Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Aviator Boot

We've commissioned Alden of New England, America's oldest boot maker, to craft an aviator-style boot capable of offering all-day (and -night, if necessary) comfort and support whether you're in the cockpit, first class, or running to catch your flight. Fine oiled-Nubuck leather for long wear and a glove-like fit. Nine-eyelet styling. In dark brown. USA.Whole and half men's boot size 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aviator Boot
Review 1 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort right out of the box,
March 1, 2011
By: Vince
from Rancho La Costa , California
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very Happy with this purchase!
Top of the line quality &
comfortable as well, right out of the box.
I did agree with the prior comments in regards to the shoe laces, they look nice but nowhere heavy enough for this type of boot.
I went to the local cobbler and purchased a pair of 72" dark rawhide laces for 8$ which make them look even better!
I don't think I will have the problem with the speed eyelets tearing the rawhide laces.
"
Review 2 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boots!,
January 21, 2011
By: Raneleigh
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had been eyeing these boots for a while, but was hesitant to make the purchase, not just because they aren't inexpensive but also because I wasn't really clear on sizing. It seemed that Orvis was saying they are true to size and Alden was saying they run a half size large. To make matters more confusing, even users seemed to be divided in what I was reading about them. I finally decided to pull the trigger when they ran out of my true size and I had to order a half size smaller anyway. I took a chance that Aldens built on the Trubalance Last are always a half size larger and figured I could just return them if they didn't work for me.
When the boots arrived, I was pretty blown away. These are heavy well made boots and the quality is outstanding. They were comfortable immediately and a break-in period wasn't even necessary. I don't wear thick hiking socks, but I don't wear thin socks either (think slightly thicker sports socks) and the fit was absolutely perfect at a half size smaller than I usually wear.
There have been numerous comments about the laces breaking. This is a common problem with Alden boots and I'm not sure why they have never corrected it. They use flat laces that are wide, but not thick. The insides of the eyelets are a bit rough and the laces catch, shred and eventually break. Is that a deal breaker for me? NO WAY!! As soon as I got the boots, I went to my local shoe repair shop and bought some round hiking laces in dark brown for $3 - problem solved. These hiking laces are stronger and I can't see them breaking anytime in the near future. The truth is...I never understood flat laces with boots - they seem a bit too elegant. With a pant leg over the top, you might as well be wearing dress shoes. But with the hiking laces, there's no mistaking that these are boots...solid ones at that.
If you're on the fence about these boots, don't be. They are excellent and will probably last forever."
Review 3 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I expected more from an Alden shoe,
December 30, 2010
By: nomad
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wore these about 7 or 8 times and went through 3 pair of laces. The eyelets just kept chewing through lace after lace. Not what you would expect from an Alden boot (I own 3 other pairs of Aldens) and not what your should expect from a $400+ pair of shoes. Returned them...very disappointed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 13, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear there was a problem with the eyelets causing the Aviator Boots to not meet his expectations. We welcome customer comments and suggestions—we learn a great deal from our customers, and we are always striving to improve our products. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 4 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot for almost every activity,
December 4, 2010
By: ClassicDresser
from Chicago, IL
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Although it took me three attempts to get a first-quality boot - the stitching at the quarter was coming loose on the first two pairs I ordered - the third pair was perfect. The leather is supple (but easily nicked) and coupled with the welting, provides a highly water resistant boot. After over a year of wearing, the boot has proven to be extremely comfortable and worthy of wearing to the office (not with suits but practically anything else) and on the weekend for working in the yard and garage, etc. A simple wipe of the boot with a wet towel is all that is needed to keep the boot looking clean. The soles are great for dry and semi-wet conditions but do not give the great traction for extremely wet, snowy, icy or muddy conditions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, distinctive, heavy,
November 17, 2010
By: OCULUS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought these on a lark at the Manchester store and was first struck by how heavy they are right out of the box. They are comfortable though and well made and don't seem that heavy once on your feet. Mine have the fabric lining, which is odd in a street shoe.
My only complaint is their heft and width of the sole; I have trouble using my clutch because they are so wide as to hit the adjacent dead pedal (BMW 545is). Not recommended for speed shifting;-> otherwise a solid American shoe."
Review 6 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boots,
March 16, 2010
By: Busterdog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased a pair of the Aviator Boots several months ago and found them extremely comfortable, versatile, and easy on the eye.
The only problem I've experienced is with the laces,
they snapped and I'm having difficulty finding replacements to match.
Any help Orvis can give me in locating laces for the Aviator Boot would be greatly appreciated."
Review 7 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
even at this price, tempted to buy backups...,
March 11, 2010
By: foodlion
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"...because I am anxious about ever going without a pair. They dropped off the site for a while.
My job (healthcare) allows me the luxury of wearing whatever footwear I want. I have worn Crocs, Birkenstocks, Tennis shoes, Red Wing boots, Dr.Martens shoes and boots over the last 12 years. I would rotate for comfort and to keep them from wearing out.
I wear these every day now. No signs of wearing out, and only becoming more comfortable. No comparison. They feel like gloves for the feet, and I am now sold on offset heels for any prolonged standing.
Unlike their predecessors, I actually get compliments on these.
I wear American 8.5 and they fit perfectly"
Review 8 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit true on me,
January 18, 2010
By: IlliniFlyer
from Corpus Christi, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are awesome boots. The nubuck is definitely well-oiled and they smell great out of the box. The break in time was pretty much non-existent. Compared to my Red Wing GTs, these are a lot more comfortable.
I ordered 1/2 a size down from my regular size but found them to be too tight in the toes. The regular sized (9.5) ones I later received were perfect, and were sized correctly in terms of the heel-to-ball (meaning, the ball of my foot was perfect with the widest part of the shoe).
There was one additional big difference between the 9s and 9.5s I received. The first had the Cambrelle lining (like you would see on a hiking boot) but the second pair were leather lined. Either one would have been a winner, but I really am liking the leather lined version.
These are my new "adventure" boots."
Review 9 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What you would expect from Orvis and Alden,
January 5, 2010
By: John197
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are a great pair of boots. You should know, though, that they are sized as Alden shoes, so order a half size smaller than you would for other non-Alden shoes. Also, consistent with other Alden shoes I have, they're rather stiff at first but break in perfectly."
Review 10 for Aviator Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great but......,
November 2, 2009
By: Turner
from Manchester, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I wish they offered these in the sueded leathers Alden makes their chukka boots!"