Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket

Any rain jacket can keep you dry: Our waterproof and breathable Pro Guide fly fishing jackets keep you both dry and comfortable while fishing in the heaviest deluge. Its waterproof stretch-fabric shoulder yoke moves with your casting motion, and is light in weight to give more comfort than an ordinary rain jacket that limits motion. Our best cuff design prevents line from catching on cuff straps. Stitchless front placket keeps water out and gives the cleanest, truest fit. Plus, the pocket system is made with better fishing in mind: two large pockets, with mesh dividers for small fly boxes and gear, let you easily get at what you need with plenty of room in the lower section for medium and large boxes. Two interior zip storage pockets keep gear, wallet, license, and more stored and protected from the elements. And two water-resistant zip fleece handwarmer pockets sit comfortably above chest wader line. A full-coverage hood keeps your head dry but allows good visibility. Dolphin Skin™ Cuffs add to your comfort. A large rear pocket stores extra clothing or lunch and water bottles. Net retainer D-ring. Fly fishing jackets in two-tone olive. Shell: nylon face with nylon tricot backing. Contrasting: polyester face with nylon tricot backing. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52) XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
48 of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Jacket, but lousy zipper,
January 25, 2014
By: AmericanInAfrica
from Ngong Hills, Kenya
"Except for one problem I'll address below, I would rate this with five stars, hands down. I have never owned a more functional jacket than this one. It is also quite comfortable. The pockets are well designed and functional and nearly worth the purchase price on their own.
It is waterproof as advertized, and also snow proof (layering up underneath), wind proof, and (so far) has been thorn proof as well. An excellently designed and executed product.
Except ... the main front zipper is a bit persnickety. On my first of these jackets, the zipper just stopped working. Orvis provided a replacement with no hassle. (Excellent customer service is always an Orvis hallmark.) I assumed it was just a fluke. But the replacement jacket's zipper is also persnickety. If it is precisely lined up, there's no problem. But occasionally it will be maybe 0.5 mm off but zip up anyway. Then it will not unzip. With 5 minutes of patience, you can get it unstuck, but one expects more from an Orvis branded product. I would think that perhaps I was just being too rough with the zipper, but I've not had this problem with any of my other zippered garments.
I will say that sealing the zippers to waterproof them is brilliant. Also, the zippers of the large front side pockets get more frequent use than the main jacket zipper, but those have had no problem. If the primary zipper worked as well as a nice brass one, this jacket would be perfect.
It'd be even better if there was a version six inches longer.
Finally, the snap at the bottom of the jacket came apart and needs to be replaced.
Even with those two issues, this remains the best jacket I've owned."
Review 2 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
December 25, 2013
By: professortrout
from Springfield, MO
"I wish I had better things to say about the quality of this jacket. When I first bought this jacket, I would have given it a 4 or a 5, but after using this jacket heavily over the last couple of years, I am very detracted regarding the durability of this jacket over the long haul.
Living in the Ozarks, my equipment gets exposed to a wide range of extreme weather conditions from very hot to extreme cold. I fish much more than the average person, and I subject my gear to much more wear and tear than the occasional weekend fisherman.
The first major thing that failed on the jacket was the button below the zipper catch at the bottom. This popped off less than a year after purchasing the jacket. The second thing I noticed was the outer fabric was starting to get very frizzy and started to pill up underneath the armpit area. Rain would soak into the outer fabric in this area. Water would also start soaking into the fabric in the shoulder area after about a year, and just recently, I noticed the waterproof membrane is deteriorating to the point that you can see right through the jacket in areas around the shoulders. Presently, the jacket is pretty much useless, and I will probably send it back to Orvis so they can analyze it and improve upon the inherent faults. I have since purchased another rain jacket from brand X and am very satisfied with the durability and features, and after almost a year of heavy use in all kinds of conditions, I don't expect to have any of the same issues."
