Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

LED Collar Light

Keep track of your dog at night, even when he's off the lead with these pet safety lights. Clips to collar with sturdy spring clip. Flash or glow modes. Pet safety lights in red, white. 2"H x 1¼"L x ¾"D, weighs .6 oz. Includes 2 long-life, replaceable DL2016 3V batteries. Set of three.
Average Customer Rating:
3.709 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
9
1 star
9
38 of 55(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LED Collar Light
Review 1 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
safe and helpful,
April 15, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I'm trucking with my MIN-PIN and we are always walking around close to traffic in rest areas or truck stops and I know for a fact that these lights draw attention to us all the time.We are always out in dark spooky places late at night looking for a decent place for him to walk and having these lights on him allow me to concentrate on my safety since I know that he is more obvious to others.I highly recommend you try these."
Review 2 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright Lights,
August 16, 2012
By: Marriane
from North Carolina
"Very bright lights which help with walking two dogs. Also, the light makes a soft jingle with other tag on collar which keeps me aware of my dogs' presence in the house. Highly recommend this item for safety."
Review 3 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LED Collar Light,
May 22, 2012
By: SJWH
from Danville, IL
"I was very impressed how much light it gives out. I can let my dog out in the backyard at night and not worry about where he is. (He's a black lab). I have told my friends with dogs to purchase this LED Collar Light and have even offered to loan them one of mine to try. They were very impressed."
Review 4 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
collar lights,
April 14, 2012
By: knockout
from Niantic, CT
"i bought this product several months ago and each light lasts for about a month. i take my dog out at night for around half an hour and the light goes out in a month or so. the third one in the package never even lit up?? I also bought a lighted collar and its been a month or two and the light is dimming quite abit. I though Orvis sells only quality products but not this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice product,
March 5, 2012
By: HWCDogWalker
from Atlanta, GA
"I have had six of these for about 3-4 years. I use a harness on my black lab when walking at night and connect 4 in positions to be seen from any direction. The other two go on the front and back of a vest I wear. Batteries last about a year but aren't used all that much. I think they have a significant drain even when off. If not to be used for some time, I could take the batteries out. Not hard to do. I have not had trouble getting them out of the test mode. Have no idea why some have. I have red and white lights and J D looks like a mobile Christmas tree but he is clearly seen."
Review 6 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At the Beach,
December 29, 2011
By: disappointment
from Cornwall
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Excellent Product.
We bought this product and have used it in low light conditions ever since.
We recently went on holiday at the beach and the blinking light allowed us to keep track of our "four legged freind" in stormy conditions.
"
Review 7 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Purchase,
December 17, 2011
By: Anonymous
"These lights are excellent! We live in a rural wooded neighborhood and the light is an essential for night walks."
Review 8 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dissapointed,
December 17, 2011
By: Busterdog1
from Northern Ireland
"Bought lights few mths ago started to use recently as pup older very impressed initially - could see him between trees when outside.made walks more relaxing.dissapointed
when after 1 week using for about 20 mins twice daily lights failed
Inspite of this going to order another set in case unlucky with this batch
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
November 25, 2011
By: sillies2002
from Sussex
"Would recommend over and over again. No worries of losing sight of your dog. So bright and can see it at all times.."
Review 10 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't work...,
November 7, 2011
By: Rebeccaaaa
"I know several other people have had issues with getting the light out of "test mode." Orvis sent instructions on how to change this. I was never able to get it to work with the 3 I got. I had at least three other people try and nobody could do it. Since I couldn't get them to work at all, they're useless to me.
I bought these 2 years ago and ended up just throwing them away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great light, poor quality in general,
October 26, 2011
By: Catherine123
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I love this light, especially that it comes in a set of three. I put two on my dog's collar and one on the leash handle (I Macgyver it with a ponytail holder). HOWEVER three days after getting it, when we were out on a walk, one of the lights fell off....just fell off, and since it wasn't turned on yet, I couldn't find it again. I guess the little metal clip obviously broke. Come on, three days??? I'm so disappointed. It was the only way cars could tell that my dog was connected to something! Anyway, I would recommend the lights themselves because of safety but the quality of these clearly isn't great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
July 15, 2011
By: bellam
"Highly recommend this product. Is great for walking at night, or to help you find your dog at night if they're outside. My dog is a swimmer and she's worn this at night in the water and we've had great success. Just have to open it up after long swims to dry out. Is nice to be able to switch between the always on and blinking options. Funny thing is that the replacement batteries will cost you more than the actual collar light."
