Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Monomaster

Collect and store your bits and pieces of tippet quickly and easily. No more lengths of tippet sticking out of every pocket, or accidentally ending up in the water or streamside. This waste fishing line holder is compact, lightweight, and reusable. Just put the end tag in the slot and twist to wind it up. Fishing accessory hangs conveniently on vest. When tool is full pull on bottom, cut tippet, and remove from spindle. FFF endorsed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
56 of 57(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monomaster
Review 1 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea,
August 30, 2015
By: Windymillar
from London, UK
"This is a really clever device to take care of all those fiddly pieces of mono to make sure they are not left on the bank."
Review 2 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where would I be without it?,
August 8, 2015
By: BIGLEYM1
from Wiltshire
"This is my second monomaster. The first one's still in use, I just love it so much I wanted a second one for my wading vest! Gone are the days of stuffing my pockets full of tangled lengths of used mono! I can't believe I ever fished without one, in fact I can't believe anyone still does!"
Review 3 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution for storing waste nylon,
July 3, 2015
By: Graylien
from Wiltshire, UK
"Monomaster is just about the best way possible to avoid leaving waste nylon by or in the river or lake. I have tried other ideas to keep my waste bits of leader together, including fixing Velcro in an old wallet, but they are always either no good at keeping the springy stuff together or are too fiddly to use. I just bought a Monomaster and it is perfect - easy to use and very secure. If, like me, you have ever had to release a bird that had its legs trussed together with waste nylon then you will do anything to make sure you avoid creating the problem yourself. Monomaster is, in my opinion, the solution to this problem."
Review 4 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every angler should have one!,
June 28, 2015
By: TheAlchemist
from Cardiff, Wales
"This is a great product for swallowing used nylon. Very easy to use and probably will only need to be emptied once a season."
Review 5 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monomaster one of those must have pieces of kit,
June 15, 2015
By: sternsteven
"Bought as a present I liked mine so much . Robust simple to use once you have mastered emptying- there was an online video. No more discarded dangerous line.
Pity Orvis never replied about the awful fluorocarbon they sold me at the same time as I bought my mono master.
"
Review 6 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You need one of these,
June 15, 2015
By: jjoule
from Redditch
"This is the perfect way to protect the environment from discarded line/tippet, so easy to use, look after wildlife! Get one…"
Review 7 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Great!,
May 27, 2015
By: JustinN
from Republic, MO
"I hate seeing fishing line laying around on the river edge, so this tool is perfect. It's so much better than trying to stick extra line in pockets or pouches. The only negative thing is the label has already worn heavily off the tool, but that doesn't effect function at all, so not a big deal."
Review 8 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to be responsible,
April 21, 2015
By: laverdajota
"This is the best scrap line holder I have owned. Just poke one end in and twizzle the pin and all the line is captured inside. Open the case at home and cut away the waste line, pop the cap back on and you're ready again."
Review 9 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gadget,
December 16, 2014
By: Andycam
from Cambridge UK
"I have struggled with old leader and tippet and hate the idea of dropping it. So when I saw this product I thought great. I bought one for me and one for my friend.
It works perfectly, sadly used it the first day following several tangles.
They arrived quickly and in good order. Would recommend it!
"
Review 10 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An essential accessory,
December 9, 2014
By: ShefffieldFlyFisher
from Sheffield England
"The Monomaster is set to become my favourite accessory no more hassle trying to put waste material into an old film canister from now on.
A must have piece of kit for any responsible angler.
"
Review 11 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great idea,
November 14, 2014
By: MikeFlyer
from Cheadle Hulme
"Great a worthwhile product. I have been using it for a few months now and it stores all my discarded tippet. Only emptied it once. Simple to use and light enough to hang from my fly vest."
Review 12 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential purchase,
November 14, 2014
By: limpinpup
from Scotland
"This is a quality product that all serious anglers should have and use."
Review 13 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
August 15, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"A nice gizmo that helps protect the environment. Easy to use and not cumbersome. I clip it to the front of my vest and I'm set."
Review 14 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good idea,
July 29, 2014
By: BobRich
from Whispering Pines, NC
"This is a good idea. I am definitely going to use it. However, I haven't had any mono to dispose of yet. Still practicing in the back yard. Tried fishing in the canal and lost one fly in a tree. The water is too hot for the fish to be biting. I need to find some running water."
Review 15 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the environment,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"My fishing buddies first laughed at me, but now they all have it too. Small and handy. Flyfisher men and women are concerned about their impact on nature. Better compared to the similar but not similar working FISHPOND product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"Great thing for the environment, especially for those of us who use fluorocarbon tippets and leaders. I have one each on my saltwater and freshwater fishing jackets. Need to be replaced occasionally, when I have given another one away to a fellow fisherman..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waste removal,
November 22, 2013
By: Knom56
from Leicester Englend, UK
"Great for taking all your waste mono away from the riverbank. Keep the countryside clean!"
Review 18 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for Fly Fishing,
July 9, 2013
By: Solearus
from Reading, PA
"Like many fly fishermen, I found managing bits of tippet and rats nests of leaders when things went bad with casting at least a minor nightmare. They would not stay in vest pockets if I could get them there in the first place. The waste pieces seemed to have minds of their own.
The Monomaster proved to be worth every penny of its cost. You stick a small portion of the tippet or leader waste, no matter how much you have, into the slot and turn the small handle and the Monomaster sucks it up like a vacuum. It has a large capacity yet weighs next to nothing. A great accessory and a must for fishermen concerned about keeping our streams and rivers clean and wildlife protected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 16, 2013
By: rvp7777
from Washington, DC
"This is my second one. Never pollute the habitat with tippet or leader material again and never have to clean out your pockets or waders with scraps."
Review 20 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep it Clean,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Keep the rivers clean. Use this to take up your discarded leader and tippet clippings."