Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

DogProof Comforter

Let your dog sleep on the bed without worry. The tightly-woven, soft chenille weave backed with 300-thread-count cotton resists dog claws, while a high-tech water-resistant breathable membrane protects you and your bed linens from the water, hair, dirt, or—heaven forbid—accidents that come from sharing your bed with your pets. Shams have an envelope back which makes it easy to insert pillows. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DogProof Comforter
Review 1 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Comforter,
August 31, 2012
By: Who1
"Bought this for the waterproof aspect, no accidents yet so I cannot judge that, but the comforter appears to be of high quality. It is heavy, which isn't necessary late summer, but will be welcome this winter."
Review 2 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matches need perfectly,
August 8, 2012
By: RKKMom
from CA
"We got this comforter for my daughter because our dog sleeps with her. Both my daughter and the dog are happy with the look, and feel. The comforter is rugged enough to withstand "dog nesting," it's easy to use a lint brush to pull up hair and it still looks attractive on the bed. The only compliant we have is that my daughter finds the twin sized comforter so generously proportioned that she feels like she needs to get a bigger bed!"
Review 3 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it!,
July 8, 2012
By: patandband
from tomball, tx
"I bought the coverlet several years ago and it wore out with all the dogs and cats sleeping on the bed. I went with the comforter this time and just love it. The animals are happy with it too!"
Review 4 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Comforter Ever,
June 1, 2012
By: 3dogcrazy
from North Carolina
"I have 3 dogs and 2 cats. Most nights we usually have at least 2 dogs and a cat in the bed. I have been looking for a decent comforter that the dog hair does not get stuck to and is still attractive and comfortable. I am very pleased with this comforter. It is very fluffy and sometimes it is difficult to get out of bed as it is so comfortable. Dog hair does accumulate but can be easily brushed off with your hand due to the corduroy like top or vacuumed to look like new again. I was hesitant to buy it at first thinking it might be too warm for NC, but it is just right. There are a few nights where I get a little warm but I just turn the fan on and I am fine. After looking long and hard I have finally found the comforter I have been looking for!"
Review 5 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Comforter,
May 9, 2012
By: EvilMonkey
"This comforter is strong, comfortable and will keep you warm. Our dog sleeps on it every day and night. She always scratches before she lays down, and this is holding up very well. I have already recommended this to others."
Review 6 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable, warm and stain resistant,
January 26, 2012
By: ThePrecious
from TN
"My Doberman recently was allowed into the bed. She loves to root around in her bedding, leading to tears in fabric. She also enjoys running through brush, which can lead to little nicks on her legs which bleed. After shredding the last comforter in about 3 months, I decided to make the investment in this comforter. Within the first day, I had already successfully cleaned blood off of it. Abby loves it, it looks good, and it keeps me warm. I'm impressed! The only downside is that we’re both so comfortable, we don’t want to get out of bed."
Review 7 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
almost good enough,
January 12, 2012
By: weston13
"there's no question but that this keeps all of the pet hair and dirt from the dogs on the comforter and out of our bed. my only objection is that, since we are using this in place of our down comforter, i would have wished that it were a little warmer and a little fluffier. it's too warm to use both this and our comforter."
Review 8 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for multiple dogs & cold owners,
December 13, 2011
By: naneki
from SW Missouri
"Other reviews talk about how heavy this is, no kidding! But if you have 4 dogs & happen to be a cover stealing wife this is for you. The dogs can play tag using the bed as a turn-around point & the cover stays put...a miracle. The pillows & sheets stay covered up, we're very happy. The best thing is that I used to always end up with all the covers on my side & my poor husband has none by the morning. This is so heavy I can't do that. It stays in place. We're both warm. Never had anything that could keep me from being a blanket thief before!"
Review 9 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doggy Comforter,
October 6, 2011
By: Fazzy
"Exceeded my expectations! It is great quality and a little heavier than I expected. Our two dogs are now totally spoiled."
Review 10 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No washer big enough to launder,
August 24, 2011
By: Labrador20009
"We ordered this because of our 14 yr old labrador's infrequent incontinence. However, the size and heft would require taking this dry cleaner to launder. This is more trouble than it's worth. I will look into alternate solutions."
Review 11 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fully satisfied,
August 23, 2011
By: mountainaire
from San Antonio, TX
"At least so far! Haven't tried to wash it yet. It might be too heavy for some folks, but as for the dog element....we are loving it. Its very sturdy...which is probably why its a little heavy. I got the king and a queen probably would have fit our king bed better......"
Review 12 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what we thought,
April 26, 2011
By: WestieLover
from Edmond, OK
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"We thought we'd be able to sleep under this comforter with our 2 Westies. When we took it out of the box and laid it out on the bed, we then realized how HEAVY the comforter is. Also, very bulky feeling. Too heavy unless you are in frigid weather and most likely even too heavy then. The body heat thrown off by the Westies combined with the heaviness of the comforter would be stiffling! We sent it back."
Review 13 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love it,
March 2, 2011
By: dj1968
from salem, oregon
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"ok, so i just received this comforter tonight. it is HUGE and covers the sides of my king sized bed, which i like. it is super heavy. i haven't slept under it yet, but i think i will l like it very much as i love to have heavy blankets on me when i sleep. now the color is something to be desired. i ordered the mocha and it is a little lighter than i expected. oh well, no biggie. i am worried how i am going to wash this thing. overall i am very happy with it. now lets see how the doggies like it. i will post again once the dirty dog paws jump on the bed. it rains tons in oregon and my problem was dirty doggie paws all over my coverlet."
Review 14 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Happy With This Comforter,
December 31, 2010
By: SpinOff
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have lost a number of comforters and sheet sets due to the antics of three 90-lb dogs who love to play and nest on my bed. Not wanting to ban the dogs from the bed, this comforter seemed like the perfect solution for me. Based on some of the reviews I was worried that it might be too heavy and cumbersome to suit my taste but I took a chance on it and am so glad I did. The dogs "tested" it thoroughly and it still looks brand-new. It is heavy but this has proven useful: the dogs can't move it out of their way to play or sleep on the sheets. It's also very warm--I imagine I'll have to remove it in the summer when I'm ready for bed--but I am thrilled with its performance as a sheet protector and don't have to deal with a bed covered in dog hair. That alone is worth the price of this comforter."
Review 15 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm,
December 22, 2010
By: Jennifer12
"My husband and I were worried that it would be uncomfortable and feel like a tarp. It is very comfortable and our German Shepherd is on it every night. We have had the window wide open in the bedroom since we've bought it, even the single digit nights. We are not at all cold. This is a great product. I have already recommended this to other people."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Resilience,
December 4, 2010
By: Comet1
from Neenah, WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My female greyhound is a fierce nest maker. With past comforters, she was never satisfied until she saw the feathers fly. She cannot destroy this bed cover, despite her strongest scratching attempts - great value and it looks terrific too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 8, 2010
By: Papillon
from Greenville, Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product arrived and is beautiful. It is too heavy for my taste as I am hot natured. I showed it to my son and he has a big dog that sleeps with him and he wants it, so it is turning out to be a gift for him, so all is well. I realize that I could have sent it back to Orvis with no problem, but since he can use it instead, that is great. I also ordered the coverlet in Mocha and it is just the right one for me! Love the color and quality!"
Review 18 for DogProof Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Proof comforter,
October 25, 2010
By: msfos
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Heavier than I thought it would be. The underside is not as scratch resistant as I thought it should be. Mine is already tearing after 3 weeeks."
Ratings-Only Reviews for DogProof Comforter
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2