Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket

Any rain jacket can keep you dry: Our waterproof and breathable Pro Guide fly fishing jackets keep you both dry and comfortable while fishing in the heaviest deluge. Its waterproof stretch-fabric shoulder yoke moves with your casting motion, and is light in weight to give more comfort than an ordinary rain jacket that limits motion. Our best cuff design prevents line from catching on cuff straps. Stitchless front placket keeps water out and gives the cleanest, truest fit. Plus, the pocket system is made with better fishing in mind: two large pockets, with mesh dividers for small fly boxes and gear, let you easily get at what you need with plenty of room in the lower section for medium and large boxes. Two interior zip storage pockets keep gear, wallet, license, and more stored and protected from the elements. And two water-resistant zip fleece handwarmer pockets sit comfortably above chest wader line. A full-coverage hood keeps your head dry but allows good visibility. Dolphin Skin™ Cuffs add to your comfort. A large rear pocket stores extra clothing or lunch and water bottles. Net retainer D-ring. Fly fishing jackets in two-tone olive. Shell: nylon face with nylon tricot backing. Contrasting: polyester face with nylon tricot backing. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52) XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
2
63 of 70(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
October 24, 2014
By: boonegary
from Boone, NC
"Made to last.
Light, warm, and durable.
Hood works well with ball cap.
Pockets hold a lot of gear or boxes.
"
Review 2 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Don't get this one.,
October 11, 2014
By: bulltrout
from Menlo Park, CA
"I was not impressed with this jacket because of it's light weight and short fit. I'm a big guy, and this jacket, despite being an XL long, just didn't have the coverage I want when I'm steel heading. Maybe I just ordered the wrong jacket."
Review 3 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing in foul weather,
October 3, 2014
By: pfflynn
from Bend, OR
"Recommended to me by both guides and fishing friends, this is a great addition to my gear."
Review 4 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fleece pockets?,
October 3, 2014
By: Quentin
from Wilkes Barre, PA
"Seemed like a good idea: fleece line hand warmer pockets. No fleece in my new Orvis jacket. Haven't worn it in the rain yet, but I am wondering what else they forgot? I'll have to bring my gloves...."
Review 5 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Very well made,
October 2, 2014
By: txoutdoorsman
from Online
"Lots of roomy pockets. Fits generously to allow for under layers but isn't baggy. Zippers are strong and waterproof. I did my research before buying this jacket."
Review 6 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pro guide wading jacket,
September 29, 2014
By: IXIMERLINIXI
from San Jose ca.
"Excellent quality. Very comfortable. Moves well, and keeps you super dry. Everything you want in a wading jacket. Couldn't be happier."
Review 7 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NIce jacket,
September 29, 2014
By: Corbey
"Looks really nice. Seamed to be waterproof and will be putting it to the test. Only thing that keeps it from 5 stars is hand warmer pockets are a little awkward. Nice jacket all in all."
Review 8 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing jacket...,
September 27, 2014
By: Arnell
from Sacramento, CA
"I had a chance to use this jacket finally. At first it was stiff and a bit cumbersome until I broke it in. The amount of pockets were amazing. I could hold anything from fly boxes to my personal items such as my phone and wallet. It fits well for fishing and doesn't show any unusual characteristics from casting all day. This basically a waterproof jacket that I didn't expect to provide much warmth. That being said, it fought off cold biting winds while only a few layers underneath. I like the cuffs and they actually do keep the water out. The only drawback I found was the waist drawstrings that don't really hold in place. Outside of this, I highly recommend. I advise wearing around the house and rolling around in a bit before you first excursion."
Review 9 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely well designed jacket,
September 24, 2014
By: txoutdoorsman
from Plano, TX
"My review could be premature, as I have not had an opportunity to wear it yet. That said, this jacket is very well made...lots of useful pockets, strong construction and comfortable."
Review 10 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant jacket,
September 9, 2014
By: Darrenschromer
from Queens ny
"This is my favourite jacket for fishing. It's no snag cuffs are essential for anyone who fishes a switch or spey rod. Light and comfortable to wear. You won't even know your wearing it. I'd recommend this to everyone. Packs pretty small too. Easily carried. Love it"
Review 11 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great companion to my Pro Guide Waders,
September 8, 2014
By: InfoMgmtExec
from Bellevue, WA
"After replacing my well worn Silver Label waders with a pair of the new Pro Guide ones, my kit was not complete without a new all weather wading jacket, especially one with a set of great complimentary features to my new waders. A great pairing indeed!"
Review 12 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
September 8, 2014
By: DWM842
from Chadds Ford, PA
"Great fit and finish. The design is very comfortable when casting."
Review 13 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best rain jacket,
September 8, 2014
By: stevepags
from Gillette, NJ
"I recently purchased your stretchable wading jacket. I absolutely love it. Keeps you dry. Plenty of room for casting. Overall a pleasure to own."
