Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tru-Fit Smart Harness

Designed to work as both a walking harness and a car safety harness, for added security when you and your dog are on the road. Five adjustable points for custom fit. For more control walking a strong pulling dog, attach leash to back. For car use, a tether and carabiner clips to the back of harness and wraps around the seat belt. All steel hardware with a padded chest plate. In red or black. Imported. Medium 18"- 28" chest, dogs 25-50 lbs. Large 24" - 34" chest, dogs 50-80 lbs.X-large 28" - 44" chest, dogs 80-110 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Review 1 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent harness,
January 2, 2015
By: Joeyy22j
from Bethpage, NY
"I was very satisfied with the harness it works great. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 2 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Harness Out There!!,
January 2, 2015
By: Meegeman
from Somerset,MA
"Excellent quality. Love the buckle style. True to size."
Review 3 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy safety harness,
December 31, 2014
By: KICK22
from Rochester Hills MI
"Best harness on the market! Sturdy with metal buckles, easy to use and well made. Highly recommend - our black lab weighs 86# and this keeps him safe while not restricting him. We found the center seatbelt in the SUV is the best placement for him."
Review 4 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 30, 2014
By: Caymus
"Too dficult to put on my dog. I don't think this works well for small dogs."
Review 5 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok but not needed,
December 24, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"On my German Shorthair this twists around somewhat so she can only lie down often in one direction ...the strap to connect to the seat belt is extremely heavy duty...mich more than you need..just tie a strap ti seat brlt with a snap to hook to collar. I gave up using this after one trip...well made, heavy duty but ..."
Review 6 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes and no purchase,
December 23, 2014
By: Labsnmore
"I received the 2 harnesses under separate cover; one seemed like it had been returned since it was falling out of the package and was sized already. The othe was packaged as new. The clasps for the hook-up to the seat belt were different ; the one on the new harness is more secure and the other looks like it may be damaged.
I would recommend the new harness and hook-up but not the other that seems to have been a return that was not examined and that has a less secure hook-up.
"
Review 7 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Car harness,
December 16, 2014
By: Mutley58
"Have used this product in the car a few times now when taking the dog on a journey.
It is a very well made product, strong and fit for purpose, slightly heavy for a small dog but he doesn't seem to mind wearing it and it keeps him secure.
"
Review 8 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effective and versatile,
November 14, 2014
By: bbennett59
from Taunton Somerset
"I needed a car harness that Honey couldn't twist out of but didn't stop her changing position on the back seat. This harness does exactly that and I can use it when she is walking to stop her pulling too much!!"
Review 9 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tru Fit Smart Harness,
October 15, 2014
By: CorkyQuirk
from Seabrook Island South Carolina
"A harness beyond belief fits snugly but comfortably and my dog showed no discomfort on our recent 500 mile car trip."
Review 10 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent quality for the price,
October 8, 2014
By: DeaMarie
from Rochester, NY
"Very clever harness with multiple uses. Extremely well made. Preferable to a step-in harness. It has two clasps for easy buckling and release. The clasps did take a bit of getting used to (thus the 4 stars) but well worth the learning curve!"
Review 11 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Car harness for dogs,
September 16, 2014
By: bassetsandbullies
from Texarkana, AR
"It took a few minutes to get the hang of the clasps, but after that it is very easy to use and our English Bull Terrier is very happy in it in the car.
Also, so much easier to dress the dog if you only release one side of the harness in the back.
"
Review 12 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
September 3, 2014
By: AKauer47
from Royal Oak, MI
"I purchased this harness for my 100 pound pup. The xl fit perfect once I figured it out. I was initially worried it was to small, but the adjustment straps allow for the accommodation of a very large dog. The buckle design is a metal slip clip, rather then a plastic clip or buckle style. This makes it easy to put on and take off. My dog seemed to enjoy it also"
Review 13 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great once you get it on your dog,
August 15, 2014
By: MomOfFourKidsTwoDogs
"It's a sturdy, attractive (I got the red color) well made harness that will make my hard pulling 55 pound mixed breed a lot more comfortable on hikes (when wearing it he doesn't choke himself pulling and seems to pull less) and also keep us all safer on car rides when I use the seat belt feature. HOWEVER, getting the contraption on and off my dog is not easy -- I hope it will get easier with time -- it seems I am supposed to loosen the straps, have him step in them, then retighten, reversing this to take it off. Well, my dog is a super bouncy guy especially when he thinks he is about to go hiking, so getting the harness on him takes a lot of effort but seems worthwhile once we hit the trails and he's not strangling. Also seems to make it easier for my kids as young as 9 to walk him. I have a different less expensive harness which releases with clasps on the straps around the tummy, so much easier than tightening and retightening and trying to get a dog to step the right way -- but the cheaper harness shifts position and has plastic fittings versus the nice metal on this one. This one will get 5 stars if they make it easier to take on and off and/or provide simpler documentation for how this should work and fit on the dog."
Review 14 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
August 12, 2014
By: Charlienic
from Wilmington, NC
"Harness is exactly as described. Works wonders for our pit-boxer mix 2 year old dog that is a strong walker! Harness redirects him to walk by our side instead of leading us during morning walks. We've tried others claiming to handle strong pullers but this product is the prize! Easy to put on and off."
Review 15 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Harness,
July 30, 2014
By: Bobbie528
from Washington, DC
"Great product and it works as promised. I have better control of the walking experience with my dog and she enjoys it too. Well worth the money."
Review 16 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite up to par,
May 19, 2014
By: DugHav
"Very heavy duty for the price. However, the sizes were off. The large barely fit my medium sized dogs, and the XL was too tight on my 75 lb lab.
More important, I think there is a serious design flaw. To use as a harnass for walking or as a seatbelt harnass in the car; the "hook" used to latch the leash or seatbelt to is attached to the part of the harnass that goes around the dogs neck (instead of the chest). During an accident, or if I pull on the leash to restrain my beasts, it pulls on their necks--defeating the purpose of using a harnass. Easily fixed by attaching an "O" ring on the chest strap.
Minor design issue, the metal brackets used to fasten the harnass around the dog is very difficult to use."
Review 17 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2014
By: Rehtse
from West Palm Beach FL
"Our dog is a long legged big boy,100 lbs, who loves to ride in the car. The harness is well made and must be comfortable as there is no protest when it's put on it gives him enough freedom but keeps him safe.Thank you."
Review 18 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Harness we've had,
April 29, 2014
By: KathieD
from Northern NJ
"We have had 3 car harnesses and this is by far the best. It's easy to adjust the size and it stays adjusted. The ones we've had before loosen and the dog can wiggle out. The dog seemed more comfortable too and tolerated a 3 day trip better than ever before."
Review 19 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Safety Piece,
March 24, 2014
By: lmb5546
from Pennsylvania
"I bought this harness for my small hound mix for running and walks. The material is breathable, the size was right on and the closures are quick and easy for my squirmy pup. Great purchase for use in the car or on the trails!"
Review 20 for Tru-Fit Smart Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great harness,
March 19, 2014
By: Nini53
from Evanston,IL
"I bought this for a better solution in dealing with my energetic dog in the car. In reading the brochure in the box I then ordered the zip line made by the same company. Great combo. Great products."