Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tru-Fit Smart Harness

Designed to work as both a walking harness and a car safety harness, for added security when you and your dog are on the road. Five adjustable points for custom fit. For more control walking a strong pulling dog, attach leash to back. For car use, a tether and carabiner clips to the back of harness and wraps around the seat belt. All steel hardware with a padded chest plate. In red or black. Imported. Medium 18"- 28" chest, dogs 25-50 lbs. Large 24" - 34" chest, dogs 50-80 lbs.X-large 28" - 44" chest, dogs 80-110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
39 of 44(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Review 1 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harness works great,
May 26, 2015
By: JimD2
from Henrico VA
"Purchased two harnesses, one for a 70 lb and one for a 20 lb. Both work great for walking and also in car. Wish the seat belt teather was just a little longer, but it does the job.
Will purchase again!
"
Review 2 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Easy to Put On,
May 18, 2015
By: luke1
from Ridgewood, NJ
"We bought two of these for our golden retriever puppy thinking they were the same as the smaller size product and similar to a product we had purchased for our adult golden. . Unfortunately there are no plastic release clips on these so fitting the product on the animal easily is not possible. We ended up returning them."
Review 3 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A strong and secure harness,
May 18, 2015
By: Pepsfriend
from Buffalo, NY
"The Tru-Fit Smart Harness is the strongest one I've found yet. The buckles are metal and lock into place, giving me peace of mind that my little escape artist of a dog can't break out of it while we are walking. She seems to be comfortable while the harness is on, which is a plus. There is a very good clip that secures the harness to the clicked-shut seatbelt in the car, so the dog stays in the back seat. My dog has stepped on seatbelt clasp, releasing the clip and freeing her. It doesn't happen a lot, maybe once every 20 trips in the car, but it does happen. Overall, though, this is the best of the harnesses out there."
Review 4 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Engineering degree,
May 13, 2015
By: Bdoangh
from Nashville TN
"This seems like an heavy and likely very safe harness, but getting it adjusted and on/off makes me feel like I need an engineering degree. It is pretty heavy as well."
Review 5 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 28, 2015
By: Pete99
"I have a young and energetic dog who seems to have no regard for his own safety at some times! This harness was an excellent option. It is heavy duty and very high quality!"
Review 6 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great company,
April 22, 2015
By: CGR56
from northern NM
"I bought 2 of these, and one box was missing the tether. I called the company and they mailed one to me that day. great service.
harnesses seem comfortable for the dogs.
"
Review 7 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 22, 2015
By: HDGrace2013
from Worcestershire
"An excellent product. Very easy to use. Very well made and smart. Just what we have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 8 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps dogs in back seat,
April 7, 2015
By: Hector1
from California
"We have a Doberman & Rottweiler & car rides were always a hassle with them jumping all over each other in the back seat and trying to get in the front seat...well not anymore :). They can move around just enough and lay down in their seat. They took to it 1st use and now get excited when they see the harnesses because they know they are going somewhere fun!"
Review 9 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
April 3, 2015
By: Leslie24
from Plano, TX
"I bought the medium for my 4 month old Golden Retriever and it worked well. The trick to buckling is to be sure the straps are not twisted and the buckles you insert are positioned correctly which is not hard. I am about to graduate her to a size large. Definitely worthwhile and my dog sits well and can lie down without any trouble."
Review 10 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If your dog is important to you,
April 2, 2015
By: Rhinochaser
from Oxford, Mississippi
"My dogs are members of the family. I cannot in good conscience let children ride in the truck without seatbelts, how can I be any less concerned for my dogs.
I wanted a restraint system that would be simple and worked. This product fits the bill."
Review 11 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Quality,
April 1, 2015
By: riley41
from Berkeley Heights, NJ
"I am a relatively new customer, but I am totally convinced. The recent
products I have purchased are
of the highest quality and NOW I will only purchase from ORVIS.
"
Review 12 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love , works great !,
March 20, 2015
By: Lyndacot
from South Carolina
"We own a 105 lb. Great Pyrness.This is the best harness. Have had several others but they did not hold up."
Review 13 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product per se,
March 7, 2015
By: GSDLAB
from Aurora, CO
"This is a great product, but with age, I had troiuble trying to get the harness clips to work properly. Trying to slip one part of the harness ring into the other part just caused me to have too much of the problem.
I really prefer to snap the two ends of the harness clips together."
Review 14 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feels safe and secure,
February 26, 2015
By: PennyMom
"We bought this harness because we didn't want our puppy to just ride in the back seat without being secure. The harness allows Penny to stretch out and lie down, but her movement is restricted. The only reason I give this harness four stars instead of five is that it's a little tricky to get it on and off . Getting it properly adjusted initially was also a little complicated. We are now more comfortable with the process, but it still takes a little bit of time to get in and off."
Review 15 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't work for Bob,
February 10, 2015
By: Duner
from Rockville IN
"We are anxious to make it safer for our Golden "Bob" to travel on long trips. So we tried the harness. The harness was made very well, but just didn't work for us. It requires that Bob stay in one place sitting up or lying down. It depends on the seat buckle system to give him some freedom by lengthening as he pulls it. It does not pull straight and twists the harness to one side. To make it tighter would I believe would be very uncomfortable on long trips. I believe it could work a little better if the hook up strap was a 6 to 12" longer, or was secured to a strap between the two outside seat belts on a bench seat, like a traveler line. I really do not see how it can work on a Mini Van Stow-n-Go mid section seats. It might work if they incorporated a self contained high quality inertia brake retractor mechanism."
Review 16 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent harness,
January 2, 2015
By: Joeyy22j
from Bethpage, NY
"I was very satisfied with the harness it works great. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 17 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Harness Out There!!,
January 2, 2015
By: Meegeman
from Somerset,MA
"Excellent quality. Love the buckle style. True to size."
Review 18 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy safety harness,
December 31, 2014
By: KICK22
from Rochester Hills MI
"Best harness on the market! Sturdy with metal buckles, easy to use and well made. Highly recommend - our black lab weighs 86# and this keeps him safe while not restricting him. We found the center seatbelt in the SUV is the best placement for him."
Review 19 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 30, 2014
By: Caymus
"Too dficult to put on my dog. I don't think this works well for small dogs."
Review 20 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok but not needed,
December 24, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"On my German Shorthair this twists around somewhat so she can only lie down often in one direction ...the strap to connect to the seat belt is extremely heavy duty...mich more than you need..just tie a strap ti seat brlt with a snap to hook to collar. I gave up using this after one trip...well made, heavy duty but ..."