Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tru-Fit Smart Harness

Designed to work as both a walking harness and a car safety harness, for added security when you and your dog are on the road. Five adjustable points for custom fit. For more control walking a strong pulling dog, attach leash to back. For car use, a tether and carabiner clips to the back of harness and wraps around the seat belt. All steel hardware with a padded chest plate. In red or black. Imported. Medium 18"- 28" chest, dogs 25-50 lbs. Large 24" - 34" chest, dogs 50-80 lbs.X-large 28" - 44" chest, dogs 80-110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Review 1 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite up to par,
May 19, 2014
By: DugHav
"Very heavy duty for the price. However, the sizes were off. The large barely fit my medium sized dogs, and the XL was too tight on my 75 lb lab.
More important, I think there is a serious design flaw. To use as a harnass for walking or as a seatbelt harnass in the car; the "hook" used to latch the leash or seatbelt to is attached to the part of the harnass that goes around the dogs neck (instead of the chest). During an accident, or if I pull on the leash to restrain my beasts, it pulls on their necks--defeating the purpose of using a harnass. Easily fixed by attaching an "O" ring on the chest strap.
Minor design issue, the metal brackets used to fasten the harnass around the dog is very difficult to use."
Review 2 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2014
By: Rehtse
from West Palm Beach FL
"Our dog is a long legged big boy,100 lbs, who loves to ride in the car. The harness is well made and must be comfortable as there is no protest when it's put on it gives him enough freedom but keeps him safe.Thank you."
Review 3 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Harness we've had,
April 29, 2014
By: KathieD
from Northern NJ
"We have had 3 car harnesses and this is by far the best. It's easy to adjust the size and it stays adjusted. The ones we've had before loosen and the dog can wiggle out. The dog seemed more comfortable too and tolerated a 3 day trip better than ever before."
Review 4 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Safety Piece,
March 24, 2014
By: lmb5546
from Pennsylvania
"I bought this harness for my small hound mix for running and walks. The material is breathable, the size was right on and the closures are quick and easy for my squirmy pup. Great purchase for use in the car or on the trails!"
Review 5 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great harness,
March 19, 2014
By: Nini53
from Evanston,IL
"I bought this for a better solution in dealing with my energetic dog in the car. In reading the brochure in the box I then ordered the zip line made by the same company. Great combo. Great products."
Review 6 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puppy Peace,
March 5, 2014
By: Bettye
from Bonsall CA
"The Orvis Tru-Fit Smart Harness is the perfect device to keep your Puppy (all ages) comfortable and safe. It fits snug but not tight. Your pet will appreciate wearing the harness which wont pull or press on his neck as a collar would."
Review 7 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
February 20, 2014
By: DogLover1950
from Oklahoma
"This was the only harness I could find that could be adjusted big enough to fit my dog, a 103 lb Akita. It goes on and off easily. Well manufactured with metal latches. Looks like it will last a long time. Price was higher than some other harnesses, buy the quality is worth the cost."
Review 8 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucy loves it!,
February 20, 2014
By: dgdennis
from Star, ID
"Lucy, my 110 lb. Choc. Lab loves her new Tru-Fit harness, several times I've had to slam on the brakes and she has gone flying into the front of my pickup from the backseat. Not any more, she feels safer and I know I sure do. Also she is rather aggressive when walking, but with her harness on she walks along really nice. Bought one for my sister's dog as well."
Review 9 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 11, 2014
By: poppybea
from Upper Nyack, NY
"I purchased this harness primarily for use in the car. It keeps my, normally, all over the place dog happily in place in the back seat. Even being tethered to the seatbelt, this harness still allows her to move around enough to stay comfortable."
Review 10 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expand size availability,
January 27, 2014
By: Mommers
from Yardley, PA
"The harness is great, but it is too big. Although a smaller size is available, Orvis does not carry it...? Not sure why, and not sure what to do now. The harness is perfect but it does not fit!"
Review 11 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tru-Fit Harness Really is!,
January 22, 2014
By: Rachel46
from Florida
"I was looking for a light weight harness for my 70+ lb retired military working dog...this fit the bill perfectly and could use it in the car for safety if need be. Very adjustable so you can get the perfect fit the closures are different ...the jury is still out on those."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2