Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Monomaster

Collect and store your bits and pieces of tippet quickly and easily. No more lengths of tippet sticking out of every pocket, or accidentally ending up in the water or streamside. This waste fishing line holder is compact, lightweight, and reusable. Just put the end tag in the slot and twist to wind it up. Fishing accessory hangs conveniently on vest. When tool is full pull on bottom, cut tippet, and remove from spindle. FFF endorsed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monomaster
Review 1 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the environment,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"My fishing buddies first laughed at me, but now they all have it too. Small and handy. Flyfisher men and women are concerned about their impact on nature. Better compared to the similar but not similar working FISHPOND product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"Great thing for the environment, especially for those of us who use fluorocarbon tippets and leaders. I have one each on my saltwater and freshwater fishing jackets. Need to be replaced occasionally, when I have given another one away to a fellow fisherman..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waste removal,
November 22, 2013
By: Knom56
from Leicester Englend, UK
"Great for taking all your waste mono away from the riverbank. Keep the countryside clean!"
Review 4 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for Fly Fishing,
July 9, 2013
By: Solearus
from Reading, PA
"Like many fly fishermen, I found managing bits of tippet and rats nests of leaders when things went bad with casting at least a minor nightmare. They would not stay in vest pockets if I could get them there in the first place. The waste pieces seemed to have minds of their own.
The Monomaster proved to be worth every penny of its cost. You stick a small portion of the tippet or leader waste, no matter how much you have, into the slot and turn the small handle and the Monomaster sucks it up like a vacuum. It has a large capacity yet weighs next to nothing. A great accessory and a must for fishermen concerned about keeping our streams and rivers clean and wildlife protected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 16, 2013
By: rvp7777
from Washington, DC
"This is my second one. Never pollute the habitat with tippet or leader material again and never have to clean out your pockets or waders with scraps."
Review 6 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep it Clean,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Keep the rivers clean. Use this to take up your discarded leader and tippet clippings."
Review 7 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"don't leave line on the banks , buy one of these, great product"
Review 8 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential,
December 27, 2011
By: cleuney
"if i could i would insist that everyone who fishes should carry one of these,so simple to use that spare /broken line would not be left behind on the banks of rivers lakes or ponds"
Review 9 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A super idea,
August 26, 2011
By: StarFishPrime
from North east England
"I used to worry stuffing line into my pockets never to find it there returning home. This works a treat for lengths of more than a few centimeters"
Review 10 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very handy indeed,
August 26, 2011
By: Sheffieldonthefly
from Sheffield, UK
"Environmentally sound and it keeps my pockets tidy! Great little bit of kit, every fly angler should have one."
Review 11 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Gadget,
May 11, 2011
By: chb47
"This does what it says and does it well. Little snippets or whole casts are gobbled up. As another reviewer said you actually end up looking for discarded mono to swallow up!"
Review 12 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth its weight in gold...,
January 23, 2011
By: wes8215
from Flowery Branch
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is by far as much of a necessity as a your rod and reel; if you ever have to cut any form of line and dont want to litter then you need a monomaster. It takes care of all of this little pieces of tippet that have to be cut either when switching flies or cutting out a tangled mess. Do like I've done and put one on your vest to help the world out by not letting the trash go downstream. I will be getting another one to put on my chest pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gadget in 20+ Years of Fishing,
September 28, 2010
By: OwlJones
from Gainesville, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have to comment on the monoMaster. It ROCKS, folks. Not only does it solve the problem of snippets of line and used leaders clogging up my flyfishing vest, but it makes me a better steward of the environment - and not just my clippings either! I find myself looking around for others' trash line just so I can wind it up on my monoMaster. This thing should come with a little red super-hero cape on it. It is literally the best flyfishing gadget invented in the last 20 years! And I don't know where "cheap and clunky" comes from - but unless you were expecting carbon fiber and a $50 price tag, there's no way it could be this light and cost under $15 other than to be made of a hard plastic material. I've found it to be very well made, easy to use and easy to discard the line when it gets full. Maybe one day they'll come out with an Orvis Special model that has birds-eye maple inserts or something, but I doubt it could work any better than the current model does!
This is a MUST BUY for anyone who fishes and hates the mess that line clippings cause in your vest or pockets. Buy one and you will never want to be without it, I promise you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saving the environment 1" at a time,
August 20, 2010
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"How many times have I clipped off an inch of tippet and let it fall in the water? I'm afraid to calculate the full length of the accumulated snipping so as not bear the full burden of environmental guilt. To be honest, it's probably at least as much as any wad of monofilament I've found tangled streamside sporting three split shot and a dessicated worm riding a rusty hook.
The product works as promised whether it's sucking up a four foot piece of leader or an inch long section of tippet. When first starting out with the product it might take you a few tries to get the knack of it but from then on it's smooth sailing.
The product itself feels kind of cheap and clunky but it is purpose built and works like a charm. I keep one hanging on a zinger next to my Samadou.
This is one of those "no brainer" purchases."
Review 15 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lower quality, usability than expected,
May 16, 2009
By: MdSpringCreeks
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was a great idea, but I find it a bit lacking in quality.
Since it is fairly small and light weight, I don't mind carrying it around. I've only had it out on a trip or 2, but find it a bit clumsy tring to feed it light tippits; it doesn't want to grab them. Perhaps a stickier material for the shaft would help, like rubber. It works; just have to fight with it a bit."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Monomaster did not perform as expected. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our products. Orvis forwarded these comments on to the developer of this item for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 16 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to carry,
January 22, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"And it works! It holds a lot more than you think it would. Its small size means it's not bulky in your vest, and it's lightweight too."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solves a very old problem,
November 4, 2008
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"I have wondered what to do with stray bits of Tippet and leader material for almost 40 years. This thing works! You just put the monofilament tag end through the slot and give it a twist. It winds up and keeps it out of the way. Another great flyfishing gadget from Orvis"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy Dandy mono holder,
September 30, 2008
By: flyfishqueen
"I recently had the opportunity to use one of these monomasters. It is very compact and works great. Picking up scrap mono is a breeze. Just put the line in the opening and twist- no mess-no fuss!
What a great idea to help get rid of that unused and unwanted mono! It is so small and compact it fits in one of those many small pockets of your vest or you can clip it to your vest or pack!
At the end of the day you can run a pair of scissors on the roller and clean the mono away and start over for the next trip!
Kudos to these guys for coming up with this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truly canadian,
September 1, 2008
By: cuttbow
from Bowriver(canada)
"IAN.
this thing should have been out 10 years ago. Ordered a few for the fishing buddies. In fact on a recent excursion to the bow river we were talking of the mono sitting on the banks and if we could collect it..Pockets on the vests are only so big and tags sticking out of pockets only interfere.Must say this company is top notch through my one on ones with IAN. Only ordered a few and can see a whole lot more coming. Top notch canadian reviews are coming this thing is a must on your vest.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monomaster-Excellent!,
September 1, 2008
By: Guzzi
"Great invention to solve the mono trash problem. I bought three, one for the vest, one for the drift boat bag, and one as a gift. I highly recommend for it's ease of use and and practicality. If you have a spuose that sews using mono, watch out, they will find it in your vest and borrow it!"