Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket

Any rain jacket can keep you dry: Our waterproof and breathable Pro Guide fly fishing jackets keep you both dry and comfortable while fishing in the heaviest deluge. Its waterproof stretch-fabric shoulder yoke moves with your casting motion, and is light in weight to give more comfort than an ordinary rain jacket that limits motion. Our best cuff design prevents line from catching on cuff straps. Stitchless front placket keeps water out and gives the cleanest, truest fit. Plus, the pocket system is made with better fishing in mind: two large pockets, with mesh dividers for small fly boxes and gear, let you easily get at what you need with plenty of room in the lower section for medium and large boxes. Two interior zip storage pockets keep gear, wallet, license, and more stored and protected from the elements. And two water-resistant zip fleece handwarmer pockets sit comfortably above chest wader line. A full-coverage hood keeps your head dry but allows good visibility. Dolphin Skin™ Cuffs add to your comfort. A large rear pocket stores extra clothing or lunch and water bottles. Net retainer D-ring. Fly fishing jackets in two-tone olive. Shell: nylon face with nylon tricot backing. Contrasting: polyester face with nylon tricot backing. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52) XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
56 of 61(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant jacket,
September 9, 2014
By: Darrenschromer
from Queens ny
"This is my favourite jacket for fishing. It's no snag cuffs are essential for anyone who fishes a switch or spey rod. Light and comfortable to wear. You won't even know your wearing it. I'd recommend this to everyone. Packs pretty small too. Easily carried. Love it"
Review 2 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great companion to my Pro Guide Waders,
September 8, 2014
By: InfoMgmtExec
from Bellevue, WA
"After replacing my well worn Silver Label waders with a pair of the new Pro Guide ones, my kit was not complete without a new all weather wading jacket, especially one with a set of great complimentary features to my new waders. A great pairing indeed!"
Review 3 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
September 8, 2014
By: DWM842
from Chadds Ford, PA
"Great fit and finish. The design is very comfortable when casting."
Review 4 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best rain jacket,
September 8, 2014
By: stevepags
from Gillette, NJ
"I recently purchased your stretchable wading jacket. I absolutely love it. Keeps you dry. Plenty of room for casting. Overall a pleasure to own."
Review 5 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rain gear,
September 5, 2014
By: goldhawk
from Ontario, Canada
"Great fit,great performance, keeps me warm and out of the wind."
Review 6 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and comfort,
August 25, 2014
By: RiverNe55
from Inverness, scotland
"Fishing on the rivers in Scotland can be a very cold and wet experience at times, having recently purchased the Orvis Sonic waders, my set was complete with this jacket, it is both practical and comfortable.
When fishing in colder waters it is worth investing in quality gear and with Orvis, you can't ask for more"
Review 7 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything That Can Be Expected,
July 15, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I've used the Pro Guide Wading Jacket for three years now and it is everything as described. Lots of interior and exterior pockets including a handy one on the sleeve. Cinch cord on the hood to close up the opening and keep out wind, rain and snow on those really bad days. Great cuffs that cover the Velcro wrist straps to prevent your line from fouling. I have never had any problem with leaks or quality. I even use this jacket as my outer layer when steelheading in the dead of winter where I carry fly boxes extra spools and all my tools eliminating the need to carry a fanny pack or vest. It is not really packable but when you know you will be out wearing it in a full days worth of inclement weather it has everything from great protection to lots of gear storage. Well worth the money if you are a serious fly fisher that will not let the weather stop you from getting out."
Review 8 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Jacket, but lousy zipper,
January 25, 2014
By: AmericanInAfrica
from Ngong Hills, Kenya
"Except for one problem I'll address below, I would rate this with five stars, hands down. I have never owned a more functional jacket than this one. It is also quite comfortable. The pockets are well designed and functional and nearly worth the purchase price on their own.
It is waterproof as advertized, and also snow proof (layering up underneath), wind proof, and (so far) has been thorn proof as well. An excellently designed and executed product.
Except ... the main front zipper is a bit persnickety. On my first of these jackets, the zipper just stopped working. Orvis provided a replacement with no hassle. (Excellent customer service is always an Orvis hallmark.) I assumed it was just a fluke. But the replacement jacket's zipper is also persnickety. If it is precisely lined up, there's no problem. But occasionally it will be maybe 0.5 mm off but zip up anyway. Then it will not unzip. With 5 minutes of patience, you can get it unstuck, but one expects more from an Orvis branded product. I would think that perhaps I was just being too rough with the zipper, but I've not had this problem with any of my other zippered garments.
I will say that sealing the zippers to waterproof them is brilliant. Also, the zippers of the large front side pockets get more frequent use than the main jacket zipper, but those have had no problem. If the primary zipper worked as well as a nice brass one, this jacket would be perfect.
It'd be even better if there was a version six inches longer.
Finally, the snap at the bottom of the jacket came apart and needs to be replaced.
Even with those two issues, this remains the best jacket I've owned."
Review 9 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
December 25, 2013
By: professortrout
from Springfield, MO
"I wish I had better things to say about the quality of this jacket. When I first bought this jacket, I would have given it a 4 or a 5, but after using this jacket heavily over the last couple of years, I am very detracted regarding the durability of this jacket over the long haul.
