Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Backseat Protector

Keep your backseat looking like new. Our microfiber dog seat cover is water resistant, breathable, and attaches quickly and easily to the rear headrests with adjustable nylon straps and side-release buckles. A non-slip backing provides grip, while innovative “handles” fit between the seat cushion and backrest to keep the protector firmly in place. Features slits for threading seatbelts through. Height-adjustable headrests required for installation. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (470 reviews)
5 stars
353
4 stars
84
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
6
450 of 470(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Backseat Protector
Review 1 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy This, You Won't Be Disappointed,
October 8, 2012
By: PghPensFan
from Pittsburgh, PA
"As usual with Orvis, their products are quality. If you have leather seats, this cover won't slide around. Has gripping material on the underside, plus 'rubber handles' that you shove down in between the seat back and seat bottom to hold it in place. Many other products don't have non slip backing, nor several key features that keep the cover firmly in place. This may cost you more, but the old adage "you get what you pay for" is truly appropriate in this case! My sister still owns one of these for her two dogs that ride in her car, and after many years it's still like new."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Seat Cover,
April 15, 2014
By: Shelby007
from Rochester, NH
"This seat cover is awesome, the material is thick enough without being too bulky, it wraps around the back seat, and is easy to put in. It stays in place very well, even with the dogs moving around. Excellent product."
Review 3 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and functional,
April 14, 2014
By: Vicki7890
from Upstate New York
"I take my dog everywhere and was hunting for a back seat cover that truly covered the seat, is soft and comfy for my dog and this one is perfection. The black one is gorgeous. I was unsure of size to order so contacted Orvis on line and the agent researched my car model and in 2 minutes recommended the correct size XL for my SUV and it came to me in 3 days. Love it!!!"
Review 4 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 14, 2014
By: Elle14
from Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
"This seat cover is incredibly easy to install and fits well in my car's backseat- Infiniti. I love that it's soft so my dog loves sitting back there and it's durable to withstand the snow and dirt. It's nice looking and definitely the price."
Review 5 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely Satisfied,
April 14, 2014
By: KYMastiff
from KY
"Purchased this backseat cover after changing vehicles from an SUV (where my 100lb dog rode in the back cargo area with a blanket) to a small car with leather seats. The cover fit perfectly over the backseat, was extremely easy to install, and has not slipped or bunched at all after numerous rides and jumps in and out of the car. My dog has no problem getting comfortable for car rides with this cover on. It seems very durable as well, although I have only used for a few weeks. I am completely satisfied with my purchase."
Review 6 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so far so good,
April 14, 2014
By: RebC
from Calif
"I was looking for something to not only protect my leather seats from puppy nails and muddy paws - but to keep my girl from sliding around the backseat. this seat cover was pricier than some others i'd seen, but most the reviews were generally positive so i thought i'd give it a try. Installation wasn't "difficult" but somewhat time consuming to get everything adjusted and tucked just right. Being a "generic" size to cover multiple of vehicles, i found it to fit the middle seat of my Ford Explorer well enough, though a third buckle to snap around the middle headrest would be helpful. Haven't yet experienced wet/mud so i can't review on the durability - or washability - but my 50 pound catahoula puppy seems more comfortable."
Review 7 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best thing for my new car,
April 12, 2014
By: DragonJo
from Pittsburgh PA
"So glad I bought this backseat protector for my new car. It blends perfectly with my interior, stays put in place and makes the back seat look sharp. Why I didn't buy one the last 10 years is a mystery to me. I have already recommended to my dog friends as a Must Have."
Review 8 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever!,
April 9, 2014
By: elktown
from Estes Park, CO
"This seat cover is amazing. We've been covering the back seat with a variety of blankets that always slip and bunch. This Orvis cover stays in place and completely covers the backseat of our Ford pickup. The dogs (a boxer and a bulldog) find it very comfortable."