Review 14 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rain gear,
September 5, 2014
By: goldhawk
from Ontario, Canada
"Great fit,great performance, keeps me warm and out of the wind."
Review 15 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and comfort,
August 25, 2014
By: RiverNe55
from Inverness, scotland
"Fishing on the rivers in Scotland can be a very cold and wet experience at times, having recently purchased the Orvis Sonic waders, my set was complete with this jacket, it is both practical and comfortable.
When fishing in colder waters it is worth investing in quality gear and with Orvis, you can't ask for more"
Review 16 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything That Can Be Expected,
July 15, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I've used the Pro Guide Wading Jacket for three years now and it is everything as described. Lots of interior and exterior pockets including a handy one on the sleeve. Cinch cord on the hood to close up the opening and keep out wind, rain and snow on those really bad days. Great cuffs that cover the Velcro wrist straps to prevent your line from fouling. I have never had any problem with leaks or quality. I even use this jacket as my outer layer when steelheading in the dead of winter where I carry fly boxes extra spools and all my tools eliminating the need to carry a fanny pack or vest. It is not really packable but when you know you will be out wearing it in a full days worth of inclement weather it has everything from great protection to lots of gear storage. Well worth the money if you are a serious fly fisher that will not let the weather stop you from getting out."
Review 17 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Jacket, but lousy zipper,
January 25, 2014
By: AmericanInAfrica
from Ngong Hills, Kenya
"Except for one problem I'll address below, I would rate this with five stars, hands down. I have never owned a more functional jacket than this one. It is also quite comfortable. The pockets are well designed and functional and nearly worth the purchase price on their own.
It is waterproof as advertized, and also snow proof (layering up underneath), wind proof, and (so far) has been thorn proof as well. An excellently designed and executed product.
Except ... the main front zipper is a bit persnickety. On my first of these jackets, the zipper just stopped working. Orvis provided a replacement with no hassle. (Excellent customer service is always an Orvis hallmark.) I assumed it was just a fluke. But the replacement jacket's zipper is also persnickety. If it is precisely lined up, there's no problem. But occasionally it will be maybe 0.5 mm off but zip up anyway. Then it will not unzip. With 5 minutes of patience, you can get it unstuck, but one expects more from an Orvis branded product. I would think that perhaps I was just being too rough with the zipper, but I've not had this problem with any of my other zippered garments.
I will say that sealing the zippers to waterproof them is brilliant. Also, the zippers of the large front side pockets get more frequent use than the main jacket zipper, but those have had no problem. If the primary zipper worked as well as a nice brass one, this jacket would be perfect.
It'd be even better if there was a version six inches longer.
Finally, the snap at the bottom of the jacket came apart and needs to be replaced.
Even with those two issues, this remains the best jacket I've owned."
Review 18 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
December 25, 2013
By: professortrout
from Springfield, MO
"I wish I had better things to say about the quality of this jacket. When I first bought this jacket, I would have given it a 4 or a 5, but after using this jacket heavily over the last couple of years, I am very detracted regarding the durability of this jacket over the long haul.
Living in the Ozarks, my equipment gets exposed to a wide range of extreme weather conditions from very hot to extreme cold. I fish much more than the average person, and I subject my gear to much more wear and tear than the occasional weekend fisherman.
The first major thing that failed on the jacket was the button below the zipper catch at the bottom. This popped off less than a year after purchasing the jacket. The second thing I noticed was the outer fabric was starting to get very frizzy and started to pill up underneath the armpit area. Rain would soak into the outer fabric in this area. Water would also start soaking into the fabric in the shoulder area after about a year, and just recently, I noticed the waterproof membrane is deteriorating to the point that you can see right through the jacket in areas around the shoulders. Presently, the jacket is pretty much useless, and I will probably send it back to Orvis so they can analyze it and improve upon the inherent faults. I have since purchased another rain jacket from brand X and am very satisfied with the durability and features, and after almost a year of heavy use in all kinds of conditions, I don't expect to have any of the same issues."
Review 19 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I made an Excellent Choice!,
December 23, 2013
By: MakinTime
from Orlando
"You get what you pay for, especially with this jacket that I have used twice on the Kenai River in Alaska. It not only kept me warm with some underlayer, but kept me dry! Had to get a little use to the hand pockets on the side, but everything about this jacket is great! I also like the deep, waterproof, big pockets on the front. Great for cameras, small gear etc!"
Review 20 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good jacket, not the best,
November 2, 2013
By: Zumpafust
from Twinsburg, OH
"I have had this jacket for about 3 years.
Pros:
Inside pockets are water proof.
Very functional and good quality materials.
Cons:
Outside pockets are NOT rain proof. Water will filter through the fabric and get everything wet. I damaged my camera that way.
Button at the front bottom of the jacket is made of plastic. You would expect more from a $350 jacket and Orvis.
"