Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Carabiner Tape Measure

Measure your fish quickly and easily with our magnetic tape measure with carabiner holder. Clip to belt or use as a carabiner. Tape made of high-quality, waterproof, flexible, and durable poly material. US and metric. 40". Bezeled magnetic dome can hold flies. Case gunmetal powder coated. Resists rust.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carabiner Tape Measure
Review 1 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 6, 2013
By: Troutbill
from Marion, NC
"If you like to check the length of your catch, this is a great product. Just clip it on your vest. When you want it, it is easy to use. Either unclip it or just pull it out. I like to take photos of some of the fish I catch and therefore it is nice to know just how long they are."
Review 2 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Lie Detector,
May 28, 2013
By: Carver1
from Liberty Ut.
"You know that one buddy who never hooked anything under 20 inches,Well lets take a look dog."
Review 3 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great zinger,
May 22, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"I'm always looking for products that makes life a little easier, and this tape measure fits the bill perfectly. The last zinger I had for my nippers was a Orvis pin on and it worked fine until one day it just fell off and was lost. That's when I found this thing. Not only does it have a carabiner clip that isn't going anywhere, it also has a clip on the end to hold my nippers. Plus it's magnetic which works great for holding a fly when I change tippet. Worth every penny."
Review 4 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could be a great product but!!!,
April 2, 2013
By: Unpingco
""Great idea but then the the end broke off. Fishing the Bow river and my connected hemostats fell in the river and the tape measure sucked in never to come out again. Left with no hemostats." Do not give up on this product just have the manufacturer improve the end connection. I got it replaced, but I would try to find a way to reinforce the connection."
Review 5 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good for short time,
February 10, 2013
By: Huntinchrome
from Lake Erie tribs
"Worked well for about a year the the end broke off. I was standing in the river fishing and my hemostats I had connected just fell in the river and the tape measure sucked in never to come out again. Left with broken tape measure and no hemostats."
Review 6 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Multi Function Zinger,
December 31, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"I love this tape measure! It's so handy because of it's multi function features. My favorite part about it is the magnet. I use it to place flies on when changing out on the water."
Review 7 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy,
December 29, 2012
By: billydee
from Exeter, NH
"This is a very handy tool for catch-n-release fisherman like me. You just reach for your pliers and have the tape measure right there!"
Review 8 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy and Functional,
December 19, 2012
By: geoJim
"The carabiner portion of this tape measure makes it extremely functional. As you take measurements of your catch, the last thing you want to do is be searching for the tape measure. Time is critical, great job Orvis!"
Review 9 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Useful Than I thought,
October 7, 2012
By: DClark
from Winston-Salem, NC
"I bought this as a tape measure; however, It works well as a zinger and its magnetic! -- Meaning it holds my forcipes or the random fly.
Pretty useful for clipping on your shirt or wading jacket when you don't feel like hauling a lot of gear."
Review 10 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy,
August 2, 2012
By: Caterwaulla
"Work well, over time to orvil label will pop off but it still functions. The tape portion is strong and I have not had it rip."
Review 11 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Product,
June 6, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"A little larger then expected but it is well made. I attach it to my forceps for fast measurement and release of the fish."
Review 12 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carabiner Tape Measure,
February 8, 2012
By: DaleS
"Innovative accessory. The magnet is really helpful while rigging up. I like having the snap on the end of the tape to help keep another accessory close at hand."
Review 13 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NO MORE RUSTY TAPE MEASURE,
December 30, 2011
By: MAXZ
from SANDY HOOK, NJ
"I LIKE THE CLOTH TAPE AND THE ABILITY TO ATTACH THE Carabiner Tape Measure TO ANY BELT LOOP OR OPEN BUTTON HOLE. THE 40" LENGTH IS GREAT, IF IT'S OVER THAT YOU HAVE A BIG FISH. NO NEED TO MEASURE."
Review 14 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tape measure,
December 30, 2011
By: Dirck
"My wife has one and likes it - will use when fishing."
Review 15 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For those of us always losing the ruler...,
September 27, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"I know I can never find the ruler/tap measurer in my tackle bag, so I clipped this onto my pro-guide vest. Works like a charm. A+"
Review 16 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
June 14, 2010
By: JDTN
from Nashville, TN
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After using this product for less than one year it falls apart. This is the second retractable tool that I have purcahsed from Orvis in the last year and they fall apart. Beware."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this tool didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 17 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great combo tool,
November 21, 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are going to have a zinger and a tape measure (and who doesn't?), then this is the perfect tool. I much prefer the clip over the typical pin on attachment you find on most zingers - it is much more solid and makes it much easier to remove the tool and move around."
Review 18 for Carabiner Tape Measure
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 15, 2009
By: COFlyer
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Little on the hefty side but otherwise this is a great product. I attached my forceps to the end so I could unhook and measure the fish all in one go. Fish is out of the water for no more than one to two minutes. The magnetized front is great to put your flies when you are changing out tippet."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carabiner Tape Measure
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2