Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Backseat Protector

Keep your backseat looking like new. Our microfiber dog seat cover is water resistant, breathable, and attaches quickly and easily to the rear headrests with adjustable nylon straps and side-release buckles. A non-slip backing provides grip, while innovative “handles” fit between the seat cushion and backrest to keep the protector firmly in place. Features slits for threading seatbelts through. Height-adjustable headrests required for installation. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (534 reviews)
5 stars
408
4 stars
90
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
6
511 of 534(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Backseat Protector
Review 1 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy This, You Won't Be Disappointed,
October 8, 2012
By: PghPensFan
from Pittsburgh, PA
"As usual with Orvis, their products are quality. If you have leather seats, this cover won't slide around. Has gripping material on the underside, plus 'rubber handles' that you shove down in between the seat back and seat bottom to hold it in place. Many other products don't have non slip backing, nor several key features that keep the cover firmly in place. This may cost you more, but the old adage "you get what you pay for" is truly appropriate in this case! My sister still owns one of these for her two dogs that ride in her car, and after many years it's still like new."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality and Functionality,
July 28, 2014
By: NewfMom74
from Anywhere But Here
"I purchased this protector about 1.5 years ago when I realized our St. Weiler puppy was going to be huge, and loved sitting in the back seat of our SUV. I couldn't be happier. We use this protector 2x a day and there is no wear showing after all this time. It has saved our new vehicle from being ripped by dog claws and covered in hair.
I recommend this to anyone and everyone with a dog."
Review 3 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect car seat protector,
July 23, 2014
By: KDflyer
"This is the best car seat cover I have found. I bought the larger size for the back seat of my F-150 truck and it provides good coverage over the entire seat. Easy to install, and I like the strap at the top near the headrests that adjusts that area. I haven't seen that in other car seat covers, and it prevents those gaps you sometimes get. The fabric is thicker than the other covers I have gotten, and the skirt comes lower to cover that area near the floor. Overall, I would definitely recommend this cover."
Review 4 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around seat cover!,
July 17, 2014
By: Llundy
from Minneapolis, MN
"Nothing bad to say about it- it works great, fits well, and looks even better. I love the gray color. And my puppy loves it!"
Review 5 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits like a dream!,
July 17, 2014
By: Finessa
from southern california
"This is my third backseat protector. The other two were not made by Orvis. I am expecting this one to last longer than the other two. I love the way this one fits in my Honda Pilot and the way it is made. It is sturdy, can be installed quickly (or removed quickly when I have biped company riding with me). I have two energetic Dobes, they already are comfortable on the quilted seat cover and have tested that it stays in place just where I installed it. The tough material with heavy backing is a real plus for my active dogs."
Review 6 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality cover,
July 16, 2014
By: dogfoolish
from Big Sky, MT
"The fit, finish and overall quality of this cover lives up to my high expectations of Orvis. I also like the flap that protects all the way to the floor. The only drawback is the seat bottom fabric slides and rumples whenever my big dog gets in or out or paws at it. While the seat remains covered thanks to the extra flap, I would love some anchors to better secure it."
Review 7 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very happy with purchase,
July 15, 2014
By: HeidiR
from Rockport, ME
"love the backseat cover! It fits great(I have a VW Tiguan), stays in place and keeps dirt, sand and moisture off the seat. Nicely padded so its comfy for the pooch."
Review 8 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lovely to Look At - Inconvenient,
July 15, 2014
By: susanfeaman
from IL
"The only problem with this lovely dog seat cover is that there are no holes for the dog's seat belts. I was sorely disappointed."
Review 9 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As Advertised,
July 11, 2014
By: lsjacoby
"The seat cover worked in every way advertised. It was easy to install, stayed in place while my dog was laying on it, and fit perfectly. The only suggestion I would make is that maybe a little extra padding be placed where the seat belts sit in the seat. In running my hand over the seat, they felt uncomfortable to me. However, my dog may not have noticed."
