Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes

A classic style fly box loved for years, at a great value. Protect and organize your flies in your choice of boxes made of high-quality, marine-grade aluminium and high-density non-absorbent foam. The individual spring-loaded locking windows and the firm foam make fly retrieval easy on the water. Corrosion resistant. Four models.Dimensions:Small measures: 2¾ “X 3½”X ⅞” Large measures:6"x 3½ "x 1"
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
62 of 66(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely quality,
March 26, 2015
By: ChrisnLes
"Well made, quality boxes, particularly good for gifts when personalised."
Review 2 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does a great job,
March 25, 2015
By: paul16
from UK
"It is refreshing to buy a compartment box which contains enough compartments to house all the dry flies you will need during a days fishing and ample storage for nymphs etc. The compartments lock effectively and the box fits comfortably in a fishing vest. Highly recommended."
Review 3 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reliable products,
February 26, 2015
By: Raybob
from Kenova WV
"when looking for fly fishing products I can always depend on Orvis to get what I need. From flies clothing To fly rods."
Review 4 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
February 3, 2015
By: Sullys
from Elko, NV
"Very nice box and durable. The engraving came out wonderful!"
Review 5 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first time purchase,
December 26, 2014
By: hehaseverything
from central Texas
"This was my first purchase from Orvis. I was searching for a gift that my sportsman husband could really use. The aluminum fly box is well made and good size. Well suited to the cost. The script engraving was the perfect touch. The box arrived two days earlier than expected. Very pleased with this item"
Review 6 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift!,
December 26, 2014
By: GSPJac
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I got this and had it monogrammed for my mom. She loves it and it was a great Christmas present!"
Review 7 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Great Gift,
November 21, 2014
By: Fisher123
"Bought this as a Christmas gift and wouldn't mind keeping it for myself! I like the lightweight aluminum and the easy open and close of the compartments. Looking forward to seeing how well it holds up after significant use."
Review 8 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic...Well made fly box,
July 24, 2014
By: JPrince
from NYC
"Just got these fly boxes in the mail and I love them. Well built and the personalization is great. If you are a classic fisherman, I would heavy recommend these fly boxed!"
Review 9 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for short trips & small flies,
July 23, 2014
By: Smudgefly
from Tarheel Land & Sky, NC
"This is a nice box, great color, lightweight, and will fit just about any pocket-size. I gave it only 4 stars due to the one draw back I have seen while using it. It needs a slight catch in its lid so opening it would take just a little effort in opening it. Altoids box or Sucrets box would be good examples.
It would make a great gift for your friends or yourself, when you just need a squad of flies, not a battalion."
Review 10 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fly box,
June 10, 2014
By: Airstream
from Little Rock, Arkansas
"Well....I'm new to fly fishing and I assume this is a classic fly box. At least this box is what I imagine would be a classic fly box which is exactly why I purchased this over the plastic boxes. Anyway I am very pleased with the box and as my collection of flies grow I will be purchasing more of the aluminum boxes."
Review 11 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personalised Birthday Gift,
June 4, 2014
By: Golferog
from London UK
"I bought this for a friend who is beginning to learn fly fishing...they were delighted and especially with the added benefit of having their name inscribed on the box."
Review 12 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size,
April 22, 2014
By: PB412
from Pittsburgh, PA
"The small is perfect size--6 compartments--for a reasonable assortment of "go-to" dries & nymphs. Compartments aren't large enough for streamers, but again, if you organize your flies by box and are trying to off- load some of those rarely used options, this is a great choice."
Review 13 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
April 22, 2014
By: RobEN
"Outstanding quality! Had it personalized and it turned out amazing."
Review 14 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great organizer,
April 16, 2014
By: bosswhlr
from Hernando, Florida
"Orvis lightweight fly box makes fly selection easy, with seperate compartments and spring loaded covers you are able to retrive the fly you want in an orderly fashion.
Very pleased with mine.
"
Review 15 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as the British brand,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"This box is as well finished as those costing several times more. I am very pleased with it."
Review 16 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful net,
November 22, 2013
By: cshorty
from Sacramento, CA
"It's the perfect trout net. Extremely light and well built."
Review 17 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly box,
June 21, 2013
By: Jjsweeney
from Lexington, KY
"Nice light fly box, perfect for carrying a multitude of different flies."
Review 18 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift!,
April 8, 2013
By: FlyGal
"I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend- The fly fisher who has everything- for his birthday. I thought having his name engraved was such a unique and thoughtful present."
Review 19 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replacement,
April 4, 2013
By: TomGAus
from Australia
"Hi Orvis, I origianlly bought this style fly box but with the individual compartments with small fish shaped windows. This box looked much nicer and classsic, however the windows and springs failed to work much of the time. The small steel bar that the windows hinged on kept falling through the holes and some of the latches that lock the window closed failed to open. This was of course a problem when i was out on the water and trying to change fly. As a result, I have discarded the old one with windows and bought the same style just with flat foam and rippled foam, leaving no risk of the windows not opening or falling apart. This simple design of the foam only version is much more user friendly, it just doesnt look as nice."
Review 20 for Orvis Lightweight Aluminium Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality through & through,
January 25, 2013
By: jabberwading
from Michigan
"The 10 compartment aluminum fly box is fantastic! Excellent quality & has a great retro look to it. I especially liked the engraving & it gives it a personal flair. Can't wait to get out on the river!"