Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants

The ultimate in pure laid-back comfort, these men's drawstring pants are made of the same 6.0-oz. pure cotton Bush Poplin that we use in one of our all-time best-selling outdoor shirts. It is wonderfully soft, but very durable. These casual pants have an elasticized waist with a built-in drawstring for perfect fit and comfort. Two button-through rear pockets and two easy-access quarter-top pockets. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
41 of 46(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Review 1 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for long-haul travel,
April 3, 2014
By: jcpittsburgh
"I purchased these pants for long-haul travel. I wanted something I could sleep in and be presentable in (as opposed to sweats). These pants fit the bill!"
Review 2 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good purchase,
April 2, 2014
By: Irving47
from Pittsburgh PA
"Drawstring works well, but is not completely necessary for fit (something we were looking for)
Zipper works well
Wish inseam choice of 1" shorter were available
Like Stone color very much
Comfortably lightweight
Washes well -- did not need to iron even though 100% cotton -- did get out of dryer promptly though"
Review 3 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfort & quality,
February 11, 2014
By: 1shiling
from Sun City West, AZ
"Draw string minimumally effective. Closed waist band creates a bit of a struggle when getting in and out of pants. Stiching in crotch area is not commensurate with quality of material."
Review 4 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Drawstring pant,
February 9, 2014
By: Brik
from AZ
"I do a lot of flying and I bought these pants so that I can go through airport screenings without having to hold my pants up after taking the belt off. I've worn the pants a couple of times and they'll do the job the next time I have to travel. It is a bit of a struggle to tie the drawstring tight enough to keep the pants where I want them on my waist, but it works well enough for what I need/want them for."
Review 5 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight,
January 24, 2014
By: sealbeachnorm
"Light weight and comfortable. You can choose your length as close as one quarter inch."
Review 6 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So So,
December 6, 2013
By: tradertwo
"I really liked the material and thought they were of good quality, but I didn't think the elastic in the waistband was all that "elastic". In fact, without the drawstring, they wouldn't stay up over my hips. I had to return them."
Review 7 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
October 14, 2013
By: amaroque
"I think their probably great if you're going to be standing or walking around all day but if you are more active, kneeling and squatting, then I think they're quite restrictive around the hips and crotch. I wound up returning mine because they couldn't accommodate my activity level."
Review 8 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why do they change vendors and lower quality?,
October 2, 2013
By: MVIslander
from Martha's Vineyard, MA
"I've been wearing these pants for over five years. Every order I place yields flimsier pants with more inferior stitching in the crotch. Moreover, when the cuffless pants are finished, no two pair have the same length inseam. Everything else I get from Orvis lasts forever, but these pants are not only no worth the money, but each time you wear them they have to be closely inspected to make sure they will not fall apart while I am at the office nor drag on the ground."
Review 9 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 6, 2013
By: MyLab
from Southington, CT
"A great pant, my wife loved them, great fit, very comfortable. Wore them to an outdoor wedding, a great choice, not over-dressed, nor under-dressed. You did it again Orvis a pant that goes to every occasion."
Review 10 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More drawstrings,
August 26, 2013
By: Gilmore
from Prescott Valley AZ
"Same problem with waist size. I will order 42 in future. Material good and inseam will need shorting. Otherwise a very good purchase."
Review 11 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucy Locket Trousers,
August 9, 2013
By: DocJohn
from Devon, England
"If I could I would give these 4.5 stars. They are superbly comfortable and fit really well. This is due of course to the draw string elasticated waist, a rarity at the moment. So hats off to Orvis for including such trousers in their catalogue. What the catalogue doesn't make clear is that they do have a zip front although the waist does not open; this is unusual but works well. They are excellent trousers for travelling except for one niggle: rear pockets are useless and side pockets almost so when travelling in a car. So Orvis please include a couple of 'cargo' pockets on the lateral aspect of thigh or leg. Thanks"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
May 30, 2013
By: gwleininger
"These pants are above all comfortable, due in large part to the elastic waistband. They fit well, and look like regular chinos. The wide range of inseam options is a real plus. The only feature that I think needs to be improved is the drawstring. Since it is not elastic, if you have to use it, it acts like a normal belt, and elasticity in the waistband is lost."
Review 13 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit,
May 21, 2013
By: dorr
from keystone heights, fl.
"A tailor cool fabric pants that will give your waist line a break"
Review 14 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
May 20, 2013
By: rxlady
from south jersey
"My husband likes these pants. Nice weight for summer. Orvis has quality merchandise. Would like to see more clothes made in USA."
Review 15 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great casual summer pants,
May 14, 2013
By: dehush
from Hudson, Quebec
"They look and feel terrific. Comfortable and easy to wear. Very pleased with them."
Review 16 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Item Returned,
April 22, 2013
By: gtnvla
from Los Angeles, CA
"The rise on these trousers was very high. I admit, I am short waisted: most of my 5'11" height is in my legs. I could have worn the pants right under my armpits or, if I wore them on my waist, I'd have a rapper-style groin compartment: these are not my best looks....
More 'low-rise' pants with inseams at least 34"!! Thanks."
Review 17 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
April 16, 2013
By: AlertGeezer
from Silver Spring, MD
"Well made, but could be better for disabled. The drawstring and zipper could be redesigned to better support operation by people having the use of only one hand."
Review 18 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an improvement!,
April 3, 2013
By: Drucy
from Valparaiso, Chile
"I bought these for my husband who prefers his pants to have a drawstring with a fully elastic waist. His motto: comfort comes first. We live in Chile where this is definitely not the style trend. These pants actually look good! It was an added plus to be able to order the finished length. He's happy and I'm happy. Couldn't ask for more."
Review 19 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 2, 2013
By: Gerryd
from South Texas
"Simplicity plus! for an older gentleman who needs just an extra bit of help dressing."
Review 20 for Bush Poplin Drawstring Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful find,
February 21, 2013
By: PamO
"I have a developmentally disabled 18 year old son and he cannot manage snaps, zippers, buttons etc. these pants make it able for him to look well dressed and take care of all his needs on his own. Thanks, Orvis!"