Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Lightweight DogProof Shams

Shams have an envelope back that makes it easy to insert pillows. In goldenrod, mocha, ecru. Cotton/polyester blend. Washable. Standard Sham 28½ x 22". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
30
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
15
102 of 134(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Review 1 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
February 12, 2014
By: ChipmanJH0828
from Rockland, ME
"This blanket is good, but when it comes to washing, it gets all balled up in washer and dryer, takes longer to dry and wrinkles badly. I think you used to carry one that was quilted which would be so much better! All my dog beds have come from Orvis, and had same ones for 14 years. I would buy another IF it was quilted!"
Review 2 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pillow sham: new use,
February 6, 2013
By: beckybeckers
from monroe ny
"I purchase new pillows every several months and use the old ones for my dogs. I cover pillow in plastic and insert it in this great pillow sham. Vaccums easily and washes easily. Also fits great in most crates and dogs love it :)"
Review 3 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok - I admit these are for the sofa!,
February 1, 2013
By: MemeD
from Valdosta, GA
"Although VERY active, late in the evening our Boston Terriers are couch hounds, so I bought these to save the few decent "pretty" pillows I have left. Love the rich color and comfy fabric. I can always trust Orvis to design products that I didn't even realize I needed!"
Review 4 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 12, 2012
By: weston13
"this blanket is the perfect weight for the warmer weather and will be a nice addition to a comforter in winter. love the color and it truly keeps dog hair and dirt from reaching my bedding."
Review 5 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Protection,
August 5, 2012
By: pab204
from Clemmons, NC
"I bought the Three dog night winter coverlet years ago and it was perfect. The lightweight is same protection as the winter version but lighter for warmer months."
Review 6 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day bed cover,
August 2, 2012
By: NMk9luver
from New Mexico
"I have a daybed for my "reading room/guest bedroom" and was struggling for something to cover it with. My lab mix likes to sit on the day bed and look out the window to watch the neighborhood "doings". I didn't want to leave the nice company bedspread on to get ruined by dog hair, mud, nails, etc. This coverlet is attractive, sturdy b lends in will with the decor and is a great asset for a bed that a much loved and spoiled dog uses quite a bit. Very well made."
Review 7 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Also CatProof!,
July 31, 2012
By: VerbalBlowtorch
from Oklahoma
"Nice quality coverlet -- feels soft and looks good! While billed as lightweight, we find it's still too heavy to sleep under in summer -- but that's ok; it's perfect for our intended purpose: Protecting the bed from cat vomit and misc. feline detritus during the day."
Review 8 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
does what it says,
July 30, 2012
By: dogmom35
"This spread is good for keeping messes from going through to the sheets. My complaint is that it is only stitched down around the edges and the waterproof backing seems to be bigger than the top so it looks wrinkled all the time. Maybe if it was stitched together in some sort of quilted pattern it would lay flatter. Also, it does not breath so we get really hot sleeping under it. I usually just leave it on the bed during the day and take it off at night. This defeats the purpose of having it if there is an accident by my pups during the night."
Review 9 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gave it two tries,
July 29, 2012
By: mamamarye
from Virginia
"I purchased this item about a year ago and Orvis did a very easy exchange because the color was not what I expected (switched blue for ecru). However, the product itself did well at first, it gets very hot. We used it for a while then switched blankets because my husband and myself would wake up sweating. Additionally, when I washed it, either the lining or the top shrunk because it is all off kilter. I recently gave it another try in a different season and same result - waking up often due to being too hot.
I intend to keep it to use on furniture for our dog. It did work well with his large claws/paws and his massive quantities of white dog hair.
In short, not so good for us humans and sleeping but great for our dog."
Review 10 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product,
July 24, 2012
By: boxerbeat02
"Fantastic for the bed keeping you cool for the summer and the dogs love it too. Material is tough and easy to wash."
