubba
"I like having the option of using different substances to keep the fly on top of the water!"
Review 16 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hy-Float System,
June 26, 2011
By: FireFly2
"These are all great products, but I really like the paste for dressing my leader and tippet. The paste really sticks well and last for quite some time. The paste also works well on deer/elk hair if used lightly."
Review 17 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great and convenient,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"All the products work very well. On one occasion I fished the same dry fly for over 2 hours, and with periodic application of the dust, it was floating perfectly. I highly recommend this kit."
Review 18 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right in line,
October 24, 2010
By: Gentleman
from NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very pleased with this kit. Dust works superbly and keeps flies floating longer."
Review 19 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Is A Must Have!,
June 26, 2010
By: BugginOut
from Richmond, VA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've greatly improved my fishing with this product. It helps keep my dry flies on the top of the water and I can use the same dry fly over and over again without it sinking. I carry this with me evertime I go fly fishing."
Review 20 for Complete Hy-Flote Floatant System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paste and Dust Are The Standout Here,
October 9, 2009
By: insureu
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Title says it all. I use the Hy-Flote dust on every trip, far preferring it to any brand of silicon based product. There is something about the silicon "slick" that it creates in the water that I do not like. Also the silicon seems to gunk up the fly where as the Dust simply keeps the fly high and dry. I always apply the paste to the last foot of my fly line and the entire length of my leader. Again, high and dry."