Review 13 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wouldn't Be Without These!,
July 6, 2011
By: Jakester
from Columbus, OH
"I've had this set of LED lights for about 9 months, and wouldn't be without them. They keep both of us safe and seen on our dark, early morning walks. I keep one clipped to the leash so it's ready to go whenever we head out - just need to click it on. My dog uses a step-in harness so the light is at the top of her back, a little below her neck, and it is very visible. Everyone we pass has to comment on it. Unfortunately I'm not one of the lucky ones getting 2 months out of a set of batteries - I get EXACTLY 2 weeks. Very upset in the beginning at having to spend $5 every 2 weeks to replace them, but liked the product well enough to do so. But then I checked my well known auction site and can purchase them in bulk for about .20 each, making it much more palatable (this was for a USA purchase, can get them even cheaper directly from China). Have been happily using those the last 6 months or so. They are definitely a GREAT product for any dog owner, and I'll be buying more for gifts."
Review 14 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LED Dog Tag,
June 27, 2011
By: PatrickH
from dallas, Texas and Snowmass,CO.
"Very reasonable cost for three tags. i haave a black lab and when she goes out at night I cannot see her. the tag enables me to track her."
Review 15 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
product soso,
June 2, 2011
By: cbolt
"the lights work as well as any product i've previously tried, however they can not take water very well. I've had to replace these twice already. with LABS and a pool,"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 16, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that they were not fully satisfied the design of these lights. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service has forwarded this feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item.
Review 16 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dog Lights,
May 9, 2011
By: JohnOB
from Staten Island, NY
"I bought three of these lights and like a lot of other people, the lights won't go out of the "test" mode. They are therefore useless and the instructions are terrible!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 24, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they were unable to take the light out of test mode. Orvis offered to exchange these lights or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 17 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
March 21, 2011
By: JNPinMN
from Minnesota
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"We were excited at finally locating a product that would make our dogs visible in the yard at night. This light proved to be what we needed, and we were very happy because these lights worked well initially (although clipping them on and off of the dogs' collars is difficult.)
But after only three months of using them for ten minutes each evening, the lights dimmed then died, and we had to buy new batteries. As others have said, these batteries are $7 to replace. For three lights, that adds up.
Needless to say, the lights lie on the shelf in the garage, and we're left search the Internet for replacements."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 30, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the batteries did not last as long as expected. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 18 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best available,
February 23, 2011
By: ian944
from Birmingham UK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have just purchased a second set for my two Newfoundlands as the more active dog has managed to lose one somewhere out in the wilds, and another one stopped working for no obvious reason.We walk for an hour plus early each morning in our large local park area when for six months of the year it is pitch black. I have tried other similar products available here in the past, but none have proved capable of withstanding the rigours of large dogs that chase rabbits and foxes through thick undergrowth, and swim daily in muddy pools.
I did not read these reviews before puchasing the first two sets (white for one dog, red for the other) but agree with all those who rate them highly. Yes the batteries will need to be replaced after about two months (at our usage level), but there are many internet sites where you can bulk purchase these at a resonable price (marketing opportunity here for Orvis?).
Getting out of test mode is easy if you follow the instructions carefully, but you do need to keep pressing the on switch for the time indicated.
Two final workarounds that I have found are, firstly if the light starts to dim and like mine your dogs cannot resist water, take out the battery compartment and dry thoroughly then spray with WD40. Though the light seems to be waterproof a little moisture can get through. Secondly, if you have large long haired dogs, the light can be partly obscured when attached to the collar D ring. I found some small carabiners also made by NiteEze which make attaching and removing the light easier and help keep the light visible.
If you are wondering about buying these lights I don't think that you will be disappointed, and you will find that the Orvis price is the best around - certainly here in the UK.
"
Review 19 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
January 15, 2011
By: Haykid
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased three lights, one for each of our dogs. When they take a run at night, it's nice to know right where they are. We leave them on the collars so it's easy to click them on when we go for a walk at night and not have to wrestle with attaching them every time. We would love them if only the batteries lasted longer. We have used one more than the others, and that one we've probably used 10 minutes a day. We got less than 2 months out of it. The batteries are very expensive to replace -- $7 for the set of 2 that each light takes. The light in which we put the new batteries now won't stay working. I'm beginning to think it would be cheaper to buy new lights every 2 months."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 19, 2011
Orvis Customer Care thanks this customer for this feedback have sent this information to our product specialists for review.
Review 20 for LED Collar Light
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country dog's best friend,
January 14, 2011
By: jackieb
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We live out in the country with nary a street lamp. By having this beacon my husband no longer has to worry about watching our very Black Lab on very black nights and mornings. We actually have just bought more for several of our children's dogs as well.
What a fabulous product. Thank you."