Review 11 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sent it back,
July 23, 2012
By: Naturelover1
from Massachusetts
"First, the color was much more yellow than shown in the picture. It was very heavy and the plastic layer needs to be stitched down to the upper layer other than at the edges so that it won't shift and slide. It is sort of like a duvet cover with no duvet inside."
Review 12 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we needed.,
July 10, 2012
By: waffy
"I've always had dogs on my bed at night with me. My husband did not. He was very concerned about hair, little doggie fluids here and there. It's been a consant struggle and strain. This blanket has ended that problem. It was light weight enough for me to not feel weighted down and sturdy to make my husband feel comfortable. It's actuall a very pretty cover too. We got the bluemist. Thanks Orvis! Another marriage saved from disaster!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
color misleading,
July 2, 2012
By: bkwife
from Wisconsin
"Great product but the color representation is off. The blue mist is much closer to a battleship gray in color. Other that that, it's a super product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
June 18, 2012
By: Hossdog
"I bought this because our dog is aging and I'm concerned about us and our mattress. We live in a mild climate, so I didn't want anything heavry. When the blanket arrived, I was doubtful because it was heavier than I expected and the lining felt like plastic. The first time we slept under it I was amazed. It was light and comfortable. The dog loves it too. I definitely will recommend this blanket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
June 12, 2012
By: sadiescribbles
from Wisconsin
"We purchased this because our dog was having a temporary (I hope) problem with incontinence. It's a generous size, substantial in weight, and adds a bit of added warmth...be aware of that in summer. We'll be taking this along on travels, when our dog accompanies us. The waterproof quality has not yet been tested, but it seems as if it would be a success."
Review 16 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too much trouble,
June 8, 2012
By: Dogmom04
from Midland TX
"This product does what it says it will so if that is all you need - it works. But the cover and lining are not attached and it makes it difficult to wash and dry. It also crawls when it is on the bed so that you are always having to straighten it."
Review 17 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Protective Dog Blanket,
June 2, 2012
By: icedancer
from Florida
"We bought this over 2 years ago to protect our bed linens from all the hair from our Sheltie. Hair sticks to the dog blanket, which is sometimes hard to remove. Still get dog hair on pillows & any place the dog lays that isn't covered. We gained 2 Westies as well & the blanket has held up well, One of the Westies has thrown up while on the blanket & it kept it from seeping through to the coverlet & sheets below. Living in FLA, it's great for added warmth in the winter, but too hot for the rest of the year. We have the king. I am now ordering 2 of the twin size to allow for better placement to cover where the dogs sleep while not having the warm blanket on us.
I only air dry as I thought machine drying would lessen the moisture protection abilities. Having 2 sets of these will help when laundering is needed.
Only placed on bed at bedtime, stored the rest of the time on a towel warmer rack we never used (can use a quilt rack as well).
"
Review 18 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Money,
April 19, 2012
By: 2Dogs2Cats1Iguana
from Brookfield, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have 2 dogs that go swimming daily - ever since the ice was gone from the lake. We were skeptical about spending the funds and not knowing how good the coverlet would handle the situation. We purchased the coverlet King sz.
We are very happy to report it works like a charm! We sleep dry and cozy even after they jump on the bed soaking wet. Love It - Worth the Money
"
Review 19 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Idea,
April 18, 2012
By: Goldenslover
from Cincinnati, OH
"This was a very good product to protect an expensive bedspread. It is a bit bulky but does the job to keep the dirt and dog hair in it's place. My only complaint is that the first time I washed it, it took a very long time to dry completely. My two goldens seem to find it extremely comfortable and inviting!"
Review 20 for Lightweight DogProof Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
works but too hot,
April 2, 2012
By: NOEJ
"We have three big dogs that are all on our bed at one point or another every night. We were thrilled when we found this coverlet so that we could have a normal comforter that the dogs wouldn't destroy. The coverlet works very well at protecting the bedspread but unfortunately, we found it was too hot, even if we just had a sheet and the coverlet itself."