Living in the Ozarks, my equipment gets exposed to a wide range of extreme weather conditions from very hot to extreme cold. I fish much more than the average person, and I subject my gear to much more wear and tear than the occasional weekend fisherman.
The first major thing that failed on the jacket was the button below the zipper catch at the bottom. This popped off less than a year after purchasing the jacket. The second thing I noticed was the outer fabric was starting to get very frizzy and started to pill up underneath the armpit area. Rain would soak into the outer fabric in this area. Water would also start soaking into the fabric in the shoulder area after about a year, and just recently, I noticed the waterproof membrane is deteriorating to the point that you can see right through the jacket in areas around the shoulders. Presently, the jacket is pretty much useless, and I will probably send it back to Orvis so they can analyze it and improve upon the inherent faults. I have since purchased another rain jacket from brand X and am very satisfied with the durability and features, and after almost a year of heavy use in all kinds of conditions, I don't expect to have any of the same issues."
Review 10 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I made an Excellent Choice!,
December 23, 2013
By: MakinTime
from Orlando
"You get what you pay for, especially with this jacket that I have used twice on the Kenai River in Alaska. It not only kept me warm with some underlayer, but kept me dry! Had to get a little use to the hand pockets on the side, but everything about this jacket is great! I also like the deep, waterproof, big pockets on the front. Great for cameras, small gear etc!"
Review 11 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good jacket, not the best,
November 2, 2013
By: Zumpafust
from Twinsburg, OH
"I have had this jacket for about 3 years.
Pros:
Inside pockets are water proof.
Very functional and good quality materials.
Cons:
Outside pockets are NOT rain proof. Water will filter through the fabric and get everything wet. I damaged my camera that way.
Button at the front bottom of the jacket is made of plastic. You would expect more from a $350 jacket and Orvis.
"
Review 12 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not happy with Pro Guide Stretch Jacket,
September 25, 2013
By: homebob
from Grants Pass, Oregon
"I really love the fit and all the features this jacket has to offer. There's only one problem. After about a year and a half the jacket has started to leak. It leaks mainly in the shoulder area so in a heavy down pour it doesn't take long to get completely wet. I've only washed the jacket twice in a year and a half. Was told by customer frequent washing of the jacket could cause it to leak.
Anyway, I'm going to return the jacket in November as I have several days of fishing planned in October. Just hoping it doesn't rain hard.
homebob"
Review 13 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Choice,
August 17, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"if you are like me you fish when you can. sometimes that means fishing in the rain. When that is the case the last thing you need is something getting in the way.
the pro guide jacket shines when the sun is not. keeping you dry while staying out of the way so you can make them most out of your time on the water.
the cut of the entire jacket allows you to forget about the rain and get back in the game. The best feature is the arm cuffs which are covered and keeps your line of your hands and where it belongs.
I have tried several other jackets and none come close to this one. the subdued colors and perfectly placed pockets make this a fly casters dream jacket.
don't ruin your trip with poorly designed equipment, get what works and forget about the liquid sunshine.
I love this jacket, it makes fishing in the rain something to look forward to."
Review 14 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
What, NO BUTTON,
June 19, 2013
By: A111
from Va
"Great gear in all respects but one. There is no button or snap at the top. Fact is that in a down pour you may zip it up completely but for a typical on and off rain keeping the thing zipped can become uncomfortable and with only a bottom snap it functions very well as a funnel to drain rain water into your waste pack. I question how perfect an item could possible be when missing such an important feature. Would not buy it again and would not have purchased it if I had noted this missing feature. It's a small item but to me very necessary."
Review 15 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have bought this one first,
April 12, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"A couple of years ago I bought a good waterproof wading jacket from a different company. It was o.k., but never was comfortable. I wish I had bought the Pro Guide first, it is comfortable, good pockets, good waterproof sleeves..., everything I want in a jacket. Worth every cent!"
Review 16 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading jacket,
January 26, 2013
By: boby13
from Washougal, WA
"I live in the Pacific NW and rain is a fact of our lives. I chose this jacket after looking at many different types. I appreciate the quality and in particular like the sleeve seals and the accessible pockets. The length is better than my previous wading jacket, not too short. I look forward to using this and fishing in the rain."
Review 17 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart buy,
January 21, 2013
By: milko
from Forest Grove, OR
"Best fit over extra heavy sweater. Very comfortable over a T-shirt and lightweight. Love the cuffs, very practical."
Review 18 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
December 30, 2012
By: fishfree
"This jacket kept me dry in a downpour, as good, if not better than advertised. Easy to cast in, easy to wear, functionally top notch. Matched with a down sweater / shirt, very warm as well."
Review 19 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maybe the most for less,
December 4, 2012
By: FFRivers
from Glass Valley, Ca.
"Received my jacket just in time, Northern Calif. has rained hard for a week ending in Nov. 2012.
It has all the bells and whistles for a wet day on the river,the front zipper sticks a little,good jacket length for wading, the best part is the clean front of jacket to keep line manageable at casting,its too bad about the packing wrinkles, they may never come out.
"
Review 20 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the Line Wading Jacket.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I love this wading jacket. Very comfortable, lots of pockets and will keep you very dry in the worst weather on the water. This wading jacket go everywhere with me on my flyfishing adventures. Every fly fisher should think about adding this wading jacket to your flyfishing gear list. Outstanding Orvis product."