Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tru-Fit Smart Harness

Designed to work as both a walking harness and a car safety harness, for added security when you and your dog are on the road. Five adjustable points for custom fit. For more control walking a strong pulling dog, attach leash to back. For car use, a tether and carabiner clips to the back of harness and wraps around the seat belt. All steel hardware with a padded chest plate. In red or black. Imported. Medium 18"- 28" chest, dogs 25-50 lbs. Large 24" - 34" chest, dogs 50-80 lbs.X-large 28" - 44" chest, dogs 80-110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
45 of 51(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Review 1 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tru-Fit Smart Works,
July 7, 2015
By: mpbilge
from Arlington, TN
"We purchased the Tru-Fit Smart Harness for our medium sized Brittany and it fit perfectly. She loves to ride in the car, but using her crate in the truck was a real problem. She loves the harness and it gives her just enough freedom to move in the back seat without being able to jump in the front."
Review 2 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try Fit Smart Harness,
July 3, 2015
By: Bluegill8
from Woodbury, MN
"This is an excellent harness. The materials and workmanship are high quality. I purchased a medium for my 44 pound GSP and it fits her very well. It is easy to use and I feel confident that she will be safe on all of our journeys."
Review 3 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
June 11, 2015
By: JeepDogs
from Boxford, MA
"I bought two and have no regrets. I have them rigged up in the back of my jeep for my two dogs. Yes, the latch on the shoulder can be a bit challenging but in time I am sure I will get it right the first time every time.
Product is solid and I have no complaints."
Review 4 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but returned,
June 2, 2015
By: RoseTexas
from Texas
"Slipping the seatbelt through didn't work for us. I ended up getting the kind that actually slips in the seatbelt latch. Well made and sturdy and true to size, just not the kind I wanted."
Review 5 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made, secure and comfortable,
June 2, 2015
By: Upsidedown
from Anchorage, AK
"We purchased this harness in size L when Miles was 8 months old at around 70 lbs. A year and five months later, he's 88-90 lbs and the size L fits, but with no room for adjustments. (Didn't realize our border collie mix would be so large!)
We've used this harness EVERY DAY for daily walks and car rides. It's great for a small person like myself to control his powerful tugs when he sees a squirrel. It's also held up well and does not rust when he wears it swimming. The harness has not molded and does not retain smell and we have washed it only a handful of times.
It's also very easy to put on, if your dog allows you to slip it over their head. I then stand above him and easily hook the straps into place pulling the "bib" up underneath his belly. He does not need to step into anything.
Preliminary adjustments may take some time, but the harness rarely, if ever, loosens making getting out the door quick and painless.
So far I have owned this harness for about a year and a half and do not need to re-order one any time soon. Great value!"
Review 6 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tru-Fit Smart Harness,
June 2, 2015
By: JulieCS
from Connecticut
"This harness is quite strong but is also heavy. The buckles are a little hard to do quickly on a wiggly dog and if it is not fitted quite tightly, it will twist on the dog's torso. Overall however, it seems to be a strong, safe harness."
Review 7 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Harness for Great Dane,
May 28, 2015
By: ALF2015
from Atlanta, GA
"I like the harness - better than others that I have tried because it doesn't rub against her "underarms". However, she is a 9 month old Great Dane puppy and sizing is a problem. The front straps are set as tight as they will go (could go tighter for a better fit) while the back straps fit great. Other wise I would have given it 5 stars."
Review 8 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harness works great,
May 26, 2015
By: JimD2
from Henrico VA
"Purchased two harnesses, one for a 70 lb and one for a 20 lb. Both work great for walking and also in car. Wish the seat belt teather was just a little longer, but it does the job.
Will purchase again!
"
Review 9 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Easy to Put On,
May 18, 2015
By: luke1
from Ridgewood, NJ
"We bought two of these for our golden retriever puppy thinking they were the same as the smaller size product and similar to a product we had purchased for our adult golden. . Unfortunately there are no plastic release clips on these so fitting the product on the animal easily is not possible. We ended up returning them."
Review 10 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A strong and secure harness,
May 18, 2015
By: Pepsfriend
from Buffalo, NY
"The Tru-Fit Smart Harness is the strongest one I've found yet. The buckles are metal and lock into place, giving me peace of mind that my little escape artist of a dog can't break out of it while we are walking. She seems to be comfortable while the harness is on, which is a plus. There is a very good clip that secures the harness to the clicked-shut seatbelt in the car, so the dog stays in the back seat. My dog has stepped on seatbelt clasp, releasing the clip and freeing her. It doesn't happen a lot, maybe once every 20 trips in the car, but it does happen. Overall, though, this is the best of the harnesses out there."
Review 11 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Engineering degree,
May 13, 2015
By: Bdoangh
from Nashville TN
"This seems like an heavy and likely very safe harness, but getting it adjusted and on/off makes me feel like I need an engineering degree. It is pretty heavy as well."
Review 12 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 28, 2015
By: Pete99
"I have a young and energetic dog who seems to have no regard for his own safety at some times! This harness was an excellent option. It is heavy duty and very high quality!"
Review 13 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great company,
April 22, 2015
By: CGR56
from northern NM
"I bought 2 of these, and one box was missing the tether. I called the company and they mailed one to me that day. great service.
harnesses seem comfortable for the dogs.
"
Review 14 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 22, 2015
By: HDGrace2013
from Worcestershire
"An excellent product. Very easy to use. Very well made and smart. Just what we have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 15 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps dogs in back seat,
April 7, 2015
By: Hector1
from California
"We have a Doberman & Rottweiler & car rides were always a hassle with them jumping all over each other in the back seat and trying to get in the front seat...well not anymore :). They can move around just enough and lay down in their seat. They took to it 1st use and now get excited when they see the harnesses because they know they are going somewhere fun!"
Review 16 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
April 3, 2015
By: Leslie24
from Plano, TX
"I bought the medium for my 4 month old Golden Retriever and it worked well. The trick to buckling is to be sure the straps are not twisted and the buckles you insert are positioned correctly which is not hard. I am about to graduate her to a size large. Definitely worthwhile and my dog sits well and can lie down without any trouble."
Review 17 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If your dog is important to you,
April 2, 2015
By: Rhinochaser
from Oxford, Mississippi
"My dogs are members of the family. I cannot in good conscience let children ride in the truck without seatbelts, how can I be any less concerned for my dogs.
I wanted a restraint system that would be simple and worked. This product fits the bill."
Review 18 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Quality,
April 1, 2015
By: riley41
from Berkeley Heights, NJ
"I am a relatively new customer, but I am totally convinced. The recent
products I have purchased are
of the highest quality and NOW I will only purchase from ORVIS.
"
Review 19 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love , works great !,
March 20, 2015
By: Lyndacot
from South Carolina
"We own a 105 lb. Great Pyrness.This is the best harness. Have had several others but they did not hold up."
Review 20 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product per se,
March 7, 2015
By: GSDLAB
from Aurora, CO
"This is a great product, but with age, I had troiuble trying to get the harness clips to work properly. Trying to slip one part of the harness ring into the other part just caused me to have too much of the problem.
I really prefer to snap the two ends of the harness clips together."