Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cotswold Meadow Shirt

Stroll the rolling hills of the English countryside in a pure cotton shirt with a comfortable cut and handsome colouration perfect for autumn. Plus, our shirt is an ideal layering piece, adding to the handsome looks of your favourite sweater or jacket. Relaxed spread collar. Button-through flap chest pockets. In rust. 100% cotton. Washable.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
26 of 35(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Review 1 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not acceptable,
July 19, 2014
By: Busby
from Cumbria, England
"Now I know why it was reduced !
Lovely material, bit more rust coloured than image although not a problem, but the arms are nothing like the length in their size chart for size L ( 34-35 inches ). I reckon these are nearer 32 inches. Strange departure from the usual Orvis quality and one that has cost me money.
"
Review 2 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enjoyable shirt,
January 25, 2014
By: Jtoo
from Memphis, TN
"I have owned this shirt for awhile and enjoy wearing it. Colors are great, just generous enough in size and has a great texture to it!"
Review 3 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Short Sleeves,
December 28, 2013
By: webert
from Cleveland, OH
"I love the colors, the texture of this shirt, but I wear an XXL. According to Yor size chart, the sleeve should be 36/37.
The first one I got had 33.5" sleeves after one trip to the laundry. So I sent it back and bought another, which had 35" sleeves, brand new, right out of the bag???
Now I'm going to have to send it back. Too bad, it's a beautiful shirt, but I need at least a 36" inch sleeve that won't shrink much after being laundered.
I should mention that I have a lot of Orvis sport shorts and have never had this problem before.
"
Review 4 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Winter colourful,
December 10, 2013
By: janart
from Gosport
"This shirt is exactly as pictured, I chose it for the colours, but it is beautifully made and should last for some time!"
Review 5 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful shirt!,
October 1, 2013
By: BuckNekkid
from Central Coast of CA
"When I buy a shirt online, I usually check most of the reviews first. this ones had good reviews. Some also said they run larger than normal. I usually wear XL, but as they said...roomy. I ordered both the Lrg and the XL, kept the Lrg and sent the XL back. It was worth the $6.95 return fee.
The first day I wore my shirt I received two complements on it. I don't usually care one way or the other what others think of what I am wearing...but this time it felt good. I think because I also liked the shirt very much. Great texture, good colors. Overall a great shirt! I would buy other colors in this shirt if they were offered."
Review 6 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Pleased,
September 3, 2013
By: ksellersw
from Charlottesville, VA
"The Costwold Meadow Shirt arrived in a timely fashion and looked exactly the way I hoped. I've worn it a couple times since just receiving it last week. Job well done."
Review 7 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 1, 2013
By: LonesomeGeorge1
from Lafayette, LA
"The Cotswold shirt caught my eye because of the plaid and the colors. I looked forward to wearing it. Upon putting it on my body, the sleeves ended about three inches north of my wrist. Much too short."
Review 8 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sleeves are too short.,
February 26, 2013
By: Mxyzptik
from Alberta, Canada
"I like the shirt, it's a great colour. Some reviewers have complained that it is more red than orange, my eyes see it as it was pictured.
The material is soft and comfortable and my wife liked it as soon as I put it on, however the sleeves are too short. If it doesn't shrink it will do but if it shrinks even a bit I will not be able to wear it. I don't usually have this problem with any of the other shirts I have ordered from Orvis."
Review 9 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt, but...,
February 23, 2013
By: RADA
from San Francisco
"Great color and pattern. Of the three shirts I ordered, the amount of material allowed seems to be directly related to cost. This one, in the middle pricewise, is slightly tight across the chest (not gut). If I didn't like it so much I might return it. The material is a loose weave and after wearing it for a few days the fit seems better but who knows what will happen after washing. Tails too long, tailored for a tall person with short arms?"
Review 10 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shame about the colour!,
January 17, 2013
By: Dartmoorsgreen
from Ashburton, Devon, UK.
"I loved the material and feel of this shirt but the colour was much closer to red than rust. After much deliberation I decided the colour was too red for my tastes and returned it."
Review 11 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
December 19, 2012
By: Doc49
from Severna Park, MD
"The first time I've been really disappointed with Orvis. The shirt is not rust, but RED!!!!!!! I returned it for a credit to my card."
Review 12 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleased with purchase,
October 22, 2012
By: RobbieT
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I wanted a new fall casual shirt and this one fit the bill to my satisfaction. The color is a very pleasant orange/olive plaid and appears a bit darker in person than it did online. The cut was generous and the best part was the texture of the material. It feels nubby in a way that makes it both substantial and breathable at the same time. I rate it very highly without any reservations."
Review 13 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 19, 2012
By: tertius
from lyme, ct
"A beautifully unique shirt in colors and weave. The size "small" is generous which is good. I am grateful that Orvis is again offering items in "small.""
Review 14 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever,
October 17, 2012
By: 323Bird
from Plymouth, MI
"Most comfortable shirt I ever had.
Beautiful color and extremely soft
and comfortable to the skin.
"
Review 15 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A mistake,
October 8, 2012
By: Dinkum
from Houston TX.
"I have returned this shirt because it is
poorly made..The sleaves are of different length.The left one is at least 2 inches shorter than the right one.
Totally un acceptable.
"
Review 16 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
September 21, 2012
By: Mori
from Georgia
"I love it: beautiful colors; hubby loves it: textured yet soft."
Review 17 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great colours in excellent shirt !!,
February 18, 2012
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I'm delighted with this purchase which was made primarily because I had not seen this colour combination in other shirts. The combo is very "autumnal" in effect and I really like the dusky red as the primary colour. I'm not sure if the shirt is seersucker but it has that feel.
A word on sizing - it is generous !! I am 44/46" chest and an XL in Orvis sweaters which I like to wear a little bulky for warmth but after reading other reviews which mentioned the sizing of Orvis shirts I got a L for this shirt and it fits me well.
All in all, yet another excellent purchase from Orvis and 4 days from USA to Scotland speaks well of the order despatch team !!
"
Review 18 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt but a little scratchy,
January 29, 2012
By: NuevaYork
from Carson City, NV
"This is a lovely colored and patterned shirt. The fabric has a bit of a scratchy feel but is not uncomfortable. The quality of materials is very good. The only disappointment is the sleeves, which are a bit short. I've experienced similar issues with some other Orvis shirts and, although a minor annoyance, it's just a matter of trying them on for fit."
Review 19 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking shirt,
December 28, 2011
By: snakedude
from las vegas nv
"good looking shirt.earth tones are a real turn on.i have already gotten several compliments from three good looking women. the two breast pockets and woodlike buttons add a little pizzaz to the overall good look."
Review 20 for Cotswold Meadow Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost excellent !,
December 15, 2011
By: rainbowrider
from Rutland, UK
"This shirt was exactly as described, and very generously sized (I have problems getting sizings for my 51 inch chest). The missing star is because the fabric had several knots on the inside of the weave where the cotton had been joined but not trimmed. I have sorted this out myself with very careful trimming, but hope no holes appear later on"