Review 3 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I made an Excellent Choice!,
December 23, 2013
By: MakinTime
from Orlando
"You get what you pay for, especially with this jacket that I have used twice on the Kenai River in Alaska. It not only kept me warm with some underlayer, but kept me dry! Had to get a little use to the hand pockets on the side, but everything about this jacket is great! I also like the deep, waterproof, big pockets on the front. Great for cameras, small gear etc!"
Review 4 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good jacket, not the best,
November 2, 2013
By: Zumpafust
from Twinsburg, OH
"I have had this jacket for about 3 years.
Pros:
Inside pockets are water proof.
Very functional and good quality materials.
Cons:
Outside pockets are NOT rain proof. Water will filter through the fabric and get everything wet. I damaged my camera that way.
Button at the front bottom of the jacket is made of plastic. You would expect more from a $350 jacket and Orvis.
"
Review 5 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not happy with Pro Guide Stretch Jacket,
September 25, 2013
By: homebob
from Grants Pass, Oregon
"I really love the fit and all the features this jacket has to offer. There's only one problem. After about a year and a half the jacket has started to leak. It leaks mainly in the shoulder area so in a heavy down pour it doesn't take long to get completely wet. I've only washed the jacket twice in a year and a half. Was told by customer frequent washing of the jacket could cause it to leak.
Anyway, I'm going to return the jacket in November as I have several days of fishing planned in October. Just hoping it doesn't rain hard.
homebob"
Review 6 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Choice,
August 17, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"if you are like me you fish when you can. sometimes that means fishing in the rain. When that is the case the last thing you need is something getting in the way.
the pro guide jacket shines when the sun is not. keeping you dry while staying out of the way so you can make them most out of your time on the water.
the cut of the entire jacket allows you to forget about the rain and get back in the game. The best feature is the arm cuffs which are covered and keeps your line of your hands and where it belongs.
I have tried several other jackets and none come close to this one. the subdued colors and perfectly placed pockets make this a fly casters dream jacket.
don't ruin your trip with poorly designed equipment, get what works and forget about the liquid sunshine.
I love this jacket, it makes fishing in the rain something to look forward to."
Review 7 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
What, NO BUTTON,
June 19, 2013
By: A111
from Va
"Great gear in all respects but one. There is no button or snap at the top. Fact is that in a down pour you may zip it up completely but for a typical on and off rain keeping the thing zipped can become uncomfortable and with only a bottom snap it functions very well as a funnel to drain rain water into your waste pack. I question how perfect an item could possible be when missing such an important feature. Would not buy it again and would not have purchased it if I had noted this missing feature. It's a small item but to me very necessary."
Review 8 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have bought this one first,
April 12, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"A couple of years ago I bought a good waterproof wading jacket from a different company. It was o.k., but never was comfortable. I wish I had bought the Pro Guide first, it is comfortable, good pockets, good waterproof sleeves..., everything I want in a jacket. Worth every cent!"
Review 9 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading jacket,
January 26, 2013
By: boby13
from Washougal, WA
"I live in the Pacific NW and rain is a fact of our lives. I chose this jacket after looking at many different types. I appreciate the quality and in particular like the sleeve seals and the accessible pockets. The length is better than my previous wading jacket, not too short. I look forward to using this and fishing in the rain."
Review 10 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart buy,
January 21, 2013
By: milko
from Forest Grove, OR
"Best fit over extra heavy sweater. Very comfortable over a T-shirt and lightweight. Love the cuffs, very practical."
Review 11 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
December 30, 2012
By: fishfree
"This jacket kept me dry in a downpour, as good, if not better than advertised. Easy to cast in, easy to wear, functionally top notch. Matched with a down sweater / shirt, very warm as well."
Review 12 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maybe the most for less,
December 4, 2012
By: FFRivers
from Glass Valley, Ca.
"Received my jacket just in time, Northern Calif. has rained hard for a week ending in Nov. 2012.
