Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Buckle Collar

Two layers of durable high-quality nylon web make this one of the strongest collars we offer. These personalized dog collars and leashes feature sonic-welded seams, which are 80% stronger than stitched seams, and smooth tapered edges for a comfortable fit. Steel D-ring. Recommended for tie-outs. Collar and leads are 1" wide. Collar can be personalized with up to 20 characters for 16", up to 24 characters for 18", and up to 28 characters for 20"-28". Lead can be personalized with up to 30 characters. All personalization includes spaces. Thread choices: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
5 stars
174
4 stars
35
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
5
213 of 226(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Personalized Buckle Collar
Review 1 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gives Me Great Comfort,
April 4, 2014
By: Sofiejda
"All our dogs have always had this collar by Orvis. It gives such a sense of security. Great quality with the two layers and a super sturdy buckle and "D" ring. Very comfortable for the dogs, just throw it on and they never give it a second thought. Hope you and your hounds enjoy it, too."
Review 2 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps your pup safe,
March 27, 2014
By: Marine1957
from South Jersey
"I've had three dogs and all of them have had this collar with their name and phone number on it. I've actually gone thru three in each of their lifespans. They're tough and sturdy and if following directions of no more than 2 fingers worth of space between their neck and your hand, not one has ever been ripped or torn off their necks. Next to the "chip" being inserted into them by your vet - a must these days - they're the best collar on the market and the lettering never wears to the point of un-readability before it needs replacement. For my dogs it's because they run through the woods at our summer home, love to roll in the mud, then jump in the lake and while home, run with the other dogs at the dog park every day which makes it impossible to keep it clean for more than about 6-8 years. Pretty good value I'd think. I also believe the clamp together version isn't as good or sturdy as the buckle version."
Review 3 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Coller,
March 24, 2014
By: JackN
from Goverment Camp OR
"This is 10th unit that I have purchashed always excellent product."
Review 4 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Collar,
March 20, 2014
By: SnoottheHugeBrownLab
from Texas
"The collar was just what I was looking for. Our older dog wore one for 14 1/2 years. The younger dogs wore out after 5 (different brand). So I wanted the double thick collar. Like it!"
Review 5 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
March 12, 2014
By: AzWoman
from Arizona
"This is the only collar we purchase for our dogs. It is sturdy, many color options and a great peace of mind with the canine name and our cell phone number when we are traveling in case a dog gets separated from us somehow."
Review 6 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Items,
March 10, 2014
By: MGMCO
from Longmont, CO
"I've been buying these for my dogs for years. Always a reliable, long-lasting product. Highly recommend! Did notice that the personalization was not centered on the collar the way it has been in the past and will requst it on my next purchase."
Review 7 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome product!,
March 10, 2014
By: ptex
from Boyne City, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have Alaskan Malamutes, smart little buggers that would unclip their plastic collars. These collars are 100% Malamute proof. I have great piece of mind knowing they won't come off no matter how rough they play. The embroidery option makes reading their names and numbers easy even with all that fur. Simply the best collar on the market!"
Review 8 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Collar,
March 6, 2014
By: EFK1
from Woodinville, WA
"I've had several collars and think this is the best available. I prefer it to the plastic side release collar for durability reasons. I've had puppies get one bite on the plastic and destroy it. That won't happen with the metal buckle. Simply put, this collar is perfect."
Review 9 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
March 5, 2014
By: lukas013
from Bangor, PA
"While ID tags can be lost as long as your dog has their collar on you can be contacted. These collars are sturdy and well constructed. I will continue to purchase them for all future dogs."
Review 10 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Personalized collar,
February 25, 2014
By: Shamusthewonderdog
"Very nice quality. I have had several compliments on it."
Review 11 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
February 18, 2014
By: asmiled
"This collar is one of the few I have found that can be used with a tie out. Very well made and the personalization is perfect!"
Review 12 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog collars,
February 17, 2014
By: CynthiaJS
from Colleyville, TX
"Even though our dogs are 'chipped', I feel good having their names and our home phone number on their collars! We have used these collars for years - they never wear out, but as our dogs have grown, we have to order new ones based on size."
Review 13 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Collar Ever!,
February 4, 2014
By: TheWalter
from Maryland
"This is the only collar we use for our dogs. The steel buckle of the collar withstands the pulling forces of Labrador enthusiasm and also alerts anyone and everyone as to your dog's name and phone number should he (or she) decide to visit the neighborhood when your 3 year old lets the dog out and forgets to tell you. Thanks ORVIS!"
Review 14 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 4, 2014
By: hawkeye6
from Wanaque, New Jersey
"Collar fit well, Murphy (the dog) thinks it's real neat. Loves the color. Having his name and his phone number on it, gives us piece of mind, incase he decides to visit any of the neighhood bars to have a quick shot and beer. Again, a good purchase and the price was right."
Review 15 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repeat purchase,
February 3, 2014
By: finebyme
from Colorado
"I have been buying these collars for years, 3 different golden retrievers and 1 lab. They wear well and I only needed to purchase another collar because I needed one with our cell phone number for travel. They hold up well for the life of the dogs (15 years). I have always purchased the buckle option because I worried that my large dogs could break anything plastic."
Review 16 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks For Saving my Dogs,
January 30, 2014
By: houndmadam
from Westmont NJ
"I had purchased the collars because I had seen a stray dog with no identification on him.
My two bloodhounds had never left the yard without us, but I had some concerns about them getting loose with no contact number.
A few days after I put the collars on my boys, someone opened my gate and they were running towards a busy street.
A neighbor grabbed one of my dogs and called my cell phone number from the collar.
Some good Samaritans were stopping traffic and helped me to get Buck and Derek home.
Thanks for the collars, I could have lost my babies!
"
Review 17 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good, solid collar.,
January 27, 2014
By: Hoser
from New York
"The collar is well made and is very handy for making sure that your dog always prominently displays his name and your phone number. My dog likes to wander and this has made sure that he gets promptly returned."
Review 18 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grab this Collar,
January 22, 2014
By: BarkleyMom
from Ridgewood, NJ
"This is my second collar purchase. Bought one for my Aussie mix over a year ago and it's still looking good. The embroidery holds up well. Bought the second one for my new rescue beardie. Great quality and durability."
Review 19 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would be 5 stars but...,
January 22, 2014
By: ChristmasKiki
"Great sturdy collar, but no where could I find with the buckle color, do you purchase to the actual length of the color, or just the dog's neck. Customer service wasn't sure either. So I ordered one inch larger than my dog's neck, thankfully, because it fits him on the very last buckle hole. They should be able to provide accurate information on this since return would be a hassle with personalized collar."
Review 20 for Personalized Buckle Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
January 22, 2014
By: Blackpit
from Robesonia, PA
"I ordered two personalized collars for my Pit Bull and My German Shepard mix. The collars came out perfect and are very good quality! My Pit grabs the collar of the Shepard and walks him around the house!! It is hilarious! I will continue buying Orvis products."