Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Monomaster

Collect and store your bits and pieces of tippet quickly and easily. No more lengths of tippet sticking out of every pocket, or accidentally ending up in the water or streamside. This waste fishing line holder is compact, lightweight, and reusable. Just put the end tag in the slot and twist to wind it up. Fishing accessory hangs conveniently on vest. When tool is full pull on bottom, cut tippet, and remove from spindle. FFF endorsed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monomaster
Review 1 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gadget,
December 16, 2014
By: Andycam
from Cambridge UK
"I have struggled with old leader and tippet and hate the idea of dropping it. So when I saw this product I thought great. I bought one for me and one for my friend.
It works perfectly, sadly used it the first day following several tangles.
They arrived quickly and in good order. Would recommend it!
"
Review 2 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful product,
December 13, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"A nice gizmo to put your garbage line/tippet in. I keep mine on my vest with a retractor at a handy place to reach it easily. Keeps environment clean and wildlife safe. Every angler should have one. For the price, why not?"
Review 3 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An essential accessory,
December 9, 2014
By: ShefffieldFlyFisher
from Sheffield England
"The Monomaster is set to become my favourite accessory no more hassle trying to put waste material into an old film canister from now on.
A must have piece of kit for any responsible angler.
"
Review 4 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great idea,
November 14, 2014
By: MikeFlyer
from Cheadle Hulme
"Great a worthwhile product. I have been using it for a few months now and it stores all my discarded tippet. Only emptied it once. Simple to use and light enough to hang from my fly vest."
Review 5 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential purchase,
November 14, 2014
By: limpinpup
from Scotland
"This is a quality product that all serious anglers should have and use."
Review 6 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
August 15, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"A nice gizmo that helps protect the environment. Easy to use and not cumbersome. I clip it to the front of my vest and I'm set."
Review 7 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good idea,
July 29, 2014
By: BobRich
from Whispering Pines, NC
"This is a good idea. I am definitely going to use it. However, I haven't had any mono to dispose of yet. Still practicing in the back yard. Tried fishing in the canal and lost one fly in a tree. The water is too hot for the fish to be biting. I need to find some running water."
Review 8 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the environment,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"My fishing buddies first laughed at me, but now they all have it too. Small and handy. Flyfisher men and women are concerned about their impact on nature. Better compared to the similar but not similar working FISHPOND product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"Great thing for the environment, especially for those of us who use fluorocarbon tippets and leaders. I have one each on my saltwater and freshwater fishing jackets. Need to be replaced occasionally, when I have given another one away to a fellow fisherman..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waste removal,
November 22, 2013
By: Knom56
from Leicester Englend, UK
"Great for taking all your waste mono away from the riverbank. Keep the countryside clean!"
Review 11 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must for Fly Fishing,
July 9, 2013
By: Solearus
from Reading, PA
"Like many fly fishermen, I found managing bits of tippet and rats nests of leaders when things went bad with casting at least a minor nightmare. They would not stay in vest pockets if I could get them there in the first place. The waste pieces seemed to have minds of their own.
The Monomaster proved to be worth every penny of its cost. You stick a small portion of the tippet or leader waste, no matter how much you have, into the slot and turn the small handle and the Monomaster sucks it up like a vacuum. It has a large capacity yet weighs next to nothing. A great accessory and a must for fishermen concerned about keeping our streams and rivers clean and wildlife protected."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 16, 2013
By: rvp7777
from Washington, DC
"This is my second one. Never pollute the habitat with tippet or leader material again and never have to clean out your pockets or waders with scraps."
Review 13 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep it Clean,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Keep the rivers clean. Use this to take up your discarded leader and tippet clippings."
Review 14 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"don't leave line on the banks , buy one of these, great product"
Review 15 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential,
December 27, 2011
By: cleuney
"if i could i would insist that everyone who fishes should carry one of these,so simple to use that spare /broken line would not be left behind on the banks of rivers lakes or ponds"
Review 16 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A super idea,
August 26, 2011
By: StarFishPrime
from North east England
"I used to worry stuffing line into my pockets never to find it there returning home. This works a treat for lengths of more than a few centimeters"
Review 17 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very handy indeed,
August 26, 2011
By: Sheffieldonthefly
from Sheffield, UK
"Environmentally sound and it keeps my pockets tidy! Great little bit of kit, every fly angler should have one."
Review 18 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Gadget,
May 11, 2011
By: chb47
"This does what it says and does it well. Little snippets or whole casts are gobbled up. As another reviewer said you actually end up looking for discarded mono to swallow up!"
Review 19 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth its weight in gold...,
January 23, 2011
By: wes8215
from Flowery Branch
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is by far as much of a necessity as a your rod and reel; if you ever have to cut any form of line and dont want to litter then you need a monomaster. It takes care of all of this little pieces of tippet that have to be cut either when switching flies or cutting out a tangled mess. Do like I've done and put one on your vest to help the world out by not letting the trash go downstream. I will be getting another one to put on my chest pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Monomaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gadget in 20+ Years of Fishing,
September 28, 2010
By: OwlJones
from Gainesville, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have to comment on the monoMaster. It ROCKS, folks. Not only does it solve the problem of snippets of line and used leaders clogging up my flyfishing vest, but it makes me a better steward of the environment - and not just my clippings either! I find myself looking around for others' trash line just so I can wind it up on my monoMaster. This thing should come with a little red super-hero cape on it. It is literally the best flyfishing gadget invented in the last 20 years! And I don't know where "cheap and clunky" comes from - but unless you were expecting carbon fiber and a $50 price tag, there's no way it could be this light and cost under $15 other than to be made of a hard plastic material. I've found it to be very well made, easy to use and easy to discard the line when it gets full. Maybe one day they'll come out with an Orvis Special model that has birds-eye maple inserts or something, but I doubt it could work any better than the current model does!
This is a MUST BUY for anyone who fishes and hates the mess that line clippings cause in your vest or pockets. Buy one and you will never want to be without it, I promise you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.