Review 10 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits Perfectly,
July 11, 2014
By: MikeG890
from New Jersey
"I have a Passat with a large backseat and surprisingly the Large fits perfectly. I recommend talking with Orvis rep first as they can look up your car and tell you what size you'll need. The handles that slide into the seat cushion is what makes this cover great - it keeps it in place and doesn't slide when my 90lb dog is on it. It also looks nice and blends in with the car. Overall very happy with this purchase!"
Review 11 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
July 9, 2014
By: AudreyNH
"This is THE best seat cover. It's cushioned, the front hangs down over the front of the seat in my sedan and the bottom of the seat cover is non-skid. Previously, I had purchased a waterproof one online that was less expensive BUT it wouldn't stay in place and caused our goldens to slide around. They were hesitant to jump in the car is well, because the seat cover moved around when they landed. I bought this in dark grey for a car with a black interior and it looks great. Without a doubt it is well worth the price."
Review 12 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You wont go wrong with this great seat cover!,
July 8, 2014
By: Bischons
from Everett, Wa.
"OMG! This is the perfect seat cover for my New X3!! My two little Bischons just love it! Fit is great, color is perfect. I highly say don't think twice on ordering just do it and you wont be disappointed! Thank You Orvis for a great product."
Review 13 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
July 3, 2014
By: Yellowmz3
from Paramus, NJ
"I have a new car, no similiar car, so couldn't find pet seat cover made to fit.
I saw that someone had used this, on a forum and was satisfied.
I fits perfectly, was very reasonably priced and extremely resistant to stains and nail scratches.
"
Review 14 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seat Cover,
July 1, 2014
By: DANM35
from Pensacola FL
"Excellent,
Fits perfect and Sophie, our Golden, loves it.
"
Review 15 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECTION,
July 1, 2014
By: GSPLady
from New Orleans, LA
"Bought this for my new car and loved it so much, I bought one for my dad as a father's day gift. He loves his, too. Large it my station wagon perfectly and was super easy to install. Extra Large was perfect fit for my dad's truck. Great product and stays in place perfectly. Don't have to take off to put my seats down, either. It really looks great and the color blends perfectly and I leave it on all the time to protect the leather. Great for fabric seats, too: keeps my dad's Weimaraner's hair from imbedding into the fabric upholstery. You can't go wrong with this!"
Review 16 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why Haven't I Found This Before Now?,
July 1, 2014
By: CaliforniaCowgirl
from Los Angeles, California
"We've had dogs forever and we always had scratches on leather and drool on upholstered seats. Now that we have this cover, all is safe and clean. Our dog loves it. It's easy to install, the fabric is soft for our pup, and it washes easily. Hurray!"
Review 17 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Camry owners beware!,
June 27, 2014
By: HugoTravel
from Annapolis, MD
"Large does not fit the 2014 Camry. Back seat headrests are not adjustable. Black straps do not fit around the headrests. Straps cut into the leather headrests. For the price, Orvis should add more length to the headrest straps. An incredibly bad decision not adapting to car seat innovations."
Review 18 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
June 19, 2014
By: Millrep
from Charlotte NC
"Perfect size for full size sedan. Excellent color slate for black haired dog that sheds a lot. Comfortable padding and easy to clip on to head rests. Outstanding quality. Really happy I bought this. Will protect my leather from my Labrador very nicely. Highly recommend."
Review 19 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backsear Protector,
June 18, 2014
By: Adler1899
from Pelham, AL
"Product is as good as advertised. Is big enough to fit my truck and am very happy with it. Extremely happy with it and would recommend it to others.
Areas which could improve it even more would be a strap under the length of the back seat and maybe elastic on the edges (sort of how bed sheets are)."
Review 20 for Backseat Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
June 17, 2014
By: cc39
from Austin, TX
"This pad both protects the back seat of the car from scratches and hair and provides your dog a comfortable, non-slippery place to sit. We were surprised how very pleased we were with this back seat protector and how much we liked it--and our dog did too! Our dog was often nervous when riding in the car but now she sits and watches out the window with calm enjoyment."