It has all the bells and whistles for a wet day on the river,the front zipper sticks a little,good jacket length for wading, the best part is the clean front of jacket to keep line manageable at casting,its too bad about the packing wrinkles, they may never come out.
"
Review 13 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the Line Wading Jacket.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I love this wading jacket. Very comfortable, lots of pockets and will keep you very dry in the worst weather on the water. This wading jacket go everywhere with me on my flyfishing adventures. Every fly fisher should think about adding this wading jacket to your flyfishing gear list. Outstanding Orvis product."
Review 14 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
still checking,
November 20, 2012
By: desperate
from New York
"I had an opportunity to wear this product couple time on very rainy days on Salmon River (NY) and I am so happy. All what you need for fly fishing. I was able to move, cast, catch (and release) fish and on the end of day I was dry. Very comfortable. Discount price make me even more happier.
I am waiting to check this jacket on some cold, snowy weather.
"
Review 15 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A welcome upgrade,
November 18, 2012
By: Bronzeback
from Detroit, mi
"My current Orvis wading jacket has served me well for many years, over twenty. I could not resist the technilogical advances made on this new jacket. The integral pockets, covered sleeves, and overall design are very user friendly. I have no doubt that this will be the last wading jacket I'll ever need."
Review 16 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Jacket,
November 6, 2012
By: JonathanJ
"I bought the Orvis Pro Guide wading jacket directly from Orvis customer service and have used it for 7 days in the worst weather Scotland could throw at me and you are likely to endure during the Salmon season. At one stage the hail was hitting me so hard that all I could do was stand there and face away from the prevailing wind to stop it freezing my face. I clambered up and down banks, through brush and forest, over rocks and of course waded with it on. There are a number of pros and cons I can report:
Pros:
1. The jacket remained 100% waterproof , windproof, breathable & warm. The seams are all sealed internally and those seals seem to be glued or heat welded in and will not come lose or unstuck – very well made!
2. It beaded the rain off the jacket & hood at all times and only failed to bead on small and remote areas of the jacket that had rubbed ie bottom of cuffs and around the edges of the jacket. I noticed how other more expensive Gore-tex jackets of my colleagues failed to bead the water off!
3. The cuffs were nice and water / windproof and the overall fit of the jacket was excellent and comfortable. It is also nicely light so was easy to wear and did not affect movement or casting at all.
4. The hood was very adjustable and managed to stay up despite facing head on into a wet and very cold gale on several days.
5. The pocket design was excellent and the lack of external pouch type pockets improved the ability to shed water quickly and allowed me to cast all day without interference. The internal design of the two main external pockets is good as they are very large and also have a small netting pouch for those items that are small and need to remain ready to hand. Two internal chest pockets also do well to keep keys, mobile, smokes etc safe and still readily accessible. Excellent design and quite amazed at how much gear they swallow and the look of the jacket is hardly affected when full.
6. The waterproof zips were excellent and held out all water. The handwarmer pockets did the trick and could hold bits and pieces if you wanted instead.
Cons:
I had this jacket delivered directly from Orvis. It was poorly packed and the storm flap over the zip was bent out of shape and despite my best efforts is still creased badly. I am tempted to ask for a replacement but not my money back as I like the jacket!
1. The hand warmer pockets, whilst nice and warm and dry could only be opened by the opposite hand as they are placed quite far to the sides of the jacket. Hardly a negative point though and still very practical and useful.
2. There needs to be more felt around the chin area to stop the jacket rubbing when the zip is fully done up and the hood tightened.
3. The cloth (Toray I believe) is as waterproof and breathable as Gore-tex without question. However in one area of the jacket where it was rubbed several times the cloth piled. I have seen this on a return jacket being sold by Orvis’ factory outlet in Clarkes village in Somerset which was much worse. So try not to allow any items to rub on the external of the jacket.
