Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed

Supersoft, plush Berber fleece on the inside; high-quality microfiber on the outside. This oval-shaped bolster dog bed offers the ultimate in luxury, comfort, and security. Spun-polyester fill adds the final element of coziness to this luxury fleece dog bed. Cover is removable and washable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.157 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (274 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
21
1 star
26
214 of 274(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Review 1 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Labs love this!,
December 17, 2009
By: DaleDK
from Long Island, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I board dogs--labs and golden retrievers-- in my home. There are dog beds everywhere. About a dozen in total, in various stages of being washed. This bed is by far the one all dogs choose to curl up in. Even the ones that, prior to receiving this bed, seemed to prefer sleeping on the floor. It's hugs them and the bolster serves as a headrest. I got the Medium and it's plenty large enough for labs and golden retrievers."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
wraparound bed,
August 19, 2013
By: Deepod
from wetherby
"I got this last summer for my labrador. She was 6 months old . First few months it was great, but now nearly a year later all the filling in the base has bunched up so its really lumpy. I cant flatten it or move it around at all. disappointed as it is pricey. Also the sides dont; stay up any more - just flat after the first wash - you can't get the filling back in the same! The outer washed great - its the base that is the real problem. Do Orvis supply this separetely??"
Review 3 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor material,
January 5, 2013
By: IAHawk13
"We are on our 3&4th bed. The first 2 pilled, the bottoms of the bed have almost no fleece from being rubbed and scratched of by our dogs. The bottom insert has lost it's form and is now pretty much flat, no cushion. On the positive side Orvis did send us two replacements, but I do ot want to have to do his every year."
Review 4 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
doesn't hold up,
December 28, 2012
By: greyhdlvr
"I got this bed two years ago for my Greyhound. She likes to dig in her bed as she lies down- the fleece was always shedding & the cushion lost some of the fleece. Then 6 months later I got a Whippet puppy. That's when the bed really didn't hold up. The pup liked to dig in the bed even more than the Greyhound! After getting all the fleece off the bed, then holes sprung up- he would pull the stuffing out & I would stuff it back in! Despite the bed looking like terrible, it is still their favorite bed in the house (I have 7 other beds). I just wish that for the price, the bed held up better. I won't order another, even though the dogs love the bed."
Review 5 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size Incorrect,
December 26, 2012
By: corbinam
"I kept reading that the small was for dogs 15-35 lbs. I have two shelties, both at exactly 15 lbs. (16" tall, so not very big at all) and the small is WAY too small. the dogs can barely fit in it unless they are totally curled up.
I called about exchanging for the medium, and they want me to pay an extra $60 (because I originally purchased the bed when they were on sale). I am happy to pay the difference between a small and a medium, but I should still get the discounted price since I ordered the incorrect size based on the facts in the description.
So be warned--get a bigger size.
I'm giving 2 stars because it looks like a nice bed, just way smaller than advertised."
Review 6 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite Bed,
December 1, 2012
By: VizslaDogLover
"I have had many dog beds as I have several dogs, but this is one of my dog's favorites. I like it because it is light-weight and easy to move, and my dogs like the feel of nesting with the edges surrounding them. They take turns waiting for one to get up so the other can steal their place. The zipper on the liner broke right away, however - not the best quality, so I need to somehow repair it."
Review 7 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Zip,
December 1, 2012
By: Cj21
from Cheshire,
"Great bag but zip is very weak, our older dog was fine, but new pup now 11mths recently played with bag and after a few bits zip will not re-seal so cannot wash and zip up.
Should have gone heavy duty, pity as bag looks good in lounge"
Review 8 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
November 27, 2012
By: Raffie
from Shetland isles
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The small is a perfect size for my miniature labradoodle, he loves his new bed. Super strong sides for him to rest his head on and lovely thick padding in the midle."
Review 9 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
November 26, 2012
By: darcey
from norfolk
"recently purchased medium size for my standard poodles, not for sharing! I cover bed with a vet bed, easy to wash and keeps dog bed clean. The bed is superb quality and cannot understand why other purchasers don't just cover and avoid washing!!!! I would recommend this wholeheartedly."
Review 10 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog loves it...I like it,
November 21, 2012
By: JohnnyM
"The stitching around the zipper wripped after one wash in the machine. Had to get somebody to sew it. Not the biggest deal, but when you are paying $100+ for a dog bed you don't expect those things to happen.
Other than that my dog absolutely loves it (which I guess is what really matters). He laid down in it at 6 o'clock last night and didn't leave it until 8 o'clock this morning. He is around 70 lbs and has the medium size. It fits him well unless he decides to stretch all the way out, but when he wakes up he'll always readjust himself to have it wrap around him."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed,
November 16, 2012
By: Barcus3
from Northeast Tennessee
"Just received my large Chihuahua's new bed. I agonized for weeks wanting to make sure the bed would be comfortable, the right size, and look good in our den. Couldn't be more perfect! I'm difficult to please, and I'm very satisfied with this product, and my little one loves it. I got the x-small in sage and it looks great in the den, and now the Chihuahua won't be stealing the Standard poodle's bed, the deep dish lounger also in sage. Everybody, including mom, are very happy. By the way, the colored section of the bed appears to be suede, it's very soft, and the bed is extremely well made."