Review 9 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on the market,
April 8, 2014
By: packoffour
from Arlington, TX
"I bought one in brown on sale after I ordered a 2015 Suburban which is my dog vehicle back in January. The vehicle came a month ago and I have had this installed since day 1. I have 3 german shepherds and a golden mix. One shepherd likes to scratch and circle before lying down. This is the best cover that I can find, although pricy. The piece that cover the skirt of the seat is long enough that it touches the floor. I ordered the XL and it is the perfect length for the second row bench seat. I have had many cheaper versions for my 2001 Suburban throughout the years, but none worked well. The 'handles' do pull out a bit when my dog scratched and circled, but every where else holds the cover in place. It is also thick and pretty much 'hair resistant'. I use a towel to 'dust' the surface every few days and a bunch of hair just came flying out. This does not work as well for the third row bench because the straps cannot go underneath the seat, and the third row bench is also shorter. But one of my dogs who likes to sit in the third row likes her Orvis dog bed on the seat, so I got that area covered. Now I want the same cover for the front passenger seat since my golden mix sits there. Sadly, I bought this item on sale, and the brown color is no longer available in the front bucket. I might have to get it in tan. Very happy with this item."
Review 10 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works as advertised!,
April 2, 2014
By: AZTundra
from AZ
"I have a full size pickup and ordered the large. Took the dogs for a long road trip and this product protected my leather seats as expected. I have a full size rottie and a pitt, so this product has definitely held up it's end of the bargain. I recommend this product if you need piece of mind and want to protect your seats."
Review 11 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Car seat cover,
April 1, 2014
By: KAB7
"The ivory leather in my new car is very smooth and slippery. Simply laying a towel on the seat was ineffective as it was sliding off leaving the leather exposed to dog nails & dirty paws. The Orvis car seat cover does a nice job of covering the back seat and staying secure by going over the headrests. (I am unable to insert the handles between the seat back & the cushion, although it is not necessary to keep it in place.) The material is very soft and the dogs seem to find it cozy."
Review 12 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Happy,
March 31, 2014
By: Kylle10
"Have been going through cheap backseat covers very quickly due to them being poorly made and not strong enough. Decided to spend the money and buy this cover from Orvis and have not been disappointed so far.
Well made, strong and nicely cushioned for our dog. Customer service has also been great.
Highly recommend!"
Review 13 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
plush,
March 28, 2014
By: Florence
from LA, CA
"This is a nice, plush back seat cover. As I've only recently acquired it, I don't yet have a sense of how it will wear or wash.
I wish that the webbing connections along the top were all continuous, rather than in 3 separate sections so that overall adjustsbility would be more easily accomplished.
It's nice that it has a flap over the part where the seat belts come through.
The elastic under the bottom of the seat is good, but I wish that there was something similar for the seat back itself.
The skirt that covers the lower part is very generous, but a lashing device there would also be appreciated.
I think that it's going to be fine.
"
Review 14 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 27, 2014
By: Hoover1
"It's great! Stays perfectly in place. I highly recommend it!!!"
Review 15 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for All of Us,
March 26, 2014
By: customer1216
from Denver, CO
"This seat cover not only protects our new car's backseat from scratches and dirt, but our dog loves it because she doesn't slide all over the backseat. We previously had a blanket down to protect the seat, but it just slid around whenever we stopped or turned. This seat cover stays put and doesn't slide, so we all love it!"
Review 16 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent seat protector,
March 24, 2014
By: BrucesDad
from Los Angeles, CA
"Purchased the seat protector for my Ford Focus after a few two many muddy paw prints and clumps of hair. The cover was a great fit and was extremely easy to install. The dog seems to be perfectly comfortable on it, and it's certainly doing its job well.
Highly recommended."
Review 17 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
March 24, 2014
By: doglover300
from Wisconsin
"This product does everything as advertised. My dog plays hard at the dog park and get into the car wet and dirty. The cover keeps the back seat clean."
Review 18 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fit and Stays Put,
March 24, 2014
By: Jebgg
from NC
"The problem with covers we have had in the past is that they kept working their way loose as the dog moved around. Not so with this one. As much as the dog moves around it stays right in place. Also, the size was perfect.
Installing it was as easy as sliding the handles between the seats, then put the strap around the headrests, took less than 2 minutes. Didn't have to thread straps under the seat, etc.
"
Review 19 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seatcover Excellence,
March 24, 2014
By: FidgetCat1
from Mooresville, NC
"This seatcover is beyond excellence. Soft for my Old Guy, stays in place, completely covers the back seat in my new car and will be easy to remoove for when I have passengers in the back.
Best choice I ever made, and we've been through a BUNCH!
"
Review 20 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good quality product.,
March 20, 2014
By: PorterShandy
from Cedarburg, WI
"I read the other reviews prior to deciding on this product which helped me make my decision. I am very happy with this seat cover. The quality is excellent, very easy to install and it stays in place securely."