4. The main zip was difficult to engage and even when it did engage I was never quite sure that this was set properly at its base and it did pull free one time. Zip oil may help. The zip also snagged the jacket and storm flaps as I closed it and it felt a little flimsy but this may be the very nature of a waterproof zip to remain waterproof. No failure of it at all - I am pleased to report!
5. There is only one press stud / button at the bottom of the storm flap. The storm flap that runs all the way up the front of the jacket therefore is not held over the zip but tends to always stick straight out. This does get caught by your rod / reel etc a little. If I can suggest anything with updates to the jacket there must be at least another 3 press studs on the storm flap right up to the top of where the zip finishes.
6. The hood flap nearly extended to just beyond the short bill of my baseball cap. This means just the tip of the bill of the cap gets wet, but overall it offers excellent protection.
7. There are no dedicated external points for a zinger. This was not an issue for me as I have a clip on zinger and found several places to put it.
So in conclusion, this is a very smart waterproof and comfortable jacket that does what is says and does it well. You can layer under it and it never feels restrictive. It has one or two very minor drawbacks that could do with some attention by Orvis in updates. Would I buy the same one again? Yes in a heartbeat is the answer as with care, it will last a long time and I have the confidence it will keep me wind and waterproof for many years to come. Plus of course you are buying something that little bit different to the design of every other (sometimes much more expensive) jacket out there."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding.,
November 3, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Rochester, MN
"This jacket has been a flawless performer after 2 years and nearly 100 days on the water from the Farmington to the Madison - including days of 50 + mph winds, rain/sleet/snow, and temperatures of 0-10 degrees Fahrenheit. I try to be stealthy but I've slipped and fallen down snowy-muddy-rocky faces countless times near the river's edge and the integrity of the fabric has never wavered. All of the zippers still work perfectly, no leaks, no issues. Just buy it and be done with it."
Review 18 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent rain gear,
October 8, 2012
By: SnowShoveler
from SW Michigan
"Keep in mind that this is a preliminary review. I purchased this rain jacket for my occasional fly fishing trips Up North to the AuSable River. I was lucky to buy it on sale. The shipment was prompt. The jacket fits very well for my frame - 5'11" and 220lbs, with room for a light fishing vest underneath. There are numerous roomy pockets, so for me, I probably won't wear a vest. I've worn this on my own trial basis in a Fall storm at home, and it kept me dry as a bug in a rug. It was only for about an hour, so at this time I can't attest to a long term drizzle. I look forward to it, though."
Review 19 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Jacket - with Some areas for improvement,
October 7, 2012
By: DClark
from Winston-Salem, NC
"This is a great wading jacket with well thought out design and great construction. My guess is that it was designed to be functional on and off the water. Thus, you can wear it in any outdoor setting and not have everyone ask where you fish. That's a useful option as I don't want to get dressed and have to change jackets later. It really does work anywhere.
Details:
1. Very good rain protection.
2. Easy casting.
3.The Dolphin Skin works great.
4. Great pockets.
5. Works anywhere.
Notes: The pocket design is very good - particularly the (Pocket in a Pocket) on the two zippered chest pockets. The had warmer pockets are good - if placed a little high.
Warmth is perfect -- not too hot or too cold. Its easy to layer under the jacket. Or just wear it with a t-shirt.
3 things to make it better.
1 it needs a zinger patch under the Orvis logo on the left side.
2. it needs a small fabric and elastic loop on the chest or arm to hold forceps.
3. It needs a small velcro strip mid way under the arm to hold a rod securely if you need both hands free for a few minutes and the water is dragging the but end of the rod.
Over all I am very pleased with this product."
Review 20 for Pro Guide Stretch Waterproof Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water and Wind Proof,
September 24, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"I've worn this in the rain a couple of times now and have had no issues at all. I stayed completely dry, even around the zippers and seams. I've been caught out in many cold, windy days in the northeast and it performed great as an outer shell. I was skeptical of the Dolphin Cuffs but they worked well. They leaked a little when I fully submerged my arm but much less than what I expected. I'm very happy with my purchase."