Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wind River Leather Jacket

Shield yourself from the elements in a handsome jacket built for a lifetime. Crafted in America of genuine goatskin—renowned for its durability—our exclusive long jacket is replete with features sure to make it an instant favorite, including a zip-closed security pocket and a cell phone pocket, hidden-snap front storm flap, and versatile two-way front zip. Cut long enough to wear over a sport coat, our jacket has a warm wool/polyester/cashmere lining with a cotton poplin/spandex seat for an easy fit. Adjustable sleeve tabs. Snap-closed double back vents. Six exterior and two interior pockets. Men's long jacket in saddle. Genuine goatskin leather body with wool/polyester/cashmere lining and cotton/spandex seat. Professionally clean. USA.Regular even sizes 40-52. About 32½" long in size 42.
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wind River Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leather ever,
March 10, 2013
By: Fredbear
from London ,UK.
"All of my purchases from Orvis have been a pleasing shopping experience, this time was no exception ! I not only got the best leather jacket I have owned, but got it in the sale. Then a few days after the purchase the price was dropped a further 20%, and Orvis kindly gave me that credit. A first class product backed up by a first class customer service dept."
Review 2 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality leather jacket,
March 8, 2013
By: Antper
from East London
"Very smart and comfortable heavyweight jacket that keeps the wind and rain out. Very classy, but it should be at the price!"
Review 3 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Really "hot" leather coat,
March 5, 2013
By: Stonie
from NW Ohio
"Loved it: however, it was made for very cold weather. This may be one of the best leather coats I have ever seen. I did not keep it because I did not need a coat for icy cold climates."
Review 4 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Real Deal,
February 14, 2013
By: Geordelad
from London
"I have looked at this coat for over a year thinking how good it looked but the price was a little more than I was prepared to pay. So, when it was reduced I thought why not. When I received it I was knocked out by the style and quality which was even better than I had imagined. It fits perfectly and looks great; I love wearing it Well done Orvis"
Review 5 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 24, 2013
By: Badhabit
from nc
"This jacket runs true to size. The sleeves are a little long so it fits me perfectly. The zipper takes a little getting used to but it's like that with any jacket that has a zipper this size. I've only worn it for a couple of weeks but it's a great looking jacket and it's warm. If you're looking for a really light jacket this isn't it , it's fairly heavy and should last a lifetime. Great product."
Review 6 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wind River Leather Jacket,
January 21, 2013
By: erigaktuk
from B.C.
"This is a beautiful garment which I will wear on those occasions I want to feel a cut above the ordinary. The material and workmanship are of high quality and the fit is perfect."
Review 7 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat,
January 19, 2013
By: golforegon
"I ordered on-line. As soon as I opened the box, I could tell the quality of material and workmanship was excellent. My disappointment was that it didn't fit. I need an "Orvis 38" which this coat does not come in. I don't understand why Orvis sizing in coats is skewed upward as if it improves my self image to fit into a "smaller" size. Medium sized Orvis shirts fit perfectly. Still looking for a nice leather coat"
Review 8 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extraordinary Leather Jacket,
December 28, 2012
By: NateP
"I love this coat. It was more money than I typically would spend on a jacket but I decided to treat myself to something really nice. The color is beautiful and it is cut perfectly. My one complaint is the zipper positioning, but even that is not so bad once I got used to it. All in all this jacket is outstanding!"
Review 9 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
overall best orvis leather jacket,
December 20, 2012
By: scottblack
from harrisburg, pa
"great leather quality, texture and color, plenty of usable exterior and
interior pockets (both with and without zips), and superior styling and overall appeal of any leather jacket i have seen in over 40 years. did purchase.
not perfect however: size 40 was somewhat too roomy for a size 40, the sleeves were 1 1/2 " too long, and the front main zipper is very hard to start.
"
Review 10 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wind River Jacket,
December 7, 2012
By: 625892
from Philadelphia PA
"Bought the jacket from the Plymouth Meeting PA store location. I have no doubt this jacket can probably last the rest of my lifetime! I was looking for something with a little more style than the typical wool/peacoat style most guys are wearing these days. This jacket is very substantial and appears to well made (only had a for few days) and warm, but not stiffling. Zipper a little tricky to engage at first, but I have it down now with no problem. Pockets are where I need them to be. Havent worn it in foul weather yet but the leather is thick and buttery soft. Very nice. Store Manager and Sales Associate were very helpful in the orderting and fitting process and delivery was exactly when they said it would be. Sure, the price is steap, but I was not deterred and I dont regret it. Most beautiful jacket I have ever owned."
Review 11 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
December 3, 2012
By: Prisma
"I have worn this jacket for two winters and I am am looking forward to wearing it again soon. It is stops the wind, rain, and kept me warm and dry in some pretty far off places. It ages very well. I have read the reports on the problem with the zipper. My advise is zip up before you go out into the cold.. It may take a while.. or put some WD on it."
Review 12 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WORST EVER,
November 29, 2012
By: kssbiz
"During the month of November 2012, I received, and returned four (4) of these jackets. I am 6'3" tall and weigh 230 lbs.
