Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes

A classic style fly box loved for years, at a great value. Protect and organize your flies in your choice of boxes made of high-quality, marine-grade aluminium and high-density non-absorbent foam. The individual spring-loaded locking windows and the firm foam make fly retrieval easy on the water. Corrosion resistant. Four models.Dimensions:Small measures: 2¾ “X 3½”X ⅞” Large measures:6"x 3½ "x 1"
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
54 of 58(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic...Well made fly box,
July 24, 2014
By: JPrince
from NYC
"Just got these fly boxes in the mail and I love them. Well built and the personalization is great. If you are a classic fisherman, I would heavy recommend these fly boxed!"
Review 2 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for short trips & small flies,
July 23, 2014
By: Smudgefly
from Tarheel Land & Sky, NC
"This is a nice box, great color, lightweight, and will fit just about any pocket-size. I gave it only 4 stars due to the one draw back I have seen while using it. It needs a slight catch in its lid so opening it would take just a little effort in opening it. Altoids box or Sucrets box would be good examples.
It would make a great gift for your friends or yourself, when you just need a squad of flies, not a battalion."
Review 3 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fly box,
June 10, 2014
By: Airstream
from Little Rock, Arkansas
"Well....I'm new to fly fishing and I assume this is a classic fly box. At least this box is what I imagine would be a classic fly box which is exactly why I purchased this over the plastic boxes. Anyway I am very pleased with the box and as my collection of flies grow I will be purchasing more of the aluminum boxes."
Review 4 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personalised Birthday Gift,
June 4, 2014
By: Golferog
from London UK
"I bought this for a friend who is beginning to learn fly fishing...they were delighted and especially with the added benefit of having their name inscribed on the box."
Review 5 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size,
April 22, 2014
By: PB412
from Pittsburgh, PA
"The small is perfect size--6 compartments--for a reasonable assortment of "go-to" dries & nymphs. Compartments aren't large enough for streamers, but again, if you organize your flies by box and are trying to off- load some of those rarely used options, this is a great choice."
Review 6 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
April 22, 2014
By: RobEN
"Outstanding quality! Had it personalized and it turned out amazing."
Review 7 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great organizer,
April 16, 2014
By: bosswhlr
from Hernando, Florida
"Orvis lightweight fly box makes fly selection easy, with seperate compartments and spring loaded covers you are able to retrive the fly you want in an orderly fashion.
Very pleased with mine.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as the British brand,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"This box is as well finished as those costing several times more. I am very pleased with it."
Review 9 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful net,
November 22, 2013
By: cshorty
from Sacramento, CA
"It's the perfect trout net. Extremely light and well built."
Review 10 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly box,
June 21, 2013
By: Jjsweeney
from Lexington, KY
"Nice light fly box, perfect for carrying a multitude of different flies."
Review 11 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift!,
April 8, 2013
By: FlyGal
"I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend- The fly fisher who has everything- for his birthday. I thought having his name engraved was such a unique and thoughtful present."
Review 12 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replacement,
April 4, 2013
By: TomGAus
from Australia
"Hi Orvis, I origianlly bought this style fly box but with the individual compartments with small fish shaped windows. This box looked much nicer and classsic, however the windows and springs failed to work much of the time. The small steel bar that the windows hinged on kept falling through the holes and some of the latches that lock the window closed failed to open. This was of course a problem when i was out on the water and trying to change fly. As a result, I have discarded the old one with windows and bought the same style just with flat foam and rippled foam, leaving no risk of the windows not opening or falling apart. This simple design of the foam only version is much more user friendly, it just doesnt look as nice."
Review 13 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality through & through,
January 25, 2013
By: jabberwading
from Michigan
"The 10 compartment aluminum fly box is fantastic! Excellent quality & has a great retro look to it. I especially liked the engraving & it gives it a personal flair. Can't wait to get out on the river!"
Review 14 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Decent Fly Box,
January 20, 2013
By: Smalltrout
"I got the Orvis Lightweight Aluminum Fly Box in the small size with six compartments and a flat foam lid. This box is great and I was very pleased when I received it. It holds small and medium sized flies very well. It is also small enough to fit comfortably in a pocket. An addition on the box that I liked was the ventilation holes that allow the flies in the compartments to dry when the box is closed. This box is great to hold the flies I use for high altitude streams and is lightweight, which is great for backpacking trips. I really liked the small compartments with the spring-loaded lids, which makes it very easy to open and access the flies. Although the box was mostly good I had a few problems with it that made me a little disappointed with this gift. The fist problem is the box has no latch system to hold it tightly closed. The second problem is that the thin metal bar in the hinge slides out a little. Although it is very easy to push back in it is something that could be improved. Another problem was that the flies that are placed on the foam lid have to be relatively small and if the fly hook is curved, such as the Ian’s Brass A** in size 10, when you close the box it will not close completely. This is a place where Orvis could improve by only adding a couple millimeters to the boxes width and it wouldn’t even make the box very bulky. The last very small problem I had was the compartments open with a small wire trigger. This is very nice but you have to pay attention not to put your flies where on of the metal triggers land on the foam lid or the box will not close. Overall, this is a good box but could have minor improvements that would make it a great product."
Review 15 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value--classic dry fly box,
January 16, 2013
By: CaptainPeregrine
from New England
"I purchased one of these last season to see if it worked well. It works like the well-known classic fly boxes that cost 3 or 4 times as much. I now have two of the small size and two of the large size, each with individual compartments. There is not much space on the foam side of the box so any nymphs or streamers you store on that side will need to be small (probably size 12 or less), but if it were wider, it would be too bulky. Since the boxes only come in one color, I put Roman numerals on them with paint markers to differentiate without having to open them."
Review 16 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A first class buy,
January 11, 2013
By: FlymanWales
from Cardiff
"As ever Orvis products are top quality.The construction and finish is good and this little fly box simpply feels comfortable to hold and use. I am pleased with my purchase."
Review 17 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Aluminum Fly Box,
December 11, 2012
By: FunkyPops
from Columbus, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Pros: Durable fly box with lots of room! See attached photo. I had been looking for something that fit well into a pocket but could also carry some of my poppers. The Orvis Aluminum Fly Box fits this need. I also had my name personalized on it which makes a nice touch.
Cons: The hinge of my fly box keeps pushing out the little rod that holds the two sides together. This hasn't really affected the performance of the box. It's more of an annoyance. See attached photo.
I gave this product 4 stars due to the hinge issue. I would defenitly buy more of this product as well as recommend it to others."
Review 18 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Center Leaf Fly Box,
October 31, 2012
By: firechief467
from Knoxville, Tn
"This box was selected to accompany the companion boxes in the series, presented as a Father's Day gift in the past. The box is sturdy aluminum construction with foam mounting boards on four surfaces, allowing for a wide variety of fly selection. With the four mounting surfaces it is easy to separate flys into various groups for easy location during the heat of the action."
Review 19 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly-box of it's type,
September 24, 2012
By: Will1984
from Fort Worth, TX
"Have owned a couple fly boxes with compartments (not always easy to find) and this one is hands down the best. "Storability" in your vest is far better others I've owned, opening mechanism works great (have had breaking issues with the push in window style), and best of all it looks dang good. Not the cheapest box on the market, but I still use boxes my grandad gave me, so it's a long term investment."
Review 20 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not that large,
July 11, 2012
By: SWFisher
from Southern England
"Ordered large size online - solid feel but somewhat smaller than I expected"