Review 12 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So disappointed,
November 14, 2012
By: Ecjj
from PA
"Our last dog had the same two Orvis beds for 13 years and they were amazing to the end. I wish I had saved them. We've since purchased two Orvis beds for our new dog, a Brittany, and both are nightmares. The filling falls flat instantly, the edges collapse and she clearly cannot get comfortable. We feel guilty having her sleep on it. Orvis did send more filling - but really, it's ridiculous and lumpy and not at all the quality that I was used to from this company. Not sure who they are outsourcing to, but it's no longer worth the money. Decided to write a review because I've been shopping elsewhere to find new beds and feel disappointed."
Review 13 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WAS OVAL NOW ROUND -STILL THE BEST!,
November 1, 2012
By: SunnySideUp
from Salem, OR
"Although this was oval in the beginning it's now round. It fit better where I have it as a oval but, the dogs (Beagle and English Pointer) often race each other to make sure they get this bed and sometimes even sharing. They both scratch before laying down and it's held up well considering they live in it and it's almost a year old. The bed is a little bit of a chore to take apart and wash for my old hands but, worth it. The only complaint I have and the reason I gave only 4 stars is because hair goes through the berber cover and gets caught in the fleece case inside. I would pay extra to have that case be covered with something like the cover you can get for bed mattresses.(waterproof, protects against dust mites and fleas) I think it would be worth it for you to make that change. Coming back for another bed soon - the other beds (not Orvis) are not holding up as well!"
Review 14 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Orvis dogbed,
November 1, 2012
By: lotzadogz
from Lawrence, KS
"I have two deep dish Orvis dog beds which my dogs love - and which have lasted forever. Yesterday I bought a large fleece wraparound bed. I was somewhat skeptical about whether they would use it because the deep bolsters seem to be important for head rests and security. I took a chance after the salesman said it was returnable for 365 days. I bought the large for my Weimaraner to stretch out in. The minute I put it on the floor my 16 pound Shih Tzu took control. She stayed in it until dinner time then my Weimaraner took over. He got up to go outside and my friend's golden retriever (just visiting) took a turn. This morning my Shih Tzu was sharing the bed with my 60 pound Clumber Spaniel. I'm thinking of getting another one. The large is big enough for my 90 pound Weim to fully stretch out. When he curls up it could hold all three of my dogs (curled up) at one time."
Review 15 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a bed to cuddle in,
October 31, 2012
By: lablove68
from Burlington, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I ordered this bed about a month ago, and both my labs love it. When it arrived, the middle was very puffy, and I didn't know if it would settle or not. My 2 labs immediately started using it, I thought it may be too small for my yellow lab, but as the picture demonstrates, he's happy to share!"
Review 16 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very poor quality,
October 16, 2012
By: briggr
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought two of these dog beds a little over a year ago. The dog beds I had previously were from a chain pet store and and I wanted to get something of better quality for my two dogs. In less than a year, both beds were completely shredded to pieces (see photo). Also, the zipper on one of the beds felt apart. One of my dogs likes to scratch a little before she lies down and the bed completely fell apart. I called customer service and they said that they would be happy to replace the one with the broken zipper, but that there was nothing they could do about the other bed. I was very disappointed because I had heard such good things about Orvis customer service, and now I have to spend more money on a new bed. Considering how expensive the beds are, I would expect that they would last more than a year!"
Review 17 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Replacement liner does not fit,
October 8, 2012
By: Leigh22
"I initially loved this bed; however, Orvis does not make an oval shaped replacement liner. Orvis advised me to purchase a round shaped liner, but it does not fit like the original. My dog's bed is now lopsided and does not provide the same support as it did with the original fill. Orvis makes great products, but I am disappointed in this purchase."
Review 18 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bella's favorite,
October 7, 2012
By: Ribbie
from Tennessee
"I have Dachshunds(11-17 lbs). They love this bed!! With each non-Orvis bed they eat, I replace with this style bed. We ALL love it! Choosing grey color this time--just for fun!"
Review 19 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikey Loves His ORVIS Bed!,
October 6, 2012
By: lizy1013
from Linwood, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Mikey is a ten-pound Maltipoo who is very picky about where he sleeps. He took to his Orvis bed immediately!! I obtained the extra small in red. The size is perfect for him and the color is a true red."
Review 20 for Ultimate Fleece Wraparound Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dogs love them,
August 30, 2012
By: Diedre
from Cleveland
"I bought 2 of these about 6 years ago for both of my dogs, a yellow lab and a labradoodle. They slept in them side by side nightly until the doodle died last year. I still have one in our bedroom. I vacuumed them to get the dog hair off whenever I vacuumed the rug and since the lab shed more, his wore thin. I tried to wash one, but never could get it to fit right after that. The one we still have is still loved but looks a little shabby now. Maybe its time for a new one and better attention to the cleaning instructions."