The first one a size 48, was a bit tight and 2 of the front four snaps were broken.
I subsqeuently ordered and returned three (3) size 50's, each of which also had broken snaps on the front.
The last one also had a whiite moldy substance on the left front pocket that would not wipe off.
While customer service was very helpful, I am shocked that after repeated requests to inspect the 4th jacket BEFORE shipment to avoid another return, I received yet another defective jacket.
Needless to say, at $1,900, the jacket should have been perfect....at leat once in four (4) tries!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leather ever!,
September 20, 2012
By: Rake
from Bethel, CT
"I bought my first leather jacket in 1965 and have owned many over the years. The Wind River is by far the most practical and attractive leather jacket I have ever owned. It fits like a glove, keeps me warm and dry, has plenty of handy storage pockets and never fails to solicit a compliment from admirers whenever I wear it. My only regret is not buying it sooner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Okay Purchase,
January 16, 2012
By: ChillyWilly
from Chicago, Illinois
"I went to the Orvis store to order The World Finest Shearling Coat. The salesman gave me a leather coat to try on for size. The leather coat that he brought out was the Wind River Leather Jacket. I put the leather jacket on and fell in love with the jacket. The jacket was a 44 regular and I wear a 46. I ordered the jacket in a 46. I received the jacket and was disaapointed in the way the jacket looked. It was not as vibrant as the one I saw in the Orvis store. The leather had some serious flaws that I cound not except. The 46 was a little big however it fit better than the 44. I called the Orvis customer service and they were very helpful. They sent me out another jacket that was better than the first one I received. However, it was not as vibrant as the one I tried on in the store. I love the jacket but I believe my jacket was one of the one's at the bottom of the pile. If I had to do it all over again, I would have Orvis send me 5 "Wind river Leather Jackets and choose the best one, or fly to the warehouse and select my own."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat!,
January 11, 2012
By: Viper
from Sugar Land, TX
"I also obsessed over the Wind River Leather Jacket for about a year before deciding to purchase it. After receiving the jacket, I am pleased to say it was worth the wait and the price. It is extremely well made and heavier than I expected. I began receiving compliments on the coat immediately and enjoy wearing it. Unlike the other reviews, I had to order a size up for a correct fit. Exchanging the coat was very easy and customer service was great. The only thing I would add to the coat is a draw-string at the waist for a more tapered fit. I highly recommend the coat if it is within your budget."
Review 16 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent leather jacket,
January 3, 2012
By: SeniorSandy
from Denver, Colorado
"Paying this much for a leather jacket sets the bar very high! Happy to say that this jacket succeeds! Nicely finished, great fit, nice variety of pockets and it just feels great to wear this jacket! I debated over this a long time, but now am delighted with my purchase. You won't be sorry!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great, but...,
December 31, 2011
By: Mariposa3171
from New Mexico
"I lusted over this jacket for three years, and finally made the plunge. I read the reviews, both good and bad, before I bought it. When it arrived, it tuirned out to be even better than I had hoped for....except for one thing. Three years ago i read a review which talked about what a beautiful jacket it was, but the zipper didn't work! The author of that review sent it back, noting that the zipper quality was inconsistent with Orvis and the rest of the jacket.. Guess what. My jacket had the same probelm three years later. I expected Orvis to solve that by the time I purchased that jacket. But apparently they didn't. I am very surprised and disappointed. You don't put a mediocre zipper on an expensive, heirloom jacxket."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive but worth it,
December 30, 2011
By: KSSL
from Gloucester, MA
"Like many of the other reviewers for this item I was greatly impressed with the description of this jacket and it's apparent quality. However, the cost, especially in these economic times, made one pause. After going back and forth about buying it for a few days I ordered it, knowing that Orvis has always had an excellent return policy. I'm very glad that I did. The coat is great and I really do expect that it will last a lifetime.
However, I did miscalculate the size. After reading the other reviews I decided to get a size 44, rather than my normal 46. In my case, this didn't work out well, with the jacket being somewhat small in the shoulders. I called the Manchester store and they had a size 46 in stock. I took the jacket sent to me, and went to the store to check it out. The salespeople there were wonderful, especially Monica, who not only helped me try on different sizes, but also different related styles of leather jackets to make sure that I was happy. In the end I did decide that the Wind River Jacket was the right one for me, and Monica took care of all the paperwork. I left the store, not only happy with my coat, which I wear all the time now, but also very happy with the service that I received from the people at the Manchester store. Well done Orvis.
"
Review 19 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
December 29, 2011
By: ferrtdavidr
from Conroe, TX
"The coat was a great deal and I made the purchase. It is of fine quality and keeps me warm. I love that it is classic design."
Review 20 for Wind River Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't fault any aspect,
December 11, 2011
By: NEWT64
from Brighton East sussex
"I have bought many items of clothing from Orvis. Without exception I could not fault any aspect. From ordering to delivery to quality I rate them all as excellent.
I am often complimented on items I'm wearing, more often then not they are Orvis items.
They seem to improve with age, which sadly is more then I can say for myself.
It is rare that I can honestly recommend clothing to friends without worrying the items will let me and them down...I never worry about Orvis goods."