Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tru-Fit Smart Harness

Designed to work as both a walking harness and a car safety harness, for added security when you and your dog are on the road. Five adjustable points for custom fit. For more control walking a strong pulling dog, attach leash to back. For car use, a tether and carabiner clips to the back of harness and wraps around the seat belt. All steel hardware with a padded chest plate. In red or black. Imported. Medium 18"- 28" chest, dogs 25-50 lbs. Large 24" - 34" chest, dogs 50-80 lbs.X-large 28" - 44" chest, dogs 80-110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
35 of 39(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Review 1 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great company,
April 22, 2015
By: CGR56
from northern NM
"I bought 2 of these, and one box was missing the tether. I called the company and they mailed one to me that day. great service.
harnesses seem comfortable for the dogs.
"
Review 2 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 22, 2015
By: HDGrace2013
from Worcestershire
"An excellent product. Very easy to use. Very well made and smart. Just what we have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 3 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps dogs in back seat,
April 7, 2015
By: Hector1
from California
"We have a Doberman & Rottweiler & car rides were always a hassle with them jumping all over each other in the back seat and trying to get in the front seat...well not anymore :). They can move around just enough and lay down in their seat. They took to it 1st use and now get excited when they see the harnesses because they know they are going somewhere fun!"
Review 4 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
April 3, 2015
By: Leslie24
from Plano, TX
"I bought the medium for my 4 month old Golden Retriever and it worked well. The trick to buckling is to be sure the straps are not twisted and the buckles you insert are positioned correctly which is not hard. I am about to graduate her to a size large. Definitely worthwhile and my dog sits well and can lie down without any trouble."
Review 5 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If your dog is important to you,
April 2, 2015
By: Rhinochaser
from Oxford, Mississippi
"My dogs are members of the family. I cannot in good conscience let children ride in the truck without seatbelts, how can I be any less concerned for my dogs.
I wanted a restraint system that would be simple and worked. This product fits the bill."
Review 6 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Quality,
April 1, 2015
By: riley41
from Berkeley Heights, NJ
"I am a relatively new customer, but I am totally convinced. The recent
products I have purchased are
of the highest quality and NOW I will only purchase from ORVIS.
"
Review 7 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love , works great !,
March 20, 2015
By: Lyndacot
from South Carolina
"We own a 105 lb. Great Pyrness.This is the best harness. Have had several others but they did not hold up."
Review 8 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product per se,
March 7, 2015
By: GSDLAB
from Aurora, CO
"This is a great product, but with age, I had troiuble trying to get the harness clips to work properly. Trying to slip one part of the harness ring into the other part just caused me to have too much of the problem.
I really prefer to snap the two ends of the harness clips together."
Review 9 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feels safe and secure,
February 26, 2015
By: PennyMom
"We bought this harness because we didn't want our puppy to just ride in the back seat without being secure. The harness allows Penny to stretch out and lie down, but her movement is restricted. The only reason I give this harness four stars instead of five is that it's a little tricky to get it on and off . Getting it properly adjusted initially was also a little complicated. We are now more comfortable with the process, but it still takes a little bit of time to get in and off."
Review 10 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't work for Bob,
February 10, 2015
By: Duner
from Rockville IN
"We are anxious to make it safer for our Golden "Bob" to travel on long trips. So we tried the harness. The harness was made very well, but just didn't work for us. It requires that Bob stay in one place sitting up or lying down. It depends on the seat buckle system to give him some freedom by lengthening as he pulls it. It does not pull straight and twists the harness to one side. To make it tighter would I believe would be very uncomfortable on long trips. I believe it could work a little better if the hook up strap was a 6 to 12" longer, or was secured to a strap between the two outside seat belts on a bench seat, like a traveler line. I really do not see how it can work on a Mini Van Stow-n-Go mid section seats. It might work if they incorporated a self contained high quality inertia brake retractor mechanism."
Review 11 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent harness,
January 2, 2015
By: Joeyy22j
from Bethpage, NY
"I was very satisfied with the harness it works great. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 12 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Harness Out There!!,
January 2, 2015
By: Meegeman
from Somerset,MA
"Excellent quality. Love the buckle style. True to size."
Review 13 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy safety harness,
December 31, 2014
By: KICK22
from Rochester Hills MI
"Best harness on the market! Sturdy with metal buckles, easy to use and well made. Highly recommend - our black lab weighs 86# and this keeps him safe while not restricting him. We found the center seatbelt in the SUV is the best placement for him."
Review 14 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 30, 2014
By: Caymus
"Too dficult to put on my dog. I don't think this works well for small dogs."
Review 15 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok but not needed,
December 24, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"On my German Shorthair this twists around somewhat so she can only lie down often in one direction ...the strap to connect to the seat belt is extremely heavy duty...mich more than you need..just tie a strap ti seat brlt with a snap to hook to collar. I gave up using this after one trip...well made, heavy duty but ..."
Review 16 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes and no purchase,
December 23, 2014
By: Labsnmore
"I received the 2 harnesses under separate cover; one seemed like it had been returned since it was falling out of the package and was sized already. The othe was packaged as new. The clasps for the hook-up to the seat belt were different ; the one on the new harness is more secure and the other looks like it may be damaged.
I would recommend the new harness and hook-up but not the other that seems to have been a return that was not examined and that has a less secure hook-up.
"
Review 17 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Car harness,
December 16, 2014
By: Mutley58
"Have used this product in the car a few times now when taking the dog on a journey.
It is a very well made product, strong and fit for purpose, slightly heavy for a small dog but he doesn't seem to mind wearing it and it keeps him secure.
"
Review 18 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effective and versatile,
November 14, 2014
By: bbennett59
from Taunton Somerset
"I needed a car harness that Honey couldn't twist out of but didn't stop her changing position on the back seat. This harness does exactly that and I can use it when she is walking to stop her pulling too much!!"
Review 19 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tru Fit Smart Harness,
October 15, 2014
By: CorkyQuirk
from Seabrook Island South Carolina
"A harness beyond belief fits snugly but comfortably and my dog showed no discomfort on our recent 500 mile car trip."
Review 20 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent quality for the price,
October 8, 2014
By: DeaMarie
from Rochester, NY
"Very clever harness with multiple uses. Extremely well made. Preferable to a step-in harness. It has two clasps for easy buckling and release. The clasps did take a bit of getting used to (thus the 4 stars) but well worth the learning curve!"