Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Andover Twill Blazer

Made from fine cotton twill, our summer blazer is thoroughly washed for a soft feel and a relaxed look perfect with a polo shirt and your favorite jeans or chinos. The unlined body contributes to a light feel you'll love all summer, while the lined sleeves make on-and-off a breeze. Three-button front. Functional button cuffs. Three outside pockets; two interior pockets. Center-back vent. Cotton twill summer blazer in navy. Pure cotton. Washable, but dry clean for best results. Imported.Regular even sizes: 40-46.Long even size: 42.
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
10 of 17(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Andover Twill Blazer
Review 1 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
April 9, 2012
By: Decoyman
from Canton NC
"As w/other reviews, i found sleeves 1.5 inches too long. After quick and inexpensive alteration at local laundry, all is well. Very comfortable on cool to warm days. I'm a college teacher and it s dressy enough for work, but not an overstatement. AT sale price, it is a great bargain."
Review 2 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Casual Summer Blazer,
April 9, 2012
By: Elexigente
from New York, NY
"This product was worth the money at its sale price of under $100. The only negative is that the sleeve button arrangement does not allow for easy shortening of the sleeves. I did need the sleeves shortened but the result that could be accomplished by a tailor was less than perfect."
Review 3 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits like a sack (that's a good thing!),
March 30, 2012
By: ClockLobster
from The Kindgom of Humidity
"I've read a number of the other comments complaining about the jacket being sized too large. However, I prefer the fit of un-darted, 3/2 roll sport coats and suit jackets (aka sack) and I found this blazer to fit perfectly. I also like the natural shoulder, which I prefer to the severe, squared-off silhouette created by over-padding. It's definitely unstructured, but I wouldn't say it looks like a lab coat or waiter's jacket.
I can also report the blazer survived a trip through the washer (gentle cycle) and drier and still looks good.
The only complaints I have are minor:
1. I don't like the top-stitching on the end of the sleeves. But since I needed the sleeves shortened anyway, I had my tailor resolve this.
2. The actual item seems darker than the photo. This jacket is a dark, dark blue. But it will fade with laundering over time, so that's not a problem."
Review 4 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not my style,
March 6, 2012
By: FCC2
from boston ma
"I was excited that this blazer was marked down - I have purchased several tweed jackets from Orvis and unfortunately I was surprised when this one came and was not representative of the quality or cut I generally expect from Orvis - my wife remarked that "it looked like a lab coat or a waiters jacket"."
Review 5 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 10, 2012
By: Passout
from Houston, TX
"Living in a very warm, humid climate, it's the perfect weight for a casual, Summer jacket. I did look at the reviews before buying and I disagree with the complaints as I think it's a true 44 and does not run too big."
Review 6 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 18, 2011
By: SYDPN
"Fits Large. I normally wear 44L but based on the prior reviews I ordered a 42 which fits fine."
Review 7 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad, bad, bad,
November 15, 2011
By: Adog
"Bd fit, bad material.Got it in clearence section and I can see why."
Review 8 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 25, 2011
By: ioannis
from Greece
"Find them invaluable and It always looks very smart and crease free. The style and material are great.""
Review 9 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I agree...,
August 23, 2011
By: Ahab
"...with several reviews mentioning the fit. While my jacket was a better fit than others have reported, the sleeves are a bit to long - annoying. This has not been a problem with any other Orvis jacket that I've purchased. Sleeve length aside, the jacket is as advertized and a useful addition to my wardrobe."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 30, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Andover Twill Blazer sleeve didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 10 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Oversized,
May 9, 2011
By: beachjudge
"I own other Orvis jackets and this was uncharacteristic. I loved this blazer but it was oversized. I ordered a size 38 and it was at least a forty. I loved it so much I considered alterations, but it as just too long and too large evrywhere."
Review 11 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blazer,
March 10, 2011
By: Loyalist
from Toronto
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a terrifically practical jacket but, like so many others who have submited reviews, I discovered that its actual size is far larger than the listed size. Mine was huge. I've returned it for a smaller size (42 to 40) and am hoping. It may even require a 38, and I'm usually a 41."
Review 12 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sleeves too long,
October 10, 2010
By: Bramante
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I like Orvis unstructured jackets. Unfortunately I have to order a long size which fits around the chest well enough but is too long by 2-3" in the sleeve. I wear them with the sleeves rolled up which hides the nice button detailing at the cuff. The regular is way too short. Where does Orvis get its models? No other jacket I have has such odd sizing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 9, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the length of the sleeves on our tall Andover Twill Blazer wasn't satisfactory. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 13 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
October 9, 2010
By: Raskul
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I didn't like the fit nor the way it looked on me. I returned it to Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 8, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.
Review 14 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 8, 2010
By: Longball
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"jacket has a larger cut, so I actually returned it for a size smaller and it fits well. Lots of favorable comments. It only recommendation I would have is for the next generation, add a button at the top to be able to close the jacket when the wind is blowing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smaller size a must!,
September 25, 2009
By: Simoozer
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered the blazer into the London shop in its smallest size of 38 as i am a slim 5 foot 9 and based on the previous reviewers comments about the jacket coming up slim i thought it would be perfect. Unfortunately this was not the case, it was still far too big which is a great shame as it really is the nicest jacket of this style that i have found. Please Orvis, make this in a 36 for those of us who prefer a more fitted look."
Review 16 for Andover Twill Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big disappointment!,
April 1, 2009
By: Norfolkman
from Norfolk, England
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Having had several excellent products from Orvis in the past, I was extremely disappointed with this item.
For the nominal size, the blazer was very tight; the workmanship was not up to the usual Orvis standard, and the cut, particularly round the shoulder fitting, was poor.
I was considering ordering the silk tweed jacket but now I'm not so sure!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 10, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for any disappointment caused by the cut and workmanship of this jacket. Orvis thanked the customer for taking the time to submit this feedback and, of course, offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. In light of this review, the product developer is currently assessing the quality and fit of this jacket.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Andover Twill Blazer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1