Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Painted Desert Folding Knife

A beautiful piece that will be cherished by generations, this handy little knife features a stunning combination of fine steel and gemstones. Handle is detailed on one side with an inlaid turquoise center surrounded by jet. 2¼" Damascus steel blade is constructed of a core of VG-10 super steel with 16 layers of high-carbon steel on each side. Closed length 3". Not available for sale in New York State.
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Review 1 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive pocket knife,
September 10, 2013
By: NealB
from Newport, NH
"Utilitarian and atrractive. This pocket knife is bound to get some attention when you pull it out. Great!"
Review 2 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Functional,
January 4, 2013
By: larreme
"The Best present I ever gave! My stepsons and daughters boyfriends were so thrilled with this knife! A perfect combination of artistic beauty and functionality!"
Review 3 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I want for Christmas,
January 1, 2013
By: Mboro
from Austin, TX
"I have had the Painted Desert folding knife for years an every time I carry it I get favorable comments. When you get it out of your pocked the first think that get comments is th turquoise an black inlays an when you open it up the damascus blade catches everyone eye. I purchased this one for my son-in law because he would not leave my alone."
Review 4 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Painted Desert Folding Knife,
December 31, 2012
By: jpcamel
from Port Saint Lucie, Florida
"Ecellent quality, great looks and fits hand good. Good handy knife. Safe operation and very sharp."
Review 5 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collectible and Special Knife,
December 29, 2012
By: BillKC
"The workmanship is clearly that of an artisan. I bought several to cover my son and son-n-laws at Christmas. They are all extremely pleased. Seems that a high quality Damascus blade is something they all wanted, but didn't want to get for themselves. Thank you Orvis, and thank you Sante Fe Knife!"
Review 6 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Knife,
December 29, 2012
By: ElRuby
from Manteca CA.
"I was a little disappointed that the handle was o the same on both sides. I wasn't aware that one side wasn't the same as the other and felt that both sides should be shown. The blade is sharp and has held up when I have to continue to cut various things to impress my friends."
Review 7 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knife vs. Art,
December 24, 2012
By: drumdoctor
from Jefferson City MO
"This is a beautiful little knife. I gave one to both of my two fishing buddies in hopes they would stop borrowing mine."
Review 8 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great craftmenship,
December 15, 2012
By: banty
from Ridgefield Washington
"This knife is a real collector piece. Unusual quality for the price"
Review 9 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Gift Ever,
July 4, 2012
By: SonnaMae
from Canada in the summer;Arizona in winter.
"I gifted this beautiful knife to my husband; he gave one to our son; this one was ordered because my husband lost his and hated to be without it!"
Review 10 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meaningful gift,
February 13, 2012
By: dodamah
from Ontario, Canada
"The turquoise inlay on the knives makes them very special keepsakes. I purchased two. These gifts marked my grandson's maturing as a young man and honoured his father as a wonderful role model. They immediately remarked on the beauty of the design and the durable steel blade."
Review 11 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great and Useful Gift,
January 1, 2012
By: DennisD
"Gave as a Christmas gift to an 18 year old nephew. He really enjoyed it!"
Review 12 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a special looking knife,
December 31, 2011
By: Schari
from Tyler, Texxas
"I was very happy with this good looking knife. When I asked my grandson if he liked it enough to keep it, He said definitely!"
Review 13 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Happy,
December 31, 2011
By: giftguy
"I have never purchased a knife that did not have the same detail on both sides. Would look great sitting in a display case, but not one I was proud to give as a gift. Ordered the knife on line and did not expect the poor quality and attention to detail. Orvis has always stood for quality."
Review 14 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband's Favorite Knife,
December 30, 2011
By: geege
from Charlotte, North Carolina
"Was looking for an unusual pocket knife for my Husband to carry."
Review 15 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great looking knife,
December 30, 2011
By: Dancingoaks
from Midwest
"I gave this knife to my fiancé ,who is a knife collector. He loved it,especially the unique blade.it was different than any other knife he has so far."
Review 16 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome quality and apprearance,
December 30, 2011
By: Centaur
from New Jersey
"I received the painted desert folding knife as a gift from my son on Christmas. The product is beautiful with exceptional craftsmanship down to the finest detail. Truly something that I will treasure forever. Thank you Orvis. Once again you lived up to your high quality standard."
Review 17 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever For My Son,
December 29, 2011
By: jacema
"My son is IMPOSSIABLE TO BUY FOR. When he opened his Chriatmas gift "the knife" ,he called me immediately , he loves it. Carries it all the time and shows it to everyone. It is a piece of beauty. Has to remember NO TRAVELING with it as he is in the air a lot for his job. Never checks a bag and is afraid to loose it. I may buy my other Son one for his birthday."
Review 18 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful knife,
December 29, 2011
By: dogfriendly
from Indianapolis, IN
"The knife is beautiful. The blade is attractive and the jade with black makes for a great contrast. It looks nice and works great. It is the perfect pocket knife at a great price."
Review 19 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic gift!,
December 14, 2011
By: WalterK
from Lynchburg, VA
"I purchased this knife as a gift. I almost kept it for myself when I opened it up! Needless to say, the knife was a big surprise and has been used many times already.
Thanks, Orvis, for offering such a good quality knife at such an affordable price."
Review 20 for Painted Desert Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of Details,
December 10, 2011
By: JPRand
from Staunton, VA
"This knife appears to have good steel in the blade. The workmanship on the blade decoration as well as the handle is outstanding. It will be a nice addition to my husband's collection."